More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.72

Awesome: 31.08%
Worth A Look33.78%
Average: 18.92%
Pretty Bad: 8.11%
Total Crap: 8.11%

2 reviews, 62 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Godfather Part 3, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by K-Dog

"The Godfather rules."
5 stars

Now, I think this is the greatest trilogy EVER! (yes better than Star Wars)

From what I saw as two perfect films, I was wondering how a third could live up to the standards. And unlike all other critics, I feel it DOES live up to the standards, and in some ways surpasses them.

The direction/cinematography/acting/script are all marvellous, as usual.

What makes me love this film is the ending (no, I won't tell you) It is the realism of the consequences brought on by Michael Corleone's life. It is devastating in parts and always superb in it's pacing and structure.

Sure, it IS the weakest of the three, but I feel that is only because of the gap between the previous two films. It gives it a bigger separation to be judged.

It is very hard to judge these films seperately (unlike every other set of films) you MUST see them as one film. Even the re-edited chronological 35th anniversary edition is marvellous (the films, particulaly number two, are not chronological).

So the mark I give this film is for the films as a set as I refuse to separate them.

(But if I have to I would minus one star)

But, dammit, The Godfather rules.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=910&reviewer=23
originally posted: 09/25/98 03:36:35
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell decent not as good at the first 2 3 stars
9/06/17 Ken The weakest link of the trilogy, but it's still good. 4 stars
1/17/15 the truth Shoulda been called THE DEATH OF MICHAEL CORLEONE. A 5-star epilogue; as 'GF' pt III, its: 4 stars
11/22/12 Ed Totleben Jr Not quite as good as the first 2 but still a great flick 4 stars
7/15/10 art ONLY FOR GUIDO"S and there GUIDOETTE"S! 1 stars
10/30/09 Omar Worst of the three, but good. 4 stars
8/22/09 PAUL SHORTT OVERLONG AND CONFUSING ENTRY IN THE GANGSTER SERIES 2 stars
5/11/08 mb Good company to watch but not memorable. 3 stars
1/08/08 steve doesn't even come close to the epicness of the first 2 1 stars
7/03/07 mikey b i absolutely loved this movie. one of my favorites of all time. incredible ending at opera 5 stars
6/04/07 Anthony Philippe Amazing film. One of the 90's best films, period. Criminally underrated. 5 stars
5/22/07 MP Bartley No Caan, no Cazale, no Duvall, no De Niro....no point. 3 stars
2/03/07 Double M A great ending to the best triology. too Underrated. 5 stars
10/17/06 Isaac Baranoff Excellent ending to the best trilogy of all time. 5 stars
9/29/05 Michael Blower Amazing 5 stars
12/27/04 mjoc Not as good as the first 2, but still better than most films. Very underrated 4 stars
12/01/04 richard betts over-long, pretentious, dazzling, beautifully acted . . . another GODFATHER masterpiece. 5 stars
7/05/04 Caiphn Worth watching. 4 stars
6/03/04 anthony sharp yes you do look like a horse 1 stars
5/25/04 C Vega an average conclusion to one of the greatest sagas in film history 4 stars
5/21/04 Sean Scanlan This movie is pure gold 5 stars
2/15/04 Jingo P. Only major flaw was Sophia. Stick with directing, baby. 4 stars
1/28/04 diablo extra aurdinary movie 5 stars
12/04/03 john great continuation of the story -mre opreatic or melodramatic?) maybe but wonderful! 5 stars
10/06/03 R.W. Welch Pacino manages to hold this thing together but basically it's a cobble job. 3 stars
8/18/03 The Dude This movie sucks ass. It makes me sick to my stomach that this peice of shit was ever made. 1 stars
7/23/03 Shadaan Felfeli Though it doesn't measure up to a pubic hair of 'THE GODFATHER', it's still a great film! 5 stars
3/23/03 GMan Good. Didn't have to be made. Joe Levy is FULL OF SHIT. 5 stars
2/10/03 FcPoliFan If it hadn't been for that "III" 4 stars
11/08/02 TLsmooth I'd rather watch 'Men at Work'. 2 stars
8/16/02 Scott Can't bash it for some flaws. It's a Godfather movie. This alone means it's worth a look. 5 stars
8/16/02 Monster W. Kung Few bits of brilliance in a disappointing sequel. Sofia Coppola SUCKED, and Garcia also. 3 stars
8/13/02 ! Amazing, again... 5 stars
6/25/02 Nicolás Grosse The first two are more interesting for understand the mafia. But this filme is quite good 4 stars
6/07/02 Joe Levy Vidmar again you prove what a moron you are! Movies that glorify violence represent crap 1 stars
5/18/02 Gregory Logan Ultimately, a disappointment 3 stars
4/26/02 Charles Tatum An insult to the first two films, and just an excuse to make some money 2 stars
3/09/02 Destruction Worker Sofia gives a new meaning to the term "miscast" She is FUGLY! Briget Fonda=YUM 4 stars
1/21/02 Tam Some plotlines e.g. Vatican banking were fuzzy. Moving ending tho. Andy Garcia = YUM! 5 stars
1/13/02 Andrew Carden Quite Good...Carries On Like Part 2, Holds It's Own Pace. 4 stars
1/04/02 Jack The most unconvincing 1979 (hair and wardrobe) that I have ever seen on film. 3 stars
12/31/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) The Tony Bennett cameo is what's needed in the series but the end is hella-depressing. 3 stars
10/29/01 spaceworm Sophia Coppola works. 4 stars
10/02/01 Hank Graham All dressed up, and nowhere to go 2 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Oh Nelly! This kinda sucks compared to the first two! 3 stars
7/30/01 Mr. Smiley Sophia - exactly what was needed. A non-professional actress protected by her father! 4 stars
6/14/01 GS Vincent A sickly stepchild of its predecessors 3 stars
5/13/01 Al Steuart Not as good as the first film, but few are. This film still stands on its own. 5 stars
12/13/00 Ada Odum it was a very intelligently written movie. Captivating. 5 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla despite sofia coppola, this movie was great 5 stars
11/15/00 The EVIL Penguin slow but a great conlusion to the trilogy 3 stars
10/06/00 JL Michael's voice has changed. But what the fuck is George Hamilton and Andy Garcia doing!!! 2 stars
6/09/00 TERRIE SMITH Not as good as the first two; Sofia Coppola terribly miscast. 4 stars
5/14/00 Olga It's pretty OK on it's own, but compare to the previous ones, it reeks. 2 stars
7/13/99 AndyW Sophia Coppola ruins the film. 3 stars
7/07/99 Ben Leostein Rating: *** (out of ****) Category: "Good" 4 stars
2/19/99 Piz Its now the 90's can't we trade a wee bit of boredom for some violence? 3 stars
11/23/98 little jerry Totally pointless. 1 stars
11/13/98 Jules Very slow, poor dialogue, some terrible acting from Sofia and even Al is lame at times. 3 stars
10/29/98 Silent Rob I honestly enjoy this one MORE than the Michael parts of Part II 4 stars
10/10/98 {{{OZ}}} Smother me in honey and set off the fire ants, but this is one awesome series. 3 is lesser. 4 stars
9/07/98 NICK A GOOD FLIC! THE EPIC TRILOGY CONTINUES! PACINO SCORES! STILL NOT AS GOOD AS ORIGINAL!!! 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Dec-1990 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast