More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.09

Awesome50%
Worth A Look: 25.93%
Average: 14.81%
Pretty Bad: 1.85%
Total Crap: 7.41%

1 review, 48 user ratings



Steel Magnolias
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"A women's movie, but a good one."
4 stars

The only thing that sets us apart from the animals is our ability to accessorize.

I'll be blunt. Anytime this movie shows up on cable, I'll usually sit down and watch it. I can't explain why, though; I'm not really a prt of the target audience for this film, but I still like it.

It's just a look into the lives of six women during the 1980's in Louisiana. The men are practically nonexistent (I think in the play the male characters weren't seen at all), and the women spend their time gossiping at the beauty parlor and waxing poetic about everything. When a death in their group of friends surprises them, they band together even more tightly.

Some sweetly comic moments, some teary-eyed emotional scenes. It's good drama, and it's got strong performances from the predominatly female cast, including Dolly Parton, Sally Field, Olympia Dukakis, and Shirley MacLaine.

A decent Saturday night date rental.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=914&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/30/98 23:35:42
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/16/14 PAUL SHORTT ENTERTAINING COMEDY-DRAMA, SLICKLY MADE 3 stars
11/29/10 Suds Jr. Love it have loved it since the first time I saw it laugh and cry every time 5 stars
9/01/10 Barbara Leaf Not too believable story but well acted. 3 stars
2/21/10 Bryan J. I have to say reading these comments is almost better than the movie itself! LOL 5 stars
5/06/08 sara Great girls night movie! Will defintley make you cry 5 stars
3/16/08 Pamela White great cast and family drama 4 stars
5/31/06 Ashley Hinz I can see why it has a certain following. 4 stars
2/23/06 Red_army_surplus This movie was terrible. You would have to hold a gun to my head to watch it again. 1 stars
2/14/06 Two Gun Somewhat sappy...tries too hard for effect...but overall solid 4 stars
12/20/05 cody a movie with great actors like Sally Feild and Julia Roberts there is noway it could be bad 5 stars
12/04/05 Britta I absolutely love this movie! 5 stars
12/01/05 Alyssa B This movie is best I've ever seen in my life! 5 stars
9/02/05 Michael Good community 3 stars
9/05/04 MJM103171 Excellent I laughed through most of it. 5 stars
6/15/04 T. Maj "Terms of Endearment" without the bitter aftertaste 4 stars
6/11/04 Kevin Farkas It's all about the cast and what they're given to say. 5 stars
3/05/04 Donna Gelpigi Best movie in the fortunately short-lived genre of tearjerkers mascarading as comedies. 3 stars
9/25/03 Lauren This is the best comdie/tragedy movie I have ever seen!!! I love it... 5 stars
11/06/02 Daniel Chick flick? Yeah, okay. But it's the best damn chick flick I've ever seen! Wonderful! 5 stars
10/16/02 Charles Tatum God, Olympia, pick an accent and stick to it 2 stars
8/26/02 Martin I LOVE IT! Any movie with the big scary gym teacher from Porky's has to be good! 5 stars
8/16/02 KMG When you first see it it is alright, but a second showing doesn't hold up 3 stars
7/27/02 I Can't Swim Fields' release in the cemetary aside, this is worthless 3 stars
7/24/02 TheChronic You couldn't ask for better in a tear jerker. Fellas stay away, you'll hate it 5 stars
7/10/02 James Wright, JCW, Jimxorb, Domey, James Charles Wright JJJJJJJJJJJJJJ Shirley Maclaine? More like Shitty Maclaine! 1 stars
7/08/02 Henry Ginsberg shitty maclaine again 5 stars
6/12/02 hilarydsur awesome but sad 5 stars
5/16/02 Sarah Marchese it has inspired me to make my own film with the same theme and consept 5 stars
3/29/02 Jessica I love this Movie and I own it.Whenever I'm sick I watch it and I'll be qouting the lines . 5 stars
1/06/02 Andrew Carden Parton and Dukakis Save This From Being A Total Bomb. 3 stars
11/20/01 Melissa Bland It's a great movie and I love to watch it. 5 stars
10/23/01 Rocky5193 This is about the best movie i have ever seen. It speaks the truth about friendships 5 stars
8/16/01 hilary worth a look 4 stars
5/08/01 Emily One of the best movies ever made. I cry everytime i watch it. 5 stars
5/05/01 MJM103171 Half of Chiquapin Parish would give their eye teeth to take a whack at Ousier! 5 stars
2/15/01 Terrie Smith Funny and emotional; Field and MacLaine are very good; Parton a natural. 4 stars
10/26/00 sherry r I love this film. What is the time span between Shelby's collapse & death? 5 stars
5/20/00 Elvisfan Friendship According to Hollywood. Only Sally Field is memorable here. 3 stars
4/03/00 Tiffany Hall absolutely wonderful--makes me cry every time i see it. the friendship are awesome. 5 stars
3/22/00 Laura a great movie 5 stars
2/08/00 sophia866 Chick Flick. Men are lumpen drones. But I luv ya more 'n my luggage! 5 stars
1/23/00 Rob Don't get suckered into watching this 1 stars
9/08/99 Jenn Best movie ever! An emotional rollercoaster experience! 5 stars
7/28/99 Ann I love this-reminds me of my mom and my friends (I'm a Texas girl) 5 stars
7/16/99 Bob Jackson I hate this movie.. it makes me wanna puke!! 1 stars
7/02/99 hum liked The Women? you might like this 4 stars
5/10/99 Beachlovr9 Beautiful movie 5 stars
9/21/98 Miss Stress if you hate julia roberts you'll love this movie. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  05-Nov-1989 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast