More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.71

Awesome: 31.11%
Worth A Look41.11%
Average: 8.89%
Pretty Bad: 5.56%
Total Crap: 13.33%

4 reviews, 66 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Willow
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"'What are you looking at?' 'Your leg...I'd like to break it.'"
4 stars

Bavmorda is the evilest bitch in Hollywood. And this was before Val Kilmer was a butt! Yay! AND... *Most* importantly, MIDGETS!

Midgets midgets midgets everywhere! Midgets kick so much ass. Especially in this movie. We ain't talkin wimpy munchkins here. No sir. We're talkin magical, tough-as-nails hero midgets from another land!

And this movie gets even better than that. See, you actually LIKE Val Kilmer! You think I'm lying, and I don't blame you! It's unbelievable.

Summary: In the royal palace, a baby is born with a special marking. Evil Bavmorda orders her killed, for she is the princess, the only one capable of dethrowning her. But instead a maid sets the baby free, down a river. Yes, very biblical, but what great fairy tale isn't, at it's core? The baby is saved by Willow, a midget magician in training. The village decides the baby must be returned to her people (Tall people don't mix with midgets in this world, apparently. Their loss!) So after he leaves the village, he meets two fairies (not like that) and Val Kilmer. Together they set out to restore the princess baby while protecting her from bavmorda, but Val is really only in it to get away, cause he's a prisoner. But really he just wants to get wit Joanne Whalley, Bavmorda's daughter. (as an aside, he only really started to piss me off once he left her. She was too good for his sorry batass anyways)

I don't think I ruin anything by saying the ending is a happy one.

As fantasy adventure goes, this movie ranks very high. Comedy, adventure, old wise witches, villans, heroes, the bad boy who turns good, the damsel in distress. And monsters with two heads.

I love magic. And this has plenty. It's a wonderful escapist movie that is tons of fun. It's a good snuggle movie. 4 stars.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=918&reviewer=6
originally posted: 09/21/98 11:24:20
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/19/14 Finn the one and only This is a fantastic movie if you like things that are awesome. 5 stars
1/08/13 Stevo Devo No. This was terrible. 1 stars
2/07/11 PAUL SHORTT SPECTACULAR, EBULLIENT FANTASY-ADVENTURE 3 stars
7/24/10 bagwell5 Has not aged well. Val Kilmer & the battle scenes are good. Nice nostalgia factor. 3 stars
11/28/09 Jeff Wilder Way better than the godawful Howard The Duck. 4 stars
6/01/08 yo WTF WAS THIS 1 stars
4/02/08 Emily sweet! interesting and heart-warming. the special effects funny since it was made in '88 5 stars
12/18/07 shamrock it was the worst movie ever 1 stars
11/18/07 David Cohen Not exactly a classic, but it has its moments 3 stars
11/14/07 Kyle L One of the most underrated films of all time! Great fun to watch! 5 stars
7/27/07 Brooke Terriable, worst thing eva!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
6/27/07 Kyle Predebon It was a good movie and fun to watch 4 stars
5/25/07 dawg I love the small people 5 stars
11/02/06 yo bro allright could be better 4 stars
7/27/06 tamara barclay it is very crary 1 stars
12/14/05 deadfishrman this is a good movie, 5 stars
8/28/05 D Buckley Madmartigan is cool. 4 stars
8/23/05 Luyanda Not bad 3 stars
8/18/05 ES Ever notice how the special child really doesn't end the evil queen's reign? 4 stars
6/12/05 Gecko Fanfoot Ron Howard saves Lucas' ass on this one. 4 stars
3/04/05 your worst goddamn nightmare fantastic adventure tale - a wonderful fable ***** 5 stars
9/19/04 Conor good movie, it doesn't take itself seriously at all 4 stars
9/12/04 g rocks! 3 stars
5/10/04 MetallicA Saw this in school..........Couldn't watch any of it 1 stars
4/19/04 Ionicera crappiest high-budgeted fantasy film ever made 1 stars
4/01/04 David Great movie!!!!!! MUST SEE 5 stars
2/06/04 Heather pretty good 4 stars
11/15/03 Spiderfan729 Really funny. Quality humor (and action I guess) that just "Rocks on"! 5 stars
10/10/03 Dan Always enjoyable, nothing like a good sword-swining flick :0) 5 stars
3/08/03 Matt Thiel If the filmmakers can't take their own movie seriously, why should I? 2 stars
12/30/02 Maself Loooooooonnnng and most of the time boring. 2 stars
12/23/02 E-Rock A great fantasy adventure. Good fun... 4 stars
7/27/02 sdjfsdkjf who now thinks "peck" when you see a midget? Good stuff. 5 stars
5/25/02 Charles Tatum Great fantasy film 4 stars
4/27/02 maximal01 Paging Val Kilmer... I see bats in your future. AVOID AT ALL COSTS. AVOID AT ALL COSTS. 4 stars
4/03/02 Butterbean I loved this one! Even with those two annoying tiny men. 4 stars
12/19/01 Jimmy James this movie kicks ass 5 stars
11/30/01 Judith Latham preety bad 2 stars
11/16/01 Ashley Hey! This movie rocks! You who don't like it, don't talk to me! 5 stars
11/15/01 avid willow fan This is a classic...everyone should see this 5 stars
11/11/01 Kenneth E. Carper Good fuckin' movie! I love midgets, those little peckers rock! I fucked Joanne Whalley! 5 stars
9/19/01 pesti pretty good movie if you like fantasy flicks and/or play lots of diablo or d&d. 4 stars
9/15/01 Fernando Willow is my hero. It was a funtastic adventure of doom. 5 stars
8/10/01 none of your beezzwax it reeked of awsomeness 5 stars
8/10/01 fat crap 1 stars
8/10/01 amy CRAP 1 stars
8/10/01 brad kaylock is a champ it was pretty good in some bits 3 stars
8/10/01 josh it was ok 3 stars
8/10/01 u7tfjuyguf it was so not good and bits where all right 5 stars
8/10/01 tony hawk it was so shit 1 stars
8/08/01 Amy Tippett Bad baby 1 stars
7/11/01 Quarath Willow kicks so much ass, nothing can compare. 5 stars
6/26/01 Alan Nicoll Too little imagination, going through the motions. 2 stars
4/01/01 Jesse L One of the great fantasy flicks. 5 stars
1/02/01 Ionicera A good idea gone to hell 2 stars
4/16/00 JDC Indiana's right...Joanne Whalley is beautiful in this movie. 5 stars
2/05/00 the Grinch Better than Tucker?! No way, but it's a good one. Too bad Lucas turned into a tool. 4 stars
2/02/00 Ren Me likes! Been a fan for years... But Id like to see a fantasy film end in ANARCHY! 4 stars
2/02/00 Ryan Phillipe gets hit by a car and it rules!!! Midgets fuckin rule. Hey Indiana the song More Than a Feeling reminds me of doing your mom 1 stars
1/18/00 Jedi15 Three words: WHERE'S THE DVD? 5 stars
5/27/99 GothamDK You are great. Or at least pretty good. Great cast and storytelling. 4 stars
5/03/99 Michael Grimm first film to introduce morphing, Kilmer before he was a dick!! 5 stars
12/29/98 Schizofrenic It was good. 4 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink Entertaining sunday-afternoon fare. 3 stars
11/13/98 Jules They should have used the sets and cast to make The Hobbit, but what the hell, it was good. 4 stars
9/15/98 tessSpork pretty good-fairy tale like movie, Val Kilmer's pretty good in it. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  20-May-1988 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Sep-1988




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast