More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.64

Awesome77.14%
Worth A Look: 14.29%
Average: 5.71%
Pretty Bad: 1.43%
Total Crap: 1.43%

2 reviews, 58 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Who Framed Roger Rabbit
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"'I'm not bad, I'm just drawn that way.' nuh uh"
5 stars

I cannot say enough good things about this movie. Entertaining, funny, breakthrough in technology, and it's fascinating.

When I say "fun for the whole family" I mean it. 'Touched by an angel' is fun for old people. As are most things labeled "fun for the whole family." THIS is fun for the whole family. it's not so racy that gramma will blush, unless you stop and framebyframe forward during Jessica looking for her underwear or lack thereof. It's funny funny stuff. Juvenile enough for the juveniles and the juveniles in all of us, without being teletubbies. Enough jokes will be enough the kiddie's heads so that the grown ups feel included, and the direction is fascinating to all the geeks out there, while being just plain fun to watch.

To sum up the events of the film: As the title suggests, Roger Rabbit gets framed. For murder. Of a human. You see, in this world, humans and cartoons live together. Roger Rabbit is a cartoon with a promising acting career. But he appears to have killed the head of the movie company. And for a toon to kill a human, the punishment is termination. But since 'toons don't really die, Christopher Llyod has concoted an evil toon-killing substance that seems to be Roger's fate. The apparent motive is jealousy, over his hot hot hot wife Jessica Rabbit. Everything points to Roger. But when a human Private I, Bob Hoskins, gets involved, we realize it could not possibly have been Roger and there a deeper forces at work here.

What ensues is not only hilarious, but a better whodunnit than most hollywood churns out these days. It's got all the key elements, plenty of surprise, and it's very well acted. Yes, acted. These toons ACT. I'm surprised a lot of hollywood actors could even get work after this. Paging Mr. Keanu, your part has been recast as a cartoon, have a nice day. Needless to explain, both the animation and the voicings are superb.

Very much worth it. An excellent movie experience. Oh, and If you do decide to framebyframe through Jessica's scenes, I'm afraid you'll be dissapointed. Try the laser disk, though, I hear they've had better luck. 5 sporks.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=920&reviewer=6
originally posted: 09/21/98 13:49:13
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/23/15 Jerry Spray Awesome cross between live action and animation. 5 stars
2/09/10 PAUL SHORTT BRILLIANT INTEGRATION OF ANIMATION AND LIVE ACTION 5 stars
12/21/08 Samantha Pruitt really funny and really smart, lots of fun! 5 stars
3/08/08 Pamela White wonderful animation 4 stars
11/14/07 Kyle L An absolute classic! Far and away better than most FX films of today, smart and fun! 5 stars
6/22/07 Austin Wertman cartoony in a wonderful way 5 stars
3/30/07 MP Bartley Witty and inventive. Fun for all the family. 4 stars
3/27/07 fools♫gold one of the greatest movies ever, and if you don't agree then watch it again! 5 stars
12/06/06 David Pollastrini Where are the Flintstones! 4 stars
9/12/06 David Cohen clever and entertaining 4 stars
7/19/06 Sandy + Stephanie (twins) come here little bunny rabbit 5 stars
6/22/06 Joanie Really cute 5 stars
5/06/06 dionwr Groudbreaking movie that still holds up 4 stars
5/02/06 Ryan_A Not THE DIP!!! 5 stars
5/02/06 David Cornelius Shave and a haircut, two bits! 5 stars
5/02/06 HBS-SH ace gives joe bob the boot 5 stars
4/03/06 Quigley groundbreaking technology, funny script, great acting, cartoon violence... my kind of film! 5 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer Anyone who hated this is eligible for a free castration 5 stars
1/31/06 the laughing man Giddy fun that's interesting to watch. 5 stars
8/26/05 ES Funny, original and entertaining as all get out, especially like the bullets 4 stars
7/18/05 Jeff So many subliminal messages, and Jessica Rabbit was HOT! Great for hentai fans. 5 stars
4/13/05 Indrid Cold Extremely entertaining and original, very much a cartton for grown-ups. 5 stars
11/08/04 John Mccarthy It was fantastic 5 stars
9/19/04 Sean Scanlan Better than that ovaerrated Space Jam 4 stars
9/05/04 Conor Crockford sweet 5 stars
8/14/04 N.P.D. See it as a kid, you'll love it. Otherwise, you'll just almost love it! 4 stars
7/30/03 Jake I saw it at the moves really liked it, as for now ... it's really annoying! 3 stars
7/24/03 Sully please....it was an okay movie...certainly not Top 20.... 1 stars
6/30/03 Ken Groundbreaking film for combining live action w/animation. 5 stars
6/21/03 John Aster Habig Makes those Disney cartoons look like a bunch of pansies 5 stars
6/18/03 Jon An absolute classic. 5 stars
5/12/03 Mitsaso Tottally amazing! 5 stars
4/17/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Classic stuff. 5 stars
1/03/03 Mr Math Funny stuff, but doesn't have the legs I thought it would. 3 stars
12/18/02 SiliconHero Puhpuhpuhpuhpuhlease! It's only the greatest live-action/animated film ever! 5 stars
12/05/02 Russell Shootings, chases, mystery, murder, sex, and a curvacous toon. Whats not to love. 5 stars
11/16/02 CVJ THE GREATEST ANIMATED MOVIE EVER!!! 5 stars
4/02/02 lauren mccreight a tad over-rated 3 stars
4/02/02 Rockitman007 How can you NOT like this movie???????!!! 5 stars
11/30/01 Andrew Carden You Really Have To Take A Close Look Into It's Special Magic. 5 stars
11/30/01 The $1.98 Pyramid Perfect, perfect, perfect! The octopus barman gives 8 tantacles-up 5 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk A good rime...Christopher Lloyd is fuckin' evil!!! 5 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg You have to be either extreemly synical or dead not to like this film . 5 stars
7/26/01 moviegoer I own it, love it, and repeat the words along with it... 5 stars
4/25/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Now, this is a "New-concept" movie that actually worked on many levels. Outstanding. 5 stars
9/20/00 Jeff not bad, as cartoons go 3 stars
4/27/00 Pansy a masterpiece 5 stars
3/13/00 The Bomb 69 definitely underrated, awesome movie 5 stars
3/12/00 Richard Wright The superb animation is matched only by the solid, witty script. A nigh-on perfect film. 5 stars
10/25/99 Lame-Oh it was cool 5 stars
4/11/99 Alonzo Damn, Jessica Rabbit! Cartoons aren't supposed to look like THAT! 5 stars
12/20/98 bizzy i wanted to be jessica rabbit. hell, i still do. 4 stars
12/11/98 Scion of Graveheart AWESOME movie! Funny as hell, definitely a must-see! Better than Cool World! 5 stars
11/24/98 Fred Fuckin excellent. Very innovative. Funny as Hell! 5 stars
10/29/98 tom I never liked it much---mixing cartoons w/ realtiy never works--i.e.--cool world 2 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob Even though it eliminates the harshest tones of the novel, this is a stunning achievement! 5 stars
9/22/98 {{{OZ}}} Enjoyed it, but saw it again recently and it doesn't have legs. Give Jessica a sequel!!!! 4 stars
9/13/98 U.N. Owens Wished it was for real 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Jun-1988 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast