More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.88

Awesome: 24.66%
Worth A Look: 17.81%
Average: 8.22%
Pretty Bad: 19.18%
Total Crap30.14%

3 reviews, 55 user ratings



Ella Enchanted
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Bewitchingly bad."
1 stars

Decoratively dressed up as a cute movie for all the little princesses is a numbly terrible movie about a girl who was given the “gift” of obedience by her fairy godmother (a young girl taunting her with the command “Bite me” literally gets bitten), and who, much later on in life as a teen, endures a hell as her wicked step-sisters (wicked because, after all, they speak with British accents) figure out how to control her by telling her what to do.

And in the process of hating the prince who will be king, she naturally falls in love, and along with his help, an elf who refuses to sing, ogres and giants, she helps to overthrow a plot by the prince’s uncle to have him killed. (All without free will.) Apart from the frustrating — and not to mention stupid — idea of the inability to ignore a command, no simple statement that the fairy godmother is dumb suffices how one woman could curse another woman with total subservience. Nor is the “disability” used with particular conviction (when she learns of the diabolical plans, a simple “Don’t tell anyone” is enough to keep her lips on the matter sealed), especially when there are so many loopholes opened to negate an imposition. (And why do people like Ella’s aunt stand around and do nothing to help correct the wrong by not telling her to tell the truth, or whatever?) Then again, what exactly is to be expected from a movie with an evil, talking CGI snake, or the repeated sight of an ogre’s buttcrack for laughs? Directed by Tommy O’Haver; with Ann Hathaway, Hugh Dancy, Minnie Driver, Vivica A. Fox, Jimi Mistry, Cary Elwes, Parminder K. Nagra, and Lucy Punch.

[Not to be bothered with.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=9202&reviewer=172
originally posted: 04/18/04 20:42:53
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/10/14 Dr. Lao Didn't laugh once...I mean not even once! 1 stars
6/13/11 art Anne Hathaway Is a Beautiful PRincess! 3 stars
7/24/10 the dork knight Anachronistic pop culture references, ha ha. It's all been done before, and better too. 2 stars
1/13/09 Anonymous. a really good cinderella-ish story. predictable yet likable..for me anyway :P 4 stars
5/16/08 PAUL SHORTT SWEET AND ENJOYABLE 3 stars
5/14/07 David Pollastrini Anne Hathaway is hot in this! 3 stars
11/23/06 someone this movie is very bad and has many plotholes 1 stars
5/14/06 mooniestar_69 This movie redefines the word crap! Seriously... 1 stars
4/18/06 no Anne hathaway is just a show piece, the movie sucks, READ THE EXCELLENT BOOK 2 stars
4/16/06 I'm not tellin my name cuz i'm not an idiot. I hope you all burn who said Ella reeked. Go to hell. 5 stars
1/26/06 sy the movie is ultra shallow 1 stars
1/24/06 David Bassler thoroughly enjoyable 4 stars
12/24/05 Jim Why, Westley, why? Go back to Buttercup! 3 stars
11/22/05 C.F. This movie is horrible! The book was excellent but the movie is shallow and stupid! 1 stars
3/25/05 Valerie The book is WAY better. Skip the movie, just read the book! 2 stars
3/21/05 reptilesni I was surprised by how fun this movie was! 5 stars
2/02/05 Jeff Anderson The most enjoyable family film I've seen in a long time. ANNE HATHAWAY IS PITCH PERFECT!!!! 5 stars
10/12/04 Viv The BEST! 5 stars
8/22/04 Hyper The book was a LOT better than the movie. I feel sorry for Gail Carson Levine! 2 stars
7/02/04 Priscilla Postlethwaite Second half promising but can't quite rebound from putrid first half. AH gives her best tho 3 stars
6/24/04 Iman If I'd sold the rights to the book, I'd cry myself to sleep every night. 1 stars
5/21/04 kitty greatest movie ever this year 5 stars
5/09/04 Mary Brown I LOVED IT!!! 5 stars
5/06/04 Erin B. This movie was a piss poor adaptation of a great book. Cute, though. 2 stars
5/04/04 Karen Meir This is a great movie, it's my new favorite movie 5 stars
5/01/04 Rebecca Wonderful book, bad movie. 2 stars
4/30/04 illyria this movie sucks more cock than hathaway herself 1 stars
4/30/04 ertwert wrew it is the best movie ever 5 stars
4/27/04 Miss smarty The movie is realy awesome.how ever thinks it's bad realy sucks!! 5 stars
4/26/04 Georgia It was interesting...but NOT AT ALL LIKE THE BOOK! 4 stars
4/23/04 Shauna I thought it was cute, but I'm rather in love with the book. I say read the book. 4 stars
4/23/04 Dawn an unspeakable butchering of a good book 1 stars
4/23/04 janet arkez It is booty i fell asleep 1 stars
4/20/04 Christina Hathaway's getting typecast..to star in crap movies 1 stars
4/19/04 paganchyk Somewhere between "Ever After" and "Princess Bride" - cute 4 stars
4/19/04 uh huh very good 5 stars
4/19/04 critical movie reviewer the worst movie I have ever seen. a waste of time. i feel sorry for the book. 1 stars
4/19/04 molly great movie and very entertaining 5 stars
4/18/04 Danielle It was really good! 5 stars
4/17/04 R.J. ROCKS! Go see it! 5 stars
4/17/04 Dylan I Liked it 5 stars
4/17/04 Michael Pleasant, imaginative fantasy w/some bad jokes but it's still fun. Hathaway's very charming 5 stars
4/16/04 Bobbi a fun vehicle, but not serious, Anne Hathaway is good 3 stars
4/16/04 X You would get better entertainment from crapping in a projector 1 stars
4/15/04 A thirteen-year-old says: its so horribly different from the book, if it was closer to the book, i might see it again 2 stars
4/15/04 monica i read the book & saw the movie they are both good but nothing alike 5 stars
4/14/04 Emily I think I'll read the book again, thank you. This movie sucked. 2 stars
4/13/04 Fred Bob I dunno but we did our civiv duty and made a tard happy 1 stars
4/11/04 Annie Cohen I believe the rating you gave this movie was absolutley horrid!This is a wonderful movie!!! 5 stars
4/11/04 Katie Awful and nothing at all like the wonderful book!!! I am so mad!!!! 1 stars
4/11/04 Hope Jenner IT changed my life.I owe everything to this incredible movie. God Bless ELLA!! 5 stars
4/11/04 You know it's bad when... ...the target audience leaves for popcorn and doesn't come back! 1 stars
4/10/04 Allison & Chrissy This movie was horrible and nothing like the book, which was great. It was a poopy mess! 1 stars
4/10/04 Vinnie I don't know about the movie, but Anne Hathaway has a great rack!!! 4 stars
4/05/04 Ray Nice and sweet 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  09-Apr-2004 (PG)
  DVD: 24-Aug-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Dec-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast