More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.29

Awesome66.93%
Worth A Look: 11.16%
Average: 10.36%
Pretty Bad: 6.77%
Total Crap: 4.78%

8 reviews, 203 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Axe Giant: The Wrath of Paul Bunyan by Charles Tatum

Master Builder, A by Jay Seaver

Monsterz by Jay Seaver

Ejecta by Jay Seaver

Desert, The by Jay Seaver

Magic in the Moonlight by Daniel Kelly

But Always by Jay Seaver

Finding Fanny by Jay Seaver

Real by Jay Seaver

Hunter X Hunter: The Last Mission by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Blade Runner
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Tears in rain."
4 stars

The debate has raged for 25 years now: Is Rick Deckard (Harrison Ford), the haunted and self-disgusted anti-hero of "Blade Runner," a human or one of the replicants (humanlike androids) he's supposed to be hunting? It seems a moot point: No one in the movie is quite human. And this is certainly by design, and a gorgeous design it is. It explains why I always come away from "Blade Runner" impressed but slightly cold to it.

Ridley Scott marshalled a brilliant troop of artists and designers to realize the Los Angeles of 2019. No film had looked anything like it, though the visuals were heavily informed by the artwork in Heavy Metal magazine, specifically "The Long Tomorrow" illustrated by Moebius. Blade Runner unfolds in a drenched, smoke-filled inferno of neon and fluorescence, with the stink and steam of industrial waste and ethnic food mingling in what's left of the air. What happened? The movie never says; the milieu doesn't much figure into the story, which is structured as a detective story in futuristic dress.

Yes, even in the later editions where Deckard's world-weary, much-derided narration has been retired, Blade Runner retains its noir flavor. It's essentially cyberpunk Raymond Chandler, with the protagonist slouching through the city, poking his nose where he shouldn't, and bumping up against colorful urban creatures. ("Down these mean streets a man must go who is not himself mean, who is neither tarnished nor afraid," wrote Chandler, though Deckard is both tarnished and afraid.) Yet a lot of the clue-following doesn't make much sense; Deckard is only trying to track down replicants, not trying to get to the bottom of a mystery there's no big Chinatown-like conspiracy involving the Tyrell Corporation, which manufactures the replicants. Blade Runner is more of a what-am-I than a whodunit.

Deckard is a killer, and a good one, though, of late, a grudging one. Harrison Ford's performance is a study in exhaustion and soul-sickness; his only light moment comes when Deckard puts on a nasal, nerdy voice to get into the dressing room of Zhora (Joanna Cassidy), a replicant who works as a stripper/snake charmer. Like William Munny in Unforgiven (written by Blade Runner's co-scripter David Webb Peoples), Deckard is a violent man who no longer takes pride in his brutal prowess. Yet even the laconic Clint Eastwood was able to give Munny some humanity, even some dry humor. Ford's Deckard is at the outer limits of burnout. (Remember Ford in Raiders of the Lost Ark when Indy thinks Marion is dead and he drinks himself into a guilt-sodden stupor? That's pretty much how Ford is all the time in Blade Runner.) So he's a tricky character to anchor such a massive and flamboyantly visual production unless, as I suspect, director Ridley Scott considers Los Angeles the movie's main character.

Deckard's change of heart is supposed to come when he falls in love with Rachael (Sean Young), an advanced, nonviolent replicant modelled on the niece of bigwig Tyrell (Joseph Turkel). The heart of the movie is meant to emerge in the scenes in which the nonhuman Rachael brings out Deckard's humanity. But by many accounts, Ford and Young didn't get along during the long shoot, and it shows in their scenes together, which also carry the burden of Young's ineptitude as an actress. She looks the part, but it's as if she's competing with Ford to see who can be the least expressive; she wins in a walk. There's nothing going on between the actors or their characters Vangelis' score works overtime to emote for them as they fall into a hollow embrace.

There's infinitely more going on with the other replicants: Brion James as the bitter, working-class Leon, Cassidy as the viciously mistrustful Zhora (she goes right from her intro scene to her death scene but makes her few minutes count), Daryl Hannah as the pixie-ish but dangerously desperate Pris, and most obviously Rutger Hauer as the perversely playful Roy Batty communicate with us far more vividly than anyone else in the movie. (Only William Sanderson's amiable J.F. Sebastian, the toymaker who designs replicant bodies, suggests a beaten-down but still viable humanity among the film's human characters.) The replicants seem to be split down class lines: Pris and Roy are punk-haired aristocrats who've fallen on hard times, while Leon and Zhora work among the scum of the earth (or off it). We sense more passion between Pris and Roy than we ever do between Deckard and Rachael. The meaning seems to be that humans have become so ground down by their squalid surroundings they've lost the ability to feel, while the replicants' emotions are fresh, pure, not taken for granted (or drowned in booze, as Deckard's are). And because they only live four years their experiences are all the more intense.

For all this, Blade Runner is some kind of classic. The visuals, the eclectic and depressive score, the oddness of the replicants' (and their portrayers') seeming to be in a different movie from Deckard it all coalesces in a powerfully elliptical way that has attracted much somber analysis over the years. Deckard the mumbling blank has inspired reams of speculation he's a replicant, he's the missing sixth replicant (for years, until the 2007 "Final Cut," M. Emmet Walsh's detective Bryant told Deckard that six replicants escaped and one died; now he says two died). Like Star Wars, though to a much greater extent, Blade Runner's rather simple story has acquired mighty mythic resonances among the fans.

Seen now, it wears its prestige a bit more elegantly, and we've seen 25 years of the movies, comics, and anime it influenced; certainly it's stranger and more difficult than any comparable summer blockbuster in recent years. After this movie, Ridley Scott's particular beer-commercial style got shallower and shallower, until he bottomed out with ugly hackwork like Gladiator; here, though, he still shoots like the same man who made Alien, and during the final Deckard/Roy face-off there's a creepy shot of water running over a white wall, while lightning casts the shadow of Deckard's gun and then takes it away it's very reminiscent of the final Ripley/alien face-off in Alien.

Blade Runner was far from the first post-human film, but it was the first to seem to revel in its machinery. Despite the bluesy, defeated tone sold most heavily on the soundtrack Scott's heart is clearly with the replicants and the shiny sets. Though it's a triumph of visual futurism and an ornament to sci-fi cinema as well as to cinema in general, I resist it on some level. It feels grouchy and impacted except for the moments of gaudy, bizarre violence, which have the same effect on the movie that Roy's sticking a nail through his hand has on his rapidly dying nervous system they jolt the movie to life, in a punitive, not entirely healthy way.

This overstimulated opus about the soul of a machine is, paradoxically, a pretty soulless machine itself.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=924&reviewer=416
originally posted: 01/02/08 08:44:33
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/24/14 Justin R. A futuristic sci-fi masterpiece that requires more than one viewing. 5 stars
12/05/13 xcgmmnoklx USA 5 stars
9/19/13 Annie G Just recently managed to stay awake through entire movie - still just ok to me. 3 stars
7/22/13 Ronin Prometheus, Coming from the same director? Not funny 5 stars
10/06/11 David Hollingsworth Bleak and potent sci-fi masterpiece 5 stars
9/10/11 Debbie Mac One of the best sci fi movies. The movie was better than the book, which is rare. 5 stars
8/11/11 larsen Brilliant sound design & Vangelis score often ignored over visuals: It's the whole package! 5 stars
5/18/11 the rock best sci-fi film ever mixed with a bit of film noir 5 stars
5/11/11 Silkworm Timeless, artistic - Vangelis and Ridley at their best!!!! 5 stars
1/28/11 taker a bloody masterpiece 5 stars
9/24/10 Flathead King Is a stunning visual presentation with a first rate script. 5 stars
9/19/10 Walt Eckland Seminal Movie 5 stars
9/11/10 Barbara Leaf Rudger Hauer - so manly, even as a robot - you can't help but love him as a human. 4 stars
3/04/10 dude truly one of the best sci-fi movies ever 5 stars
12/07/09 f Fine film, but it's FAR from being the best sci-fi movie ever made 3 stars
12/03/09 Chris Dialog seems written by a teenager, the score is painful, casting terrible. 2 stars
10/30/09 Omar Probably the best sci-fi film around. 5 stars
10/23/09 Danny Rovira One of the compelling and unique sci-fi films of all time. A visual masterpiece! 5 stars
8/20/09 Jeff Wilder Probably one of the ten best sci-fi films ever. 5 stars
6/21/09 MP Bartley Infinitely rewarding on repeat viewings. 5 stars
6/18/09 Tyler Sciortino Rewards repeat viewings like few other films do. 5 stars
1/29/09 the dork knight yeah, OK, very influcencial movie. i still hated it 2 stars
12/22/08 ctzn kane distant yet engaging, cliche and fresh, a flawed masterpiece 4 stars
11/30/08 matt It's set in the future but still looks like the 80s. Pretty worthless and boring 2 stars
11/04/08 Quigley Insanely overrated sci-fi film. Lightyears away from the "masterpiece" everyone says it is. 2 stars
8/17/08 Jason Turvey One of the worst films I've ever seen. 1 stars
7/22/08 the dork knight I didn't get it. But Rutger Hauer was good 2 stars
7/06/08 Len The mark of a great film is how it stays with you 5 stars
6/07/08 Phil McCracken average film, just way past its use by date 3 stars
6/07/08 PAUL SHORTT A DARK, SLOW, OVERLONG THRILLER WITH MANY DULL MOMENTS 1 stars
4/14/08 Colleen Cousineau One awesome older sci-fi movie I can still watch all the way thru. 5 stars
4/01/08 Bernard Best sci-fi film ever! 5 stars
3/23/08 Eric I fell asleep the first 3 times, and wish I had the 4th. Most overrated movie ever. 1 stars
3/02/08 mb Left after 30 min ... didn't hold me 2 stars
2/12/08 Nick Knowlton Just watched it today -- Intelligent and complex, it draws you in. Stands the test of time. 5 stars
1/27/08 mark madsen oldie but a goodie. 4 stars
1/07/08 Aaron Commareri Simply one of the best scifi films and still holds up today 5 stars
1/04/08 David Pollastrini rather dull 2 stars
12/14/07 Jason One of the best movies ever!, decent characters with depth and hardly any cliches. 5 stars
12/10/07 ben dover the best and most thought provoking sci fi movie ever.chris has one brain cell you cock 5 stars
11/19/07 unreceivedogma BR + 2001 are best SF ever, & among best films all time. brillliant on all levels. 5 stars
11/11/07 reddye5 Amazing film. Beautiful cinematography with a creepy futuristic vibe. One of a kind film. 5 stars
11/10/07 Pastafarian Silly, Dull, about an hour to long. 2 stars
11/03/07 Jefenator Made in 1982, still looks like it was made in 2082! (Glad I won't live that long...) 5 stars
11/03/07 Jon, Intergalactic Gladiator If Blade Runner gets an Ultimate Cut, surely Soldier will also, right? 4 stars
9/25/07 Rogue Gallart Director Ridley Scott's 1982 film "Blade Runner" is arguably the most famous and influentia 5 stars
8/14/07 Jubei One of the few examples of well done cyberpunk in film.Not perfect though. 4 stars
7/28/07 Wee Todd Didd One of the best sci fi flicks ever, can't wait for the 25'th anaversity edition to be avail 5 stars
7/01/07 Dexter One of the hottest sci-fi movies ever. 5 stars
5/03/07 john I feel this movie is overrated. It's been awhile, but I remember it felt incomplete. 4 stars
3/30/07 Christopher I hated this film beyond belief complete and utter crap and looks nasty. Really bad. 1 stars
1/10/07 Booksworm Holy shit this movie is weird.R.S. is a visionary. 5 stars
1/02/07 R.W.Welch Plot has weak spots, but bonus points for atmosphere. 4 stars
10/25/06 schopenhauerisgod For those you who think BR is "too slow" or "don't see what the big deal is": Keanu awaits! 5 stars
10/04/06 DEXDMAKER I'm sorry for you who don't get it, try it awake and sober 5 stars
9/16/06 rwelsh Roy/Christ the Son of God who with a nail thru his hand saved falling man 5 stars
7/06/06 Bluto Philip Dick was a visionary, read the book 5 stars
6/24/06 Josh Racine Best sci-fi movie ever. 5 stars
5/16/06 Josh Standlee I want more life, fucker I ain't done, yeah! 5 stars
4/13/06 anthonyuk superb, shame some people were too stupid to get it 5 stars
3/20/06 Aldo not good..crap characters, crap story, watch I Robot (is better but not great either) 3 stars
2/27/06 Steven Lewis metropolis ripoff but cool. 3 stars
2/24/06 omar i wish the other version was available. pretty good but kind of a letdown 3 stars
1/31/06 John Dog Amazing! 5 stars
1/13/06 Perry Mason Great FX, great performances, great direction, great script, great movie 5 stars
11/06/05 Indrid Cold Somewhat disappointing, but still it's clearly a cut above most scifi. 4 stars
9/08/05 Johnny Best sci-fi movie ever. 5 stars
8/28/05 Jabberjaw Harrison Ford sucks big, brown donkey balls...I've seen the pictures. 1 stars
8/25/05 Copper I agree, pretty overrated and does not stand up well today. 2 stars
8/24/05 salamone Quite possibly the most overrated movie of all-time, right next to 2001. 1 stars
8/23/05 ES It's good, Rutger and harrison are competent but the movie is dark and too slow 3 stars
8/20/05 marv I've had trips to the dentist that were more entertaining than this. 1 stars
8/20/05 Cardigan Does NOT stop up well against the test of time...have you WATCHED this lately???? 3 stars
8/19/05 Gaston What exactly is it that everyone sees in this film??? 3 stars
8/19/05 JiJi I agree that it's one of the most OVERRATED movies of all-time! Mediocre at best. 3 stars
8/07/05 Ben Kick ass! 5 stars
8/03/05 DM Harrison Ford gives his best performance in what is possibly Ridley Scott's best film. 5 stars
7/29/05 Green Gremlin Why isn't this indispensible classic available on DVD ?!? 5 stars
7/25/05 SL Tackles the biggest questions in life, unlike 99.9999% other films. 5 stars
6/30/05 Naka Cerebral, intelligent, but dull and uninvolving...worth it for the visuals and cleverness. 4 stars
4/12/05 Ronin Awesome movie, dark, rainy, great atmosphere. Rutger Hauer rocks there. 5 stars
3/27/05 indrid cold The most overrated sci-fi movie of all time, but admittedly, its better than most. 4 stars
3/20/05 Tay Great film 5 stars
3/13/05 Witch-King Scott's vision of LA is incredible! 5 stars
3/04/05 Jon Smith Awesome! 5 stars
2/27/05 mike the best sf ever 5 stars
12/05/04 sbpat21 my god, the sheer genius... 5 stars
11/27/04 Alex Cremers Probably the best movie ever made 5 stars
10/20/04 Phil fuckign awsome 5 stars
9/08/04 V. Inspector One of the best films ever 5 stars
8/27/04 Bluto Philip K Dick was a (Psychotic) genius, are all his stories optioned now? 5 stars
8/22/04 Peter James True Review is probably the worst reviewer here 5 stars
8/18/04 Daveman The vast, incomparable influence on sci-fi are all evident in this unique masterpiece. 5 stars
8/15/04 magaafi entertaining tho but strang (very) strange premise 5 stars
7/04/04 true review boring and pointless but not as bad as Citizen Kane, the worst movie ever made 1 stars
7/04/04 Luiz Gilberto de Oliveira Messias This is one of the best movies ever made. 5 stars
3/30/04 john visually stunning and interessting sci fi story - 4 stars
3/09/04 Sean McLean Brilliant - the best cyber-punk film ever made. Beautiful and unforgettable. 5 stars
3/02/04 Adam A beautifuly moody and dark film, in which all elements come together seamlessly. 5 stars
1/24/04 damrat Only the single greatest movie ever made. Rutger Hauer's command performance! 5 stars
12/07/03 notSocrates if you were bored by this movie consider yourself lucky 1 stars
11/07/03 Capt' Fox One of the best movies ever made. 999 stars! Poetry, action, philosophy, grace, beauty... 5 stars
11/05/03 maffat If I could I would give 100 stars to that movie!....And more! 5 stars
11/03/03 Sammy My favorite movie ever 5 stars
9/23/03 Alan Film noir meets sci-fi. Harrison Ford as Bogie. Rutger Hauer's most compelling role. 5 stars
7/26/03 3man Very slow at times. Nevertheless, an excellent sci-fi movie. 5 stars
7/22/03 Elizaveta Great post-nuclear atmostphere...made the whole film fantastically creepy &Does PKD justice 5 stars
6/05/03 Pascal Nice film 4 stars
4/29/03 sonar ZzZz..... *snivel* Huh? Oh, damn must have fallen asleep. 1 stars
4/08/03 Yo Mama! I don't get it...seen it twice...fell asleep both times...I think try #3 is not happening. 1 stars
3/25/03 Jack Sommersby Decent-enough, but slow and dramatically hollow. 3 stars
3/13/03 Ridley Scott Blade Runner has influenced too many films to count,SFX hold upto today's stuff,music is A+ 5 stars
12/27/02 Louise B Watching grass grow is more exciting than this pathetic, fucked up shitty movie! 1 stars
12/24/02 Movie Expert This insanely brilliant masterpiece doesn't contain a single cheesy moment unlike ET 5 stars
11/23/02 Mark Sandison Stunning visuals - Great atmosphere. 5 stars
9/11/02 Francofile Shallow? What about the whole meeting-your-maker, meaning-of-mortality, us-or-them premise? 4 stars
8/18/02 P.Rodriguez 2 All those who didn't like this film just remember keep watching. It only gets better 5 stars
8/12/02 Jake I think this movie is underrated! Of all the SciFi movies it's certainly one of the best! 5 stars
8/11/02 Michael Carruthers One of the most overrated movies ever. What a piece of shit! 2 stars
7/22/02 JesseL One of the all time SciFi greats. Ford is strong lead, Young is a babe. 5 stars
7/12/02 KMG Sorry, I didn't like it. Tried, but wasn't my movie. 3 stars
7/05/02 trevor didn't like it at 1st -- gets better with each viewing 5 stars
5/30/02 Charles Tatum Dull eye candy 3 stars
5/13/02 Dark Baron Next to Dark City this futuristic set and Replicant conspiracy are the best. 5 stars
4/27/02 maximal01 Great storyline, but it seemed unexplained. Replicants! Replicants! Replicants! 4 stars
3/31/02 Rockitman007 One of the best movies ever! 5 stars
3/30/02 Paul Meade Great film, Philip Dick was a real talent. 5 stars
3/07/02 Alan Smithee A bit slow at times, but overall one of the most atmospheric sci/fi films ever. 4 stars
2/22/02 mwildema Best Sci-Fi ever filmed. Nothing like it, simply a master peice. 5 stars
2/19/02 Edwin whooosh 5 stars
2/17/02 Clarance Way to go harrison!! 5 stars
1/27/02 Andrew Carden Harrison Ford Was My Hero When I Watched This. 5 stars
1/18/02 Judith Latham WHO THE HELL IS MUSKEWITZ? He sounds like an idiot. This film is amazing. 5 stars
1/11/02 max zhang Some changes from the book, hard to understand plot unless you read the original story. 4 stars
1/06/02 slipperyK nothing to amazing 2 stars
12/02/01 Mr Math Sloppy storytelling? Are you high? This thing is an outright masterpiece. 5 stars
11/21/01 G-Lyte The best movie ever! Absolute cult!!! 5 stars
11/07/01 Raj Muskewitz is a fucking dorky old loser moron...motherfucker..as if your opinion counts fagg 5 stars
11/04/01 Marc Wickens The best film, EVER 5 stars
11/03/01 RoyBoy Muskewitz = dimwitz! Rachael is "plasticized" for a reason. BR is visionary and complex. 5 stars
11/03/01 Evil Sponge It's better than eating turnips. Much better. 5 stars
11/03/01 Jorge Morales Perhaps someday someone makes another film like this 5 stars
11/03/01 Lukas Mariman One of the best SF movies ever 5 stars
11/03/01 David Caldwell The best film ever made! 5 stars
10/22/01 P.Rodriguez BR is just like good wine. It gets better and better with age. A classic 5 stars
10/07/01 jawsboy a movie with dull action and average acting. but the sets and photography & sfx are sweet! 4 stars
10/01/01 Phoenix A beautiful, visually stimulating sci-fi knockout. 5 stars
10/01/01 Mike One of my favorite movies 5 stars
9/19/01 Chris Batchelor -none- 4 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg masterwork 5 stars
7/15/01 perpex A film all other SF films try to encompass - most fail 5 stars
6/17/01 Matt Dorsey More ladies should dress like Sean Young's character early in the film. Yeeow. 5 stars
4/03/01 Brad Best sci-fie movie ever made. Period. 5 stars
4/02/01 Jesse L A SciFi classic...the visuals are fantastic...great story 5 stars
2/27/01 Justin Ford Great movie with brilliant work of cinematography and many other aspects..10! 5 stars
2/05/01 Stephen Sills One of the greatest films ever made. Brilliantly crafted and haunting to the soul. 5 stars
2/01/01 jordan director's cut is amazing. original is not very good. 5 stars
12/19/00 Destruction Worker "Better get it up, or I'm gonna have ta kill ya" - awsome quote from Blade Runner 5 stars
12/16/00 Paul Meade Everything Philip K Dick wrote should be at least examined for Screenplay material 5 stars
11/25/00 Andrew Along with "The Thing" one of the best films of '82 5 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin smart, a mind-bender 4 stars
10/11/00 P. Rodriguez Each time one watches this film (the directors cut)it's seems more enjoyable than last time 5 stars
9/12/00 Ground Zero a brilliant classic 5 stars
8/29/00 staffie If only more directors would understand that a good movie is one that makes you think!! 5 stars
7/02/00 Deckard Best Sci-Fi movie ever. It just doesn't get any better than this. 5 stars
6/18/00 metropolis a movie that has lasted the ages...still strong as ever! 5 stars
6/02/00 RoD Beautiful, captivating, and flawless. Best dialogue and most moving villain! 5 stars
5/30/00 perverted pixie Ridley Scott+Harrison Ford+Philip K. Dick=Sci fi Masterpiece. Directors cut is a must! 5 stars
5/03/00 wes j clough A classic that has not and never will look dated a must see film. 5 stars
4/16/00 JDC My favorite film. A 90's "what is reality" style scifi movie released in the cuddly ET 80's 5 stars
2/29/00 haris aposporis hopefully it will make u think 5 stars
1/04/00 perplex BR was ahead of its time, thats why it flopped in the 80's in the 90/00's its a masterpiece 5 stars
11/26/99 Matt Henderson Much imitated, defined cyberpunk before it existed. Film about film, reality, humanity. 5 stars
11/15/99 Jacaranda second only to Star Wars as the best film of the c20th 5 stars
11/03/99 bookgirl Deeply symbolic, scared me more than most movies! (but in a good way), very impressive 5 stars
10/26/99 Karahde Khan Maybe the greatest Sci-Fi film ever. 5 stars
9/22/99 Aaron B. Not your run of the mill sci-fi movie with big bad aliens and cliche villians. 5 stars
9/08/99 Sandra Edgley One of the most grondbreaking,prophetic movies EVER made.One of the Greats. 5 stars
9/06/99 godsdog Different from Dick's book, but just as poignant. Bozo is spot on with the review. 5 stars
9/05/99 Weird Andy Superb,but still not as good as the story it was based on. Dick rules. Stop snickering. 5 stars
7/27/99 Ted Wetzel Great acting,and a thought provoking screen play make BR the single greatest sci-fi movie. 5 stars
7/11/99 Daria Maybe I'm just too dumb, but I honestly don't see what the fuss is about... 3 stars
6/29/99 Chris Gianaras Though made almost two decades ago, still has best set design of any movie ever made. 5 stars
6/14/99 Dylan In a word - impeccable. Philip K. Dicks book is also worth picking up. 5 stars
5/11/99 metropolis What all good SF should be 5 stars
3/25/99 James Coffey Visualy spectacular 5 stars
3/18/99 Madcap yup yup yup! 5 stars
1/02/99 tarkin666 A bit off from the novel, but still the greatest movie of all time esp. director's cut. 5 stars
12/13/98 Binky A true classic. Will always shame tacky scifi effortslike Star Wars 5 stars
12/07/98 Khalad Easily better than Star Wars and 2001. 5 stars
11/30/98 perplex BR is the king of all SF movies. This movie is the benchmark for all SF movies made! 5 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink The director's cut is fantastic, this is a bit less I'm afraid, but still...... 4 stars
11/24/98 Ray Russ I am not worthy to rate this masterpiece - neither are you 5 stars
11/19/98 Scott von Berg Best of the best. See it now. Really. 5 stars
11/17/98 Jules Both are great but director's cut rules 5 stars
11/06/98 Lord Of The Dunce Compare Harry Ford in this to Six Days Seven Nights.. he's lost it. But BR is superb. 5 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo How could anyone possibly fault this movie? It's unbelievable! Superb! 5 stars
10/02/98 arachic13 The Director's Cut was so fucking good that I masterbated to it. 5 stars
9/18/98 Couch Potato Critic The best SF film since 1982. Simply a work of art. 5 stars
9/17/98 cheryl_ann i saw it in one of my classes in high school. that class rocked as did the movie. 4 stars
9/16/98 Trav Superb, but I still prefer the original version... 4 stars
9/14/98 Smalltown Anything vaguely related to Phil Dick is sheer genius. 5 stars
9/13/98 Paul Leone Great movie. This is how sci-fi (or anything) should be done. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Jun-1982 (R)
  DVD: 07-Nov-2000

UK
  09-Sep-1982 (15)

Australia
  16-Sep-1982 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast