More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.02

Awesome50.57%
Worth A Look: 20.53%
Average: 15.59%
Pretty Bad: 6.84%
Total Crap: 6.46%

14 reviews, 179 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Northern Borders by Jay Seaver

Arbor, The by Charles Tatum

Oculus by Jay Seaver

Legend of the Lone Ranger, The by Jack Sommersby

Finding Vivian Maier by Jay Seaver

Dom Hemingway by Jay Seaver

Game of Death, The (2000) by Charles Tatum

Blue Ruin by Jay Seaver

That Demon Within by Jay Seaver

Transcendence by Brett Gallman

subscribe to this feed


Kill Bill: Vol. 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Rip-snorting geekgasm, part the second."
5 stars

Now that all four hours and eight minutes of Quentin Tarantino's 'Kill Bill' saga have unfurled, it's easy to see the bridge between the two halves. If 'Vol. 1' was about action, 'Vol. 2' is about consequences.

Having indulged in an orgasmic display of sword carnage near the end of the first part, Tarantino knows he can't top himself, and he doesn't try; he slows his pace considerably, drawing out lengthy dialogue sequences, which are really more like duelling monologues. The people in this film feel the need to defend themselves verbally as well as physically; when an enemy is down and helpless, that's the best time for a declamatory speech at his or her expense.

I realize that makes Vol. 2 sound leaden, but nothing could be further from the truth. As always in Tarantino's work, character bubbles up from the streams of words. When our wrathful heroine the Bride (Uma Thurman) finally tracks down her nemesis Bill (David Carradine), he favors her with a sprawling theory about superheroes and their secret identities. It's pure Quentin, but it also tells us about Bill and his esteem for the Bride. Bill's ne'er-do-well brother Budd (Michael Madsen) gets the drop on the Bride at one point and prolongs her agony with his own chatter, and later on another assassin, Elle Driver (Daryl Hannah), will do the same to him. The defining Tarantino moment concerns the victim who isn't just killed but is forced to listen, like the unfortunate cop in Reservoir Dogs or the doomed Brett in Pulp Fiction.

Both wit and dread gather around these long exchanges, with sadism and violence never far from the surface. Should Tarantino ever want to make an all-out horror movie, he proves himself capable in a near-unbearable sequence, played mostly in pitch black, in which the Bride is buried alive; for what seems like an eternity, all we get from the darkness is the Bride's terrified gasping and the thunder of dirt being dumped onto her coffin. A close-quarters fight between the Bride and Elle is tremendously vicious, the polar opposite of the elegant spatial harmony of the face-off between the Bride and O-Ren Ishii in the first installment. Though Vol. 2's body count is of necessity smaller than that of its predecessor, the brutality hurts more here, and counts for more.

We get a peek at the Bride's earlier life with Bill, her mentor and lover; we see her training under "the cruel tutelage of Pai Mei" (Gordon Liu), an ancient Chinese master with flowing white hair, beard, and eyebrows. (This character, like Vol. 1's swordmaker Hattori Hanzo, is cheerfully stolen from existing Asian cinema.) David Carradine ambles into the film, carrying a flute and years of associations with martial arts and B-movies. Tarantino obviously worships him, and Carradine rewards him with a portrait of a callous man driven to destroy the one person who broke through his armor. What Carradine brings to Bill, which isn't necessarily scripted, is a becalmed sense of honor. We look at Bill and, despite what he's done, we never think "evil"; he's something else, something larger and harder to pin down, like Hannibal Lecter.

Uma Thurman's performance, too, acquires shadings in this second half. The Bride's pregnancy, her grief and rage at losing her baby, cease to be exploitation plot points and become the basis for a person. There's an interesting little anecdote in which the Bride, having just taken the home pregnancy test, has a run-in with a female assassin, and what follows is just weird enough to be plausible. Mercy is possible here, if not redemption; murderers remain murderers, and even when Budd or Elle express pangs of regret, it doesn't mean they're not who they are. What separates the Bride from the rest of the pack of killers? Well, she chose to nurture life over death. The point is less political than mythical: it's the priestess of violence learning that her body can create as well as destroy.

In total, the 'Kill Bill' movies expand the story far beyond grindhouse-cinema homage. 'Vol. 1' was energetic fun, but 'Vol. 2,' in its digressions and philosophizing, actually has the payoff.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=9241&reviewer=416
originally posted: 01/06/07 14:49:06
[printer] printer-friendly format  
This film is available for download or online viewing at CinemaNow.com For more in the CinemaNow.com series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Tribeca Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Tribeca Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

4/21/14 Jason more overrated tarantino crap 1 stars
4/08/14 GaySavoie USA 2 stars
2/28/13 Ed Piece of crap. Avoid! 1 stars
3/09/12 Dr.Lao Being over the age of 13, I found nothing redeeming in this move 1 stars
11/18/11 matthew thompson dalldorf Decent. Lady Snowblood is still better 3 stars
6/27/11 DR Almost good, but ultimately falls flat due to it's vacuous, midguided philosophy. 2 stars
12/14/10 moose rapper Better then the first one, but still overrated 3 stars
6/11/10 Flathead King More shallow, childish and self-indulgent trash from Tarantino. 1 stars
6/01/10 User Name Savor the tasty dialog, marvel at the over-the-top violence, and cheer at the expected end. 4 stars
12/20/09 Elizabeth Sanchez Violence concluded with a beautiful plot and dialogue. 5 stars
5/06/09 Mishyana Bit late, but Paul Shortt; you should make that "offending" YOUR "sensibilities". 5 stars
4/08/09 j hall "2" was much superior 5 stars
3/17/09 Josie Cotton is a goddess I didn't like the first one, but for some reason the sequel worked. 4 stars
12/20/08 PAUL SHORTT TAKES PLEASURE IN OFFENDING OUR MORAL SENSIBILITIES WITH ITS ADORING PORTRAIT OF A KILLER 1 stars
10/22/08 Shaun Wallner Well made. 5 stars
8/18/08 Nino Philosophizing equal to that of Pulp Fiction, puts meaning to the violence. 5 stars
1/17/08 Bitchflaps Not bad. David Carradine is a revelation, Uma Thurman is bollocks. 3 stars
7/22/07 gr117 Not as good as the first.... 4 stars
6/04/07 Vinn Boring as hell, weak finale, and some of Uma's dialogue & line readings were awful 1 stars
3/28/07 fools♫gold Tarantino's worst is still rather entertaining. 3/5 or 4/5. 4 stars
1/09/07 Drew Galletti Part of my favorite series 5 stars
11/07/06 Drew Love these movies 5 stars
9/12/06 Eden Even better than Vol 1. A brilliant modern day Leone movie 5 stars
9/04/06 R.W.Welch A step up from Vol.1. Only moderately excessive. 4 stars
7/15/06 Anthony G Awesome movie. 5 stars
5/12/06 ES Brilliant 5 stars
5/05/06 dionwr These movies are CRAP 2 stars
5/02/06 Ryan_A Oooo...touch of death... 5 stars
5/02/06 William Goss A worthy conclusion. 5 stars
5/02/06 David Cornelius even tops vol 1 5 stars
5/02/06 HBS-SH how fast is plaid? 4 stars
4/25/06 Eden The first one was amazing and this one's even better 5 stars
3/02/06 Ronin Has it's charm. Uma Thurman brilliant. Pai-Mei and his "story" rules. 4 stars
1/10/06 Mike Completely Awesome.... can't see one w/out the other 5 stars
12/02/05 Naruto only idiots will like such absurdity 1 stars
11/23/05 Sully absolute rubbish!!! too much endless dialog, with no point..part 2 sucked dog balls 1 stars
11/08/05 Jonathon Holmes It's Tarintino at the top of his form 5 stars
10/20/05 a ninja just as good as the first (perfect) but different 5 stars
10/13/05 HL One of My Favorites..Though I Am a Bit Warped. 5 stars
10/13/05 Wisamane Stupid college Crack head junkie "Artistic" Bull shit, it was horrible!! 1 stars
10/10/05 Agent Sands Very riveting. Kill Bill is one of the great film sagas. It is. 5 stars
10/05/05 Jesse Taylor Even better than the first one. Daryl Hannah gives a great performance. 5 stars
9/12/05 pablo che outstanding depiction of a violent story of intense love , passion and betrayal 5 stars
8/25/05 Eden Underrated tribute to a Leone film. Deeper than the first and much better for it 5 stars
8/23/05 ES Outshines the 1st, a humanitarian edge and a tearful conclusion, the best of film making 5 stars
8/09/05 Maalstrom A decent finish to this story, not what the first half delivered though. 4 stars
8/06/05 Zack GREAT CONTINUATION! 5 stars
7/25/05 Eric Rollins Under appreciated fun movie, great style and acting. 4 stars
7/20/05 Sir Dude Should have made it one movie instead of two. 2 stars
7/14/05 Brandy Harrington Pretty okay! 4 stars
7/07/05 Isaac Baranoff Killer! 5 stars
6/25/05 Eric Rollins Eye plucking good time. 4 stars
6/25/05 Mr Fluffy Justifies Vol 1.Would have been better as one film but where's the fun in that 4 stars
6/16/05 Cheryl Free I couldn't wait to see this sequel and I was NOT disappointed! 4 stars
6/15/05 Phil One of the coolest film ever. If you hated the first then give this a try! 5 stars
6/09/05 b landers STUPID !!! 1 stars
6/05/05 Charlene Javier Perfect sequel to an excellent movie. 5 stars
5/25/05 The shizz Just as good as the first one, alice ill take extra mayo on my sandwich BITCH. 5 stars
5/12/05 C Vega as good as volume one but not better but still quality 5 stars
4/08/05 Jason Kreitzer A terrific film and a great conclusion. 5 stars
3/07/05 Elton John I should bitch slap you alice, your supposed to be in the kitchen remember? 5 stars
2/26/05 Alice Colwell not that great 4 stars
2/21/05 Abbath Quite a bit better than the first volume. 4 stars
2/17/05 Kathleen4691 should have stopped after Vol I...could have imagined that Vol II pulled it all together. 2 stars
2/06/05 Tom Benton Though not quite as good as "Vol. 1", "Kill Bill: Vol. 2" is another Tarantino masterpiece. 5 stars
1/29/05 HL Guess whover hates this don't appreciate Tarantino's considerable talent! 5 stars
1/27/05 JesseL Vol 1 was better, but this tied things together. Too thoughtful. 4 stars
12/05/04 Kristina Williams slower and less flashy than the first. End fight was LAME. 4 stars
11/11/04 Adrian Anyone bitching about this movies deserves a one-inch puncg to the crotch! 5 stars
10/24/04 ODH OK flick, less action with better dialogue. Some parts should have been left out though 3 stars
10/23/04 John feels like every "deleted scene" was squeezed into this boring 2 stars
10/18/04 ian Thurman should NOT have played this part, she sucks, however 5 stars
10/15/04 george rubbish, shit, crap, waste of time and money 1 stars
10/11/04 Rio Driver Fucking Fantastic 5 stars
10/05/04 Josh Standlee I can't beleive Bill die THAT WAY! I still liked most of it, though. 3 stars
10/05/04 chimpy121 ONE really great movie in two parts. People seem to forget that... 5 stars
10/03/04 Viktor Navorski bloody good 5 stars
10/02/04 malcolm galactically better than Vol. 1. Vol. 2 could stand alone as a complete film. 4 stars
9/13/04 sam bonner stunningly boring 90% of the time - sadistic the other 10% - tarentino most overrated 2 stars
9/02/04 Naka Thrilling, character-driven epic. A fully satisfying conclusion. 5 stars
8/25/04 Jessica hard to sit through 3 stars
8/21/04 J Good, but not good enough!!! 3 stars
8/17/04 Herolder The Final was a bit dissapointing. Still a good movie 4 stars
8/16/04 Peter James Tarantino's second best film...after of course Pulp Fiction 5 stars
8/15/04 Phil M. Aficionado Imaginative, colorful, fun. 4 stars
8/12/04 kc the best part is the cantonese speaking sifu 5 stars
8/12/04 tatum Less action, more characterization, still loved it 5 stars
8/11/04 Dean well, it answered the questions, and i liked it 4 stars
8/08/04 Mike McGilvray A tool who expects every Tarentino film to be exactly like Pulp Fiction won't appreciate KB 5 stars
8/01/04 Vince QT must have lost it along the way... no people, this ain't no Pulp Fiction 2 stars
7/30/04 Candace Troy Powers What's with Clarita (waitress in Mexico)? She been eating shit or something? 3 stars
7/29/04 The Quirkfetch Kid Painful see once scrumptouos Daryl Hannah reduced to killer bitch goin out blind&screaming 2 stars
7/24/04 Sandy Turynowicz Girl kick butt 5 stars
7/21/04 sean amazin!!!!!never seen it 5 stars
7/17/04 legend More talk, less action and worse film. I like the first one more. 3 stars
7/07/04 Margie spectacular. funny, emotional, wow. tarantino's a great director but he's still a nerd 5 stars
7/06/04 James Kustes I liked this one better than the first. Zoom in on the beard 5 stars
7/01/04 valerie hart AMAZING FILM AND IT ACTUALLY HAS A STORY TO IT!!U HAV TO C IT THE FIRST ONE ASWELL!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/16/04 One of the best films of the year!! Spectacular direction, acting, and storytelling..worth it 5 stars
6/07/04 Ryan Clark A little less action and a little more dialogue than the first one, but better for it. 5 stars
6/03/04 Shaun Quentin Tarantino does it again!!! 5 stars
5/31/04 reenum This explains everything in Part 1. One of Tarantino's better efforts. 4 stars
5/25/04 varyouga This is HALF a movie. Maybe 30 min of filler but everything kicked ass. 5 stars
5/23/04 Butterbean AWESOME fight scene with Elle and Bride. It felt like 1/2 a movie with too much filler. 3 stars
5/23/04 The More You Know Are killers born or made? Funny that BB squishes her fish as mama squishes an eyeball...hmm 5 stars
5/21/04 Your mom anyone who hates this is a filthy zionist jew 5 stars
5/20/04 Jeff S Great movie with the best fight scene I've seen in a long time. 5 stars
5/18/04 Graham Squashed eyes. Live burials. Superman. Goldfish. Heartbreaking greatness. 5 stars
5/18/04 Idiot's Mouth Is there any movie Kevin Thomas doesn't think is "worth a look"? This was utter shit. 1 stars
5/06/04 MVC dont u ppl understand vol 1 & 2 are the same movie!! u cant compare! it was awesome!! 5 stars
5/06/04 Samantha orr Not as much action as the first one, but I like this one better than the first. 5 stars
5/06/04 J.Peckerfoot David Carradine was great,the story was predictable but always enjoyable.long live vol 1 4 stars
5/05/04 your worst goddamn nightmare The first vol. was magical and spellbinding, this was is just it's sequel. It was great tho 5 stars
5/04/04 Obi Wan Too slow, very dull..action was teasing....overall OVER-RATED! 1 stars
5/03/04 Mieszko GORAK I bet I would unsheathe in a motor home ... This is the best scene in Vol2 5 stars
5/01/04 alice hated the ending and Bill himself bored me but otherwise: very good 4 stars
5/01/04 Cameron Slick Awesomness 5 stars
4/30/04 Bobbi Some good scenes but very predictable(no shockers like the first) 4 stars
4/30/04 Sophie Fatale I'd give my right arm to see "KILL BILL VOL 3-THE INSIDIOUS REVENGE OF SOPHIE FATALE" 5 stars
4/29/04 harkman Was kind of slow toward the end, but didn't let me down. 5 stars
4/29/04 John after the cinmematic brilliance of volume 1 this is truly substandard, dull and boring 2 stars
4/28/04 maximillion Amazing! this ROX! Uma kix arse!!! 5 stars
4/28/04 Caiphn Had its moments, this definately should have been one film. Overall positive experience. 3 stars
4/27/04 Daniel Bennison the unforgettable scene with the bitch fight bewtween the bride and elle is a classic 5 stars
4/27/04 Richard Pretty boring, but Daryl Hannah looked fantastic and definitely had the best scene! 3 stars
4/26/04 The man with the plan Masterpiece......Voll II 5 stars
4/25/04 Gobsmack Amazing and emotional, dispite its flaws. A great, great film. 5 stars
4/25/04 john bale Load of old nonsense, but clever dialogue & considerable style make it great cinema 5 stars
4/25/04 PAYNE A masterpiece 5 stars
4/24/04 Matthew Smith brilliant, absolutely brilliant. 5 stars
4/24/04 Angolmois Watching Tarantino's movies is like watching a talented child. Uneven & long, but brilliant 5 stars
4/23/04 John Wallace One major letdown! 3 stars
4/23/04 Dom Carradine steals the show! 5 stars
4/23/04 paul tarantino's finest 5 stars
4/23/04 MY NAME IS BUCK AND I'M HERE TO FUCK 4 stars
4/23/04 Koitus Minimal action, great dialogue. BUT..2 obviously stretched out scenes (strip club; w/BB). 3 stars
4/23/04 Troy Butler 9.5 out of 10, ... and a wonderful way to end the saga!!! Movie making at its finest!!! 5 stars
4/22/04 sumixam Well rounded off 5 stars
4/22/04 Phartinoogan It has absolutely no substance, coherency, or appeal 1 stars
4/21/04 AfroFett We got to see the origins of O-Ren but nobody else? Second part a little rushed maybe? 4 stars
4/21/04 Jenni an exercise in style. 5 stars
4/21/04 RevTPK Sorry... Not worth the ticket price 1 stars
4/21/04 X kicks ass 5 stars
4/20/04 coreyhaim Daryl Hannah, I eat my words. You were deliciously crazy in the black mamba-memo pad scene. 5 stars
4/20/04 mason Kill Bill 2 is a movie that no clever review can do justice. 5 stars
4/19/04 A F This was great. I loved the in depth story, that answered all my ?? in the first one 5 stars
4/19/04 Tyla I thought it sucked 2 stars
4/19/04 luke incredible 5 stars
4/19/04 Gobsmack wow.....wow...wow....wow.... 5 stars
4/19/04 Lord Chu AWESOME, unforgettable brilliance 5 stars
4/19/04 maxomai I would have preferred one 4-hour movie 5 stars
4/19/04 Agent Sands Really really cool. I think it should've kept as one long action movie. Good suspense. 5 stars
4/19/04 Morally Sound Kill Bill Vol.1 kicked ass! Kill Bill Vol.2 kicked ass! Kill Bill kicks ass! 5 stars
4/19/04 Bill awsome ass movie 5 stars
4/18/04 Alan Absolutely amazing conclusion. 5 stars
4/18/04 too-much-coffee mistress absolutely beautiful... Tarantino's watermark. 5 stars
4/18/04 Tim Quentin proves again...he is the true nigga. 5 stars
4/18/04 gman excellent, what's all the complaining? QT DID action w/ VOL. 1, gave substance w/ #2 5 stars
4/18/04 John Best...Film...Evar! Beautiful film with great dialogue. 5 stars
4/18/04 antonio barboassba films o.k. nothing on gay people or theme, which i was disappointed about... 3 stars
4/18/04 nick2k wowsers! exceeds Vol 1 on all levels. NEEDS to be VIEWED in its TRUE entirety though. 5 stars
4/18/04 mike thoroughly satisfying. brilliant. 5 stars
4/18/04 george i'd keep most of Vol.1, get rid of most of Vol.2 3 stars
4/18/04 luke spectacular 5 stars
4/17/04 KingNeutron A bit slow in parts, and a bit long; but enjoyable. Nice that the sequel option is there. 4 stars
4/17/04 Jordan a total bore, not one memorable scene, i loved the first one but only because of lucy liu 1 stars
4/17/04 ajay worth my 8 bucks 5 stars
4/17/04 Titus A bit sadistic, and drags in some places, but all in all quite good. 4 stars
4/17/04 chris. beautiful. 5 stars
4/17/04 Igor Has its flaws but I felt most of the scenes are worth it. No way to make it 3 hours at once 5 stars
4/17/04 kel end of the credits? ohno still this flick rocks hard 5 stars
4/17/04 john fantastico 5 stars
4/17/04 averagejoe This couyld've been a kickass 3 hr epic, instead it smacks of greed and indulgence 2 stars
4/17/04 Christina loved it. DONT LEAVE UNTIL THE CREDITS ARE DONE!!!!! 5 stars
4/16/04 Atanu Praising Tarantino's talents has become a case of the emperor's new clothes 1 stars
4/16/04 Morally Sound As a whole, Kill Bill is my 3rd favorite movie of all time! I want some Bimbo Bread now! 5 stars
4/16/04 Brian dammit, start filming vol. 3! 5 stars
4/15/04 y2mckay Volume 1 ended in Overdrive. This one barely gets out of 3rd gear 3 stars
4/15/04 Mike V It's alright. Way too long. But mediocre Tarantino is better than most 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Apr-2004 (R)
  DVD: 10-Aug-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  22-Apr-2004 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast