More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.14

Awesome52.6%
Worth A Look: 28.13%
Average: 7.29%
Pretty Bad: 4.17%
Total Crap: 7.81%

13 reviews, 114 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Shaun of the Dead
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jay Seaver

"A zombie comedie with braiiiinnnnnssss....."
4 stars

What "Shaun of the Dead" does right isn't something that this year's remake of "Dawn of the Dead" does wrong, exactly, but is something it sort of overlooked: It recognizes that present-day characters would recognize situations from a million zombie movies (even if, like me, they've seen very few), and be influenced by them. At the same time, though, it doesn't get self-referential to the point of the characters recognizing that they're in a movie like a Scream or There's Nothing Out There.

Like Dead and Breakfast, Shaun of the Dead is classified as horror but isn't really going to scare anybody. Unlike Breakfast, it does become, in its last act, a reasonably effective action movie. For the first half or so, it's mainly a comedy, and a clever one, even if it occasionally goes for the cheap pop-culture or gross-out joke.

That said - this is a zombie comedy with a functioning brain. The opening titles, which feature people in their everyday lives who could be mistaken for zombies at first glance, is clever, and the foreshadowing dialogue is wry but not too obvious. There's also a fair bit of wit to be found in how many of the characters are so wrapped up in their own lives that they do not, initially, recognize that the recently dead are coming back as zombies.

Before anyone dismisses it as just an allegorical thing, though, that's not all it's got. As much as someone can find more intelligence under the surface, that surface is pretty good, too. The interplay between the characters is often crude but also funny, and the slapstick is well-choreographed by director Edgar Wright. Those that like the blood and the guts will get their fill, and sharp-eyed audiences will recognize how much the filmmakers love movies, managing to tip their hats to their favorites without Shaun devolving into a "restage scenes from better movies in a funny voice" parody.

Co-writer Simon Pegg is a ton of fun as the title character. Shaun's the sort of well-meaning slacker we've seen a million times, but Pegg's offbeat appearance and easily distracted nature make it work. Kate Ashfield's Liz is probably too cute for him outside the confines of a movie, but she's got the appealling knack of looking better fighting zombies in her sweats than when made up for a night out. Nick Frost does good obnoxious slob friend. Other characters along for the ride are Lucy Davis and Dylan Morgan as Liz's roommates, plus Penelope Winton and Bill Nighy (who seems to be in every British movie these days) as Shaun's mother and stepfather. My DVD budget isn't what it used to be, but I find myself hoping Spaced gets a US DVD release, as that TV series features much of the same cast and crew as this movie.

Now, if someone from a foreign country without any knowledge of zombie movies were to stumble into "Shaun of the Dead", they probably wouldn't enjoy it that much, not having a frame of reference. But I don't know how many of them there are, and most everyone else should find something they like.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=9265&reviewer=371
originally posted: 09/28/04 05:59:29
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell good horror comedy 4 stars
6/28/13 Ionicera fried gold 5 stars
11/19/12 Sean Harrison An absolutely hilarious horror comedy. 4 stars
10/31/10 the dork knight Good, but unfortunately Hot Fuzz improved on it in every way, and it suffers. 4 stars
10/17/10 paul One of the best in many recent years !!! 5 stars
9/25/10 Geoff I love zombie films, and adding humor to the genre is a stroke of genius. 5 stars
1/10/10 art i HAVE only seen two ZOMBIE FILM"S in my life,WHITE zombiefrom 1932,zombie from 1980! 1 stars
12/26/09 Chad Dillon Cooper A funny gory loveletter to George Romero. Well done. 4 stars
10/06/09 PAUL SHORTT INEFFECTIVE AS SATIRE, COMEDY AND HORROR 2 stars
5/07/09 true Quirky and funny. So nice to see something different. Poor Shaun, what a life! 4 stars
12/23/08 brian First two-thirds terrific, final third generic. Original "Dawn of the Dead" better. 3 stars
12/21/08 Samantha Pruitt very smart movie, scary at the same time! 4 stars
10/31/08 Shaun Wallner Very Funny! 5 stars
4/14/08 Will Tingle Genius - Well worth your cash (especially if you like to play "spot the reference) 5 stars
3/25/08 Isaac M. Baranoff Extremely funny. Top notch. 5 stars
8/29/07 Doc Who An EXCELLENT movie 5 stars
7/14/07 fools♫gold Try not to watch it too many times at once. That's what I did, and look at my rating! 4 stars
4/17/07 Stevo u americans who think brits r stupid can just GET FUCKED. this is good 4 stars
4/17/07 tony g one of my top ten films! cracker!! 5 stars
3/19/07 Czechpointcharlie It will be hard to top this zombie satire. Tongue THROUGH the cheek. Lethally funny. 5 stars
2/25/07 Bitchflaps Vastly overpraised, promises on more inventiveness than it delivers. 2 stars
2/14/07 Laura This film is amazing, a must see for fans of romance, comedy or zombies! 5 stars
12/12/06 Frank It's not hip-hop.............it's electro. One of my all time favorites! 5 stars
10/24/06 jjones Not everyone's "cup of tea" but for movie geeks a must see. 4 stars
10/17/06 Terence Very entertaining movie. 5 stars
8/10/06 melivorous hilarious! i loved it 5 stars
6/16/06 Michele campy and funny 3 stars
5/31/06 Anthony G One of the best movies I have ever seen. 5 stars
1/04/06 Piz Some laugh out loud moments but really dragged in stretches. 3 stars
12/02/05 Jennifer S. This was one of the funniest movies I saw all year! 5 stars
11/22/05 Kurtis J. Beard So much fun. Great flick. 4 stars
11/21/05 skippy I thought it was lame, too...Christ, UNDEAD was better than this!!! 1 stars
11/20/05 YouLuvPoop This movie was fucking lame as shit - fuck the brits and their lame-as-hell humor!!!!! 1 stars
11/14/05 Kumble Yeah, that brilliant Birtish humor, where a stuck-out tongue is the epitome of hilarity. 1 stars
11/11/05 zeitgeist If you don't understand/like British humor, this movie isn't for you. 4 stars
11/02/05 mind dump Only mildly funny at certain points...no really worth the time. 2 stars
11/02/05 shackle the guy who recommended this to me got a punch in the back of the head the next morning. 1 stars
10/26/05 Crumbcake This movie was WAY oversold to me. I expected a classic...it wasn't. Lame. 1 stars
10/24/05 Suk-R-Punch What in the name of HELL was so great about THIS movie?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?! 1 stars
10/19/05 Gumbo I totally agree...I think I laughed twice. The humor was SO low-key, it wasn't even there! 1 stars
10/15/05 OodlesofOs I hate this kind of humor...y'know...the nonexistant kind. 1 stars
10/14/05 gasp I think I chuckled twice...lame, lame, lame, lame, LAME! 1 stars
10/13/05 Bryant Gumby Quite possible the most ovrrated film ever. Not funny, not scary, not...anything. Pass. 1 stars
8/30/05 ES The dart scene was priceless 4 stars
8/13/05 Gabby is Renee This is well made and cool, although it falls away a little at the conclusion. 4 stars
8/09/05 C. Fidance This movie has everything! You'll laugh yourself silly and they don't skimp on the gore! 5 stars
8/07/05 Charlene Javier Cleverly funny! 4 stars
8/05/05 Nate Frary Freaking hillarious! 4 stars
8/05/05 ron abrams loved it. great fun 4 stars
7/07/05 Elizabeth Blackey BRILLIANT! Hillarious and gross at the same time. A keeper. 5 stars
6/25/05 Mr Fluffy The best zombie film starring Simon Pegg there is. 5 stars
6/09/05 Taylor Fladgate Clever! A must see sleeper. 5 stars
4/15/05 Raymond Montoya Good Comic Zombie movie. 4 stars
4/12/05 indrid cold Very funny. Not a classic but definitely worth a look. 4 stars
4/03/05 Arse Poet Heartwarming and funny, I loved it. Watch it with your lover. 5 stars
3/17/05 Jack Bourbon Good except when Shaun cries 4 stars
3/16/05 Sum Yung Guy Inconsistent in tone, not particularly funny or scary. 2 stars
3/13/05 Tamara Burks I had to drive 100 miles just to buy the dvd and it was well worth the drive . 5 stars
3/12/05 Pete fraud good movie, but it's not very funny. I got scared 4 stars
3/04/05 Chris Stephens I loved this movie!!! 5 stars
2/27/05 Charlene Javier Funneee! 5 stars
2/25/05 L.G. Was skeptical about a Zombie Comedy... this film SURPRISED me... Loved it and laughed a lot 5 stars
2/14/05 Angela Saunders Great movie, hilarious, different! 4 stars
2/07/05 steve newman This is so great! I loved it and am going to watch it repeatedly - well done the BFI 5 stars
2/05/05 Amy Bradshaw This movie is hillarious! Very entertaining! 4 stars
1/27/05 Jim A very funny (and one suspects accurate) vision of zombie apocalypse 4 stars
1/21/05 Evan Slow start, second half is better 4 stars
1/01/05 Paterfam001 Dr. Nick the only reviewer who got it right 3 stars
12/18/04 Matt F. Loved this movie, funniest of the year. I'm Canadian. 5 stars
12/17/04 Bloody Holey Mary! True, Etheridge! But really takes off from start of zombie fight to refuge at "Winchester"! 3 stars
12/16/04 irbear very funny parody of zombie films. American here. 5 stars
12/16/04 Etheridge Hoogendijk Begins so slow; middle good eerie zombie action; ending leaves some to be desired. 3 stars
12/10/04 Kristina Williams finally finding a good use of that Sade album 5 stars
11/16/04 Dunce Delivers on every level and just all around terrific. Yes, I'm American. 5 stars
11/15/04 Ric A few decent laughs, but not nearly as fun as I'd hoped for. 2 stars
11/05/04 One more paranoid American We've been cursed with savoury ducks-goddamn British cuisine!!! 1 stars
10/27/04 the Grinch Loved it....funniest movie I've seen in awhile...maybe funnier than Team America even 5 stars
10/19/04 TITS U AMERICAN WANKERS LOL DONT NO A GOOD FILM IF IT HIT U IN THE HEAD 5 stars
10/18/04 psycho dwarf Fleshes out the parody of it's zombie pedigree. 4 stars
10/18/04 john bale Funny satire on zombie movies, especially the first half, the fairly routine. Good cast. 4 stars
10/11/04 Goggman One of the best movies I have seen this year!!! 5 stars
10/10/04 dumb brits d brits in dis movie, ex:Ed is a fair representation of brits in reality - dumb & stupid :) 1 stars
10/10/04 Archanist_101 Funny!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/10/04 best of british typical fucking foreigners piss off back to dawn of the dead remake then 5 stars
10/09/04 Helen Bradley Totally rubbish worst film of the decade 1 stars
10/05/04 shazamp how come IDIOTS r continuously coming out with stupid ILLOGICAL movies? :( 2 stars
10/03/04 Cassi Brilliant and very funny! 5 stars
10/02/04 hank british dance music for starts, 2 stars
9/29/04 mont progresses far too slow, unsatisfying, ending sucked royale, ONLY for 100% NERD FANS 2 stars
9/28/04 asina The best movie of the year! 5 stars
9/28/04 maxomai A commentary on humdrum life. Classic. 5 stars
9/28/04 film jerk this movie sucked - tailor made for film geeks 1 stars
9/27/04 MorallySound Hillarious! 5 stars
9/27/04 Titus I don't regret seeing it, but it wasn't spectaculr. Some real funny, but often slow. 3 stars
9/27/04 ajay I agree with most, slow at times, but I laughed out loud several times. 4 stars
9/27/04 Agent Sands First 45 minutes are HILARIOUS. Then it can't decide what it is, & good qualities taper off 4 stars
9/26/04 KD On par with the original Dawn Of The Dead in all aspects! 5 stars
9/25/04 KingNeutron Could have been a bit more fast-paced, but some really good lines in it. 4 stars
9/25/04 nik what collin said, minus the shit about "Evil Dead II" which blows llamas 5 stars
9/24/04 kriss harvey better then the Passionfruit of the Christ 5 stars
9/24/04 Andrew Potts Great fun 5 stars
9/23/04 el burro Saw it over in NZ a month ago, it's a freakin shot in the arm. 5 stars
9/23/04 HOWDINSKI JUST FANTASTIC. WHAT A FILM THE BRITS SHOW HOLYWOOD HOW ITS DONE 5 stars
9/18/04 asina combines the 2 best things in film - zombies and comedy. 5 stars
9/01/04 Jim McLennan The best comedy of 2004, and the best horror film too. 5 stars
8/13/04 Mark D. Fulwiler very amusing! 4 stars
8/02/04 Wendell Walker Inventive, hilarious, and a surprisingly good story! 5 stars
6/03/04 Littlepurch A great British cast lead a lighthearted and hilarious spoof of the great "28 Days Later" 5 stars
5/21/04 Eloise best bit...the jukebox/fight scene...made me chuckle 5 stars
5/06/04 Daveman I went, I saw, I was entertained and amused but disappointed. 3 stars
5/06/04 J.Peckerfoot i laughed until a zombie shaped shit came out..i named it shaun.great film! 5 stars
5/06/04 Bobby Fisher british comedy that didnt star hugh grant... Awesome 5 stars
5/05/04 Mattster Yay! This film rocks! A very British sense if humour pervades throughout 5 stars
5/03/04 Me a great film 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Sep-2004 (R)
  DVD: 21-Dec-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  07-Oct-2004


Directed by
  Edgar Wright

Written by
  Edgar Wright
  Simon Pegg

Cast
  Simon Pegg
  Nick Frost
  Kate Ashfield
  Dylan Moran
  Lucy Davis
  Bill Nighy



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast