More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.73

Awesome35.4%
Worth A Look: 30.43%
Average: 15.53%
Pretty Bad: 8.7%
Total Crap: 9.94%

8 reviews, 113 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

Thousand Junkies, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Man on Fire (2004)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Denzel Washington, Brian Helgeland and Tony Scott? Sign me up."
4 stars

There's a gritty and enjoyably desperate sense of intensity in Tony Scott's kidnapping thriller "Man on Fire" - a manly and overblown bravado that keeps the flick chugging along quite nicely...despite the fact that we've seen this story already - about 149 times.

Based on the novel by the mysterious A.J. Quinnell and as comfortably familiar as a pair of weathered old jeans, Tony Scott's Man on Fire succeeds due to a typically powerhouse performance from Denzel Washington and the director's own hyper-kinetic sense of style. It's like hearing an old joke told with some new flavor.

Denzel plays a world-weary former soldier who's found himself on hard times. Unemployed and focused almost exclusively on the bottom of his next bottle of alcohol, Washington's Creasy is exactly the sort of anti-hero we love to love; he's bitter and flawed and nearly suicidal...but the guy has unseen depths of humanity that are just waiting to explode.

And when Creasy's latest charge, a sun-faced moppet named Pita, is kidnapped by a gang of ruthless terrorists...well, you know where this story's headed already.

Man on Fire is equal parts Redemption Tale and Action Drama; it presents a potentially withered old tale with a surprising amount of sincere emotion and visual splendor. Working from Brian (Mystic River) Helgeland's stark and efficient screenplay, Tony Scott puts his own trademarked stamp on the material; the landscapes are parched and bleachy, action scenes are widescreen mayhem. The camera never stops wandering; it zooms in on a face and pulls back almost at random. The frequent subtitles are presented as if in a comic book, with certain words capitalized for emphasis and others left to fade out slowly.

It's all parlor tricks and visual razmatazz, but there's no reason that Tony Scott's eccentric flourishes can't make for an effective approach. He's like Michael Bay with an attention span of longer than 7 seconds. The visual pyrotechnics would mean very little without a compelling story and a few sympathetic characters; fortunately we have just enough of both.

Denzel is...well, he's just great. He's Denzel! I can't remember the last time Denzel Washington delivered a performance less than excellent, and his string continues here. Creasy is a beaten and almost contemptible old fossil; he's a relic of a war machine that's used to disposable parts. Obviously the adorable little Pita (Dakota Fanning, in a fantastic performance) will eventually thaw Creasy's wounded heart; obviously there's going to be Hell to Pay when Pita gets abducted.

Scott and Helgeland wisely front-load the movie with moments between Creasy and Pita. This is the absolute backbone of the entire thing; if we buy the relationship between these two, the rest of the movie (Creasy's ultimate redemption through justified ass-kickage) just clicks right into place.

Toss in a great little performance from Christopher Walken, a welcome visit from the always-cool Rachel Ticotin, and the ever-lovely Aussie Radha Mitchell as she tries to wrap her lips around a Texas accent...you're looking at a good time Guy Movie across the board.

It sure ain't deep and it certainly isn't unique, but "Man on Fire" injects a lot of new life into this simple old tale of "You hurt my family - and I'm one MEAN bastard!" It's slick and stylish, a bit overblown at 140+ minutes, and ultimately rather satisfying when all is said and done.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=9269&reviewer=128
originally posted: 04/24/04 11:52:38
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/13/17 morris campbell dull slow revenge thriller wildly overrated 1 stars
4/16/14 Charles Tatum A huge surprise. 5 stars
10/23/09 the dork knight decent enough thriller, though undercooked. Walken quotes make for required viewing 4 stars
7/09/09 Jeff Wilder One of the best recent action thrillers plus a superb performance by Denzel Washington. 4 stars
1/27/09 LYNDON DOWLING POWER HOUSE PERFORMANCE BY DENZEL. DAKOTA SHINES, GREAT SUPPORTING CAST. 5 stars
8/27/08 Shaun Wallner The storyline is well made! 5 stars
5/21/08 PAUL SHORTT MEAN SPIRITED REVENGE THRILLER WITH A HERO WHO POSSESSES THE SENSIBILITY OF A CORNERED RAT 1 stars
3/08/08 Kaz Corner Brlliant entertainent 5 stars
3/03/08 ladavies not my favorite Denzel movie, but ok. 3 stars
2/02/08 Chris Crappy movie, just the story itself combined with Tony Scotts directing make it unwatchable 1 stars
7/26/07 Shawna Blake thats my favorite movie, denzel is such a good actor 5 stars
12/14/06 R.W.Welch Has a certain aura but a shade artsy. Ending is a bit much. 3 stars
12/14/06 Creasy Bear do what you do best.....kill them all.... 5 stars
11/25/06 MP Bartley It's a migraine in celluloid film. 2 stars
7/09/06 Dan Loved it, much better then that piece of crap Kill Bill. 5 stars
6/05/06 Erika This Movie Absolutly Rocks Creasy is a great man!!! 5 stars
2/21/06 Agent Sands Above average action entertainment. 5 stars
1/10/06 Michael Fast, who done it, get them back 4 stars
10/08/05 Jonathon Holmes another option if the "Kill Bill" movies are out of stock at Blockbuster 4 stars
9/04/05 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne Guess this had a big enough blast from the ass to keep EricDSnider from even reviewing it! 4 stars
8/22/05 Regina George didn't really survive the school bus accident Based on true story? Confusing end details on screen, but usual disclaimer. 4 stars
8/21/05 chris hagopian Very good, inspiring although a little cynical 5 stars
7/30/05 hoosier daddy Its about a killer redeemed by using evil tools for good. Deal with it. 5 stars
6/06/05 Helen Bradley Faced paced thriller is a 'death watch' style great acting all round 5 stars
5/03/05 J K Rowling great movie 4 stars
4/20/05 Indrid Cold This should have been fantastic, but somehow it becomes dreary and unsatisfying. 3 stars
3/31/05 Dan GREAT MOVIE! 5 stars
3/27/05 Jack Sommersby Well-acted but absurdly overlong and just plain absurd. 2 stars
3/09/05 Doremimi Great performances, but this movie is ugly simply for ugliness' sake, and WAY too long. 3 stars
3/06/05 axefell Revenge is a pure animalistic drive, you either feelin it or you ain't. I'm a sanguinous MF 5 stars
3/01/05 THY FURY I enjoyed very much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/21/05 Captain Craig Very violent and sadly very true. Not for the fait hearted viewer. 4 stars
1/22/05 Tjalda L. Schiel Badly filmed and edited brutality galore. Very dispiriting garbage. 1 stars
1/05/05 HotGirl LOVED IT! 5 stars
11/28/04 Pam Bailey To me Denzel once again proved that he has the stuff that makes a movie worth watching. 5 stars
11/10/04 Jin melodramatic, manipulative, and overlong bloodbath. 2 stars
11/03/04 John the girl is great - good performances/ script but really overdone in terms of MTVstyle 3 stars
10/26/04 Puspa Allamanda .............. 5 stars
10/16/04 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne Guess this had a big enough blast from the ass to keep EricDSnider from even reviewing it! 4 stars
10/16/04 Regina George didn't really survive the school bus accident Based on true story? Confusing end details on screen, but usual disclaimer. 4 stars
10/13/04 Gracie This movie is one of the best movies I have seen all year...Amazing 5 stars
10/11/04 michaelb14 "What I do best, gonna kill 'em. Anyone who was involved, anyone who profited from it" 5 stars
10/09/04 ELI Too artsy fartsy. and I didn't like any of the characters 2 stars
10/09/04 LilyM Whenever I was drawn into the story, the camera tricks drew me right back out. 2 stars
9/28/04 ben Psycho Racist Flick 1 stars
9/27/04 ALBERT awesome 5 stars
9/22/04 Shams Huque Denzel & Dakota were both superb! 5 stars
9/22/04 Kathy I thought it was great and very emotional, Denzel was fantastic! 5 stars
9/17/04 Kyle Wellcome I really thought Denzel played his role well. It's a good film, and its worth a watch. 4 stars
9/16/04 ALDO good flick with decent twists....Revenge at its finest 4 stars
9/14/04 Dan Was great to see him get back those bastards for what they did to pita 5 stars
9/01/04 Tommy A must-watch 5 stars
8/08/04 Melissa Great movie...Denzel is awesome! Had my heart pumping the entire time. 5 stars
8/07/04 esquire damn fine flick. really enjoyed it. 5 stars
8/06/04 McGraw Flawed but fun. Editing is over-the-top but nothing awful. 4 stars
8/04/04 Nikolai Denzel president? Decorrupts Mexico while Bush Nukem can't nail one camel herder in 3 years 4 stars
8/03/04 qasim top flick! denzel at his best! 5 stars
7/29/04 TXN Good movie but the mtv-style editing can be FRIGGIN IRRITATING 4 stars
7/04/04 MorallySound Awesome thiller, great acting, amazing cinematography. Real good movie, 5 stars
7/02/04 denzel's mom my baby done good! worth the 8 dollars! 5 stars
6/08/04 jamal this movie was off the chain h tight as hell. Denzel was still great and a tight ass g 5 stars
6/08/04 James Kustes Not very good. Even though it was Denzel. 2 stars
6/01/04 bryna morris I thought the movie was great 5 stars
5/29/04 Parker fan-bloody-tastic, ignoring the music-video montages. 4 stars
5/23/04 S F what a load of crap 2 stars
5/23/04 vagile Denzel at his best. Great fun in a dark comic book kind of way. 4 stars
5/20/04 cpbjr DW was good. 3 stars
5/17/04 PAMELA VERY VERY GOOD EXCITING NERVE WRACKING 4 stars
5/12/04 Josh pretty good, needs less of 1st hour 4 stars
5/09/04 Michael Bailey A bit long, but some great acting...especially Denzel and the little girl! 4 stars
5/06/04 D Page Denzel Washington and Dakota Fanning give great depth to thier characters. 5 stars
5/05/04 DIRTYMOVIEMAN When are the awards given out. Denzel should be up again. Great Movie !!! 5 stars
5/05/04 Christian Jones Denzel was...Denzel, and Dakota Fanning was...aboluely amazing! 5 stars
5/04/04 minnie B. Clark excellent movie 5 stars
5/03/04 edward jones fucking awesome 5 stars
5/03/04 Nellie Wife comes to grips with home finances but what a price 4 stars
5/03/04 Ajax Half star for Denzel, other half for Dakota, all else just sucks. 1 stars
5/03/04 Atanu Fanning looks like a 40 year old bitch playing at being a child. she's a monstrosity. 1 stars
5/02/04 Terry McGowen very well done,but does stretch believability at times 3 stars
5/01/04 Gobsmack Flawed, not nearly as good as it could have been, but worthwhile overall. 4 stars
5/01/04 g. kane a little lengthy but still very good 5 stars
4/30/04 thomas jeffrson best movie i ever seen 5 stars
4/29/04 Cheryl Miller It held my interest & released my anger 4 stars
4/28/04 Ms J Exciting movie after the first 30 minutes 5 stars
4/27/04 KingNeutron Subtitles were effective. Only problem: Where did the $$$ come from, to get stolen? 4 stars
4/27/04 Daniel Bennison this movie was poo even worse than looking at Nathan White nude 1 stars
4/27/04 malcolm "Creasy's art is death, and he's about to paint his masterpiece." 5 stars
4/26/04 oldtexan good flick 4 stars
4/26/04 Chris Thomson I agree that this film is two movies in one, but the two just double your fun! 4 stars
4/26/04 a movie watcher great movie good story 5 stars
4/26/04 Diane Langlois Great movie! Denzel is fabulous as always! 5 stars
4/26/04 Lord Jiggy "Forgiveness is between them and God. I just arrange the meeting." Just misses greatness. 5 stars
4/26/04 Markus andrews it was a powerfully uplifting rollercoaster 4 stars
4/26/04 Cakes Denzel was awsome. And little Dakota is an incredible little giant 4 stars
4/26/04 Michael sucked. sucked. sucked 1 stars
4/26/04 gyrene Outstanding performance by Denzel.Clever camera work.Subtitles work well.Way too short. 5 stars
4/25/04 Mary Johnson Loved it. Violent yes but still a great movie 5 stars
4/25/04 julietsierra great movie! Great performances. The cinemetography adds to the "on edge" mood. Fantastic!! 5 stars
4/25/04 Alex Higa Action, drama and unique executions.....GREAT MOVIE 5 stars
4/25/04 Alan Johnson Great Moive, two thumbs up 5 stars
4/25/04 Bev Good but way too long 4 stars
4/25/04 Annie Oakley fabulous movie, very moving, made me cry 5 stars
4/25/04 shery great movieb 5 stars
4/25/04 Meghan Awesome 5 stars
4/25/04 Atanu Dakota fanning with all her creepiness is a wrong choice as ever. read the damn book. 1 stars
4/25/04 Maria M GREAT MOVIE!!! Highly recommend it--Dakota is a jewelry--Denzel is a great artist 5 stars
4/24/04 Melissa Great movie! ne of the better one's I have seen this year 4 stars
4/24/04 Deanna Not enough Walken (but then is there ever enough?) It is a terrific movie. 5 stars
4/24/04 Terry H Intredpid, gritty Denzel, with his classic "O.K." 4 stars
4/24/04 Fred Wow! Great movie! Dakota Fanning is impressively convincing! 5 stars
4/24/04 Christina holy crap! That Dakota Fanning is amazing. Denzel is DA MAN. 5 stars
4/24/04 john yummy Tony Scott, Denzel tougher than 'Training Day'...nice Mexico scenes, action, acting 5 stars
4/23/04 Mike V Tony Scott is a Tool. 2 words: Stylized Subtitiles. Waste of Denzel. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Apr-2004 (R)
  DVD: 24-May-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  05-Aug-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast