More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.51

Awesome72.11%
Worth A Look: 17.69%
Average: 3.4%
Pretty Bad: 2.72%
Total Crap: 4.08%

3 reviews, 129 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Transformers: The Movie
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by rotten f. milk

"One shall stand, One shall fall..."
4 stars

This was my childhood.

I grew up on the movie Transformers. It's remained a friend to me during the years. It saves me from boredom, it releases me from the tyranny of everyday life.

I'm not saying it's for everyone, though. But it tries. It starts by giving itself a totally new line up of characters, so naturally, they've got to introduce each of them, giving them all separate personalities. Sure, devotees of the comic/toy/show will be disappointed that fuckerheads like Starscream and Ironhide keel off, but hey, they're going for mass appeal here.

To me, it's a testament of all that I grew up in. The cheezy, dated 1980 music, the infatuation with high tech machinery, the crazy-assed jumpsuits, the stars too: Judd Nelson, Eric Idle, Orson Welles. It's pretty big.

I grew up on this, and I love it. For all I care, it's still a great, aesthetically pleasing movie.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=927&reviewer=3
originally posted: 09/09/98 05:57:09
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell has not aged well i checked out after the 3rd one 2 stars
9/10/11 b0SamueL0b +z$8frZdyL%68pSU/:>w<:E3.lG-!XIB 4 stars
6/22/09 Jeff Wilder Not art by any stretch of the imagination. Dated yes. But fun and entertaining, 3 stars
7/28/07 Wee Todd Didd Not too bad, liked the older toons better, too much product placement iin the movie. 4 stars
7/18/07 Not Blindly Nostalgic Just watched it again the other day. Superb when I was 8. At 28 it is incoherent. 2 stars
7/03/07 Lazybluedress It was spectacular, violent for a cartoon with carnage ahead of its time. 5 stars
7/01/07 William Goss Appeal is understandable: constant action, surprising twists, awful music. 3 stars
1/27/07 Booksworm Fucking awesome movie.No arguments.Anybody says different can take it up with Galvatron. 5 stars
4/06/06 Troy M. Grzych The TV series was much better, the movie has lost something with age. 3 stars
8/18/05 ES Loved this movie as a kid, lost a little something since then 3 stars
11/01/04 Neil Smiff Takes Me Back To My Childhood. TRUELY MAGICAL! 5 stars
6/21/04 Steven This is one of the most amazing movies of all time, no questions asked. 5 stars
3/09/04 Sean McLean Action-packed and fun as hell - the best toy-based movie ever made! 5 stars
1/09/04 Allison I'm a girl and I loved it. Ultimate piece of 1980s nostalgia! 5 stars
1/03/04 KR I love it, but those of us who loved it as kids are biased. 5 stars
9/23/03 Sugarfoot Much better then what critics made out... 3 stars
8/08/03 3man A decent movie but it aint better than Space Battlship Yamato. 4 stars
7/29/03 Boomer My childhood at it's Pinnacle...just gimme a CGI Live Action movie now and I can die! 5 stars
7/13/03 snabald See all your childhood heroes get MURDERED. 5 stars
6/12/03 Travis Sharpe Great film. Flawed characters made for a better story than the series. 5 stars
6/06/03 Char Aznable I grew up on this stuff and it still rocks today! 5 stars
5/10/03 Mike Ertle Someone please create 5 websites saying that this is the best movie ever, so I can complete 5 stars
12/30/02 Jeffrey Dube' This is the GOD of all films 5 stars
10/18/02 Shams Huque Love it for the fact that Prime DIES! 5 stars
8/30/02 Joey The BEST animated movie ever!.... superb! 5 stars
4/24/02 maximal01 When "Transformers: The Movie" was released in 1986, I SHIT myself. See it NOW!!! 4 stars
3/28/02 NeuroManson Orson was a planet sized eating machine, and then died as a planet sized eating machine 4 stars
3/09/02 High motu This is the greatest work of ilm ever, modern film society should look to it as inspiration 5 stars
3/09/02 Rick Absolutely amazing, best film ever!!!! 5 stars
1/08/02 Till All Are One YOU GOT THE TOUCH BABY! 5 stars
12/22/01 NDW it has inconsistencies you could fly unicron through but i love it anyway 4 stars
12/14/01 Peter Herman violent & corny at the same time 5 stars
11/26/01 andrea freaking awesome (i wanted to watch my language) 5 stars
10/19/01 Ryan Hey Mike Fuck off a good Movie if i say so myself 5 stars
9/23/01 Rampage ABSOLUTE KICK-ASS MOVIE! Hey Mike, go shoot yourself! 5 stars
8/09/01 Jay Khwaja It made me want to crush the bastard Descepticons when we were robbed of Prime's death. 5 stars
6/26/01 T_RatV Good movie, Unicron Rocked, Voices are great, good animation, Soundtrack is fun & original 4 stars
6/23/01 GI JOE eat your heart out. Well maybe partially. "It's a real film Jack." 5 stars
4/25/01 J OK its good to mantain your opinion but could I please smack guys like spetters please? 5 stars
4/24/01 Spetters I hated this, when i was young and I still do now!!! 1 stars
4/22/01 Hog THIS WAS A KICK ASS MOVIE!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/11/01 Mog the animation was shoddy, the story thin, but it was Transformers dammit... 5 stars
4/04/01 joel Little this is my favorite movie 5 stars
3/29/01 Mike These ratings are an attempt to get a shitty movie in the top 20. GET A LIFE 1 stars
3/21/01 M.C.A One of the best movies ever. 5 stars
3/21/01 shawn williams go snake 5 stars
3/18/01 msd23 best animated cartoon ever with a sweet soundtrack 5 stars
3/18/01 Zorg Screw you if you say this is Crap 5 stars
3/18/01 Zorg Screw you if you say this is Crap 5 stars
3/14/01 Harinder Raju Excellent film. Great music, great plot, great animation. Very stylish. 5 stars
3/04/01 Nick it is the greatest animated movie of all time 5 stars
3/04/01 Corbin Dallas Excellent film in the manner of The 5th Element, Independence Day and The Matrix 5 stars
3/01/01 Cornwiggle This movie rocks! 5 stars
2/28/01 Soggy Bottom Boy OK for the under-10 crowd, but other than that... 1 stars
2/27/01 loki robots that cus, come on how good does it get 5 stars
2/19/01 Steve in Prague goddamn this is a GREAT movie..words cant describe it 5 stars
2/07/01 Suhail Asrar Never be another like it 5 stars
2/07/01 Macarthur Student Homer and mike can lick me this was excellent. 5 stars
1/31/01 Gigan One shall stand, one shall fall. The best line in history. 5 stars
1/31/01 Shamus I liked Starscream 5 stars
1/21/01 Homer Fucking sorry excuse for a movie 1 stars
1/03/01 Mark Damnit, where's Hound? 5 stars
12/29/00 Unknown until further noticed. #^@# mike this is indeed a 5-star film. 5 stars
12/27/00 fifu this is a classic in it own time and still to some. 4 stars
12/21/00 Mike Wow this was a stuipd movie 1 stars
12/21/00 Gabe I've been watching it for almost 15 years now. What happened to Blaster? 5 stars
12/20/00 Matt Totally adequate for fans. Puzzling to everyone else. 5 stars
12/06/00 Brian This movie was AWESOME!. The sound track was great, and the movie had a wealth of one liner 5 stars
12/01/00 iceman I love your enthusiasm but why are you giving away the crucial plot lines!! 5 stars
11/26/00 Jim This movie rocks! 5 stars
11/10/00 jon i think this movie rocks 5 stars
11/09/00 Nick A Decent film fot all generations!!! 5 stars
10/28/00 Stanley Eldridge Superb! Fantastic! unquestionably the greatest movie ever. 5 stars
10/25/00 paul palik the best film ever 4 stars
10/13/00 The Dude Fucking aCE 5 stars
9/21/00 Richard Willis I think this movie put the transformers on the global map it is not just a cartoon any more 5 stars
9/08/00 Jed Despite some flaws this is quite possibly one of THE most underrated movies ever! 5 stars
8/29/00 Andrew Gouldstone Wonderful movie. I cried when Optimus died. 5 stars
8/26/00 Skottoman The Transformers Movie was possibly the best I've ever seen. Starscream rocks ass 5 stars
8/12/00 Richard Bohince This film is one that i can watch over and over again and never get sick of it. 5 stars
8/07/00 The Brother BEST MOVIE EVER!!! 5 stars
8/04/00 DREDD I loved transformers as a kid.. and the movie is still great.. 5 stars
7/27/00 Richie Saturday morning nostalgia - pure bliss. 5 stars
7/26/00 usman javaid the movie is great and iam one of the bigest fans of tf and i love the soundtrack 5 stars
7/16/00 Chris McCracken This is one of my favorite movies and like he said i grew up with it 5 stars
7/14/00 Primus Maximus It was one hell of a movie! Totally radical dudes!!! Definitely worth watching!!!! 5 stars
7/14/00 cragg76 The best film ever and cragg mean ever. 5 stars
7/10/00 sean lockyer orson welles last film! what else can i say ? a cult classic!!! 5 stars
6/28/00 Robert Rage A true masterpiece unlike crap like Pokeman!!! 5 stars
6/23/00 Crimsonswordsman disappointed that many characters were killed and others didn't appear, it was awesome! 5 stars
6/10/00 Howard Brashier JR. THe movie was outstanding!! I loved every minute of it. I have seen it at least a hundred t 5 stars
6/08/00 DREDD very smooth, great music and action.. 5 stars
6/06/00 Optimus The best film eva! 5 stars
5/27/00 Urthworm This movie is the single greatest human acheivment of all time. 5 stars
5/17/00 Tunnel Rat OK, Transformers, awesome cast and best yet!! KUP and UNICRON <Gotta love Unicron>!! 5 stars
5/12/00 Kurly I'm not asking you, I'M TELLING YOU...SEE THIS FILM!! 5 stars
5/11/00 Pedro Baez This is the best cartoon movie I'v ever seen 5 stars
4/25/00 Shaun Pendergast A classic movie that is must see for any fans of the show. 5 stars
4/18/00 Brian Baumgartner I loved the movie. I wish they had a sequel! 5 stars
4/10/00 Andrew Quigley Absolute Genius (except Kup) 5 stars
3/14/00 Kurt Williams Just because transformers are in it doesn't make it cool. Lots of plot holes, bad pacing,et 2 stars
2/21/00 The Gentle Pothole This is a great movie. Cool story, great soundtrack and great animation. Give it a try. 5 stars
1/13/00 James Palsrok Actually Awesome. Written for kids? obviously. Good plot,Interesting characters,good anime 5 stars
1/11/00 Eric Eddy I still watch it. I will always watch it. Prime and Megatron battle is the shiznit! 5 stars
12/23/99 Don Turksniper This is the fucking greatest movie with the greatest soundtrack of all time 5 stars
12/21/99 Nick "God Of Guitar" (jarsofwater@hotmail.com) Best Movie Ever All you "intellectuals" should get off your high horse. 5 stars
12/19/99 JEFF STEELE (JeffSteele00101@hotmail.com) It was the best TRANSFORMERS' epic--EVER!!! I'd watched it 17 times. 5 stars
12/14/99 Daniel L. Newhouse Grow up people, the only good feature is the soundtrack. 2 stars
11/27/99 Dave Harrower It was awesome in 1986 when I was 4 years old and it's still awesome today! 5 stars
11/22/99 strike I never understood this and I probably never will because of my intelligence! 1 stars
10/16/99 Russell Wilson Best movie ever, Forget TITANIC, forget South Park, forget the Sick Sense! 5 stars
10/10/99 John Howard The best damn american animated movie to appear. Way better than anything Disney puts out. 5 stars
10/08/99 Sheldon Wynne An animated masterpiece. So if you don't like, go and watch the fucking Care Bears. 5 stars
10/07/99 Manny Gonzalez They made my childhood, I always looked forward to their morning cartoons 4 stars
10/03/99 Joe Schmoe Amazing as hell! 5 stars
9/30/99 Aaron Sauter I loved it wsih it was out so I could buy it. 5 stars
9/15/99 Renato Rivera I loooove it!!! 5 stars
9/07/99 funkwater I saw this movie the night it came out. 5 stars
9/07/99 Farrokh Kouchekpour My favourite film from childhood( yes even better than star wars) 5 stars
8/19/99 Joey Burba One of the greatest films of all time! 5 stars
7/21/99 Joey Leake One of the best movies ever. Has a PLANET that transforms into a giant freakin' ROBOT! 5 stars
7/07/99 Bart McCoy the best flim every in history I'll will never get sick of transfromers 5 stars
4/13/99 Jon Jackson I love this movie. But why did all the classics have to die?It's not fair!Take me instead! 4 stars
1/20/99 BBQ Bob Still a great animated movie. 4 stars
12/07/98 Shadow Raider Best cartoon movie ever. Why don't they make a Beast Wars movie? That would be cool. 4 stars
11/24/98 Fred Death in a cartoon movie? Is this Japan? I love this fucker. I can still watch it. 5 stars
11/17/98 Gray Whitten The Touch is the greatest song from a movie ever. I want a rocket board. 5 stars
10/24/98 Ash Best god damn animated movie ever next to Toy Story,Suprisingly Violent and Emotional.COOL 5 stars
9/09/98 PyThomas Fast-paced to the point of confusion... but still a kick-ass film 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  08-Aug-1986 (PG)
  DVD: 07-Nov-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Nelson Shin

Written by
  Ron Friedman

Cast
  Norman Alden
  Jack Angel
  Michael Bell
  Gregg Berger
  Susan Blu
  Arthur Burghardt



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast