More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.6

Awesome78.81%
Worth A Look: 9.93%
Average: 6.62%
Pretty Bad: 1.99%
Total Crap: 2.65%

2 reviews, 139 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lion King, The (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Stare by Jay Seaver

DreadOut by Jay Seaver

S He by Jay Seaver

We Are Little Zombies by Jay Seaver

Lion King, The (2019) by alejandroariera

Darlin' by Jay Seaver

Astronaut (2019) by Jay Seaver

White Storm 2: Drug Lords, The by Jay Seaver

Vivarium by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Ferris Bueller's Day Off
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"The single finest movie of the 80's, just over the Breakfast Club"
5 stars

The amazing thing about this movie is how a guy who can write such a poignant, funny, moving piece can now be turning out shit like Flubber and Home Alone 3. Ferris is my favorite movie of all time. And it pains me that there will never be another like it.

It also pains me that Matthew Broderick will never have another role that comes close to this one. He'll forever be playing deli-worker or Godzilla chaser or Inspector Gadget.

It also pains me that Sloane Peterson will never be the big screen sex goddess that she deserved to be, and that Cameron disappeared from the big screen to play second fuckhead on a bad sitcom.

But enough of my internal pain. Let's move on to hwy I feel so strongly about this flick.

Simply, it rules the school. When I was ready to sit my final high school exams, this movie hit the screens and it knocked me out.

The story is this. Ferris Bueller, perfect son and friend to all, is a mad man. He does what he wants, when he wants, how he wants. He's Parker Lewis before Parker Lewis was thought off (in fact Parker Lewis was based on Ferris). He is surrounded by the enemy. Mom and dad don't hate him, but they must be deceived for him to get his own way. Principal Ed Rooney does hate him, because Ferris makes him look like an ass. His sister hates him because Ferris get's everything his way.

But the rest of the world loves Ferris. He has no fear. He has balls like Lloyd Dobler. He has the ability to do anything, be anything, sneak anything and get away with it.

And though his friend, Cameron, is the anti-Ferris in every way, we can kind of relate to Cameron and wish we had a Ferris dragging us up by the collar into good life.

Animal House took teen movies into the bedroom closet. Ferris took them out and made satire out of wholesome. The same way Heathers found dark comedy in portraying the lightness and brightness and sanitary freshness of the suburbs, Ferris started it all off.

The music is awesome. It's a heinous crime that this movie never spawned a soundtrack.

I can't say enough good things about this film. It is quite simply perfect. If you can't enjoy this movie, check yourself into the nearest manic depressive clinic.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=928&reviewer=1
originally posted: 10/02/98 12:24:27
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/10/18 Suzanne I rewatch it just for "Twist and Shout." 5 stars
3/25/18 Ed Riddick Perfect cast, screenplay, rhythm. Brilliant! 5 stars
4/26/16 Ken This and "WarGames" are the highlights of Broderick's film acting career. 5 stars
1/12/11 Matt Stilwell I love this movie. It's great to cheer you up on a rainy day 5 stars
2/23/10 PAUL SHORTT JUVENILE, BUT OCCASIONALLY FUNNY WITH GOOD PERFORMANCES 3 stars
1/20/10 kris Clever and charmingly funny. Relevant topics. 5 stars
5/15/09 xiong overrated 3 stars
4/04/09 Dane Youssef A teen classic of simple dreams and adolescence, life, who you love and one last great day. 4 stars
7/16/08 Channing I skipped school to watch it at the new movie theater. CLASSIC! 5 stars
4/01/08 cameron AWSOME movie.i had such a HUGE crush on Jeanie(Jennifer Grey) 5 stars
1/27/08 Pamela White My son lives by this movie unfortunately 4 stars
1/24/08 Rob Teasley I can only pity those who can't enjoy this hilarious film.Subplot: Cameron's "Healing" 5 stars
12/08/07 Screwball A lot of fun. 4 stars
6/01/07 fools♫gold People who don't think this film is perfect or don't laugh enough need to see more movies. 5 stars
10/24/06 Jeremy Davies hilarious 4 stars
9/13/06 David Cohen Seriously overrated 3 stars
5/27/06 Sheena way overrated 3 stars
3/29/06 Jones Wow 5 stars
8/11/05 ES Swing batter-batter, Sss-wwwing! 5 stars
2/14/05 Nathan Wilhite One of my all time favorite movies. It stays fresh despite its age. 5 stars
1/15/05 Jeff Anderson John Hughes' greatest, funniest film to date. Mia Sara, I LOVE YOU! 5 stars
1/07/05 HL The fact that Ferris (Matthew) talks to the audience, brings this brilliantly to life... 5 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams best high school movie EVER. FUCK the Breakfast Club 5 stars
9/26/04 Bucky Buckner Boone Cameron's depressive moods aside, this is fun, esp the parade 4 stars
7/12/04 Jim Save Ferris! 5 stars
6/15/04 T. Maj Dan Quayle's favorite movie 2 stars
5/28/04 Puss in Boots What OZ said - coolest movie ever. Endlessly clever AND thoughtful, absolutely delightful 5 stars
5/10/04 michelle most awesome movie 5 stars
2/17/04 samson awesome 5 stars
12/07/03 Samuel Never get old... 4 stars
10/26/03 Heather Its great i was in america and the girl i was staying with told me i just had to see it. 5 stars
9/26/03 Alan Sorry, R.W. Welch, but a lot of people who have left their teen years far behind enjoy this 4 stars
8/09/03 mofo knows i am one of the proud few who hates this movie 1 stars
8/04/03 Ghetto Smurf Boring at some parts, but over all good. 4 stars
6/07/03 Pascal Hish School Days... perfect! 5 stars
4/12/03 brad overrated 1 stars
2/17/03 R.W. Welch Popular teen flick, limited appeal beyond that age bracket. 3 stars
2/07/03 Joy Shepherd great movie, even over a decade later! a rare, clean teenage comedy i recommend to all 5 stars
1/20/03 BAM A GREAT FILM 5 stars
11/15/02 Ben Johnson Terribly poor 1 stars
10/24/02 mr. Pink No! No! No! This is very dated! It dosn't hold up to be anything approaching a classic! 3 stars
10/23/02 Kelly Funny at times 3 stars
10/18/02 Jay This, "WarGames", and "Glory" are three of Matthew B's best films!!! 5 stars
10/17/02 Joseph Tkacik Great movie, a must see 5 stars
10/11/02 SiliconHero Bueller...Bueller, you are one damn funny dude. 5 stars
10/02/02 Bearcat Classic! 5 stars
10/02/02 Elizabeth Eaton favorite of all time 5 stars
9/27/02 DemonHawk I don't see the appeal. I found it boring and unamusing. 1 stars
9/04/02 NavyUboat Witty, funny, never - NEVER - a dull moment 5 stars
8/29/02 Hessian A true classic. What more can I say? 5 stars
8/20/02 Pathetic Jones What the Movie Expert said. Coolest quote ever devised, perfect for this perfect teen saga 5 stars
8/19/02 Charles Tatum Funnier than all the American Pies and Road Trips combined 5 stars
8/19/02 Kyle Is it possible for anybody to dislike this movie? 5 stars
7/24/02 Bada Bing Crosby Kennedy Kennedy Kennedy..swing batter 5 stars
7/13/02 Movie Expert "Life is fast if you don't look around once in a while you could miss it"-best quote ever 5 stars
7/04/02 gary vidmar Great cult-classic. A little weird, but still really funny 5 stars
7/01/02 Jay Best movie EVER! 5 stars
6/19/02 Film Dude Perfect. 5 stars
5/13/02 Dark Baron Mia! Miiiiiiiiiiiiiaaaaaaaaaa!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/11/02 Max I got to miss school because of your tips 5 stars
1/26/02 Doug good 5 stars
12/06/01 KMG I'm sorry maybe I shouldve been a teen in the 80s...it sucked 2 stars
11/25/01 Butterbean This was when Matthew was cool. Now he's getting his ass kicked as a teacher on "Election". 5 stars
11/03/01 Andrew Carden Ferris Bueller Is An Extremly Winning Movie With A Wonderful Script. 5 stars
10/31/01 ferring he's inspired me to sing on a float. thanks ferris 5 stars
9/28/01 alialihassan ass.fucking 5 stars
8/29/01 Gary A teen classic. Not 'fucking awesome', but it's nostalgia value wins it an extra star. 5 stars
8/07/01 E-Funk One of the kings of the 80's. This movie gets better upon every viewing. 5 stars
8/05/01 Josh Tybur American cultural icon 5 stars
8/01/01 JDC What's happened to Broderick since the 80's? He's become so meek. 5 stars
7/16/01 Kate Hagen Ferris Bueller your my hero..... 5 stars
5/28/01 cinkcool Very funny, never get tired of it! 5 stars
5/27/01 B.B HEH HEH HEH 5 stars
5/24/01 Deanna "It's a little childish and stupid, but then again, so is high school" 5 stars
5/18/01 zeitgeist "pucker up, buttercup" 5 stars
5/05/01 The Chosen One A true classic 5 stars
4/30/01 sarah the best i've ever seen 5 stars
4/26/01 X Goes downhill when they get home but is still a lot of fun 4 stars
4/23/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Honey, I was Ferris Bueller in High School...*Snicker* 5 stars
4/08/01 Tom17Star Truly incredable! 5 stars
2/18/01 Tom Beatty It all works 5 stars
11/18/00 salvo twist and shout... that's fun 5 stars
11/07/00 eddie drake fucking rules 5 stars
10/30/00 April Adams Best Movie Ever Made! 5 stars
10/28/00 Mic This film is stupid, predictable, and on the whole frankly not very funny. 2 stars
10/25/00 YOUR Movie Expert This and Planes, Trains, and Automobiles are the best John Hughes. The Ultimate Hooky Game. 5 stars
9/22/00 The Racksasha It's an obvious classic and has a large following, but that doesn't make it good. 4 stars
9/20/00 Jeff John Hughes' best --a comedy classic 5 stars
9/13/00 Matthew Bartley Great just about sums it up 5 stars
8/29/00 Rooney The greatest teen comedy of all time. Broderick was a God among high schoolers 5 stars
8/13/00 Bender Highly entertaining from beginning to end. Satire, Slapstick, Lighthearted. 5 stars
8/11/00 Big Jon's Toe I AM Ferris, or was Ferris, when I was young, and this movie was new. 5 stars
8/10/00 malcolm classic teen comedy w/o stupidity 5 stars
7/08/00 Yonatan Jacobs A great film that gets better with age 5 stars
6/26/00 Save Ferris Ferris, Cameron, Sloan, Mr. Rooney, and Charlie Sheen. One of the best movies ever 5 stars
5/09/00 Janna the age of this movie does not make it a bad movie 5 stars
4/13/00 Rita GREAT! I liked it when Cameron had a nervous breakdown. It's funny when people go nuts. 5 stars
3/09/00 David Rogers After Godzilla and Inspector Gadget, this is Matt's best! 5 stars
2/07/00 steve layne a text book example of a feel good movie. Its Hughes' 2nd best teen movie 4 stars
1/19/00 amanda 80s awesome baby!!! 5 stars
1/17/00 Ferris Bueller Its Awesome 5 stars
11/30/99 John This is a great flick, literally!!! 5 stars
11/11/99 Zhanna One of my favourite movies of all time. 5 stars
11/10/99 Rosie Brewer I like the film, but did not enjoy studying it in English subject. Kills joy. 4 stars
9/23/99 Matt 2 words.... Oh Yea!!!!! 5 stars
9/15/99 Dennis Forcier Fun but ultimately irrelevant. 3 stars
8/23/99 Physh Matt Broderick does a kickass performance in Ferris, and now is Inspector Gadget? SHIT!! 5 stars
8/02/99 Duck cool film 4 stars
8/01/99 Alexander This movie is so damned smart and funny... SEE IT! 5 stars
7/30/99 Dax A cult classic like the Blues Brothers or Swingers. Watch, rewind, repeat. 4 stars
7/20/99 Amelia I just saw this movie last night and it is the funniest movie I've ever seen!! Literally. 5 stars
7/19/99 The Bomb 69 the only good movie Charlie Sheen was ever in 5 stars
7/17/99 soccer_mum Loved it when it first came out and still do....Ferris is awesome! 5 stars
7/15/99 J. Random Hacker possibly the best damn comedy ever. 5 stars
7/11/99 Daria Mildly funny, but that's about it. Wouldn't bother to see it again. 3 stars
7/05/99 Ben Leostein Rating: *** (out of ****) Category: "Good" 4 stars
6/21/99 Angie The best 80's movie ever!! Ferris rules my world!! 5 stars
6/10/99 Hungry Hungry Hippo It has times when it's cool but who can be bothered watching it twice. 3 stars
6/01/99 Doug Paulsen TWIST AND SHOUT! Fuckin' mint movie. 5 stars
5/13/99 Benny Gordon Hire this out right now and do yourself a big favour. 5 stars
4/19/99 jimmy jam Save Ferris. Good shit. stop and look around or you'll miss it 5 stars
4/17/99 Ah Dooey Lemme put it in one word: awesome! 5 stars
4/08/99 Daun Harner This movie is very popular! All the sportos, motorheads, sluts, bloods, dweebies, dickheads 5 stars
4/06/99 Michael Grimm Ohhhhhhh Miaaaaaaaa!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/05/99 jenn "Blu Smrf" best movie of all all time, classic! 5 stars
3/08/99 tellurium What a classic. 5 stars
2/19/99 nun uf yur businness whoever dosent like this movie has no taste. ITS AWESOME!! 5 stars
2/04/99 Cool thing Up and down, just the standard by which all 80's fils are judged. 5 stars
12/20/98 bizzy ferris bueller you're my hero 5 stars
11/13/98 Lord Of The Dunce John Hughes' best work? Definitely best Broderick role. Superb. 5 stars
11/08/98 Mike F fucking fucking fucking fucking fucking awesome!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo My favorite teen film of all time. Wonderful, and I hate that word, but it is. 5 stars
10/13/98 philip great film 5 stars
10/02/98 Kraznutz Perfect "This is Ed Rooney we're talking about! The man could crush my nuts into oblivion!" 5 stars
9/28/98 Heather GREAT movie! Required viewing before graduating high school. 5 stars
9/26/98 Maegs A rite of passage 5 stars
9/16/98 Chuck-D One of the true 80's classics. And so well done from a technical standpoint 5 stars
9/12/98 Bruce Willis' wig. This movie is my favorite ever. Only bad thing I can say - John Hughes will be missed. 5 stars
9/11/98 LuvPat FABULOUS film, love it every time I see it. Our family Theme Film. <G> 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Jun-1986 (PG-13)
  DVD: 10-Jan-2006

UK
  20-Feb-1987 (12A)

Australia
  21-Aug-1986 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast