More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.11

Awesome: 7.04%
Worth A Look: 4.23%
Average: 14.08%
Pretty Bad42.25%
Total Crap: 32.39%

7 reviews, 29 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Godsend
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Godrecall."
2 stars

Not quite God-awful, but awful suffices nonetheless. Greg Kinnear and Rebecca Romijn-Stamos lose their eight-year-old son in a car-on-pedestrian accident (no time is wasted getting to the deed, unlike, say, The Punisher, also with Romijn-Stamos), and are approached by a fertility doctor (Robert De Niro) who claims he can clone their son. Flashforward eight years, give Cameron Bright a new haircut, and they have Adam (II), now the same age as when the original was killed; only now, he has begun suffering from what may be night terrors.

Or maybe he’s suffering from prescient visions? Or maybe he’s suffering from something directly related to the cloning? (Memories of what previously happened? Someone else’s memories?)

Whatever it is, we are sure to sludge through the possibilities with yawning consequences. Apart from a creepy set-up or two (the claustrophobia of the wooden shed), notwithstanding the jolting assistance of the score, director Nick Hamm moves about maintaining the thrill-less atmosphere strictly by-the-book, and with the script often helping to dismiss logical qualms such as the secrecy behind the cloning project, their relocation, time-ignorant travel, deserted locales, and other cliché counterparts (i.e., why does everyone speak in whispers?).

Even the presence of De Niro serves as no call for legitimacy (though a movie exploring his motivations and back story come across as far more intriguing than this), helpless next to an unconvincing Romijn-Stamos and Kinnear, who has never been much of an actor in the first place.

[Not to be bothered with.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=9282&reviewer=172
originally posted: 05/12/04 02:25:20
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/23/10 PAUL SHORTT BLAND HORROR DESPITE GOOD PERFORMANCES 2 stars
2/21/07 deja review this was actually writen by 1000 monkeys at keyboards 1 stars
2/07/07 AJ Muller With this & Hide and Seek, DeNiro must now answer for his crimes against humanity. 1 stars
8/05/05 -- -c h a rLZz--... this movie is cool.. 3 stars
2/25/05 L.G. Great premise/concept... poorly executed... I don't remember much 2 stars
2/20/05 lj i can't believe deniro stooped to this role 1 stars
2/14/05 Angela Saunders Creepy and disturbing! 4 stars
2/07/05 ELI Jeeeeeeeez. It wasn't THAT bad! I got scared at least twice and that's good. 3 stars
11/08/04 Dave Yadda yadda what a load of fucked up verbal Diorreah 1 stars
10/30/04 Fabio Pereira It's a great film, awesome!and we want a second part in this film, a continuation! 5 stars
10/13/04 Kyle Another example of a good cast wasted. I fell asleep. 2 stars
9/23/04 verveluz diaz it only shows how powerful God is. 5 stars
9/06/04 Megan & Marcus This movie sucked!!!! 1 stars
9/05/04 elmokeys One of the worst of all time 1 stars
8/31/04 Bojangles This is a great wholesome family film. 5 stars
8/24/04 ownerofdajoint good first 30minutes,then garbled,then total confusion.very disappointing 2 stars
8/20/04 fat albert blah blah bland 2 stars
8/17/04 Dog_gone Okay, seriously, lighten up, it's just a movie 4 stars
8/07/04 howdinski not a very good film even de niro is not on form. would not recommend 2 stars
7/29/04 I didn't know God had an end Despite preposterous premise, a good thriller until ending...duh, WHAT ending? 3 stars
7/20/04 sada interesting 4 stars
7/12/04 john bale Hit with Strange Child Syndrome Kinnear emulates Bruce Willis, but De Nero is out to lunch. 3 stars
5/29/04 Suzette I loved it! It was good! Kinnear was excellent! 5 stars
5/24/04 Wolf It was SO BAD I WALKED OUT OF IT after Kinnear got hit with the candlestick. 1 stars
5/17/04 Lennie Boring, muddled, disappointing 1 stars
5/15/04 veronica Loved it 5 stars
5/14/04 Nicole Becken laughingly inane, bad movie, bad! 1 stars
5/04/04 Chris A wierd amalgam of various sceens that are stolen from better movies 1 stars
5/04/04 X I want my money back! 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Apr-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 17-Aug-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  08-Jul-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast