More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.04

Awesome: 37.1%
Worth A Look45.7%
Average: 8.06%
Pretty Bad: 2.69%
Total Crap: 6.45%

11 reviews, 120 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Mean Girls
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"One of those great little 'exception to the rule' movies."
4 stars

Surfing through Tweeny Movies with an eye out for quality is like searching for a clean restroom at a gas station. You'll have to pass a dozen toilets before you find one clean enough to pee in -- but that one sparkling clean washroom feels like a gift sent from above. "Mean Girls" is one such gas station toilet.

Let's end that moronic analogy right now. Sorry.

After rolling my eyes and chewing my tongue through mindless piles of dreck labeled Lizzie McGuire, Prince Me, Chaste Liberty, Drama Queen, Princess Diary and Girl Wants, I could be forgiven for fostering preconceived notions regarding ANY movie produced for the pre-teenage girl demographic. Basically anything bearing the names Hilary Duff, Mandy Moore, Anne Hathaway or Olsen Twin makes me break out in hives.

But then there's Lindsay Lohan. Breakout young star of last year's rather entertaining Freaky Friday (and this year's mindless Confessions of a Teenage Drama Queen), the effortlessly engaging Ms. Lohan apparently has more talent and onscreen charm than all of her peers combined. Based only on a handful of movies, it's evident that Lohan is the cream of the Teenage Crop, as least as far as bona-fide movie acting is concerned.

So it was with a bizarre sense of optimism that I sat down for Mean Girls. Heck, it was written by SNL's Tina Fey and it stars my new favorite young actress. Let's keep our fingers crossed!

And wouldnt you know it? Mean Girls turns out to be precisely the sort of movie that those other chicklet-flicks should aspire to be: It's smart and a little subversive, it moves at a brisk pace and offers a few unexpected surprises, it mocks the high school caste system while also offering a few canny insights that might actually speak to the movie's intended demographic...plus (I cannot lie) it's a sexy little movie, too. Sue me.

Lohan plays Cady Heron, a sweet-natured yet socially inept teenager who is about to experience her very first taste of high school. Recently transplanted from Africa, Cady approaches the high school social system with wary optimism. Inititally befriended by two of the school's "freaks" (a goth type gal and a flaming tubby guy), Cady soons falls in with "The Plastics" -- a trio of beautiful young harridans who rule the school through force of, well, sexiness.

Thus begins a series of experiments and attitude adjustments as Cady starts out 'spying' on her new gal-pals (in an anthropological sense) before slowly transforming into one of the shallow gals herself! Of course there are lessons to be learned by the fistful, and everyone will have grown just a little bit before it's all over...

It's not exactly Shakespeare.

But Mean Girls is a sincerely funny and intermittently insightful little comedy. If you're judging a movie based mainly on the intended goal, then Mean Girls is an absolute success. It's as if Tina Fey just got fed up with all the faceless, brainless movies about teenage girlhood, wondered why not one of them could try to inject a little heart or sincerity into the proceedings...and then just sat down and wrote it herself. (The movie is actually based upon Rosalind Wiseman's non-fiction book Queen Bees and Wannabes.)

The supporting cast is sprinkled with small doses of great schtick, from Amy Poehler's slutty Rich Mama to Tim Meadows' comedic interpretation of the high school principal who carries a big stick. All three of the lovelies cast as The Plastics do a bang-up job, though Lacey Chabert stands out with a surprisingly excellent performance. Front and center is Ms. Lohan, who once again displays an effusive sweetness and a true gift for comic timing.

The moron humor is kept to a minimum, and Fey's screenplay clearly has some heartfelt affection for those presently mired in the hell that is Teenage Girlhood. Mean Girls is a very welcome departure from the vapid, market-tested product that normally acts as Teen Fodder, and it's absolutely one of this year's biggest surprises.

Clearly inspired by movies like "Heathers" and "Jawbreaker" (and a vast improvement over the latter), "Mean Girls" puts the other Tweeny Flicks to shame. It proves that you CAN deliver mass-produced formula fare to an eager demographic while also producing a damn good movie.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=9283&reviewer=128
originally posted: 04/30/04 16:31:29
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/07/11 Kevin Breece one of my favorite comedies! you can watch it many times and still laugh! 5 stars
8/23/11 Annie G Better than most films of high school. The whole (teen, adult) family enjoyed. 3 stars
7/21/11 BuyTickets So gooood 5 stars
5/25/10 art one big SNL SKIT stretched out to a MOTION PITCURE! 1 stars
5/12/10 Natalie Meyerson WHY does cast list above omit showstealers Amanda Seyfried and Daniel Franzese?? 5 stars
5/12/10 Lenny Zane GREAT, and what a marvel, coming on eve of LL showing world what a miserable slouch she is! 5 stars
9/30/09 art THIS MOVIE SUCK"S! 1 stars
8/03/09 Rachel Definitely a must see for teen girls. 4 stars
5/24/09 art WHO CARES?,THIS IS NONSENSE! 1 stars
4/11/09 Dane Youssef A REAL look at the timeless enviorment of teenage girls, bitchiness and high school itself 5 stars
1/09/09 Anonymous. i thought it was funny :] not the average dumbed down teen comedy.. 4 stars
10/06/08 Jenny Tullwartz Sorta true, Iris. DID turn out to be last significant thing Flimsy Lohan is likely to do! 5 stars
10/04/08 Iris Verna Best film of millenium so far; downside: ends most cast member's careers (nowhere up to go) 5 stars
9/01/08 Samantha Pruitt really funny and smart! very quotable, with great characters 5 stars
8/31/08 Shaun Wallner Boring not worth it! 1 stars
8/27/08 louise really good and dum 2 stars
5/20/08 PAUL SHORTT A STANDARD VERSION OF LOW COMIC JOKES 1 stars
4/02/08 superfriek great film Linsy Lohan is so pretty in this movie, I jest love her, and I love the world to 1 stars
10/16/07 Beau a well made hilarious film, great character creations and lindsay's at her best here!! 5 stars
10/02/07 Rachel MacAdamia Nuts Love the sequel in which Regina gets diarrhea and kills Karen for telling people about it. 5 stars
9/23/07 Hard Rock Jane Austen Yep,Hello Stronger, and so it'll remain unless she can extract her head from her poop chute 5 stars
8/14/07 Aaron Smith Janis is the redeeming character here. 4 stars
7/29/07 Hello Stranger lindsay lohan's best acting role. 4 stars
2/04/07 mean girls rocks omg this is one of my favourite movies of all time, you can watch it douzens of times!! xx 5 stars
1/28/07 Lauren Olin Deserved Oscar nominations much more than LITTLE MISS SUNSHINE or DEVIL WEARS PRAVDA! 5 stars
12/15/06 cherry ok but not the best 3 stars
12/11/06 Stacy Very funny and sometimes realistic portrayal of high school. Love it. 5 stars
11/27/06 sirina total crap the worst movie ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
11/11/06 David Pollastrini all the women in this film are hot! 4 stars
8/11/06 Jennifer my favorite movie of all time! i watch it almost every other day! 5 stars
6/09/06 Dan Good movie actually... 5 stars
6/04/06 The Velcro Warlock Insightful & captivating but doesn't need fans like Sallie. 4 stars
4/16/06 Sallie To anyone who ever said "mean girls" sucks, go fuck yourself. 5 stars
3/23/06 tabiya karim hmmmmmmmmmmm i hate lohan she sucks goddddd 1 stars
3/09/06 Jenna Hilarious and true at the same time! 5 stars
2/14/06 Harriet Beak very funny real life teen movie 4 stars
1/03/06 cody a cool movie with sexy woman like lindsey lohan, but it had only few laughs here and there 3 stars
10/15/05 tony HILARIOUS! 5 stars
10/09/05 rob Really good; developed characters, hilarious, realism, dark (but not dark enough) 5 stars
10/04/05 shawney hartland you should show mean girls more offen on tv 5 stars
9/20/05 Jonathon Holmes if only more teen movies were like this... 4 stars
9/06/05 aiyana i love the movie so much. I've seen it like a hundred times. No kidding! 5 stars
9/01/05 Coral Good Voice it was OK 4 stars
8/16/05 alexandria it was so unbelievablly incredible like rikki 5 stars
8/12/05 nads shows tina fey in a bra. 3 stars
7/31/05 kit mean girls was so realistic to highschool. I loved it. 5 stars
7/19/05 619 love this film os should i say "thats sooooo fetch" 5 stars
7/09/05 Moctezuma I did not expect this to be so hilarious 5 stars
6/27/05 dan good film and i wanna bang lohan 5 stars
6/14/05 i am god sss 1 stars
5/10/05 Mike S. zeitgeist- I weep for you. 5 stars
5/09/05 zeitgeist I weep for the future. 1 stars
3/31/05 paris hart the best chick flick ive ever seen gd acting perfect teen comedy 5 stars
3/15/05 y2mckay Clever and funny script, the WU girls, hot chicks, and big boobs - What's not to like? 4 stars
2/25/05 dbx really overrated, ok if you can get past the hype 3 stars
2/23/05 sarah mean girls is one of my absolute favourite films of my life it is funny 5 stars
1/07/05 Buford Lindsay Lohan has big titties! 5 stars
12/30/04 Debra Sherman too jvenile but what was I expecting 2 stars
12/26/04 DM Witty and very clever. Tim Meadows is funny, too. 4 stars
12/06/04 Larry It shows Tina Fey in a bra. Good masturbation material. 3 stars
12/04/04 Britany Rose It was a good movie 4 stars
11/18/04 megan mean girls was a fun filled flick that made my family laugh so its worth a good look 4 stars
11/09/04 Diana where can i get the A little bit more dramatic top?email me at strawberilious@hotmail.com 5 stars
11/08/04 Kittie funny, sassy, more original that most teen films suprisingly entertained 4 stars
11/04/04 Koren Laholt A very good movie for kids over 12 4 stars
10/24/04 Natasha Theobald bitterly funny look at the suffering of high school 4 stars
10/18/04 gray beats the crap out of most teen girl movies 4 stars
10/16/04 Rapunzel Gladstone I think Lindsay Lowhanded, not Lindsay Lohan, wrote previous comment! 5 stars
8/28/04 Millie Maelstrom Q. Why does Karen NEED to put her fist in her mouth? A. To keep her foot out. 4 stars
8/26/04 Heather Purplethorne Shucks, Cady. I DID want to see Karen put her whole fist in her mouth! 4 stars
8/24/04 Robyn Jamil-Walid Tina Fey entertains us with her screenplay despite thinking her shit don't stink. 4 stars
8/23/04 Confessions Of A Teenage Trauma Queen Happy ending for all part a bit unrealistic. Lindsay yet to rival Freaky Friday excellence. 4 stars
8/07/04 Stephanie Throckmorton Actually,Eric C,Lindsay was at top of her radiance inCOATDQ;just couldn't save stupid movie 4 stars
8/07/04 Delight does anyone no were to get the top from that the blonde1 wore sayin"a little bit dramatic"? 5 stars
7/28/04 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne EricDSnider liked this! He must have hickupped during the fart scene! 4 stars
7/26/04 Elena A complete surprise. Insightful, hilarious and the most realistic teen movie since Thirteen 5 stars
7/24/04 yasmin its was really good good job 5 stars
7/24/04 Sandy Turynowicz funny 4 stars
7/17/04 legend One of the best teen comedy flicks out this year. 4 stars
7/16/04 Bruno I liked it! I luved their outfits, plus the soundtrack is really good! 5 stars
7/15/04 TheOthersFan For a film not rated "R," it deals with teen sexuality with surprising frankness 4 stars
7/10/04 Confessions Of A Teenage Trauma Queen Happy ending for all part a bit unrealistic. Lindsay yet to rival Freaky Friday excellence. 4 stars
7/10/04 marloes scholten the best teenage movie ever 5 stars
6/19/04 John Aster Habig true to the smallest detail based teen film since Orange County 5 stars
6/18/04 M should of been a bit more 'edgier' its too sugar coated! 3 stars
6/10/04 Savanna AWSOME!! FUINNI~! 5 stars
6/05/04 DdMM A fun, easy ride... 4 stars
5/31/04 Zierra Langham It didnt turn out the way i thought it was 4 stars
5/30/04 Alina hilarious movie 5 stars
5/28/04 Graham Though Heathers is actually better than Chekov.. 4 stars
5/27/04 Marlon makes HEATHERS look like Chekhov 2 stars
5/27/04 Ria This movie was the greatest comedy, look both ways before you cross. 5 stars
5/27/04 None Great Movie 5 stars
5/24/04 ajay surprisingly funny. The Indian dude was a crackup and you can't go wrong with Orbital!!!! 4 stars
5/24/04 Phantom Great! I saw it again just to see "Jingle Bell Rock!" 5 stars
5/23/04 Ray Zuper!!! 4 stars
5/22/04 Shark Awesome! Teen guys will fall in love with Lindsay Lohan! 5 stars
5/21/04 Blakers a great film 5 stars
5/20/04 batgirl i could watch this movie a dozen times and still laugh 5 stars
5/16/04 Chase Go see it! 5 stars
5/16/04 Marie it was just like my school def 2 stars
5/15/04 Koitus Cute film! I "personally related to" the party / puke scene, from H/S! L. Lohan is H-O-T! 4 stars
5/15/04 Blakers a great film 5 stars
5/15/04 Jay iT wAs ToTaLLy AwEsOmE n So FeTcH 5 stars
5/15/04 Jeff S Better than it had any right being, though the ending was weak. 3 stars
5/13/04 Me I am so sick of these stupid fucking teenage girl movies 1 stars
5/12/04 movieguy a great film 5 stars
5/10/04 Chiend What? No tits?!! I want my fucking money back! 1 stars
5/07/04 he a great film 5 stars
5/07/04 kevin hilarously funny! 5 stars
5/06/04 Laura I have not seen this film! 4 stars
5/06/04 Kayla I thought this movie was awesome, but then again I am a HUGE Lindsay Lohan fan!! 5 stars
5/05/04 britt actually really funny, over exageratted but true 4 stars
5/04/04 earl hofert just did not come together as i should have; horrible ending 2 stars
5/03/04 Me a great film 5 stars
5/02/04 cpbjr Funny at times, hot little girls all the time 3 stars
5/01/04 KingNeutron 3.5 *'s. Lindsay is hot as always, Rachel M looks like a young 7of9. Not bad for Tina Fey. 4 stars
5/01/04 Me A GREAT FILM I LOVED IT. 5 stars
5/01/04 susan lee tina fey rocks! 4 stars
4/28/04 Mike V Great! A really smart, funny, sweet, sarcastic take on female high school angst 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Apr-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 21-Sep-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  24-Jun-2004 (M)


Directed by
  Mark S. Waters

Written by
  Tina Fey

Cast
  Lindsay Lohan
  Tina Fey
  Lizzy Caplan
  Lacey Chabert
  Rachel McAdams
  Tim Meadows



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast