More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.04

Awesome: 37.1%
Worth A Look45.7%
Average: 8.06%
Pretty Bad: 2.69%
Total Crap: 6.45%

11 reviews, 120 user ratings



Mean Girls
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Laura Kyle

"Finally, an anthem for girls everywhere."
4 stars

There have been abundant artistic achievements and entertaining classics about girls, and women alike. From MY GIRL to BREAKFAST AT TIFFANY'S... pick your favorite. However, it seems as though only the flat out farces like CLUELESS or LEGALLY BLOND and the confrontational and groundbreaking like MONSTER and ERIN BROCKAVICH are ever taken seriously. Unless you depart from reality or make a huge effort to dig your heals into it, "chick flicks" are nothing more than... well... "chick flicks." Some of my favorite films in recent years, that I felt were really in tune with the pulse of womanhood, were the critically bashed HANGING UP and the limply supported WHITE OLEANDER... they were too melodramatic, critics claimed. It appears that critics, who are almost always men, are quick to denounce films that center around a female lead if the movie isn't meant to be hugely comedic or gritty. Can we not find a respected medium that carries more universal truth about being a girl?

Until my recent brush with the film Thirteen, I had accepted that no cinematic effort would ever capture the essence of growing up as a girl. And when Mean Girls followed suit and broke the teen movie mold as well, I had never heard truth ring so clear! Not only that, but these two films re-define what it means to be a Hollywood depicted high school student as well. Now, maybe you just clenched your fist. What about John Hughes? The Breakfast Club and Sixteen Candles? How about Rebel Without a Cause? Certainly these pictures had nailed teen angst. But did they really? I don't think so.

These favorites had charm, insight, and truth to them... but they sought comedy and nostalgia above everything else. No films like Thirteen, and Mean Girls, have sincerely analyzed the sociological background of middle school/high school... exploring the who, what, where, why, AND how of surviving the endless popularity contest that is public school.

Thanks to the witty and hilarious insight of Saturday Night Live writer Tina Fey, Mean Girls is an in your face, immensely entertaining, satire about the trauma every girl dulls out or endures as a teenager.

It may seem like Mean Girls is filled with the common stereotypical popular girl, considering the title of the film and the leading players. But if you look closer, you will realize that these mean girls surpass caricatures and have a frightening realism to them. Females everywhere: you knew girls like these in high school. You were afraid of them. You loved to hate them. And you wanted to be their best friend. You may have been one yourself.. and if you weren't upfront about it, you at least had a little mean girl mentality deep within your very being. Girls really don't play nice.

Let's just say Mean Girls lives up to it's title. Cady Heron (Lindsay Lohan) is a home schooled sweetheart, born and raised in Africa, turned American public high school fodder. The rebellious Janis Ian (Lizzy Caplan) and her too-gay-to-function friend Damian (Daniel Franzese) quickly befriend the fish-out-of-water, filling her in on all the clicks and their spots in the cafeteria and warning her of the Plastics, teen royalty who make a habit of ruining lives. As a joke, when the Plastics take an active interest in Cady, Janis is the one who encourages her to play along and spy on them, in hopes of later vengeance. But Cady's pretending starts to become less of an act and more of a lifestyle.

The Plastics consist of queen bee, Regina George (Rachel McAdams), and her entourage of Karen Smith (Amanda Seyfried) and Gretchen Wieners (Lacy Chabert). SNL lent plenty of its key cast members to bring Tina Fey's script to life, with Tim Meadows as the somewhat distracted but way too aware school principal, Amy Poelher as a mother obnoxiously living through her daughter Regina, and Ana Gesteyer as Cady's good-hearted mother. Tina Fey isn't left out either, playing a down-to-earth cool math teacher who seems to be all over the campus, and all over the plot, but who can blame her?

Lindsay Lohan does a superb job as a conflicted good girl and Rachel McAdams is absolutely wicked, yet very real, as the top - can I say it? - bitch of her trio. Amanda Seyfried and Lacy Chabert (from the hit show Party of Five) are excellent as Regina's loyal followers. And the SNL gang add such a great touch to an already funny premise and execution.

Director Mark S. Waters, who brought another Lindsay Lohan Blockbuster Freaky Friday to the silver screen, does a remarkable job at engaging the movie-goer in a spider web of adolescent crime in an utterly hysterical and stylish manner.

Clever comedy decorates the film's more intriguing study of the tricks girls play on each other and the malicious gossip that manages to infiltrate into every female conversation. Mean Girls ends on a not so mean note though, perhaps a little too soft and dishonest for my tastes, but I am glad the moral element overrode the mean.

Ultimately, MEAN GIRLS does not glorify it's subject, rather seeking to strip it from its masquerade and encourage real girls to be themselves.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=9283&reviewer=369
originally posted: 05/26/04 13:22:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/07/11 Kevin Breece one of my favorite comedies! you can watch it many times and still laugh! 5 stars
8/23/11 Annie G Better than most films of high school. The whole (teen, adult) family enjoyed. 3 stars
7/21/11 BuyTickets So gooood 5 stars
5/25/10 art one big SNL SKIT stretched out to a MOTION PITCURE! 1 stars
5/12/10 Natalie Meyerson WHY does cast list above omit showstealers Amanda Seyfried and Daniel Franzese?? 5 stars
5/12/10 Lenny Zane GREAT, and what a marvel, coming on eve of LL showing world what a miserable slouch she is! 5 stars
9/30/09 art THIS MOVIE SUCK"S! 1 stars
8/03/09 Rachel Definitely a must see for teen girls. 4 stars
5/24/09 art WHO CARES?,THIS IS NONSENSE! 1 stars
4/11/09 Dane Youssef A REAL look at the timeless enviorment of teenage girls, bitchiness and high school itself 5 stars
1/09/09 Anonymous. i thought it was funny :] not the average dumbed down teen comedy.. 4 stars
10/06/08 Jenny Tullwartz Sorta true, Iris. DID turn out to be last significant thing Flimsy Lohan is likely to do! 5 stars
10/04/08 Iris Verna Best film of millenium so far; downside: ends most cast member's careers (nowhere up to go) 5 stars
9/01/08 Samantha Pruitt really funny and smart! very quotable, with great characters 5 stars
8/31/08 Shaun Wallner Boring not worth it! 1 stars
8/27/08 louise really good and dum 2 stars
5/20/08 PAUL SHORTT A STANDARD VERSION OF LOW COMIC JOKES 1 stars
4/02/08 superfriek great film Linsy Lohan is so pretty in this movie, I jest love her, and I love the world to 1 stars
10/16/07 Beau a well made hilarious film, great character creations and lindsay's at her best here!! 5 stars
10/02/07 Rachel MacAdamia Nuts Love the sequel in which Regina gets diarrhea and kills Karen for telling people about it. 5 stars
9/23/07 Hard Rock Jane Austen Yep,Hello Stronger, and so it'll remain unless she can extract her head from her poop chute 5 stars
8/14/07 Aaron Smith Janis is the redeeming character here. 4 stars
7/29/07 Hello Stranger lindsay lohan's best acting role. 4 stars
2/04/07 mean girls rocks omg this is one of my favourite movies of all time, you can watch it douzens of times!! xx 5 stars
1/28/07 Lauren Olin Deserved Oscar nominations much more than LITTLE MISS SUNSHINE or DEVIL WEARS PRAVDA! 5 stars
12/15/06 cherry ok but not the best 3 stars
12/11/06 Stacy Very funny and sometimes realistic portrayal of high school. Love it. 5 stars
11/27/06 sirina total crap the worst movie ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
11/11/06 David Pollastrini all the women in this film are hot! 4 stars
8/11/06 Jennifer my favorite movie of all time! i watch it almost every other day! 5 stars
6/09/06 Dan Good movie actually... 5 stars
6/04/06 The Velcro Warlock Insightful & captivating but doesn't need fans like Sallie. 4 stars
4/16/06 Sallie To anyone who ever said "mean girls" sucks, go fuck yourself. 5 stars
3/23/06 tabiya karim hmmmmmmmmmmm i hate lohan she sucks goddddd 1 stars
3/09/06 Jenna Hilarious and true at the same time! 5 stars
2/14/06 Harriet Beak very funny real life teen movie 4 stars
1/03/06 cody a cool movie with sexy woman like lindsey lohan, but it had only few laughs here and there 3 stars
10/15/05 tony HILARIOUS! 5 stars
10/09/05 rob Really good; developed characters, hilarious, realism, dark (but not dark enough) 5 stars
10/04/05 shawney hartland you should show mean girls more offen on tv 5 stars
9/20/05 Jonathon Holmes if only more teen movies were like this... 4 stars
9/06/05 aiyana i love the movie so much. I've seen it like a hundred times. No kidding! 5 stars
9/01/05 Coral Good Voice it was OK 4 stars
8/16/05 alexandria it was so unbelievablly incredible like rikki 5 stars
8/12/05 nads shows tina fey in a bra. 3 stars
7/31/05 kit mean girls was so realistic to highschool. I loved it. 5 stars
7/19/05 619 love this film os should i say "thats sooooo fetch" 5 stars
7/09/05 Moctezuma I did not expect this to be so hilarious 5 stars
6/27/05 dan good film and i wanna bang lohan 5 stars
6/14/05 i am god sss 1 stars
5/10/05 Mike S. zeitgeist- I weep for you. 5 stars
5/09/05 zeitgeist I weep for the future. 1 stars
3/31/05 paris hart the best chick flick ive ever seen gd acting perfect teen comedy 5 stars
3/15/05 y2mckay Clever and funny script, the WU girls, hot chicks, and big boobs - What's not to like? 4 stars
2/25/05 dbx really overrated, ok if you can get past the hype 3 stars
2/23/05 sarah mean girls is one of my absolute favourite films of my life it is funny 5 stars
1/07/05 Buford Lindsay Lohan has big titties! 5 stars
12/30/04 Debra Sherman too jvenile but what was I expecting 2 stars
12/26/04 DM Witty and very clever. Tim Meadows is funny, too. 4 stars
12/06/04 Larry It shows Tina Fey in a bra. Good masturbation material. 3 stars
12/04/04 Britany Rose It was a good movie 4 stars
11/18/04 megan mean girls was a fun filled flick that made my family laugh so its worth a good look 4 stars
11/09/04 Diana where can i get the A little bit more dramatic top?email me at strawberilious@hotmail.com 5 stars
11/08/04 Kittie funny, sassy, more original that most teen films suprisingly entertained 4 stars
11/04/04 Koren Laholt A very good movie for kids over 12 4 stars
10/24/04 Natasha Theobald bitterly funny look at the suffering of high school 4 stars
10/18/04 gray beats the crap out of most teen girl movies 4 stars
10/16/04 Rapunzel Gladstone I think Lindsay Lowhanded, not Lindsay Lohan, wrote previous comment! 5 stars
8/28/04 Millie Maelstrom Q. Why does Karen NEED to put her fist in her mouth? A. To keep her foot out. 4 stars
8/26/04 Heather Purplethorne Shucks, Cady. I DID want to see Karen put her whole fist in her mouth! 4 stars
8/24/04 Robyn Jamil-Walid Tina Fey entertains us with her screenplay despite thinking her shit don't stink. 4 stars
8/23/04 Confessions Of A Teenage Trauma Queen Happy ending for all part a bit unrealistic. Lindsay yet to rival Freaky Friday excellence. 4 stars
8/07/04 Stephanie Throckmorton Actually,Eric C,Lindsay was at top of her radiance inCOATDQ;just couldn't save stupid movie 4 stars
8/07/04 Delight does anyone no were to get the top from that the blonde1 wore sayin"a little bit dramatic"? 5 stars
7/28/04 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne EricDSnider liked this! He must have hickupped during the fart scene! 4 stars
7/26/04 Elena A complete surprise. Insightful, hilarious and the most realistic teen movie since Thirteen 5 stars
7/24/04 yasmin its was really good good job 5 stars
7/24/04 Sandy Turynowicz funny 4 stars
7/17/04 legend One of the best teen comedy flicks out this year. 4 stars
7/16/04 Bruno I liked it! I luved their outfits, plus the soundtrack is really good! 5 stars
7/15/04 TheOthersFan For a film not rated "R," it deals with teen sexuality with surprising frankness 4 stars
7/10/04 Confessions Of A Teenage Trauma Queen Happy ending for all part a bit unrealistic. Lindsay yet to rival Freaky Friday excellence. 4 stars
7/10/04 marloes scholten the best teenage movie ever 5 stars
6/19/04 John Aster Habig true to the smallest detail based teen film since Orange County 5 stars
6/18/04 M should of been a bit more 'edgier' its too sugar coated! 3 stars
6/10/04 Savanna AWSOME!! FUINNI~! 5 stars
6/05/04 DdMM A fun, easy ride... 4 stars
5/31/04 Zierra Langham It didnt turn out the way i thought it was 4 stars
5/30/04 Alina hilarious movie 5 stars
5/28/04 Graham Though Heathers is actually better than Chekov.. 4 stars
5/27/04 Marlon makes HEATHERS look like Chekhov 2 stars
5/27/04 Ria This movie was the greatest comedy, look both ways before you cross. 5 stars
5/27/04 None Great Movie 5 stars
5/24/04 ajay surprisingly funny. The Indian dude was a crackup and you can't go wrong with Orbital!!!! 4 stars
5/24/04 Phantom Great! I saw it again just to see "Jingle Bell Rock!" 5 stars
5/23/04 Ray Zuper!!! 4 stars
5/22/04 Shark Awesome! Teen guys will fall in love with Lindsay Lohan! 5 stars
5/21/04 Blakers a great film 5 stars
5/20/04 batgirl i could watch this movie a dozen times and still laugh 5 stars
5/16/04 Chase Go see it! 5 stars
5/16/04 Marie it was just like my school def 2 stars
5/15/04 Koitus Cute film! I "personally related to" the party / puke scene, from H/S! L. Lohan is H-O-T! 4 stars
5/15/04 Blakers a great film 5 stars
5/15/04 Jay iT wAs ToTaLLy AwEsOmE n So FeTcH 5 stars
5/15/04 Jeff S Better than it had any right being, though the ending was weak. 3 stars
5/13/04 Me I am so sick of these stupid fucking teenage girl movies 1 stars
5/12/04 movieguy a great film 5 stars
5/10/04 Chiend What? No tits?!! I want my fucking money back! 1 stars
5/07/04 he a great film 5 stars
5/07/04 kevin hilarously funny! 5 stars
5/06/04 Laura I have not seen this film! 4 stars
5/06/04 Kayla I thought this movie was awesome, but then again I am a HUGE Lindsay Lohan fan!! 5 stars
5/05/04 britt actually really funny, over exageratted but true 4 stars
5/04/04 earl hofert just did not come together as i should have; horrible ending 2 stars
5/03/04 Me a great film 5 stars
5/02/04 cpbjr Funny at times, hot little girls all the time 3 stars
5/01/04 KingNeutron 3.5 *'s. Lindsay is hot as always, Rachel M looks like a young 7of9. Not bad for Tina Fey. 4 stars
5/01/04 Me A GREAT FILM I LOVED IT. 5 stars
5/01/04 susan lee tina fey rocks! 4 stars
4/28/04 Mike V Great! A really smart, funny, sweet, sarcastic take on female high school angst 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Apr-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 21-Sep-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  24-Jun-2004 (M)


Directed by
  Mark S. Waters

Written by
  Tina Fey

Cast
  Lindsay Lohan
  Tina Fey
  Lizzy Caplan
  Lacey Chabert
  Rachel McAdams
  Tim Meadows



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast