More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.45

Awesome34.65%
Worth A Look: 19.69%
Average: 14.17%
Pretty Bad: 18.9%
Total Crap: 12.6%

4 reviews, 103 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Top Gun
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Slyder

"Horribly dated but still mildly entertaining"
3 stars

This movie was like the biggest hit of 1986 and I should know better. Hell, my dad bought this film because he actually liked it, especially the sound FX. I didn’t mind since I was (and still am) quite a plane fanatic, and back then I had a hard-on for F-14 Tomcats (though if you ask me, the F-15 is actually cooler). It had been quite a while since I’ve seen the film so I popped the tape back up last night with my dad and watched the film. Man, what difference it makes after watching it for some time. If it weren’t for the impressive aerial photography, some good music and good editing, this film would be today just another money-grabbing dud. But it’s entertaining… most of the time at least.

The film takes as a background the whole description of the Navy’s Fighter Weapons School, in which fighter pilots get trained all sorts of tactics or “dog fighting” in order to become better fighter pilots than what they are. Enter Pete “Maverick” Mitchell (Tom Cruise), a hotshot fucker F-14 pilot who’s too wild to be tamed, so he and his RIO or Radar Intercept Officer Nick “Goose” Bradshaw (Anthony Edwards) go to this school which is stationed in California as a last chance so Maverick can finally qualify to be ascended as Squad leader. Besides getting humbled through the course of the film (thanks to ice-cold Tom “Iceman” Kazanski [Val Kilmer]), he meets Charlotte “Charlie” Blackwood (Kelly McGillis), a civilian instructor who, according to the box “teaches Maverick a few things you can’t learn in the classroom.”

Back then I guess in all the rampant fashion of the 80s and Ronald Reagan and all that shit, the patriotic feel and all which made Top Gun so popular. Today though, the movie is almost 80% pure cheese if you start adding the whole 80’s atmosphere feel, the homoerotic subtext, testosterone-driven sequence, lame plot, and the synth-music which sounds so 80’s. A couple of huge hit songs are here, like Berlin’s classic “Take my breath away,” which I can still tolerate, but if I have to hear that fucking Kenny Loggins song again, I may have to kill somebody.

The plot is barebones and pretty much lame. Several supposed insights on the whole premise of the dog fighting tactics and research comes off as pretentious and ultimately rushed, in fact the whole film seems a bit rushed. Some of the scenes come off pretty lame and cheesy like Goose’s rendition of the Jerry Lee Lewis classic “Great Balls of Fire” (not to mention that with the added homosexual innuendo that song adds a pretty disturbing meaning to it), as well as Cruise’s and McGillis chemistry which is at an absolute zero since we’re never drawn deeply into what makes them attract each other. They’re like blocks of wood.

Cruise once again is totally erratic as Maverick and McGillis isn’t helping that much on the acting department either. Cruise gets her naked though, but unfortunately since this movie is PG, we have to see it all edited out, DAMN IT!!! The broad standouts though are Anthony Edwards, and Meg Ryan, in one of her first movie roles. And if it weren’t for Cruise, Val Kilmer is pretty much the 80’s poster boy and this movie proves it. Too bad that he hasn’t got rid of it completely, although in Tombstone he ruled all hell.

Anyways, what saves this flick? Some great aerial photography by Jeffrey Kimball, as you see how the airplanes buzz and move all over the sky, I found that cool and you can say that’s the films basic appeal since it’s realistic and not CGI made. And also the fact that this film despite all its flaws manages to be somewhat of a passable entertainer and almost strictly an 80’s nostalgia piece. Directed by Ridley Scott’s more plastic brother Tony Scott and produced by Don Simpson and Jerry Bruckheimer, don’t tell me you weren’t warned.

Your choice of view. For me, with seeing it that one time was pretty much enough. 2.5-5

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=929&reviewer=235
originally posted: 10/24/04 07:55:48
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/22/17 morris campbell entertaing macho bullshit 4 stars
4/26/16 Ken Chef ADogg is a fucking moron and can go fuck himself! This film is not bad at all. 4 stars
4/02/13 Caleb If I didn't have a man-crush on Cruise, I could hate this. 3 stars
4/10/10 Jeff Wilder Cheesy as hell. Great cinematography. 3 stars
3/18/10 Omar Anyone who hates this film so much is a jackass. 5 stars
2/21/10 PAUL SHORTT CONTRIVED ACTION FILM 2 stars
10/18/09 Chad Dillon Cooper Early Cruise classic,topped only by his other" masterpiece" cocktail. 1 stars
7/02/09 cindy Yeehaw, Cruise in uniform ! SEXY SEXY! Love this film. Maverick can park his motorcycle i 5 stars
2/05/09 Faraz J Exhiliarating, exciting and fun. Only a story is missing. MUST WATCH!!!!!! 5 stars
6/12/07 al smith amazing aerial photography still takes my breath away 4 stars
3/07/07 David Pollastrini never saw what the big deal was in this film 3 stars
2/27/07 Asian God 94 My alltime favourite film! People who don't agree are bastards who touch kids.20 out of 10 5 stars
1/29/07 Matt Story is cliched rubbish, but the aerial shots are...WOW! Even after 21 years. 3 stars
1/29/07 Boo I loved it, a classic film. i rate it a 9 5 stars
12/11/06 Bart Simpson Gag -- typical Reagan-era republico-christo-patrio-fascism. Total crap. 1 stars
11/09/06 Sugarfoot Superduper gay. Don't believe me, how do you explain "He's on my tail comin hard!" I 3 stars
7/18/06 David Cohen Being a pilot gets you lots of sex, so join the air force 1 stars
6/12/06 Vince Back in the 80s this was the shit... The fight scenes are still cool. 5 stars
4/18/06 madson I loved this movie i do not know what the other people are talking about 5 stars
4/07/06 matt one of the most overrated films ever 2 stars
2/10/06 JM Synth I own the soundtrack; cheesy but great, I love it! The film? Ugghhh! 2 stars
1/04/06 cody cool air fighter action with tom cruise in one of his best perf., this movie is good 4 stars
8/26/05 ES Quick Maverck! Fire the same missile at the same jet 6 times in a row! 3 stars
8/23/05 Nhi hey, im 15, watched it for the 1st time this yr (05), and i loved it!!! tears and laughter! 5 stars
6/20/05 darick Worth a look just for the flying scenes (and possibly Cruise) but not McGillis 4 stars
6/08/05 Rock-Steady 9000 shower scenes? gayness 1 stars
5/04/05 eddie fan #1 I would rather eat two week old cheese and shit my guts out than watch this 1 stars
2/13/05 Jeff Anderson Anthony Edwards & John Stockwell are great, THE REST SUCKS! 2 stars
1/17/05 Dark Lord "Queer As Folk" in F-15 Eagles. 2 stars
1/10/05 keithers.. Classic Cruse 4 stars
11/19/04 blah cool cruise cruising with cool babe with cool jets and cool direction Cool! 4 stars
11/10/04 kim it is absoulutely brilliant if you havent seen it then you should! 5 stars
10/01/04 Eric Fremen Top Gun is the greatest movie ever, hands down. 5 stars
8/14/04 Alien assassin All flash and no substance - like the Reagan era itself !!! 3 stars
8/06/04 McGraw DOES NOT stand test of time. Bloated, corny, and irritating. 2 stars
8/02/04 Anthony G wow tom cruise is so "cool", I wish I could be as "cool" as "cool" tom cruise 2 stars
7/19/04 Gray good film despite homo overtones in parts 4 stars
4/25/04 Carla it was fun to watch. 5 stars
3/20/04 john strong visuals ina aerial scenes but it's still only a 2 hour music video/commercial 2 stars
3/06/04 Jaco Visser Nice story. Nice actors and actresses. Nice about everything. 4 stars
2/25/04 Dr.Lecter Incredibly boring for a movie that wears its macho stupidity on its sleeve 1 stars
1/17/04 J Is this a chick flick? 3 stars
1/08/04 Jessica I love this movie.... it's a classic! 5 stars
12/16/03 Ronit Great - Super - best of the best 5 stars
11/29/03 john a 2 hour music video - it's somewhere between fun and ridiculous 3 stars
10/30/03 Moparman Great flick.. 5 stars
8/16/03 Alex I Feel the Need, the Need to see it Again!! 5 stars
6/20/03 Vincent van Bennekum story isn't good, but the actors en action are very well 4 stars
5/30/03 Gav gggggrrrrreeeeeaaaaattttt 5 stars
3/28/03 Andrew Gates Tower this is Ghostrider requesting flyby. Negitive Ghostrider the pattern is full. 5 stars
1/28/03 Pinkline Jones Shooting blanks again - refunds for all 1 stars
1/08/03 Lin Rainey Flying scenes great -- rest of the film is mediocre to downright bad. 2 stars
11/07/02 Tim Crap 1 stars
11/04/02 Del Your ego is writing checks your body can't cash! 4 stars
10/18/02 Jay I Can't Swim is a little prick!!!! Tom Cruise at his prime!!!! 5 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Overblown film made to give navy recruits a hard on 2 stars
9/22/02 Kristen Loftus I loved this movie. Every part of it was great. I didnt find anything bad about it. 5 stars
7/30/02 wintermute Cougar was number 1 - You were number 2 - Cougar's Gone Now 5 stars
7/27/02 I Can't Swim Movie is cliche-ridden nonsense; figures dickheads below love it so much 1 stars
5/10/02 raj a magical tommy movie.his 2nd best other than JERRY MAGUIRE .u girls enjoy?? 5 stars
4/05/02 Justin My favorite Tom Cruise film without a doubt! 5 stars
3/27/02 R.W. Welch Enjoyable, if somewhat hokey, Tom Cruise vehicle, nicely directed. 4 stars
3/12/02 KMG I've walked into farts that were better than this 2 stars
2/09/02 Angela Potter I loved it! Tom Cruise is so hot! I enjoyed the great areial footage and flight sequences. 5 stars
1/10/02 Andrew Carden Great Premise Used In A Bad Way, Tangling Between Too Many Subplots. 2 stars
12/07/01 nicky mountney my best film ever, and thats no lye... 5 stars
10/09/01 jay a briliant film 5 stars
9/09/01 kris this is the best movie i have ever seen 5 stars
9/05/01 Crunchy Frog Best example of homo-eroticism since the deleted bathing scene from Spartacus! 3 stars
8/19/01 Edwin Menguin When Dr.Green died, I wanted to kill my dog, then fuck it in the ass 1 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Minus homosexual overtones...Fun action movie from the 80's. 4 stars
5/21/01 Monster W. Kung It was a big success. However it was crap. Not disgusting crap, just crap. 2 stars
2/26/01 Mister Char over rated 2 stars
2/16/01 James Sorry Cruise fans, Iron Eagle is the definitive flyoy film. 2 stars
2/04/01 Invader The movie is hollywood at its best, great action scenes loads of sex appeal 4 stars
12/14/00 Mic script doesn't know the meaning of "two-dimensional characters", nor do the actors 2 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla well, it was good, still nice cinematography for those cool fight scenes 5 stars
11/10/00 bruno cruise is the man!!! 5 stars
10/14/00 Lindsay Nixon Awesome 5 stars
9/23/00 Maverick Tom Cruise flies not only F-14 but blond Kelly too 5 stars
8/29/00 Chris Drake Great flying, pointless 'romance'. Titanicesque with wings 2 stars
6/26/00 Jed Ignore ADogg's ignorant review on this classic. 5 stars
5/19/00 Ben Hughes COOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/08/00 Matt Conway Top Gun is a brilliant film. Hot chick. Cool fight scenes. Amusing story. A top pizza flick 5 stars
5/02/00 Constanza Laureda It's a great movie! 5 stars
4/22/00 yankee decent, the flights are basass, the death is sad, the father thing is annoying,iceman rocks 3 stars
3/07/00 john one of the best movies of all time 5 stars
3/02/00 Kaptn' Bizzm Best movie ever 5 stars
2/11/00 max gardner damn good movie 5 stars
1/10/00 Will there's homoeroticism in this? boy am I naive. 4 stars
12/10/99 Sierra It is a classic! 5 stars
12/02/99 Tim Gerchmez Underrated. The Cinematography is magical. 5 stars
10/27/99 Mary-Catherine Mack The best movie ever made!! 5 stars
9/15/99 Jack Wideman Great Film!! One of my all-time favorites. I give it an 8. 5 stars
7/07/99 Ben Leostein Rating: **½ (out of ****) Category: "Above Average" 4 stars
7/02/99 AJ SHEPHERD UNREAL MOVIE, EVERY BOYS DREAM 5 stars
5/09/99 Beachlovr9 Excellent movie! And that was Val Kilmer? geez... what happened to him? 5 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson Testosterone flick, c'mon it is a little homoerotic 4 stars
2/20/99 Piz Pure guy, buddy-macho flick. Works because of its stars and predictability. 4 stars
11/28/98 Mr.Pink V. Kilmer can ride my tail anytime!! As long as i don't have to see the movie anymore. 2 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob A picture perfect, 80's staple of hetero/homo eroticism, veiled as Reaganism! 4 stars
10/10/98 {{{OZ}}} The gayest movie ever, but I copped my first feel watching it, so it rules. 5 stars
9/19/98 Badass "You can be my wingman anytime" 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-May-1986 (PG)
  DVD: 14-Dec-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Tony Scott

Written by
  Jim Cash
  Jack Epps Jr.

Cast
  Tom Cruise
  Kelly McGillis
  Val Kilmer
  Anthony Edwards
  Tom Skerritt
  Michael Ironside
  Meg Ryan



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast