More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.4

Awesome69.46%
Worth A Look: 18.23%
Average: 2.46%
Pretty Bad: 2.96%
Total Crap: 6.9%

8 reviews, 155 user ratings


Latest Reviews

One I Love, The by Jay Seaver

Get On Up by Peter Sobczynski

Guardians of the Galaxy by Peter Sobczynski

Snow White Murder Case, The by Jay Seaver

At the Devil's Door by Jay Seaver

To Be Takei by Jay Seaver

Hercules (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Hal by Jay Seaver

I, Origins by Greg Ursic

Boyhood by Daniel Kelly

subscribe to this feed


Big Lebowski, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Brian McKay

"Dude, Where's my Rug!"
4 stars

The Big Lebowski is the tale of one Jeff Lebowski, a.k.a. "The Dude." He's an easy-going kind of guy, The Dude is. He likes to bowl (or so we assume since he's always at the bowling alley, though we never once see him actually roll a ball). He walks around in sweats and goes to the supermarket in his bathrobe. He smokes a lot of weed and drinks a lot of White Russians. And, he is the "laziest man in Los Angeles county, which kinda puts him in the running for World's laziest man." In short, ladies and gentlemen, he's my hero.

When "The Dude" (Jeff Bridges) is subjected to a home invasion one night, his head forced into the toilet by one thug, as the other pisses on his living room rug, he manages to convince the thugs that they've got the wrong guy. As it turns out, they are looking for another Jeff Lebowski, one who is rich and whose trophy wife owes money to some shady characters. The thugs leave him alone with wounded pride and a pee-stained rug.

When he relates his tale of woe to his buddy, Walter (John Goodman), a hilariously volatile Vietnam Vet (or so he claims), Walter insists that he should go confront the other Lebowski and demand compensation for the soiled rug. Taking his friend's advice (which is never a good idea with Walter), he goes to the Big Lebowski's mansion and is insulted and tossed out - though not before nicking a rug from the house's furnishings to replace his own. On the way out, he meets Bunny Lebowski (Tara Reid, playing a brainless slut. What a stretch), the trophy wife in question.

Soon thereafter, Bunny is kidnapped. The Big Lebowski (David Huddleston), hires Dude to make the ransom drop, in the hopes of having him identify the kidnappers, who may or may not be the same guys who pissed on his original rug. Before he can make the drop, however, his new rug is stolen, prompting an "Awww MAN!" from the Dude (one of the 140 times the Dude uses the word "Man" in the film). Before he has time to deal with the theft, he has to go make the money drop. He decides to get Walter involved as the wheelman, and naturally Walter flips out and everything starts going to hell with hilarious results. After the botched money drop, The Dude gets involved with Maude Lebowski (Julianne Moore), who tells him that Bunny has kinapped herself in a ploy to get more money out of Maude's father. So, like it or not, The Dude has now become a detective of sorts, although the thing he seems to detect best is where the Kaluah is so that he can make a White Russian.

The story, while overlong and rambling, is basically a venue in which a string of comedic sketches can unfold. The thing gets so convoluted that by the time it reaches the end, you kind of forget how it all ties back to the beginning. That's okay though, because you'll laugh your ass off along the way. Both Bridges and Goodman are in rare form, and this bumbling duo is one of the best things the Coen brothers have come up with to date. How can you not love The Dude, who is so easy-going that when the kidnappers later break into his house and start smashing things while he's in the tub smoking a J, his only response is to say "Hey, man, this is, like, a private residence!"

Best enjoyed in small sittings after the initial viewing, the Big Lebowski is the kind of movie in which you skip forward to your favorite parts, and is a rock-solid source of one liners to quote with your friends. So when you're having a down day, pop in "The Big Lebowski" for a little pick-me-up, and always remember: The Dude Abides.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=93&reviewer=258
originally posted: 11/06/01 19:42:51
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/24/14 Dudeist Reverend M. Morley This film really ties any room together...Dude. 5 stars
10/11/12 The Rev 8 year olds dude 5 stars
2/14/11 Jeff Wilder Inventive approach, quotable dialogue. The fact that it's not plot-driven doesn't hinder it 4 stars
4/20/10 PAUL SHORTT MEANDERING AND STRANGE 2 stars
3/31/10 Dr.Lao If you think that colorful swearing is comic genius, you will love this movie 1 stars
1/30/10 mr.mike Props to its fans , I didn't get it. 3 stars
12/06/09 Omar Amazing film. So funny! 5 stars
10/21/09 slayme Best movie ever! Sorry some yall don't get it. 5 stars
11/22/08 Shaun Wallner Friiggin Awesome!! 5 stars
10/26/08 Total Crap Donnie, you're out of your ELEMENT! lmao, this movie is hilarious! 5 stars
9/17/08 Stu Defines the word "random" and also the phrase "funniest film ever". 5 stars
7/28/08 The Dork Knight Julianne Moore drags the story down, but s'alright 4 stars
6/29/08 AnnieG Just enjoy the characters and don't try to follow the "plot". 4 stars
6/04/08 mec leads? yeah sure! 5 stars
1/26/08 Pamela White stupid with a capital L 2 stars
1/26/08 Adam Brilliant. Never gets old, watch it at least 3 times to Get It. 5 stars
11/10/07 Kaleun You have no idea...this may be the best movie ever. Awesome soundtrack, too. 5 stars
6/30/07 Danny.G "good night sweet prince" 5 stars
4/08/07 mb Empty Junk 1 stars
2/07/07 me offcourse pure genious! 5 stars
12/12/06 David Cohen Apparently written by narcissists who foolishly think everything they write is pure genius 1 stars
12/04/06 Kelly A movie you have to watch more than once and then you cant sop quoting it 5 stars
9/05/06 Jim Nonsense, but riveting nonsense. Bridges is fantastic as the Dude. 5 stars
8/01/06 Marty we believe in nusheen lebowski nusheen! 5 stars
5/09/06 the bride are you ready to be fucked man! 5 stars
4/17/06 sky great pick me up movie 5 stars
3/28/06 Larry Just superb, you'll be bowled over! 5 stars
2/23/06 jp your reviewer needs to watch it again..... 5 stars
1/28/06 tatum Funny one-liners, but overly disjointed 4 stars
1/22/06 Crackhead This is the king Of all comedys! 5 stars
11/11/05 zeitgeist Comedic masterpiece. 5 stars
10/05/05 Jesse Taylor The Coens have done it again. One of the best of 1998. Goodman's performance stands out. 5 stars
9/18/05 Monday Morning I just saw TBL again and forgot how great it is. 5 stars
9/02/05 ES Entertaining, felt bad for Dude's carpet. 4 stars
8/23/05 Anthony G I told those fucks down at the league office a thousand times that I don't roll on Shabbos! 5 stars
8/12/05 Kelly memorable dialouge and so freakin hilarious- the dude abides 5 stars
8/03/05 matt He's the man for his time and place 5 stars
7/19/05 Mike The funniest movie I have ever seen. It's a two hour virtuoso performance. 5 stars
6/03/05 Simon Artistically devoid of any value, but God the comedy and one-liners are priceless. 5 stars
5/25/05 Jake A groin grabbingly good time. 5 stars
5/10/05 zeitgeist Comedically brilliant. One of the funniest movies of the past 10 years 5 stars
3/18/05 indrid cold The Coen brothers are so overrated, but this one has some gut busting moments. 4 stars
3/13/05 MF interesting, strange, but interesting 4 stars
1/09/05 Sam Utterly mindless, walked out in the middle of the movie 1 stars
12/10/04 Ghetto Smurf Donny, you're out of your element. 5 stars
12/01/04 Archanist_101 Yet again not really what I'd expected but, decent enough to watch again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
10/13/04 James Cole It doesn't get any better than this. Why has this movie not been on cable??? 5 stars
7/24/04 john mchamemrson wow thats one genoius movie, a must see 5 stars
7/17/04 GBrooks the chinaman is not the issue here! 5 stars
6/11/04 Jim One of the Coen Bros. best. 5 stars
6/09/04 Makman "Eh, Lebowski!" -- I love the German nihilists! Rock! 5 stars
4/13/04 Miss Julie Falling-down funny. My life would be a poorer place without The Dude. 5 stars
2/16/04 seth Great film 5 stars
2/04/04 Nick Hosler This is the best film ever! 5 stars
11/20/03 Sturphy They're gonna kill that poor woman! 5 stars
10/30/03 Branagh Hater True Cinema Masterpiece, this is how movies are supposed to be. 5 stars
10/29/03 Aaron I had to get gluteal replacement surgery after I saw this one. 5 stars
10/07/03 R.W. Welch More amusing absurdity from the Coens. May be too squirrelly for some. 4 stars
10/02/03 MARTIN EL DUDERINO 5 stars
9/25/03 Anthony Butler Possibly the greatest comedy ever 5 stars
9/11/03 tim awesome! 5 stars
8/20/03 Taylor One of the awesomest and most hilarious movies ever made! 5 stars
8/11/03 The Savage The only 3 people who wouldn't like this movie are Hitler, Saddam, and Bob Saget. 5 stars
7/31/03 Walter Shut the fuck up Donny-Best Movie Ever 5 stars
7/17/03 Jin Stopped watching after an hour. It felt like 3. 1 stars
7/10/03 joe long redeeming; an antidote to modern life 5 stars
6/18/03 magus one of the greatest comedies of all time, must hav seen it about 50 times 5 stars
5/17/03 George Jung Anyone who doesn't like this movie is a fucking idiot with no understanding of modern film 5 stars
4/08/03 Mystique One of the best films ever 5 stars
4/01/03 Rebecca Great Lines; Requires more than one Viewing 5 stars
1/06/03 Bob Dong If you dont buy this film you are insane, it is fantabulas 5 stars
12/31/02 Bob Hardcore A movie this good is called a miracle 5 stars
12/13/02 Choadushouse Best movie I've seen in a long time. Relaxing. Smooth. Like an Orange Julius. 5 stars
11/09/02 Stevo The Dude is my idol now too. Wonderful movie. 5 stars
10/27/02 MarktheShark6 It's the best slacker movie of all-time, Jeff Bridges plays the part perfectly. 5 stars
8/23/02 Bluto Jeff Bridges is an incredibly natural actor, Ben Gazzara looked fabulous 5 stars
8/03/02 Brother Seamus Let F(1) = funny the first time. F(i) = F(i-1) * 999. Explanation? Best film ever 5 stars
6/14/02 bokonon Julia Cox you stupid dits! Greatest movie ever 5 stars
5/23/02 Butterbean I can watch "The Dude" and Walter spar off all day 5 stars
5/13/02 Dark Baron Best fucking movie of all time. Don't ever fuck with the Jesus. 5 stars
4/24/02 KARL HUNGUS A LAUGH RIOT...TRULY THE MONA LISA OF CINEMATOGRAPHY 5 stars
4/14/02 Jesus, The White Russian This and Cassablanca are the only two films I would want to rate as BETTER than awesome. 5 stars
4/04/02 Edfink Lombardo Hysterical comedy...There is nothing quite like this film...John Goodman is brilliant 5 stars
4/02/02 El Talboto Great (though strange) humor! 5 stars
3/22/02 Whiplash19 What's this day of rest shit? What's this bullshit Jesus is the best!!! 5 stars
3/05/02 Julia Cox (Ordinarily a Julianne Moore fan) Goodman's too mean, Buscemi's too pitiful. Can't even remember Julianne Moore being in it. 2 stars
1/22/02 clownfish there is so much to this movie that i've seen it over 50 times and it's still fresh and fun 5 stars
1/02/02 Andrew Carden Feels Like You're Watching An X Rated Pee Wee Hermen Show. 1 stars
11/13/01 Robert I must have seen this film a dozen times and it NEVER gets old 5 stars
11/03/01 y2mckay hey, Katie, you stupid bitch. Try WATCHING the fucking movie before posting 4 stars
10/25/01 katie didn't watch the whole movie just a clip thought it was pretty stupid. 3 stars
10/20/01 The $1.98 Pyramid Really Good 5 stars
9/30/01 daniboy laughed my ass off 5 stars
9/12/01 Butterbean I have to give it to Jules (the reviewer), that's the funniest review I've seen. 5 stars
9/08/01 snagy snag best movie ever 5 stars
9/02/01 Butterbean This have the best developed characters! The Dude and his White Russians are unforgettable! 5 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Amigo, nobody fucks with Coen brothers...This si one of their best, simple and great. 5 stars
7/15/01 officer 412/l one of the best comedys ever. man 5 stars
7/08/01 petter ass i look up to the dude 5 stars
6/30/01 Doctor Gravitron An intellectual movie. Jules, you're an inept person, I hope you die. BEST MOVIE EVER! 5 stars
5/07/01 Jesse Best. Movie. Evar. 5 stars
5/04/01 ChiefAlDog I'll be proud to show this masterpiece to my kids if I can get Julianne Moore to fuck me. 5 stars
4/28/01 The Jedi Droid "8 year olds dude" a true Coen brothers Classic 5 stars
3/22/01 selman dinler this is perfect film.fuck jules anyway! 5 stars
3/06/01 Scott This movie is hilariously funny,but only after acouple of viewings when the nuances set in 5 stars
2/26/01 The Bomb 69 the dude rocks, very funny stuff, ending was kind of weak though 5 stars
2/05/01 Aiken Drum the dude is my hero 5 stars
1/22/01 jmr best movie ever 5 stars
1/22/01 scorekeeper Don't date a woman who practices yoga. 5 stars
1/08/01 Painful Days "Do you see? Do you see what happens when you fuck a stranger in the ass?" Fucking great! 5 stars
1/06/01 Robert Cruickshank I saw it about 8 times in the theater. We'd speak only in lines from the movie for a month. 5 stars
12/05/00 Monday Morning Fall down funny. Every time I think of "White Russians" I laugh. 5 stars
11/03/00 Mark and Bob Simply the best film ever, Coen Brothers rule ! 5 stars
11/03/00 Mark and Bob Simply the best film ever, Coen Brothers rule ! 5 stars
10/12/00 Dan P. Without a doubt the funniest movie ever. It's even better if you fire one up before seeing 5 stars
9/16/00 Wafer awesome movie 5 stars
7/06/00 Matthew Bartley Absolutely hilarious!!! 5 stars
6/06/00 Bob Wombat "The Chinaman is NOT the issue, here!!" Absolutely fucking brilliant!! 5 stars
6/04/00 natasha John Goodman should have gotten an Oscar for this! 5 stars
6/02/00 Wafer Donny! Your out of your fucking element 5 stars
4/08/00 Dan brilliant and probably the funniest movie ive ever seen 5 stars
2/19/00 Neil Austin Top film, although John Goodman only ever said Fuck 5 stars
2/02/00 Steve Buscemi They wouldn't let me get in two words edgewise in this film, then they killed me off. 1 stars
1/13/00 PervertedPixie Now God stand up for bums! 5 stars
11/04/99 Andrew Fleck go, coen brothers, go! 5 stars
9/05/99 Weird Andy Strangely hypnotic. Goodman's character is appreciated more with every viewing. 4 stars
9/05/99 Elizaveta Yeahh Jesus! This film is uniquely hilarious and smart at the same time. 4 stars
8/01/99 hum pretty good 4 stars
7/13/99 Ciaran This film is the bees knees and the cats pyjamas 5 stars
6/27/99 Ed Wood The Dude abides, man ... the Dude abides 5 stars
5/03/99 jenna bean for anyone without ADD this movie is fucking hilarious, great characters and music. 5 stars
2/09/99 Gary What a fuckin great movie dude. Goodman was great and so was Bridges. 5 stars
1/20/99 C Dub Raising Arizona this was not... 2 stars
1/03/99 Charles Dubé Too funny to describe, it may not be your bag, but try it out. The Coen's do it again! 5 stars
12/05/98 grunter shut the fuck up Donny! . . . fuckin' 8 year olds. 5 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink Not a Coen masterpiece, but still way better than most director's on their prime. 4 stars
11/25/98 Fred If you didn't like this, it's just your...opinion, man. Go fuck yourself. 5 stars
11/13/98 Jules WHAT??? This too long, badly edited, pointless, predictable piece of shite SUCKED! 2 stars
11/09/98 Spice I'm the dude man! 4 stars
11/08/98 Foxgirl Cool plot,awsome scenario,great actors.Really funny.I loved the Dude. 5 stars
11/06/98 Lord Of The Dunce A little unstructured, even long, but Bridges was perfect. Goodman was too much though. 4 stars
10/24/98 Vincent Some ammusing moments but overall a mess- the Coens are hit-and-miss for me 3 stars
10/14/98 Chi-Fan Hu I didn't get this movie. It put me to sleep 1 stars
9/26/98 Pat Flanagan Some friends and I watched it in our dorm and laughed our asses off! 5 stars
9/24/98 Nate Dogg "The Dude abides..." 4 stars
9/17/98 cheryl_ann very trippy at times, very funny too. i dug it. 5 stars
9/16/98 Lonatic Best comedy since Cheech & Chong's Up In Smoke! Laughed my ass off the whole time! A++++++ 5 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor Coen brother are back with whores, money and drugs. 5 stars
9/06/98 U.N.Owens It rocked! I'm still giggling over "Logjammin'" 5 stars
8/24/98 The Vapid Goofball Had some great moments and some crappy ones. 3 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee You're high if you couldn't find fun in this film. 4 stars
8/17/98 Miss Stress maybe this is just a guy flik cuz i hated every minute of it. 2 stars
8/17/98 Matt i dunno what makes a movie 'fun', but thats what this is 5 stars
8/16/98 Johny Coens have done better 3 stars
8/14/98 {{{OZ}}} A fine movie. No Fargo or Raising Arizona, but what is? 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  06-Mar-1998 (R)
  DVD: 18-Oct-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  09-Apr-1998 (M)


Directed by
  Joel Coen

Written by
  Joel Coen
  Ethan Coen

Cast
  Jeff Bridges
  John Goodman
  Julianne Moore
  Steve Buscemi
  John Turturro
  David Huddleston



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast