More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.51

Awesome59.42%
Worth A Look: 34.78%
Average: 2.9%
Pretty Bad: 2.9%
Total Crap: 0%

3 reviews, 51 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Mea Culpa by Jay Seaver

Homesman, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay, Part 1 by Peter Sobczynski

Purge, The: Anarchy by Rob Gonsalves

Raid 2, The by Rob Gonsalves

Fault in Our Stars, The by Rob Gonsalves

Dumb and Dumber To by Brett Gallman

Space Mutiny by Jaycie

Pompeii by Rob Gonsalves

Quiet Ones, The (2014) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Planes, Trains & Automobiles
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Those aren't pillows!!"
4 stars

You do more ballhandling in one minute than Larry Bird does in an hour.

Neal (Steve Martin) wants to get home in time for the holidays. He's got to get from LaGuardia to O'Hare. Simple enough, right? He runs into Del (John Candy), who swipes his cab in Manhattan. They run into each other again waiting to board the plane. Neal then gets bumped up to first class and finds himself in a seat next to - who else - Del. The plane, bound for Chicago, gets diverted to Witchita. Del, connected through his business as a shower ring salesman, gets them a room.

With one bed.

It's a living hell for Neal; Del's a slob. He smokes. He snores. He tells horrible jokes. His socks stink. Neal tries to dump Del the next morning, but they're stuck together. A series of misadventures in travel (the planes, trains and automobiles in question) bring them home, but not after a near death experience and a burnt to a crisp car.

This movie was written and directed by John Hughes, before he became a Disney rewrite whore. It's funny and endearing and sweet and charming, and boasts one of the funniest exchanges in movies, a profantity laced howler between Neal and a car rental agent:

Neal: And I really don't care for the way your company left me in the middle of fucking nowhere with fucking keys to a fucking car that isn't fucking there. And I really didn't care to fucking walk down a fucking highway and across a fucking runway to get back here to have you smile at my fucking face. I want a fucking car RIGHT FUCKING NOW!
Rental Agent: May I see your rental agreement.
Neal: I threw it away.
Rental Agent: Oh boy.
Neal: Oh boy what?
Rental Agent: You're fucked!

Candy and Martin have great chemistry together, and it's just a great, funny movie.

Neal: You know what I'd really like? Del: A couple more hands and an extra set of balls?

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=930&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/24/98 00:07:20
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/24/12 Corinne May became a tradition to watch on Thanksgiving morning in our home. I 5 stars
11/27/11 Shaun A One of the most hilarious and frustrating (in a good way!) movies ever. 5 stars
6/22/10 the dork knight Dated but pretty funny 4 stars
2/20/10 PAUL SHORTT CHEERFUL, AMIABLE COMEDY 3 stars
7/08/09 *Holy_J@lapeno* Very great movie. The movie has great comedy, while also having a great message. Awesome!!! 4 stars
9/17/08 Jeph Well beyond hilarious. Screenplay comes full-circle. 5 stars
9/03/08 Shaun Wallner This movie is so funny! 5 stars
7/27/08 The Dork Knight Classic buddy movie. Still funny, too 5 stars
1/26/08 proper amateur film critic Enjoyable, well cast and funny 4 stars
1/05/08 Pamela White one laugh after another and made me think to invite someone lonely for the holiday 5 stars
5/09/07 Anton The scene with Candy driving at night is quite possibly the funniest scene in movie history 5 stars
3/28/07 Anthony G Excellent Film. One of the all time greats. 5 stars
10/28/06 MP Bartley Brilliant comedy. Martin is superb but Candy is flat-out wonderful. Surprisingly tender too 5 stars
10/05/05 Jesse Taylor Possibly the funniest movie ever made. 5 stars
9/02/05 ES Awesome, such a good movie, so very, very funny 5 stars
8/03/05 ALDO Bad parts, maybe, but who gives a shit? Will turn you into a movie-quoting loser 5 stars
7/30/05 Adam A great hilarious feel good movie, classic! 5 stars
7/12/05 DM "That wasn't a pillow!" Priceless. 4 stars
2/01/05 Jeff Anderson Martin & Candy at their finest & funniest. JOHN HUGHES REDEEMS HIMSELF WITH THIS WINNER!!!! 5 stars
12/27/04 mjoc This is one of the funniestmovies I have ever seen! 5 stars
12/10/04 Jason Kaul Holiday classic. Makes me laugh every time! 5 stars
11/19/04 screb hilarious 5 stars
7/09/03 natasha_theobald watching Martin unhinge is a distinct pleasure; Candy is a joyous catalyst 5 stars
4/19/03 R.W. Welch Catastrophe-strewn road pic. Often funny after it gets rolling. 4 stars
3/22/03 Jack Sommersby The music score is horrendous, but everything else is just about perfect. 4 stars
12/02/02 sdfr funny, sweet and charming. Nice ending. 4 stars
12/02/02 Nevz Simply classic 80's comedy 5 stars
10/15/02 Charles Tatum The first thing you can do is wipe that fucking smile off your fucking face 5 stars
9/27/02 Tom Fleeman A classic! Steve and John were superb! A must see. 5 stars
5/13/02 Dark Baron What a great trio, with John (Candy), Steve and John (Hughes) 5 stars
2/21/02 Xaver Lots of good laughs. I miss John Candy. 4 stars
11/23/01 Andrew Carden Just Doesn't Work. Two Great Comics Wasted In Meaningless Parts. 2 stars
8/08/01 Mr. Hat Funny & surprisingly unpredictable,but when Steve gets picked up by the balls,I get sick! 4 stars
8/07/01 E-Funk Sucha perfect blend of feeling and comedy from two of the masters. Hughes last great film. 5 stars
4/24/01 Spetters A comedy that just isnīt funny enough. 2 stars
3/08/01 master.node Amusing. Would I watch it again? Maybe in a few years. 3 stars
2/06/01 Classicdog A good laugh; Candy is hilarious! 4 stars
1/28/01 Soggy Bottom Boy Candy at his best, Martin at his best, this is worth a rent at the holidays. 5 stars
1/25/01 Sully only movie i"ve watched more than Better Off Dead....outright-fucking-bellyaching-hilarious 5 stars
12/28/00 Turtle One word: Hilarious! 5 stars
11/23/00 A.K. A hilarous yet sentimental comedy. An modern comedy classic 5 stars
10/23/00 YOUR Movie Expert This and Ferris Bueller are THE best John Hughes, before he became Barney II. 5 stars
6/26/00 Joel L. A movie ILL watch over and over again..Its that funny! 5 stars
4/16/00 Michael Casper My most favorite movie of all time! John Candy was my idol! 5 stars
3/30/00 Steve This fucking movie was fucking very funny, and very fucking entertaining. Fucking great! 5 stars
11/16/99 Lee Page Could not stop laughing 4 stars
10/21/99 Tony Daquano One of the funnist fucking films of all time 5 stars
9/06/99 Anthony Ellis One of the best road movies of all time. 5 stars
5/26/99 iyu John Candy's best film. Funny as hell, and emotionally moving. Excellent movie 5 stars
10/31/98 Silent Rob A true Thanksgiving film. Makes you laugh, cry and think! Kudos to Huges! 5 stars
9/19/98 Badass "My dogs are barking tonight" 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Nov-1987 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  John Hughes

Written by
  John Hughes

Cast
  Steve Martin
  John Candy
  Laila Robins
  Michael McKean
  Kevin Bacon
  Dylan Baker



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast