More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.65

Awesome75.18%
Worth A Look: 18.44%
Average: 3.55%
Pretty Bad: 2.13%
Total Crap: 0.71%

1 review, 135 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

Thousand Junkies, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Predator
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by The Paranoid Hamster

"One of the classic hardcore action flicks."
4 stars

There is perhaps nothing more unnerving then the feeling that you’re being watched. That someone, or something is following you. That you’re not alone. Worse still is the feeling that what is watching you is not just there to see your pretty face. It’s there to hunt you down.

Sound familiar? Well, unless you live in some sort of crazed war zone overrun by psychotic madmen, I hope not. But it’s a theme that has been used to great effect in a number of horror, thriller and action films, among them the excellent Aliens series, and one of the most memorable films I’ve seen over the years, Predator.

Anyone who’s seen Predator will tell you, even 13 of so years after its release, that there’s something special about it. The basic premise is simple. An elite commando squad led by Major Dutch Schaeffer (Arnold Schwarzenegger) embarks on a dangerous mission into the South American jungle. After encountering their fair share of hostility and combat though, they soon realise that their human enemies are not the only menace that they must contend with.

A mysterious alien creature is hunting the party for sport. Its’ lethal and deadly accuracy, and ability to seemingly ‘disappear’ into the thick jungle makes it the ultimate hunter. One by one, the group is picked off by the Predator, and as the skull trophies mount, it seems only a matter of time before the inevitable show down between a certain large Austrian and the alien beast takes place.

While Predator does head for a fairly predictable ending, the film still maintains a fantastic feeling of tension and fear right throughout, mixed with the obligatory gun battles and 10 story high explosions (all of which are pretty cool, especially a certain scene where about a million rounds of bullets are used up in an almighty shower of destructive fury). This is classic hardcore action, but with a special atmosphere that sets it apart from other films in the genre.

Typically stone-faced performances from Arnie and co. aren’t really an issue in this film (they serve their purpose, much like crash test dummies help make safer cars), and the combination of great locations and special effects cap off what is truly a great film.

If you like big guys, with big guns, getting hunted by a big ugly alien, then this is definitely the film for you.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=931&reviewer=205
originally posted: 08/04/00 22:07:22
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

10/30/16 morris campbell good movie sci-fi & action fans take note 4 stars
3/30/16 Aj wales A perfect action movie that does not age. No pretty boy actors. 5 stars
4/19/12 Sheryl Granholm Great fun! Also, the predator is hot. 5 stars
1/22/12 Rahul ( aka ol' Painless ) Soaked with Ball Sweat - Brilliant 5 stars
5/11/11 Silkworm Fucking brilliant - go Arnie 5 stars
3/01/10 PAUL SHORTT SUSPENSEFUL ACTION FILM WITH UNPLEASANT MOMENTS 3 stars
7/23/09 Steven M Dont know how any normal person can hate this? Arnies best film & very violent !! winner 5 stars
4/23/09 Sugarfoot Excellent monster movie with Schwarzenegger in great form. 5 stars
2/10/09 Hiroshi One of Arnold Schwarzenegger's best. If you haven't seen this, I dare you to. 5 stars
2/13/08 hommedumatch over the simple plot, it's all about natural survival instinct, and art of the hunting. 5 stars
1/20/08 Pamela White Great Sci-fi alien warrier vs Arnold and arnold wins 5 stars
1/11/08 lexington action movie perfection. ... i might go get me a mini gun now. 5 stars
12/15/07 Choppa? Get to da Choppaaaaa!!! Arnie's in form in a film that simply fucking rocks 5 stars
9/15/07 Maul Superb movie that outclasses all recent monster/alien flick 5 stars
8/07/07 R.W. Welch Nice tension. Very good monster. B+ 4 stars
6/13/07 al smith classic.tense,atmospheric and superb action.if it bleeds we can kill it 5 stars
5/15/07 abdul Greatest film ever..perfect blend..still watching it 20yrs later 5 stars
1/18/07 Barney Awesome film, possibly best I've ever seen! 5 stars
11/12/06 Henry brillant but sorta scary 1 st time 4 stars
9/22/06 Booksworm It was scary first time around.Now it's just awesome. 5 stars
9/12/06 Indrid Cold A stripped down, sweaty, bloody action movie. Fantastic guy flick. 5 stars
9/08/06 Ric Best sci-fi/action/horror flick ever and Arnold's greatest as well. 5 stars
6/26/06 MP Bartley Hilariously homoerotic - but also a great action/sci-fi flick. 4 stars
5/13/06 ES one of the best action/horror movies 5 stars
3/10/06 Dk A classy Sci-Fi film that will scare you guaranted 5 stars
2/11/06 movie_buff My favorite Arnie film - great cast & most enduring alien since...Alien!! A Winner!! 5 stars
2/03/06 Zack plot kinda sucked but i loved the action so 5 stars
12/26/05 harry FUCK YEAH HARDCORE ACTION.They don't make them like this anymore 5 stars
11/25/05 cr a fun sc-fi action movie and alien jungle throwdown spells good movie 4 stars
10/27/05 chris fantastic movie well done arnie!! 5 stars
10/13/05 K. Sear The greatest man movie of all time!!! 5 stars
9/06/05 Zack wel done 4 stars
9/03/05 Naka Oh, hell yes. 5 stars
8/25/05 Anthony G AWESOME. 5 stars
8/16/05 Klondo the new DVD has some of the best extras I've ever watched 5 stars
8/14/05 Nick One of the best action movies ever, arnold at his best 5 stars
8/13/05 ES This movie'll make you a GD sexual tyranosaur, just like me 5 stars
8/11/05 Ripleys Bitch Yep, an Arnie classic that joins ALIENS as an 80's action highlight. 5 stars
7/23/05 Nick Best Aronld movie since Terminator 2 Judgement day! 5 stars
6/29/05 dolemite Hell yeah! 5 stars
5/27/05 tony Crazy action! Aliens and humas are great when they fight. 5 stars
5/08/05 Ronin Yup, best human vs alien film ever. Damn it simply rocks too! 5 stars
4/19/05 Indrid Cold A surprisingly simple movie, but very atmospheric and exctiing. 5 stars
1/31/05 Jeff Anderson One of Arnold's best! Beautifully shot & acted with gusto. Alan Silvestri's score ROCKS!!!! 5 stars
1/20/05 Laurian Diaconescu Awesome acting, scenery, soundtrack, characters, atmosphere. One of the greatest movies. 5 stars
10/17/04 Shams Huque Ahh, the great old days... 5 stars
10/12/04 Ian They dont make films like this anymore.. 5 stars
9/13/04 Samuel great film. 5 stars
8/15/04 King Richard "It's not a tumor!" 5 stars
8/07/04 ALDO Best HUMAN VS ALIEN FILM EVER...PERFECT ACTION PERFECT CAST PERFECT SCENARY 5 stars
6/20/04 Spiderfan50 Awesomely sweet. Not up to Alien 3 :Director's Cut but it's great! 5 stars
5/06/04 J.Peckerfoot its awesome,would have loved to see billy fight the predator tho! 5 stars
4/11/04 American Slasher Goddess A very well done action/sci-fi film.One of Schwarznegger's best films. 5 stars
3/23/04 KGB Best scene is Schwarzenegger gettin' his ass kicked by the Predator 5 stars
3/17/04 Spiderfan729 I watched it again and I've seen the light. This movie is Arnie's best film!!!! 5 stars
2/01/04 I Would It's really just Alien, but in the jungle. Still entertaining though. 3 stars
1/18/04 LIAM JACKSON the predator would make a perfect government hit-man 5 stars
12/15/03 Falco My favourite movie of all time! 5 stars
12/07/03 Samuel A very good alien film! 3 stars
11/28/03 john original concept - well directed but very dated 4 stars
10/25/03 Spiderfan729 OOOO, Alien or Predator? Whose deadlier? I still can't decide!!! 5 stars
10/23/03 Lord Durvok II Moohoohuahuahuahahahahahahahuhuhua! *huge blast* 5 stars
9/10/03 Dreafre Brilliant, unique action with style and fear and a great sense of immersion. 5 stars
8/27/03 Gray intense gives a good idea of what it must be like to be hunted 5 stars
7/26/03 3man "Anytime" 5 stars
7/23/03 Double G One of Arnold's Best films ever, I liked the ending! :) 5 stars
7/07/03 Tom <MIND OF A LUNATIC > You just keep watching it. OUTSTANDING 5 stars
7/04/03 Sam Moszynski One of Arnold's best film's! 5 stars
6/17/03 Jackie Way better than the second one!! 5 stars
6/03/03 Brian M. Very sweet movie the worthless MPAA left almost whole!! Highly Recommended!!! 5 stars
4/16/03 JL this movie rules! 5 stars
3/03/03 Maurice " The Predator" THE BEST MOVIE I'VE ERVER SEEN!! ARNIE RULEZ 5 stars
1/26/03 Jack Sommersby Stupid but never boring. 3 stars
10/18/02 COF One of the best movies ever!!! the predator RULES! 5 stars
9/28/02 Shams Huque Schwarzenegger's best film! 5 stars
9/26/02 Russ Watching this movie willl make you a god damn sexual T-Rex. Just like me 5 stars
9/25/02 Ben Wasden A bit overrated, but it's still pretty cool. 4 stars
8/28/02 Lucas Clarke I have not found a film like this, and that is because it is the best film ever! 5 stars
8/25/02 Turkish my childhood after school movie, Filmguy go and kis Justins ass if you dont like this movie 5 stars
8/22/02 TheChronic I fucking LOVE this movie....rent Beaches if you hate this movie 5 stars
8/19/02 jawsboy GREAT!!! A+ cinematography, direction, and action. It also has good acting & editing. 4 stars
6/28/02 Justin Kiss my ass, if you don't like this! 5 stars
5/26/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi Ur one ugly motherfucker 4 stars
4/29/02 Shams Huque Schwarzenegger's best! 5 stars
4/05/02 Justin My favorite Arnie film. You're one ugly motherfucker. 5 stars
3/29/02 Evan The Critic A bulls-eye in Arnolds carreer... 47 total kills in the movie and you love every one of em 4 stars
2/27/02 Shrike One of Arnie's best, an action masterpiece 5 stars
2/09/02 Bernie Keeps things simple and delivers some serious entertainment. 5 stars
1/03/02 Alex Ross Another poor showing from the rich conservative White House pet. 2 stars
10/31/01 Sumixam Ahead of it's time, one of the greats 5 stars
10/07/01 jawsboy A kick ass alien design, excellent action, good acting, captivating photography. McT rules! 5 stars
8/19/01 Karl This and Aliens are the best action films of all time! 5 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Best Arnold movie. The monster is fucking amazing. McTiernan's second best film to Die Hard 5 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) "If it bleeds, we can kill it." 4 stars
5/14/01 CC One of Arnold's Top 5, it's awesome. 5 stars
5/12/01 Geebo The Epitome of Schwarzennegger movies. Deffenetly one to see 5 stars
4/11/01 Jesse L Great action adventure...this movie rules...excellent casting 5 stars
3/25/01 Monster W. Kung One of Schwarzenegger's best, if not THE best. 4 stars
2/18/01 Dale Hardiman This film is pretty cool with big guns and gory death scenes and good special effects 5 stars
2/10/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Damn good use of jungle locale and gratutious gore. A pleasant surprise. And I'm a CHICK. 4 stars
1/23/01 Bruce Great flick, Arnold is still the man 5 stars
1/22/01 Anders Franzén Imressive, most impressive 5 stars
1/14/01 Invader Ths sound track is what makes this movie work, Arnie is first rate also. 5 stars
12/31/00 Msitrab An Arnold Classic! I love it! 5 stars
12/24/00 jb An important part of my childhood and it lives on "One ugly mother....." 5 stars
12/17/00 The Evil Penguin you guys know nothing 2 stars
12/12/00 Jarrod Yeo This movie kicked ass. Everything was perfect...... 5 stars
12/04/00 Mic Very predictable, but mostly suspenseful nonetheless. 4 stars
12/03/00 Phil First R-rated I saw. Memories of a blown off arm still shooting a gun last a life-time. 5 stars
11/30/00 DREDD Arnold is the man "STICK AROUND" 5 stars
11/26/00 tom hunt the film was brilliant the best action film in years 5 stars
10/29/00 Big Al aint got time to bleed, dan does though up his ass 5 stars
10/18/00 Dan Has everyone gone crazy? This shit isn't scary, it's dumb and predictable - complete shit. 1 stars
8/25/00 Eric A Classic!!! 4 stars
8/22/00 Terrie Smith Pretty good stuff; Arnie is one mean bastard. The sequel has nothing on this one. 4 stars
8/16/00 Larwence G. Allotta One of the most engrossing action films ever made. I can't get tired of it. More! More! 5 stars
6/21/00 Visc It still kicks ass after all these years 5 stars
6/01/00 Jimmy An overlooked classic 5 stars
3/31/00 Bruce One of Arnold's very best 5 stars
3/06/00 Kyle Broflovski "You're one...UGLY...motherfucker!" 5 stars
1/15/00 Hangman One of the best from Arnold. 5 stars
1/09/00 John Markham Arnie plays a block of wood in an otherwise excellent movie. 5 stars
10/20/99 Lame-Oh A must see! 5 stars
7/21/99 Salem An unbelievable film! 5 stars
5/11/99 Robert Williams Wonderous in the extreme opened my imagination to the impossible. More than an experience. 5 stars
4/21/99 lucas jackson It was fucking awesome,you got guns,aliens,blood,carnage and bad asses all around,Gov.Body 5 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson classic material 5 stars
2/19/99 Piz a Macho Movie every guy must watch at least once. 4 stars
1/15/99 Skanky ol' Geezer monster looked like a giant crab. 4 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink Didn't think much of it... 2 stars
11/22/98 little jerry One of those films that grip no matter how many times you see it. Arnie's best. 4 stars
11/13/98 Jules This movie made me realize my mortality. How's that for scary... 5 stars
10/31/98 Silent Rob Just didn't work for me, but is a clever twist on a theme. 3 stars
10/27/98 cyanide rush one of Arnold's best. Gorry and awsome. rock and roll! 5 stars
9/16/98 Trav This is fantastic. Very underrated. Brilliant filmscore by Alan Silvestri. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Jun-1987 (R)
  DVD: 10-Aug-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast