More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.4

Awesome71.43%
Worth A Look: 11.22%
Average: 7.14%
Pretty Bad: 6.12%
Total Crap: 4.08%

3 reviews, 80 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Rain Man
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Slyder

"One of the best road movies ever made."
5 stars

I saw this film like years ago, and it stuck with me. At that time, it was like no other film I had seen. With itís simple atmosphere, clever script and powerful performances, Rain Man shines and gives out a warm and moving message that will stay with you forever, since, like Uleeís Gold, it deals with family relationships under extreme stress and the steps that they take to finally understand each other. After seeing it again it still reminded me and stayed with me, and I can clearly say, that itís one of the best films of its genre.

The film is the story of Charlie Babbitt (Tom Cruise), an LA import car salesman whoís on the verge of going broke due to serious financial and legal problems. While barely going out on a trip to Palm Springs with his eccentric French girlfriend Susanna (Valeria Golino), he gets a call that his father has died, and is asked to attend the funeral, which is in Cincinnati, Ohio. After the funeral heís given his share on his fathers inheritance, and is given his rose bushes, and an old Buick convertible, which holds his dark and turbulent past that he had with his father, but the rest of the inheritance values, worth $3 million, goes into a trust, which he later finds out is given to a mental institution, and into a man who turns out is his autistic savant brother Raymond (Dustin Hoffman)! Dumbfounded and angered, Charlie ďkidnapsĒ his brother and heads down into a road trip with his brother down to LA to contest his trust and earn his $1.5 million that he rightfully deserves. Oh, and Susana leaves him, which leaves things now between the brotherly love. But Charlie doesnít expect that his relationship with Raymond will be a long tumultuous road towards finally understanding each other and caring for each other.

The film deals interestingly with social issues, in the topic of how can a person react when all of a sudden he finds out that he has a brother, a brother that he never knew in all his life. The scriptís tackle on the subject never overdoes any part during the relationship between the newly found brothers, and takes its time to develop itís characters, up until the defining moment. The pace is somewhat slow at times, but itís rewarding, and also important, since thanks to this the film takes its time to develop itself. We also get an interesting example on how supposedly ďretardedĒ and ďinferiorĒ people can be as smarter than anyone else, thanks to the toothpick scene, the math scene and the most famous of all, the card counting scene. One has to admire on how human nature is, and how the deficiencies of one can be the abilities of the other. That was a great lesson to learn.

It also has its hilarious moments, I laughed all the time when Raymond just kept saying, and we have to go to K-Mart in Cincinnati. It may be a little rough, since the guy is living his own world, and normal people canít understand them. The films setting on the road is basically a metaphor as on the road to understanding, that is the relationship between Raymond and Charlie. So as they follow the road, they begin more and more to understand and care for each other, and thatís the key to this film. Itís also in another point, basically a family story; there have been other movies where they depict on how long lost relatives find each other again. Personally I believe this film does it better, since you get to see the entire adaptation process that Charlie has to do with Raymond, and how it progresses on and on, until Charlie starts to develop his brotherly love for Raymond. Barry Levinsonís directing was top notch, especially dealing with the countless emotion splashes that the film encounters, plus helping Dustin Hoffman put out one of his best performances in years. The guy is one of the best actors in the business, and his performance as the idiot savant Raymond is a must to all fans.

As we know, Hoffman rocked, Tom Cruise was also great as the selfish Charlie, and his acting and looks clicked with his character. The rest of the cast was also great; everything in this film was absolutely great. I loved it from the very minute I saw it.

In the end, how could I not recommend that you see this film? Itís a classic, itís a great movie, and you woní be robbed of your time when you see it. Itíll leave a warm and great feeling in you when the film is ended and the end credits roll. SEE IT!!!!

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=932&reviewer=235
originally posted: 10/18/01 06:12:29
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/17/12 hurdygurdy man Maybe I'm wrong, but I'm NOT, this movie blows. TC hammy (GF annoying) and DH stiff.. 2 stars
3/06/10 art AN UNBELEIVABLE STORY! 1 stars
11/06/09 steph i like this movie but i dont like the ending, should change it! 4 stars
2/05/09 Faraz J Excellent acting by both the leads. But the story was borING. 4 stars
10/22/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome Story! 5 stars
9/10/08 PAUL SHORTT AN UNEVEN BUDDY-BUDDY/ROAD FILM WITH NO STORY AND NO MOTOR 1 stars
3/02/08 Pamela White I'm a good driver. Hoffman awesome role 5 stars
3/01/08 Ivana Mann Hoffman's funniest perfomance since Tootsie-& that's not a compliment.Cruise sucks as usual 2 stars
2/14/08 mado shefooooo man i love rain man moive 5 stars
4/27/07 Double M A movie to remind you that you're still a human. Hoffman and Cruise were amazing as always. 5 stars
4/21/07 Chris Redmond Hoffman superb as ever, but special praise must go to Cruise. 5 stars
11/25/06 David Pollastrini a bit slow in places but still good 4 stars
7/04/06 Ashley Hinz I can't stand Tom Cruise, but I like this movie. 5 stars
6/05/06 chris It wasnt really that good, IT WAS FUCKEN AWESOME 5 stars
3/05/06 Erkan MUSLU Excellent Thanks to ALL 5 stars
2/10/06 G what the fuck is wrong with you people this a great film 5 stars
7/06/05 Pinkline Jones Hoffman annoying Cruise tries hard 4 stars
6/14/05 Indrid Cold Not sure why it's considered such a classic, but yes, Hoffman is quite interesting to watch 4 stars
5/11/05 Simon Humanity at its most tragic and true. 5 stars
4/02/05 John Bale Hoffman's standout performance in a finely crafted film with a moving story. 5 stars
3/27/05 Jack Sommersby Stupidly plotted; smoothly directed; dramatically obvious; pleasantly acted. 2 stars
11/18/04 chris first film i actually liked and didnt hate cruise in. 2 stars
10/24/04 UMER hoffman's third best movie 5 stars
7/03/04 R.W. Welch A novel plot line with grade A acting. 4 stars
6/25/04 Gray many people learned from this film that autistic people aren't retarted 5 stars
6/15/04 T. Maj Dustin Hoffman grandstands 3 stars
6/11/04 Kevin Farkas Sure, it's a simple road picture, but it never fails because of those two actors. 5 stars
4/21/04 Katie Malone I laughed . . . I cried . . . I applauded. 5 stars
4/14/04 John Aster Habig Ross Bernard you racist jerkoff twit 5 stars
7/05/03 Kaylene SHit This movie was the dumbest shit yet. I can't believe they would make such a gay ass movie! 1 stars
6/18/03 John Aster Habig definitely defintely a good movie definitely 5 stars
4/09/03 Ross Bernard good movie! did i mention all niggers should die? 5 stars
1/22/03 Pinkline Jones Rivetting Egocentric Uninspiring Nonsense 3 stars
1/13/03 Jack Sommersby A road laden with cliches. 2 stars
12/05/02 Agatha Cruise and Hoffmann were excellent! The end is a little bit sad 5 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Cruise in a good film? Praise L. Ron Hubbard! 5 stars
7/27/02 I Can't Swim It was good the first time I saw it. Did not age well, Dustin annoying after awhile 2 stars
6/14/02 spaceworm Hoffman gets it right; Cruise's best, period. 5 stars
6/02/02 Dark BarÝn Hoffman rules. Cruise... about the same in every movie he starred in it. 5 stars
4/06/02 Justin I'm an excellent driver. Dustin Hoffman and Tom Cruise are so fucking good in it! 5 stars
3/12/02 KMG Very boring....cool soundtrack....Tom in those fucking sunglasses again! 3 stars
2/27/02 Nicole I loved this film and I would recommend this to many people to see. Everyone should see it. 5 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Hoffman was brilliant. An exceptional film. 5 stars
1/30/02 Geebo The best 5 stars
1/10/02 Andrew Carden Excellent Movie. Just Wonderful. A Must-See. 5 stars
11/14/01 Zizzerzazzerzuzz Weird. We scorn retards in real-life, yet we just love the cuter, sanitized movie versions. 3 stars
10/25/01 Tennille Klos Fantastic, very very very good 5 stars
10/16/01 Bernie McCourt makes me cry 5 stars
8/31/01 spaceworm Cruise's second best role is miles less good than this one. Hoffman right on. 5 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Moving. One of Cruise's best performances. Hoffman is great as usual. 5 stars
8/01/01 TLsmooth Get off of Hoffman's nuts, he hasn't done shit since and Cruise is better is this anyway. 4 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg What a great performance by Dustin Hofman . 5 stars
7/26/01 kygkk.gku uh oh fart, uh oh fart. 5 stars
5/12/01 Geebo I believe a 6 or 7 star rating is due 5 stars
4/29/01 R.W. Welch There is less here than meets the eye but Hoffman carries it. 4 stars
4/11/01 Troy Are Phil, Ant & Christine the same person? 1 stars
4/04/01 Crystal Excellent portrayal of autism by Hoffman. This movie shows that no man is an island. 5 stars
3/08/01 Sanja I like it very very much! 5 stars
2/10/01 Christine A great film. Hoffman's performance is just sensational. 5 stars
2/10/01 Phil Hoffman is remarkable in this sensitive and touching film. 5 stars
2/10/01 Ant Hoffman's is brilliant performance is stunningly sensitive and endearing 5 stars
2/10/01 Ant Hoffman's performance makes this movie. 5 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla great movie, magnificent performance by dustin hoffman 5 stars
11/15/00 salvo toscano the plot's flat, but dustin is amazing 5 stars
11/07/00 matt buchanan sweet 5 stars
9/16/00 Bruce A teriffic film 5 stars
9/09/00 Elvisfan Best perf by an emotionally disturbed person was Leo in "Gilbert Grape", not Hoffman here 4 stars
5/02/00 Cithel V. Orozco This movie is an excellent window into what it is to be autistic. 5 stars
2/25/00 David TOMASEK One of the most emotive but either funny and "real" movies I`ve ever seen. 5 stars
12/27/99 Albert Flasher Two thumbs up! 5 stars
11/07/99 Anthony Ellis Hoffman is astounding, Cruise is terrific, Rain Man is remarkable! 5 stars
11/02/99 CHOPARD not bad at all 3 stars
10/19/99 vanessa mormile emotional, great movie 5 stars
7/07/99 Ben Leostein Rating: ***Ĺ (out of ****) Category: "Very Good" 4 stars
2/20/99 little jerry All that praise for Hoffman's party trick performance when it's Cruise who shines. 3 stars
1/15/99 Dasha Tom Cruise CAN act! 5 stars
11/16/98 Jules "Up" there with Bill. I was not impressed with this film or Hoffman's performance... 3 stars
10/30/98 Silent Rob Multiple viewings will reveal subtleties that are not intially apparent. A classic! 5 stars
10/13/98 philip definitely good yeah definitely good 5 stars
9/12/98 kanatcha im too lazy for this... 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Dec-1988 (R)
  DVD: 03-Feb-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast