More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.4

Awesome71.43%
Worth A Look: 11.22%
Average: 7.14%
Pretty Bad: 6.12%
Total Crap: 4.08%

3 reviews, 80 user ratings


Latest Reviews

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

Almost Coming, Almost Dying by Jay Seaver

Blade Runner 2049 by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Rain Man
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"K-Mart sucks"
5 stars

I was always so amused by the fact that Tom Cruise's last name in this flick is Babbitt. It's so fitting for him. Haha.

This is a phenomenal movie.

If you haven't seen this, you are seriously missing out.

So many lines from this movie get quoted. Not only because it was so popular, but because it was so damned good. And so damned funny.

Hoffmann rocks all balls. He plays an autistic idiot savante. They go on a road trip and learn and grow and have a shitload of fun. And they don't fly. No sir. No planes. Nuh-uh.

I can't even start to list the good parts of this movie. 'Cause I'll leave something out and feel retarded later. So let's just say It's a great buddy flick. It's an excellent road movie. it's one of the better date flicks. It makes you look all sensitive and shit.

GO SEEEE IT. It rules. It rules so much I used ALL CAPS. That's pretty damned good! 5 sporks

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=932&reviewer=6
originally posted: 09/22/98 14:22:22
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/17/12 hurdygurdy man Maybe I'm wrong, but I'm NOT, this movie blows. TC hammy (GF annoying) and DH stiff.. 2 stars
3/06/10 art AN UNBELEIVABLE STORY! 1 stars
11/06/09 steph i like this movie but i dont like the ending, should change it! 4 stars
2/05/09 Faraz J Excellent acting by both the leads. But the story was borING. 4 stars
10/22/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome Story! 5 stars
9/10/08 PAUL SHORTT AN UNEVEN BUDDY-BUDDY/ROAD FILM WITH NO STORY AND NO MOTOR 1 stars
3/02/08 Pamela White I'm a good driver. Hoffman awesome role 5 stars
3/01/08 Ivana Mann Hoffman's funniest perfomance since Tootsie-& that's not a compliment.Cruise sucks as usual 2 stars
2/14/08 mado shefooooo man i love rain man moive 5 stars
4/27/07 Double M A movie to remind you that you're still a human. Hoffman and Cruise were amazing as always. 5 stars
4/21/07 Chris Redmond Hoffman superb as ever, but special praise must go to Cruise. 5 stars
11/25/06 David Pollastrini a bit slow in places but still good 4 stars
7/04/06 Ashley Hinz I can't stand Tom Cruise, but I like this movie. 5 stars
6/05/06 chris It wasnt really that good, IT WAS FUCKEN AWESOME 5 stars
3/05/06 Erkan MUSLU Excellent Thanks to ALL 5 stars
2/10/06 G what the fuck is wrong with you people this a great film 5 stars
7/06/05 Pinkline Jones Hoffman annoying Cruise tries hard 4 stars
6/14/05 Indrid Cold Not sure why it's considered such a classic, but yes, Hoffman is quite interesting to watch 4 stars
5/11/05 Simon Humanity at its most tragic and true. 5 stars
4/02/05 John Bale Hoffman's standout performance in a finely crafted film with a moving story. 5 stars
3/27/05 Jack Sommersby Stupidly plotted; smoothly directed; dramatically obvious; pleasantly acted. 2 stars
11/18/04 chris first film i actually liked and didnt hate cruise in. 2 stars
10/24/04 UMER hoffman's third best movie 5 stars
7/03/04 R.W. Welch A novel plot line with grade A acting. 4 stars
6/25/04 Gray many people learned from this film that autistic people aren't retarted 5 stars
6/15/04 T. Maj Dustin Hoffman grandstands 3 stars
6/11/04 Kevin Farkas Sure, it's a simple road picture, but it never fails because of those two actors. 5 stars
4/21/04 Katie Malone I laughed . . . I cried . . . I applauded. 5 stars
4/14/04 John Aster Habig Ross Bernard you racist jerkoff twit 5 stars
7/05/03 Kaylene SHit This movie was the dumbest shit yet. I can't believe they would make such a gay ass movie! 1 stars
6/18/03 John Aster Habig definitely defintely a good movie definitely 5 stars
4/09/03 Ross Bernard good movie! did i mention all niggers should die? 5 stars
1/22/03 Pinkline Jones Rivetting Egocentric Uninspiring Nonsense 3 stars
1/13/03 Jack Sommersby A road laden with cliches. 2 stars
12/05/02 Agatha Cruise and Hoffmann were excellent! The end is a little bit sad 5 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Cruise in a good film? Praise L. Ron Hubbard! 5 stars
7/27/02 I Can't Swim It was good the first time I saw it. Did not age well, Dustin annoying after awhile 2 stars
6/14/02 spaceworm Hoffman gets it right; Cruise's best, period. 5 stars
6/02/02 Dark Barøn Hoffman rules. Cruise... about the same in every movie he starred in it. 5 stars
4/06/02 Justin I'm an excellent driver. Dustin Hoffman and Tom Cruise are so fucking good in it! 5 stars
3/12/02 KMG Very boring....cool soundtrack....Tom in those fucking sunglasses again! 3 stars
2/27/02 Nicole I loved this film and I would recommend this to many people to see. Everyone should see it. 5 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Hoffman was brilliant. An exceptional film. 5 stars
1/30/02 Geebo The best 5 stars
1/10/02 Andrew Carden Excellent Movie. Just Wonderful. A Must-See. 5 stars
11/14/01 Zizzerzazzerzuzz Weird. We scorn retards in real-life, yet we just love the cuter, sanitized movie versions. 3 stars
10/25/01 Tennille Klos Fantastic, very very very good 5 stars
10/16/01 Bernie McCourt makes me cry 5 stars
8/31/01 spaceworm Cruise's second best role is miles less good than this one. Hoffman right on. 5 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Moving. One of Cruise's best performances. Hoffman is great as usual. 5 stars
8/01/01 TLsmooth Get off of Hoffman's nuts, he hasn't done shit since and Cruise is better is this anyway. 4 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg What a great performance by Dustin Hofman . 5 stars
7/26/01 kygkk.gku uh oh fart, uh oh fart. 5 stars
5/12/01 Geebo I believe a 6 or 7 star rating is due 5 stars
4/29/01 R.W. Welch There is less here than meets the eye but Hoffman carries it. 4 stars
4/11/01 Troy Are Phil, Ant & Christine the same person? 1 stars
4/04/01 Crystal Excellent portrayal of autism by Hoffman. This movie shows that no man is an island. 5 stars
3/08/01 Sanja I like it very very much! 5 stars
2/10/01 Christine A great film. Hoffman's performance is just sensational. 5 stars
2/10/01 Phil Hoffman is remarkable in this sensitive and touching film. 5 stars
2/10/01 Ant Hoffman's is brilliant performance is stunningly sensitive and endearing 5 stars
2/10/01 Ant Hoffman's performance makes this movie. 5 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla great movie, magnificent performance by dustin hoffman 5 stars
11/15/00 salvo toscano the plot's flat, but dustin is amazing 5 stars
11/07/00 matt buchanan sweet 5 stars
9/16/00 Bruce A teriffic film 5 stars
9/09/00 Elvisfan Best perf by an emotionally disturbed person was Leo in "Gilbert Grape", not Hoffman here 4 stars
5/02/00 Cithel V. Orozco This movie is an excellent window into what it is to be autistic. 5 stars
2/25/00 David TOMASEK One of the most emotive but either funny and "real" movies I`ve ever seen. 5 stars
12/27/99 Albert Flasher Two thumbs up! 5 stars
11/07/99 Anthony Ellis Hoffman is astounding, Cruise is terrific, Rain Man is remarkable! 5 stars
11/02/99 CHOPARD not bad at all 3 stars
10/19/99 vanessa mormile emotional, great movie 5 stars
7/07/99 Ben Leostein Rating: ***½ (out of ****) Category: "Very Good" 4 stars
2/20/99 little jerry All that praise for Hoffman's party trick performance when it's Cruise who shines. 3 stars
1/15/99 Dasha Tom Cruise CAN act! 5 stars
11/16/98 Jules "Up" there with Bill. I was not impressed with this film or Hoffman's performance... 3 stars
10/30/98 Silent Rob Multiple viewings will reveal subtleties that are not intially apparent. A classic! 5 stars
10/13/98 philip definitely good yeah definitely good 5 stars
9/12/98 kanatcha im too lazy for this... 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Dec-1988 (R)
  DVD: 03-Feb-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast