More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.38

Awesome59.81%
Worth A Look: 28.04%
Average: 5.61%
Pretty Bad: 3.74%
Total Crap: 2.8%

4 reviews, 83 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Untouchables, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Slyder

"A sleek, fast-paced, action thriller"
5 stars

I used to watch the original series, The Untouchables, in the reruns they did in Mexico, and it was a real treat. I mean, the action, the suspense and all that, was just fascinating, on how Eliot Ness (played then by Robert Stack) and his squad of Untouchables, manage to take down Al Capone and his gang. Then I found out about this modern version of the events. At first I was skeptic, since, well, you know how fragile and fucked up can Hollywood be. But still I decided to give it a chance and rent the film. And my money spent paid off. The film is one of the best adaptations ever (despite inaccuracies), and manages keeps you on the edge of your seat for most of the movie.

The film is a synthesis of what happened in the turbulent 30s Chicago, a time where Gangs ruled the city, and illegal bootlegging of alcohol was flooding the streets, and furthermore: AL CAPONE RULES!!!

Then comes Eliot Ness (Kevin Costner back when he was great) to fight Capone (Robert De Niro) and his gang. Ness, whose an agent for the Treasury Department (there was no FBI back then) starts chasing Capone’s bootlegging, first unsuccessfully, but then, after teaming up with an aged, but experienced cop, Jim Malone (Sean Connery), a hotshot rookie George Stone (Andy Garcia) and an accountant (Charles Martin Smith), they form, the untouchables, and start disabling most of Capone’s organization, while at the same time avoiding Capone’s gunmen and his feared triggerman Frank Nitti (Billy Drago), for their quest to find everything they can to put Capone behind bars.

The highs of the film, are pretty much the development of the characters, each character is well developed in the movie. The action and suspense are classic De Palma stuff. Renowned for his skill at suspense, Brian De Palma turns a simple crime story and turns it into a great suspenseful movie, the entire time before and during the action scenes, you’re on the edge of your seat. What was surprising was the gore in the film, since I didn’t expect too much of it, especially in one disturbing scene where Malone grabs a dead guy and counts to three and shoots him in the head in front of one of Capone’s aides, and even worse when that aide is killed along with one of Ness’s men, but hey, you can deal with it. What’s also impressive is the set and costume designs, which perfectly depict Chicago in the 1930’s period.

The lows of it is that sometimes the film is a little too shaky on the action itself and in the script. David Mamet pretty much summarizes Ness’s campaign in bringing down Capone’s trail of corruption. I praise his talents in summarizing so much information, but many people here will chuckle at the historical inaccuracies in the film (Capone was actually convicted for tax evasion, and Frank Nitti lived long after Al Capone’s jailing) and the characters of Al Capone and Frank Nitti are a little too extreme and cartoonish. I have to say that unfortunately, De Niro is on autopilot here. He was perfect for the role bur he doesn’t add too much excitement to his role, and not much depth either. Billy Drago as Frank Nitti is brutal, but at times extremely cartoonish. Brian De Palma’s direction at times seems to be a little forced, especially at the opening scenes where Ness is trailing a possible bo1oze shipment that Capone is sending, and an annoying photographer keeps popping up at some pretty obvious moments. Other than that the film is solid.

The acting is also solid, largely due to the great performance by Sean Connery. Gosh man, honestly, I never thought he would deliver such performance. I always seen him as an average actor at best, and pretty much an actor who wouldn’t escape his James Bond ego, but hey, this is a rebirth of an actor. He fits the role perfectly and fully deserved that Oscar. Kevin Costner is surprisingly good as Eliot Ness, though at times he delivers a forced performance, but he fits his role well. Charles Martin Smith and Andy Garcia are also brilliant in their roles. Brian De Palma finally chose a good project to direct, though despite a few forced moves. It was evident that De Palma was already going to a period of decadence which he wouldn’t recover, and it was clear that this film was to be his last great gasp since he would bottom out with crapfests like Casualties Of War, Bonfire of the Vanities (ugh), Mission Impossible, Snake Eyes and Mission To Mars.

In the end, this film has its troubles, but still manages to overcome them. You want action and entertainment on a Saturday night, this movie is for you and besides, we get to see Kevin Costner back when he WAS great. See it. (4.5-5)

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=934&reviewer=235
originally posted: 06/24/02 14:01:01
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

9/06/12 Ed Good "shoot up the gangster" entertainment. Connery is great in his role. 4 stars
7/25/10 art MAGNIFICENT MOVIE!,SEAN CONNERY is a STANDOUT as JIM MALONE! 4 stars
3/19/10 Lord Blathazar OMG BEST MOVIE EVER, DESTORYER OF WORLDS 5 stars
2/27/10 PAUL SHORTT POLISHED, HIGH-ENERGY GANGSTER FILM WITH SOME GOOD PERFORMANCES 4 stars
1/27/10 Josie Cotton is a goddess People are talking this movie too seriously. It's stylish pulp folks, just enjoy it. 4 stars
12/28/09 Dane Youssef Mostly unremarkable. A few choice moments. A fine movie, but not much more. 3 stars
6/01/09 Jeff Wilder As history it's bunk. As a purely entertaining movie few can touch it. 4 stars
2/13/08 chris very well set up movie of the the decade not as good as an hitchcock movie 4 stars
11/17/07 drew s john caldwell it doesnt suck, u suck 5 stars
7/23/07 Duke Put some pants on the poor baby! 4 stars
5/16/07 brit absolutly awsome 5 stars
3/24/07 action movie fan some good action but acting was better that the script 3 stars
1/09/07 R.W.Welch Hi-water mark for DePalma and Costner with Oscar perf from Sean at no extra charge. 5 stars
10/19/06 David Pollastrini some of brian De Palma best work 5 stars
10/17/06 Terence Very entertaining movie. 5 stars
5/07/06 chienne Bloody marvellous film! Sean's death scene is a bit o'top but brilliant stuff. 5 stars
4/17/06 John Caldwell it sux. 1 stars
11/22/05 WiseMan This movie was exellent. very entertaining, it wont get boring, I promise you 5 stars
10/11/05 Agent Sands Perfect Hollywood entertainment. 5 stars
8/13/05 ES Mr. connery this is the stuff 5 stars
6/14/05 Indrid Cold Surprisingly cartoonish and silly. I was quite disappointed given its reputation. 3 stars
3/17/05 Jarrad Great gun play, action and the soundtrack was excellent-LOVED IT!!!!! 5 stars
10/23/04 UMER deniro deserved more screen time and connery is just plain lucky to get an oscar here 4 stars
9/25/04 kt very inaccurate and ridiculous (eg: Malones death scene) 2 stars
4/26/04 Lord Jiggy It's held up over the years, unlike some others I loved when younger. Excellent. 5 stars
4/14/04 LIAM JACKSON Frank Nitti:A truly fearsome prescence 5 stars
3/28/04 Margie pretty good, and all the beautiful men (costner, connery, garcia) don't hurt 4 stars
3/27/04 buddy garrett i enjoyed the tv series more 4 stars
3/27/04 rojo I really like De Palma's stylized treatment of this one, right up there with Scarface. 4 stars
3/27/04 y2mckay De Palma's best film. Sean Connery earned the Oscar. Even Costner respectable. 5 stars
3/27/04 Jack Sommersby Well-crafted, but it's obvious and soulless. Good acting somewhat compensates. 2 stars
1/12/04 Edmundo Miquel The EFC Review is terrible, really bad! Do you know anything about cinema? 3 stars
12/05/03 john a hell of a ride - but it seems to have three endings and it's still not over 4 stars
10/19/03 Alan Good solid story. A few problems with the facts, but that's Hollywood. 4 stars
8/23/03 verna i would like to see more gangster movies with a better actor than kevin costner 1 stars
7/13/03 Spiderfan729 Definately makes my top five. This movie has more thrills than a roller coaster. 5 stars! 5 stars
6/23/03 AD mintttttttttttttttttttt 5 stars
5/23/03 mr. Pink An entertaining movie, nothing more or less. 4 stars
5/08/03 Flounder One of the best mob movies ever to grace the silver screen! 5 stars
4/06/03 . The scene in the station with that baby was the best! 5 stars
3/23/03 Debbie THE CAMERA ANGLES, CAST 5* 5 stars
3/22/03 Jack Sommersby It's OK, but, boy, could this thing use some invention and verve! 3 stars
1/14/03 Poohead it is like heaven came down in the form of a videotape to bring one of the greatest films 5 stars
12/26/02 STEVE HOW COULD A GREAT CAST,DIRECTOR,MAKE A DISAPPOINTING FILM...... 2 stars
12/10/02 Gazza E De Niro, Connery, Costner, Garcia, and that train station scene. Just wonderful. 5 stars
9/07/02 Ramblin Wreck It supposed to be dated. It's the 30's.........idiot 5 stars
7/12/02 KMG DATED. 3 stars
6/24/02 Charles Tatum History be damned! Morricone's best musical score. 5 stars
5/21/02 Kris one of my three favorite movies, well actualy my favorite, im a connery fan 5 stars
4/03/02 Lizz I was a nice film, but I think there are weird things (like Jimmy's death. Come on!) 5 stars
3/17/02 FlaFan Great work by the whole cast, especially Connery, in his comeback role. 5 stars
1/29/02 anandh One of the excellent movies i have seen 5 stars
12/01/01 Mark Conway Sean Connery makes the movie what it is, very entertaining. 4 stars
10/30/01 elana good 1 stars
9/04/01 Butterbean PrettyWhy is there always a comment about how the music sucked? Shaddup and watch the movie 5 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Maybe it was because I was high, but I thought the performances were fake/ music sucked. 2 stars
7/07/01 Elvisfan One of DePalma's best; certainly better than raping old Hitchock movies, right? 5 stars
7/04/01 TLsmooth Costner has been everywhere since it's release and I damn this film for that. 4 stars
7/04/01 Fish Eye One of the best cop movies ever - Connery is awesome and train station shootout is classic 5 stars
6/09/01 Shams Huque Absolute classic, if inaccuarte historically. Enjoy the exerience. By the way, what a cast! 5 stars
6/04/01 Just like a Wop . . . bringin' a knife to a gunfight! 5 stars
4/27/01 D.Welsch just saw it for the third time---great film that will go down as a CLASSIC!!! 5 stars
4/24/01 Spetters Good entertainment. Not a classic DePalma but a good 2 hours are guaranteed 4 stars
4/20/01 Matthew Bartley You wanna know how to get Capone? Here's how you get him... 5 stars
3/12/01 James Quinn Costner's moralism is perfect for Ness, so for once it doesn't detract. DeNiro is amazing! 5 stars
3/07/01 Jake The scene in the train station with the baby carriage is priceless. Garcia is great 5 stars
1/26/01 Saburo Some of the coolest lines of dialog ever. 5 stars
12/20/00 Speedy The greatest crime film of the 80s, Sean Connery is amazing! 5 stars
12/04/00 Cristopher Revilla gory, but still a great film, great performance by Sean Connery 5 stars
2/10/00 Ed Wood thrilling 5 stars
1/23/00 Jimbo Lequesne Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant! 5 stars
11/04/99 Karahde Khan Great supporting actors and music, overall a film not to be missed (despite Sick Boy). 4 stars
8/18/99 Japtalian Kevin Costner is such a pussy but we love that Sean Connery. 5 stars
6/21/99 Ah Dooey worth watching, definitely a must-see 4 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson A watchable Kevin Costner movie, crazy. De Niro and a bat, classic. 4 stars
2/02/99 Matthew Bartley The greatest dialogue EVER written!! And Connery kicks butt! 5 stars
1/02/99 tarkin666 Hot damn, I miss prohibition. 5 stars
11/29/98 Mike F even know the mafia lost, it was a great movie still and all 5 stars
11/27/98 little jerry The sort of film where 'conventional' is a good thing.5 STARS if confined to Chicago. 4 stars
11/13/98 Jules One of very few good movies starring Costner. DeNiro as Capone, that was so inspired... 5 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob Here is DePalma, being the mixmaster of Cinematic style and cliche! Kool stuff! 4 stars
10/25/98 Johny Well directed, not quite exceptional action film 4 stars
9/15/98 tessSpork pretty good story line, good acting, though the staircase scene was a little too much. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  03-Jun-1987 (R)
  DVD: 05-Oct-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast