More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.58

Awesome74.19%
Worth A Look: 16.13%
Average: 6.45%
Pretty Bad: 0%
Total Crap: 3.23%

2 reviews, 19 user ratings


Latest Reviews

John Wick: Chapter 3 - Parabellum by Jay Seaver

Long Day's Journey Into Night (2018) by Jay Seaver

Shadow by Jay Seaver

Be Natural: The Untold Story of Alice Guy-Blaché by Jay Seaver

Hustle, The by Peter Sobczynski

Detective Pikachu by Peter Sobczynski

Mope by Jay Seaver

Tone-Deaf by Jay Seaver

Bolden by Jay Seaver

Savage (2019) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Great Mouse Detective, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by sean

"Best one till The Lion King"
5 stars

Is this movie still in print? I remember seeing it when was about seven.

But The Little Mermaid came out after THe Great Mouse Detective, and that's NEVER been re-released.

I cried. I was young, but the end made me cry.

I want it back! I want it back! I want it back! I want it back!
--editor's note: it goes on like for 12 pages--

Bring me the head of Eisner! Or whatever his name is!

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=935&reviewer=18
originally posted: 10/02/98 15:18:55
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Features Sherlock Holmes For more in the Sherlock Holmes series, click here.

User Comments

10/09/09 Dr.Lao Possibly the only 80's Disney movie worth watching 4 stars
5/23/08 Dominic The Great Mouse Detective came out in 1986 after 1985's The Black Cauldron. 5 stars
4/01/08 Quigley An extremely enjoyable film that deserves a Platinum Edition re-release. Here's hoping 5 stars
8/25/05 ES Ratigin, what a great villain, on par with Jafar and Scar 4 stars
2/27/04 hannah my all time favorite 5 stars
6/07/02 J One of the best Vincent Price films ever. 5 stars
1/10/02 Andrew Carden When I Was Younger, This Was My Favorite Cartoon Movie. 5 stars
10/13/01 winged_chimera Basil is my favorte character of all times! This movie is one of the best Disney movies yet 5 stars
10/13/01 Jessica Berry Great Movie, total classic! Amazing funny.....etc 5 stars
9/08/01 HL One of my favorite Disney movies-- Basil is one of my fave Disney characters! 5 stars
7/23/01 Marie A great family film...great animation for the mid 80's. Beyond cute! 5 stars
5/26/01 Stewart The ending was the best moment in this movie. Also check out Vincent Price's voice. 4 stars
1/22/01 Brett I LOVE THIS MOVIE! One of the best Disneys. Basil's my fave Disney Character. 5 stars
12/30/00 Chief The clock scene at the end was visually great. Best Disney film of the eigties. 4 stars
9/30/00 Jed Great movie especially for vincent price but I pretty much agree with TMC on this one. 4 stars
8/16/99 Stephanie Kauffman I love all the Disney animated features, but TGMD is my favorite. Two thumbs way up!!!!! 5 stars
7/11/99 Grace I realy liked the end, especialy where he kept Dawson from leaveing. 3 stars
9/29/98 katherine the kids i babysit were bored by it, but i sort of thought it was a good kiddie film. 3 stars
9/24/98 Milhouse Faqw Pretty bad 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1986 (G)
  DVD: 13-Apr-2010

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast