More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.46

Awesome74.56%
Worth A Look: 11.83%
Average: 4.73%
Pretty Bad: 2.37%
Total Crap: 6.51%

5 reviews, 139 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Gone Girl by Daniel Kelly

My Old Lady by Jay Seaver

Boxer's Omen, The by Jay Seaver

Come Drink with Me by Jay Seaver

Fearless Hyena, The by Jay Seaver

Treatment, The by Jay Seaver

Waste Land (2014) by Jay Seaver

I Am Trash by Jay Seaver

Equalizer, The by Brett Gallman

I Am Here (2014/II) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Goonies, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Some movies earn points just for nostalgia."
5 stars

It's a dangerous thing to re-visit movies that were childhood favorites. For every one that stands the test of time (such as Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory), there are handfuls of other ones that make you a bit embarrassed at your misguided devotion. But I'm pleased to announce that THE GOONIES has easily passed the "Do I still dig it all these years later?" test despite some truly noticeable flaws that I was joyously able to ignore way back when.

Released back in 1985 when Steven Spielberg was putting his "executive producer" rubber stamp all over every big-budget movie, The Goonies can best be described as Young Indiana Jones X 7. I doubt this was much of a coincidence, with the Indiana Jones craze in full swing. But if moviegoers liked the idea of a lone adventurer searching for gold, why not have seven heroes...and make them all kids?

Spielberg hired much-respected director Richard Donner, who had previously directed Ladyhawke, Superman and The Omen, to oversee the affair. Spielberg supplied the basic story and went to Chris Columbus for the screenplay. (Columbus has since gone on to direct movies like Mrs. Doubtfire, Home Alone and the upcoming Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone.) To play the youthful team of treasure hunters, Spielberg found some solid young talent.

Sean Astin (The Fellowship of the Ring, son of Patty Duke and John Astin) plays Mikey, the leader of The Goonies. Mikey is smart, sensitive, adventurous and asthmatic.

Josh Brolin (Hollow Man, son of James Brolin) is Mikey's big brother Brand, a tough-talking but good-natured lug.

Corey Feldman portrays Mouth exactly as his nickname would imply: loud, verbose and obnoxious. Oddly enough, Feldman pulls it off perfectly. (Now before we all trash Corey for his current career, let's remember this kid was in such mid-eighties classics like this one, The Lost Boys, Stand By Me...and Friday the 13th: The Final Chapter.)

Jonathan Ke Huy Quan plays the gadget-happy Data. Quan basically reprises his 'chattering mumbler' character from Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom, but Data is good for a few laughs despite his many silly gizmos.

Kerri Green (of Lucas) plays Andy, the cute cheerleader who has a severe crush on Brand. Although she isn't given much to do, Andy adds a nice feminine touch to this rather masculine gang of hooligans.

Martha Plimpton (of Parenthood) plays Stef, Andy's best friend and all-around sarcastic gal. Stef's dry delivery and mocking tone works well and the character adds a small dose of common sense to the proceedings.

But the coolest Goonie by far has got to be Chunk, as played by Jeff Cohen. This was Jeff's only movie role and he has since gone on to become an entertainment lawyer, but man is this kid a hoot! While Chunk starts off as just the obligatory "fat kid", Cohen delivers some of the movie's biggest laughs.

It seems that the Goonies home town of Astoria, Oregon is undergoing a severe facelift. Greedy local contractors are buying up all the kid's homes in order to steamroll the town and build a massive golf course. It's during their last weekend together that the Goonies discover an ancient treasure map up in Mikey's attic and set off to find the "rich stuff".

But as is often the case in movies like this, our heroes have a nonstop barrage of obstacles to overcome including (but not limited to) an evil trio of bank robbers, a mysterious monster chained in the basement, flocks of angry bats and half-dozen of the coolest booty traps ever devised. (Booty traps? That's what I said! Booby traps!)

As the dimwitted yet dangerous Fratelli brothers, Robert Davi (Predator 2) and Joe Pantoliano (Memento) are a whole lot of fun. And the late, great character actor Anne Ramsay (Throw Momma from the Train) portrays their despicable Mama with equal parts malice and sarcasm. Playing the mysterious "Sloth" is late NFL star John Matuszak.

When I first saw this movie back in 1985 (at the age of 14), I was of course immediately in love with it. This was long before I studied all about motion pictures and the components contained in a quality one. That's a good thing, because I think if The Goonies were released this year, I doubt I'd really enjoy it all that much.

Despite the fact that I love this movie and would easily recommend it to just about anyone, there are a few cracks in the armor that I never noticed before. A lot of the kids' line readings are all off. The pacing of the third act drags noticeably and a lot of the special effects show their age. Much of the dialogue is simplistic and trite, while there are easily a handful of entirely unnecessary sequences. (The whole "water pipes exploding at the country club" scene, for example.)

But why mess with fond memories? None of these shortcomings come close to making The Goonies a bad film, and the overwhelmingly "fun" tone of the movie goes a really long way. While it was only a modest hit upon its theatrical release in '85, The Goonies became a massive hit on video and is one of the most fondly remembered "little" movies from the entire decade.

I bought this DVD the day it came out and was putting off watching it. "What if it's realllly cheesy and I don't like it anymore?" was my fear. Well, I'm pleased to say that Scott the Adult approves of Scott the Child's choice this time around. It hasn't aged perfectly well and it's definitely a movie that's rough around the edges, but overall - The Goonies is a raucous and fast-paced adventure movie, one that's perfect for Family Movie Night, or Generation-X Movie Nostalgia Night.

Warner Brothers has done a fantastic job bringing this cult favorite to DVD. The film is presented in its Original Aspect Ratio...which means "Black Bars" to lots of you. Deal with it. It's the way the movie was meant to be seen. A few deleted scenes are here, including the infamous "Octopus Sequence" and you can also watch the 2 Cyndi Lauper "Goonies R Good Enough" videos...but I wouldn't recommend it. You can also access the original theatrical trailer and the 1985 "making of" documentary. But the crown jewel addition to this DVD is the full-length audio/video commentary featuring Richard Donner and all 7 Goonies...all growed up! The director and actors sit back and reminisce about the production of the film, and occasionally the movie will fade out and we can see the Goonies sitting at the table chatting! Wow, Kerri Green got CUTE! Hey, Chunk got thin!

A fondly remembered and entertaining adventure movie. A damn solid DVD package. And talks of a GOONIES 2! Cool!

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=942&reviewer=128
originally posted: 10/10/01 12:16:14
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/31/14 hnrsxbg USA 2 stars
12/11/12 Nellie Hasn't aged well. 1 stars
4/05/11 Jennifer Marquardt great adventure for kids if the swearing was removed 4 stars
1/18/11 Listy This will always be one of the definitive 80's movies, a true classic....great fun. 5 stars
10/02/10 bored mom The one classic kid film where the kids actually behave like intelligent, smart-ass adults. 5 stars
7/02/10 brian Annoying kids, stupid plot, inane dialogue, cliches every minute. What's to like? 1 stars
3/01/10 PAUL SHORTT SILLY, LIVELY AND NOISY 2 stars
8/29/08 Shaun Wallner The storyline is well made! 5 stars
5/14/08 Semper This movie so cartoonish but how evr it makes up for it in its action packed kid way and tg 4 stars
2/13/08 chris a movie to remember when you were a kid 4 stars
5/24/07 mikie ahhh Robert your an idiot, this is an 80s classic. "SLOTH LOVE CHUNK" 5 stars
4/24/07 tony fratelli just pour chocolate on the floor and let chunk eat his way thru!!....fuckin classic! 4 stars
4/06/07 TyBlack This really one of the best moives out there and its a definite classic 5 stars
12/26/06 johnnyfog Love it when Astin chucks his inhaler at the end, "Who needs it." YOU DO YOU MORON!! 5 stars
10/17/06 AJ Muller five of us saw it openingday (last day of school, 4th grade), changed our lives 5 stars
5/29/06 Troy M. Grzych One of the best films ever made. Should have made a sequel when the kids were kids. 5 stars
3/14/06 David avery Excellent movie for the whole family!! 5 stars
3/06/06 Anthony Feor An Adventure movie and a half 5 stars
1/18/06 cody a overated movie, but this movie is fun adventure flick for kids! 3 stars
12/16/05 Ryan The best movie that Spielberg has made. I wish more movies were like this. 5 stars
8/20/05 ES They just don't make kids movies like this anymore 4 stars
8/19/05 Danny SO ENTERTAINING for all ages! 5 stars all the way! Anne Ramsay is hilarious as "Mama". 5 stars
6/01/05 andrew osborn its the best movie of its liftetiome 5 stars
5/29/05 tony Great adventure movie both for kids and adults. You all will love it! 5 stars
3/25/05 Abbi one of my childhood classics! 4 stars
2/07/05 Jeff Anderson Now this is what an adventure should be like, PERIOD! GOONIES NEVER SAY DIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/22/05 Steve Michaud I love this film just as much at 32 as I did at 12; one of my all-time fave '80s movies 5 stars
1/10/05 Lucas Stenz Good kids movie; Spielberg-esque in tone 4 stars
11/17/04 CHUNK HEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEY YOUUUUUUUU GUYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/28/04 Georgie Porgie We all love Mikey and still do ;) I wasn't even born when The Goonies came out! 5 stars
10/17/04 Miles Morley CHUNK-- you rock big fella 5 stars
10/13/04 Mel I <3 the Goonies 5 stars
9/30/04 dru downy all-time classic, makes me tingle 5 stars
9/04/04 T.B. It good kids movie 3 stars
7/19/04 me frog Okay, though lacking originality 3 stars
6/08/04 Erica very funny movie/ made me laugh 5 stars
5/13/04 Vacha my very favorite movie. they don't get much more fun than this! 5 stars
5/01/04 Deformed Guy from Goonies HEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEY GUUUYYYYYYYYYSSSSSSSSSS! 5 stars
4/14/04 slayathon This was a fave from when I was a kid and I have the guilty pleasure of owning it on dvd 5 stars
4/11/04 Larissa Great,awesome 5 stars
3/31/04 kenny PICE OF SHIT FILM THEY CAN ALL DIE!!!!!! 1 stars
3/11/04 Dave I loved it especially chunk and sloth 5 stars
2/26/04 kelly It is the best of all time 5 stars
2/03/04 Chelsea the movie's older than i am, but it's my all time favorite 5 stars
12/26/03 your worst goddamn nightmare if you didn't love this as a kid growing up, you'll probably never "get it"... 5 stars
12/07/03 john it's honest and fun - the kids are great! 4 stars
11/05/03 American Slasher Goddess They sure don't make them like this anymore. 5 stars
10/20/03 snowconehead Best movie of the entire decade 5 stars
10/08/03 goonies_lover great milkshake of a movie 5 stars
9/04/03 ChanceHead THIS COULD BE THE WORST MOVIE EVER MADE EXCEPT AMERICAN NINJA 1 stars
8/26/03 Jenn super-kool flick with an awesome cast of very talented kids! 5 stars
7/22/03 Double G Awesome Movie, I actually looked for a house so I can live in that neighborhood. 5 stars
7/09/03 natasha_theobald great adventure for the kid in all of us 5 stars
5/29/03 Mike Great 5 stars
5/23/03 Yeah! Super Duper the Luxe ! 5 stars
5/01/03 Naton R. Watch this when you have a dip.. it works!! 5 stars
4/01/03 Mr. Do Great movie. 5 stars
3/13/03 kelley jewell best movie ever 5 stars
2/25/03 Angie I love this movie!!!! I have seen it about a million times. 5 stars
1/21/03 Doug Onufro So what if the Goonies isn't the most perfect of movies? If it entertains, then it's great! 5 stars
1/11/03 Amanda i luv it it is the greatest movie ever 5 stars
11/25/02 Charles Tatum Really cool when I was younger 4 stars
11/10/02 Daniel The bad guys (esp. Momma) are a riot! This movie is a lot of fun!! 5 stars
9/20/02 SUZY ITS A CLASSIC 5 stars
8/22/02 TheChronic I must've seen this movie 8 times at the theatre as a kid....God it's AWESOME for a kid! 5 stars
8/22/02 TheChronic I must've seen this movie 8 times at the theatre as a kid....god it's AWESOME for a kid! 5 stars
6/04/02 NWO4LIFE As an adult, if you surrender to it, it's near impossible not to like. 4 stars
3/26/02 Rachael Gran I wached this every day after I came home from school as a kid. 5 stars
3/23/02 Hobbitsrule! I watched this movie for the first time recently (to see little Sean Astin!), and loved it! 4 stars
3/11/02 KevinS THIS MOVIE IS THE BEST MOVIE EVER MADE!!! And for" It got cheezy", SO DID YOUR MOM;0) 5 stars
3/08/02 Mo Anand This is a cool fantasy with great young actors 4 stars
2/26/02 K y L e I love this fucking movie beyond what your mind can comprehend. 5 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Fun adventure with a bit of spookiness at times. 4 stars
2/10/02 L.B. Lafady It's the best ! 5 stars
2/05/02 Nevz You.. GOONIES! 5 stars
2/01/02 Geo7654 Irresistible kids adventure movie. A lot of fun. 4 stars
1/29/02 Toni Lynn Gleason I LOVE THIS MOVIE IF FUCKING ROCKZ! 5 stars
1/28/02 Del Part of my prolonged "80's flashback" 5 stars
11/07/01 Zach Thomas The greatest movie of all time 5 stars
10/31/01 Henry Ginsberg It started of good, but then it just got cheesy 3 stars
10/25/01 shep_ramsay hey you guys 5 stars
10/09/01 Erick Barbor My favorite movie of all time!!! Honestly!!!! 5 stars
9/09/01 Dick you off Fucking good movie 5 stars
9/06/01 Mathias A movie I loved when I was a kid. And I still love it ! 5 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk My favorite childhood film...and it's still gets better every time I see it. 5 stars
6/12/01 Emily Ascue very good...i still pop it in the VCR once in a great while 5 stars
5/24/01 cat this homo erotica perspective is a disappointment and is irrelevant to the film 5 stars
5/13/01 Chunk Funny and fun as hell, if you understand the juxtaposition. 5 stars
5/07/01 Desert Eagle overrated 3 stars
5/04/01 Meagan M. Gaschk A complete classic 5 stars
4/26/01 Sarah Still as great at 22 as when I saw it at 6 5 stars
4/01/01 Andrew Carden How could anyone add this to their top 20 list? 2 stars
3/19/01 Bob Bik 022 This movie was hott. If u dont like it then suck my 9 inch c*ck 5 stars
3/16/01 ender :-D 5 stars
3/03/01 Neil Wetzel It is the greates movie of all time. 5 stars
2/13/01 zachary spiehler it's a great movie with alot of adventure 4 stars
2/05/01 curious george like the review says too much little boy touchy touchy gay molestation stuff 1 stars
1/18/01 Kipling This is my favourite movie of ALL time! 5 stars
1/10/01 Nick Ivins Nostalgic trip to wonderland. The gray scenery is neat, and underground adventures are fun 5 stars
12/23/00 Bryson This is the best fucking movie in the world. Second to none. 5 stars
12/05/00 Lindsay E Goonies has been my favorite movie since kindergarten. It is the best 5 stars
12/01/00 Ashley Duquette it was amazing my all time favorite movie. 5 stars
11/20/00 The EVIL Penguin nice 4 stars
11/18/00 Julie P. Goonies is one of my alltime favorite movies! 5 stars
9/30/00 no 1 goonie fan in the world watched this movie 21 times 5 stars
9/22/00 Jayme Jaques It's TOTALLY hilarious. I LOVE the movie!!! 5 stars
9/09/00 Solana This movie rocks! I believe in pirates, why don't you? 5 stars
9/01/00 JB McMichael The best piece of film ever created. I can watch it 1000 times (and I have). 5 stars
7/25/00 Matta My favorite movie of all time. How can you not like it? 5 stars
6/15/00 Ryan Hamilton Definately, the best teen movie after Ferris Buller's day off!!! 5 stars
6/14/00 Aaron Some stupid moments, but overall a very good film 4 stars
6/01/00 Jim Beam Great Movie! 5 stars
5/01/00 Steve Layne A lot of fun, but at times the movie feels overwhelming. 4 stars
4/12/00 jacob mclean "do you boys lke tounge" 5 stars
3/13/00 Derek BEST MOVIE EVER MADE if your a child of the 80's 5 stars
3/01/00 Alex a fun children's move 5 stars
1/26/00 The Bomb 69 even better 15 years later 5 stars
1/25/00 Lauren Good movie 5 stars
1/25/00 eric farrell pretty good sometimes stupid. 3 stars
1/02/00 Julian Yap i recall seeing this in the cinema as a kid. truly a classic. fun in the whole sense. 5 stars
12/28/99 perverted pixie One of my childhood favourites and I still love it! Chunk and Mouth are brilliant. 5 stars
11/04/99 Mickey "Father Death" MacJohnstmyster This movie is brilliant . Ahah Roc-ky Road ahah , rent it , buy it , go get it NOW ! 5 stars
10/21/99 Anthony Calomeni This is a movie for all generations 5 stars
10/02/99 Matthew Bartley A teenage classic 5 stars
9/20/99 Diana Quattrone Best Movie ever made!!!! 5 stars
9/03/99 Jason Kinsey pretty stupid- I don't know why so many retards liked this film 2 stars
6/15/99 Dylan Fucking ace kids flick. Matures well with age. 5 stars
5/04/99 Big Dog I do the truffle shuffle everyday 5 stars
4/30/99 Angie A TOTAL CLASSIC!!! Chunk, Sloth, and Mouth rule baby!! "Baby Ruth??" 5 stars
4/20/99 Martin I've seen this movie 100 times and I still like it 5 stars
4/08/99 Dave Fun movie! 5 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo Come on folks. This is pretty sad if you watch it now. 3 stars
9/28/98 Brandon B. Chunk rules. 5 stars
9/23/98 Johny I liked a lot it when I was younger 4 stars
9/19/98 J-Guy One time, michael jackson stopped at my dad's gas station to use the bathroom. -- loved it. 5 stars
9/18/98 P.S.Lew i could see it a hundred times!!! 5 stars
9/15/98 cheryl_ann the "truffle shuffle" made this movie...well, it was more than that. great 80's flick. 4 stars
9/11/98 The incredible, edible GKR NOW THIS IS A CLASSIC! eat the rocky road chunk 5 stars
9/10/98 Bruce Willis' mama. Yikes. Made me feel icky. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  07-Jun-1985 (PG)
  DVD: 02-Nov-2010

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1985 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast