More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 

Overall Rating

Awesome: 3.23%
Worth A Look: 9.68%
Average: 19.35%
Pretty Bad: 9.68%
Total Crap58.06%

1 review, 25 user ratings

Latest Reviews

Good Dinosaur, The by Jay Seaver

Good Dinosaur, The by alejandroariera

Victor Frankenstein by Jay Seaver

Exhibition (1975) by Charles Tatum

D2: The Mighty Ducks by Jaycie

By the Sea by Jay Seaver

Our Times by Jay Seaver

Caffeine by Jaycie

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay- Part 2 by Jay Seaver

Night Before, The by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed

[] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"The cable flick equivalent of radio static."
1 stars

I challenge even the most verbose movie critics in the world to come up with more than three paragraphs about what goes on in "Disappearance".

As you could probably tell already, I’m having a tough time devising anything interesting to say about the film…and I just watched it like ten minutes ago! Imagine the world’s most boring made-for-TV "thriller" about a family lost in the desert. Now take that movie and run it through a washing machine about 112 times. That’s Disappearance.

That Harry Hamlin and Susan Dey have their names above the credits should have been red flag enough, but devotion to my craft inspired me to watch the whole yawning maw of a film.

Mommy, Daddy, teenage son, teenage son’s friend, and precocious preteen daughter end up in a windy Nevada ghost town. They find some creepy videotapes, they get their truck stolen, they sleep in a room.

What I’ve described above takes place over a real-time period of about 48 minutes. Late in the game we’re offered limp allusions to Area 51, thereby explaining the mystery of the stolen truck.

Hamlin (ever wooden) and Dey (still perkily cute) sleepwalk through the cable-flick proceedings, almost visibly thrilled when the end credits pop up.

The last time I saw a movie this boring it turned out I was watching the oven.

link directly to this review at
originally posted: 04/30/04 10:23:15
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/27/08 Doug What?!? 1 stars
5/05/08 Sue M Suspenseful and creepy. Would really like to know what was lurking though and why. 4 stars
7/23/07 Samantha Watching it on tv now, the beginning is kind of freaky but further on it gets boring. 1 stars
7/22/07 Linus just saw it on TV - unbelievable 1 stars
12/13/06 Maurice EVO What the f%#* just happend? 2 stars
11/16/06 john smith Excellent masterpiece 5 stars
10/14/06 maul started out scary but what the f#$% was up with that ending. thumbs down 3 stars
8/30/06 Nick Good at first then sucked badly 1 stars
8/30/06 Amiee i thought the movie was okay , but i didnt understand the ending at ALL ! 3 stars
5/06/06 ka I liked the movie, but in the end i was confused as to what happened in the end... 3 stars
5/06/06 Dana Evans This movie may not have been a master piece but it kept u thinking. Can u do better? 4 stars
4/18/06 Raffi I didn't understand this at all 3 stars
4/17/06 Joel Tried to keep you on the edge but the they tried too hard and blew it! 1 stars
4/07/06 Elpedia Howard One of the worst ever 1 stars
10/27/05 Keith The real horror in this film is just knowing that someone else might accidentally watch it. 1 stars
10/27/05 JFo Initially scary, but halfway trough, totally lost its edge. Where's the explanation? 2 stars
8/11/05 Michael I just wanna know where that Ghost Town is? 3 stars
3/27/05 Eric Samson Nonsense! (sucks off plenty cerebral cells) Made by aliens from area 51? 1 stars
3/03/05 Janice Tehie Atrocious movie 1 stars
11/03/04 Jamar Joyner I with everyone else what happened to the ending the plot amount to nothing.Just confusion 1 stars
9/19/04 Valerie MacCabe No point, no plot, and no ending. Biggest pile of crap to ever hit the movie screen. 1 stars
8/26/04 Angelica Not as scary as others.....but still captivating 4 stars
8/26/04 Andrea Quiros The movie was average but i was waiting fot the thrilling ending all along and it never ha 2 stars
8/13/04 Mark Louis Baumgart A claustophobic & paranoid mystery, thoroughly wrecked by a unexplained ending. 3 stars
7/03/04 Bobby Smith HORRIBLE! what was that movie even about? The end made NO SENSE!!! 1 stars
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:

Discuss this movie in our forum

  21-Apr-2002 (PG-13)



Directed by
  Walter Klenhard

Written by
  Walter Klenhard

  Harry Hamlin
  Susan Dey
  Jeremy Lelliott
  Basia A'Hern
  Jamie Croft
  Jeremy Kewley

Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast