More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.2

Awesome: 7.87%
Worth A Look: 16.03%
Average: 11.37%
Pretty Bad: 18.08%
Total Crap46.65%

16 reviews, 247 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Raja Natwarlal by Jay Seaver

Search for Weng Weng, The by Jay Seaver

Creep (2014) by Jay Seaver

Kundo: Age of the Rampant by Jay Seaver

Guardian (2014) by Jay Seaver

As Above, So Below by Jay Seaver

November Man, The by Jay Seaver

Hana-Dama: The Origins by Jay Seaver

Creeping Garden, The by Jay Seaver

Seventh Code by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Van Helsing
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by David Hollands

"Enter the cinema, turn your brain partially off, and enjoy."
4 stars

Right from the onset, it's obvious that Stephen Sommers never meant to set the cinematic world on fire when he wrote and directed Van Helsing. It is, however, quite obvious that he only wanted to provide audiences with a fun time at the movies, complete with adventure, horror, and yeah, even a little heart.

Things start off with Victor Frakenstein creating his monster (one can even find the famous "It's alive!" cry here) for Dracula. However, Victor never thought that his monster would be used for evil, and is therefore killed by Dracula so as not to interfere. Frankenstein is then burned as angry villagers torch his hiding place to the ground. From that point on, we find the titular Van Helsing, fighter of evil for the Vatican. His mission is to travel to Transylvania to destroy the vampire Dracula in order to save the soul of Anna Velarious. Before this film is over, the Wolfman, Frankenstein, Dracula, tons of midget henchman, Igor, and even Mr. Hyde will make appearances to make for a wonderful good time.

The most important quality factor of Van Helsing is actually it's originality. Of course, most of what happens in this film is quite predictable, yet most of it is pulled off in brand new ways. The film has practically every classic movie monster here, and it could have easily come down to pointless, maddeningly bad cameos. Not so, as Sommers has used extreme creativity in bringing the monsters together in a single two hour film. Every creature, believe it or not, has a purpose and not a single monster is wasted. Even the appearance of Mr. Hyde, seen here as a hulking monster in the vain of The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, has a point in the story to enhance Van Helsing's character.

Naturally, even in the most carefree action/adventure films, the characters must still be likable. For, even in a film like Van Helsing, characters must be likable and identifiable in order to add something more to the constant onslaught of mayhem and explosions. If this is not the case, even the most outlandish action and the story will seem soulless and un-involving. Thankfully, the characters are extremely likable here. Sure, they won't be characters with extreme depth, but they will be characters completely appropriate to this type of film. They act naturally, and there's just enough there to allow us to care for them that adds considerable tension to the many suspense or action sequences in the flick. There are even some dramatic moments that happen with the characters that I wasn't expecting, and it was a real nice surprise.

Speaking of surprises, certain story elements of Van Helsing were quite unexpected, especially towards the conclusion. Most of these surprises are actually quite tragic, and they add something more to the film. For example, even though Dracula is quite evil, all he really wants here is to have children and be left in peace. Sure, that sounds maudlin and dumb, but the film handles it all really well. There's also tragedy to Van Helsing's character, especially considering that the monsters he kills will become human before their untimely demise. Towards the conclusion, things take drastically different turns when it even becomes uncertain whether the hero of the piece will actually survive the film. Certain important characters will bite it when you weren't expecting them to at all, which just makes this film feel a lot more than a typical action/adventure piece. While fun, it still tries to add dramatic depth, and it does so extremely well.

Van Helsing is a film that uses computer-generated images a lot, and unlike so many films that fail to reach me on any kind of entertaining level when they do this, this one did. Sure, it's extremely easy to tell that most of the creatures attacking the actors were created and rendered in someone's living room, yet director Stephen Sommers works magic in the way that the audience buys into the illusions. Even though the Wolfman looks more or less like a big digital bubble, I was still terrified on more than one occasion. Although the conclusion of Van Helsing has practically every character in the film becoming digital puppets, my heart was still pumping furiously with excitement. Because, for once, the effects designers actually try to add more life into the creations. When a significant werewolf turns up near the end of the flick, it smiles, reacts, doing pretty much what a human would do in the situation. When Dracula becomes a monster bat, he still has the characteristics of the real actor who portrayed him before this happened. The effects, thus, have a surprising attention to detail about them, which gives them personality.

Van Helsing, once it gets going, never stops for a second. Given that the movie is just over two hours in length, the fact that not a single slow moment is to be found here is a blessing. However, being that the movie also never stops (its basically one huge action sequence after another), it could have fallen flat on its face. For, when a movie, especially an action movie, doesn't slow down in terms of its onslaught of explosions and chases, it actually becomes boring. Big Trouble in Little China, the 1986 John Carpenter cult classic, failed because of that. Thankfully, Sommers is wise to include the moments of rest within the action itself. Sure, the tension and adrenaline levels are still miles high, yet the slight breaks and character moments thrown in in between all the mayhem gives the audience the small injection of calm necessary to become relaxed for a brief moment before the next bit of action begins. As an example, the first major vampire attack is basically in two parts. After five minutes of non-stop action, it pauses, allowing for a brief exchange of information before the action begins again. Really, because of the pauses, the thrill sequences actually become thrilling.

Stephen Sommers directs Van Helsing with a wonderful eye for detail and screen composition. While I am disappointed that he decided to shoot in the 1.85:1 aspect ratio (this film would have been simply dazzling in full 2.35:1 widescreen), there's still enough visual panache to keep the audience fully involved. The visuals are often breathtaking, thanks to Sommers' knowledge of depth of field, and the action sequences are exceptionally well shot and edited. Never have I ever been drawn in to films which feature nanosecond cuts, and yet even though Sommers used them many times in Van Helsing, I could still perfectly make out what was happening onscreen.

Where Sommers does falter on occasion is during the tension moments. Occasionally, his build-ups to jumps or the next actions scenes are slightly poor. For example, when Anna Velarious is walking in her home with a werewolf close by, the sequence, meant to be nerve-jangling, can never really fulfill its purpose. That's due largely to the fact that Sommers too often reveals where the werewolf is hiding. Instead of quick glimpses, the audience is treated to werewolf point-of-view shots that give away too much information. Had Sommers kept these to a minimum and had instead stayed close to Anna in the sequence to have a sustained uncertainty, the scary aspects of the scene would have worked quite well. And Sommers completely botches the big surprise scare in this sequence, by cutting to a POV shot of the Wolfman approaching Anna just before the big jump arrives.

Stephen Sommers own screenplay is actually quite well written. Character motivations and much of the dialogue is actually kept in check most of the time. Lines like "We Transylvanians always look on the brighter side of death" are not exactly poetry, but they're completely appropriate to this kind of film without coming off as stupid. Of course, being that it's practically unavoidable in a summer action/adventure film, some of the dialogue does get a bit annoying. When the monsters, especially the Brides of Dracula, keep spouting out lines that painfully spell out the obvious, things get more than a little annoying. Still, these moments are few and far between. However, one major thing that sticks out like a sore thumb is when Anna finally gets her revenge on one of the Brides, she says the cringe-inducing "When you're going to kill someone, kill them! Don't stand there talking about it!". It's as if Sommers expected to get away with the flaws of most of the picture with this one line. Well, it didn't fool me in Sergio Leone's The Good, The Bad and the Ugly when a scene along the same lines happened, and it sure as Hell didn't fool me here.

The acting side is really very good. Hugh Jackman makes for a very fun, unassuming Van Helsing. The audience just gets the sense that he's having the time of his life playing the character. Jackman is also able to bring a charm to the part, as well as a vulnerability that helps the film become more suspenseful during certain moments. Plus, it also helps that Jackman is a very good actor, and, although he appears to be playing the same role here as in X-Men, he still plays it very well.

Kate Beckinsale is really only supposed to be in this film for eye candy, which she does pull off rather well. She's also able to act pretty well during moments in which she's required to actually show certain subtle emotions, and her line delivery is really very good. She and Jackman have very good chemistry, which adds to the characters. Still though, Beckinsale could have been just slightly better concerning her Transylvanian accent, but I'm not complaining.

Richard Roxburgh makes for a great Dracula, one who is so over the top that you just can't help but love the guy's work. He's oozing cinematic evil from the very beginning, yet he's also able to control himself. He never lets things get too crazy, and he doesn't let his character become too annoying. He's also able to give Dracula a bit of humanity by adding that tragic aspect of the character into his performance. Great work.

Shuler Hensley is pretty good as Frankenstein's Monster, but the monster was a bit poorly written even from the beginning. Still, Hensley makes the best of the role, and is even able to bring the tragedy of the character through quite well. Still, not even a talented actor can save moments wherein his character begins shouting out quotes from the Bible in the most pain-inducing ways.

The rest of the supporting players, including David Wenham as Van Helsing's partner Carl, Tom Fisher as a psychotic grave digger, and Kevin O'Connor as a wild Igor do a fantastic job with their characters. It's obvious that this was all complete fun for them, and that sense of fun is infectious, and the film is all the better because of it.

The cinematography done by Allan Daviau is spectacular. The lighting is filled with fantastic tones and shadows filled with the deepest of blacks. The opening of the film, which is completely in black and white, is stunning to look at, as Daviau has been able to capture the look and feel of the classic monster movies through the lighting. Also, the lighting during the scenes of CGI madness definitely helps the special effects to blend in with the live-action in a much better way than most of the movies the use an abundance of computer created images.

The musical score by Alan Silvestri is riveting and alive. Just like the film, as soon as it starts, it just never stops for a second. Plus, the music is constantly able to raise a scene to new levels of excitement, drama, or passion. Even when the schmaltzy finale comes around, Silvestri is able to take what was once obvious and clichéd and turn it into beautiful poetry. It's a wonderful, exciting, and pulse-pounding score which hits absolutely every dramatic mark it's supposed to be astounding ease. There are also a few moments here when Silvestri uses subtlety instead of bombast, and the contrast is excellent. For, just like Stephen Sommers, Silvestri understands that constant musical noise will eventually tire out an audience, so he layers the score with both the bombast and the subtlety. Thus, never once during this film did I ever think of the score as lazy or rushed.

In the end, Van Helsing won't set the cinematic world on fire, yet it will provide audiences with great entertainment from beginning to end, with a few surprises introduced here and there to allow for this movie to just be another boring summer blockbuster retread. Enter the cinema, turn your brain partially off, apply your earplugs (or don't, depending on your cinema volume preferences), and enjoy.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=9518&reviewer=355
originally posted: 05/31/04 11:07:09
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/29/14 cvohvwm USA 3 stars
7/26/14 yikxyx USA 2 stars
7/21/14 hssrzcmx USA 4 stars
7/15/14 likeagrgi USA 3 stars
4/16/14 Adahbauj USA 4 stars
4/12/14 hvovlemtd USA 5 stars
4/11/14 izgoknbluw USA 5 stars
4/10/14 sgxuqc USA 5 stars
4/10/14 Vlxxejof USA 5 stars
4/10/14 xfrnpdqu USA 4 stars
4/09/14 Tikmoiam USA 4 stars
3/24/14 Nbhioouf USA 4 stars
3/24/14 Ufqfjbfk USA 3 stars
3/23/14 Dgtlxirp USA 2 stars
3/22/14 Fliubuyo USA 3 stars
3/22/14 Rjjixujg USA 3 stars
2/09/14 Uhjmxlsa USA 4 stars
2/07/14 Qzxjxppk USA 3 stars
5/07/09 true poo-poo alert. Stinks bad. Good actors in a horrible movie. 1 stars
1/19/09 Fruitcake angel Classic monsters and fairytale Transylvania win. Gorgeously dressed vampettes were fun. 4 stars
12/15/08 john doe its an ok film to watch 4 stars
10/07/08 Shaun Wallner Great Action!! 5 stars
5/31/08 Raven Didnt even finish the film as it was so horrible. 1 stars
5/09/08 Karrie Millheim I love vamp movies so I am rating this a four, it could have been better though 4 stars
10/29/07 Mick If you enjoyed this then you must be under 10 or BRAIN DEAD! 1 stars
10/12/07 Charles Not even Beckinsale could save this one. Very disappointing. 2 stars
7/29/07 Jeremy I liked it alot, these kind of movies arent my style but this one hit home 5 stars
4/21/07 Stevo UK This was actually a very bad vampire movi, that non - retards hated. 1 stars
2/23/07 Weblynx was a good vampire movie, actually liked it 4 stars
2/18/07 Nick Maday I really enjoyed this the first time through, but not so much in the times following. 3 stars
2/17/07 G Sherfy Sommers should be boiled in oil; horrible campy crap (worse than The Mummy 2 which I hated) 1 stars
2/15/07 I Gluck Could have been better but I still enjoyed it 3 stars
2/11/07 Fred Holmes Better than expected 4 stars
2/08/07 Raph Branca I recently saw this for the first time and thought it was a lot of fun. 4 stars
2/06/07 Shobert Might have been a blast had it been made by someone with an ounce of talent. 1 stars
2/04/07 David Cohen Van Helsing as a gothic horros Bond, sigh, it could have really been something 2 stars
2/03/07 Vip Ebriega Great horror stuff. 4 stars
1/13/07 ben worse than expected. watching this in the theatres would've been torture. 1 stars
11/20/06 michael classic horror flix 5 stars
11/18/06 annie Enjoyed the film. Would I watch it again? No. 3 stars
11/11/06 Jamethon hated this movie - a whole lot of dung 1 stars
11/10/06 Yusuf V loved this movie - a whole lot of fun 5 stars
11/08/06 Teresa Urutia Having to choose between this and Sorority Girls on the same night, Sorority Girls won 1 stars
10/09/06 Mark Paris Fantastic....non stop action all the way through 5 stars
8/23/06 David Cohen Sigh, it could have been so much more 2 stars
8/21/06 Jarkko Perälä Over two hours of bad acting and plot holes 1 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist Ownable, but yet another action/horror film thats just above popcorn flick status. 4 stars
5/12/06 Fruit-Loop It sucks. So boring had to Exit house 1 stars
4/17/06 Jetrho Peter Cushing is the only real Van Helsing,this one' a fartknocker! 1 stars
4/12/06 ES No (laughs uncontrollably) it's a good mov- (laughs again harder). I can't even get it out! 1 stars
4/01/06 Tanya I enjoyed the special effects but that was it 2 stars
3/09/06 Dk Enjoyable and it looks great 4 stars
2/27/06 Anthony Feor Possibly the worst movie in the world 1 stars
1/23/06 Soha Molina crapy movie 1 stars
1/20/06 Richard Jones I thought this movie isnt worth to see at the box office 1 stars
1/20/06 Mike Pulido Kind of sucky but I usually stop and watch whenever i'm flipping through the channels 2 stars
1/18/06 MrsVoorheesBabyBoy Even Worse than Brothers' Grimm 1 stars
1/17/06 ella can we say Van Sucking? 1 stars
12/10/05 Jim A load of claptrap. Liked the hat, though. 2 stars
10/31/05 Shandra i liked the film i thought it was interesting 5 stars
10/24/05 Suk-R-Punch Dreaming about a Beckinsale Bukkake is the only thing that got me through this crap-fest!!! 1 stars
10/22/05 paddy I liked Beckinsale's outfit...That's about it. 1 stars
10/17/05 Crapture Doesn't everyone just love a good "tragity"...that says it all, doesn't it? 1 stars
10/13/05 Bryant Gumby FANTASTIC!!!! The audience I saw it with erupted in laughter and never stopped!!!!!!! 1 stars
9/24/05 Will Tingle As bad as I expected... 2 stars
9/21/05 Jonathon Holmes worst movie of the summer 1 stars
9/02/05 Mailk Stupid piece of garbage. 1 stars
9/02/05 Edward Seriously one of the worst movies I have ever seen...well...not really, but...CRAP!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
9/01/05 unlimited UNDERWORLD was just boring and lame...this, on the other hand, is HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
8/31/05 Vasquez i'd be willing to pay someone to kill stephen sommers at this point...and pay big. 1 stars
8/30/05 Brisbane Did someone just take a giant poop on celluloid and call it VAN HELSING????????? 1 stars
8/29/05 Blissful Johnny Wow...and I thought UNDERWORLD was bad! I thought LXG was bad! This trumps them!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
8/29/05 Jabberjaw The b&w opening was cool...and then the rest happened. Ending's good for a laugh, though. 1 stars
8/28/05 hicks VAN HELSING 2 is coming soon! Oh shit!!!! Pigs flying!!!!! Hell freezing!!!!!! Repent!! 1 stars
8/28/05 Joker I love this movie!!! For you see, I am a retard!!! 1 stars
8/19/05 ES Note the glass breaks before the werewolf hits it and shatters in the wrong direction 1 stars
8/07/05 George Roger Ebert recommends this over Die Hard? That man should be put in a mental hospital!!! 1 stars
8/03/05 ZIM A big, dumb yet slightly fun piece of crap 3 stars
7/28/05 Daveman Loud, obnoxious and physically painful to watch 1 stars
7/25/05 Moverlover Shit, shit, shit, shit, shit, shit, shit, shit, shit, shit, shit, shit, shit, shit, SHIT! 1 stars
7/19/05 Brandy Harrington Rancid shit. Fucking borefest. 1 stars
6/29/05 Jiz I fell asleep half-way through. At 3PM. 1 stars
6/26/05 mickanme worth a sunday arvo, cup of tea watch 4 stars
6/25/05 Mr Fluffy About as usefull as a hair lip 1 stars
6/14/05 Anthony G Weak ass shit. 1 stars
6/11/05 Manu Ginobli I was surprised at how boring this movie was. 1 stars
6/09/05 Taylor Fladgate I like how her accent diminishes as the movie goes on. 2 stars
6/02/05 Chris So this is what you get when Vampires mate 2 stars
5/25/05 Jake COMPLETE CRAP! IF YOU LIKE THIS MOVIE, YOUR EITHER RETARDED OR A WHIMP! 1 stars
4/30/05 reptilesni It's a kids movie. Don't expect more or you'll be disappointed. 3 stars
4/21/05 Colleen Goldrick great special effects 5 stars
4/19/05 Bonnie James I disagree with the main review. You go to the movies for entertainment. Helsing does the j 4 stars
4/16/05 Carol Conway Forgettable 2 stars
4/11/05 Landshark CGI Gone Wild -- after this debacle, even the CGI characters had low self esteem. 1 stars
3/13/05 Tamara Burks While it is a cheesy movie , I like cheese . So I enjoyed this one. 3 stars
3/12/05 Edler It is not that bad. It is hokey and corny. But ok in many respects. 3 stars
3/05/05 Gloria Anderson loved this one 5 stars
3/02/05 David Tsung great special effects but kate sucked 3 stars
3/02/05 Maggie Dressler Absolutely awesome 5 stars
2/28/05 Diane Stedner I liked it. 4 stars
2/26/05 Denise i love vamp movies 3 stars
2/26/05 James Kiang My high expectations were dashed by the obvious cgi and terrible accents. 2 stars
2/21/05 david basile a little to comic like 2 stars
2/17/05 kathleen4691 Frankenstein vs. wear-wolf marginally better than Godzilla vs. Mothra. 2 stars
2/14/05 Angela Saunders Great special effects, lacks plot. Disappointing after all the hype. 2 stars
2/11/05 bob thedwarf shite 1 stars
2/09/05 nannette ryan The movie was average I've seen much worse but I've also seen better 3 stars
2/07/05 Kenneth Helmick Just a fun movie 3 stars
2/05/05 bongeezer There are worse movies out there.... Honest 3 stars
2/05/05 tatum I can name a hundred movies worse than this one..."Ax 'Em"..."Shrek"... 4 stars
2/04/05 Tanya Grays I was not pleased with this movie, even the special effects can't save this one 2 stars
2/04/05 ss Not a bad movie. worth a look 4 stars
2/03/05 Kent B. I liked it. Thought it was different from the same old monster movies. 4 stars
2/02/05 BobbysRedQueen This Movie Stunk ! What happened to real horror films ? 1 stars
2/02/05 Philip Taylor it sucked 1 stars
2/02/05 Joe Kolarz I thought it was great, i hope there si a second one. 4 stars
2/02/05 Alice Colwell I don't think it was that bad 4 stars
2/01/05 Edward Condon I've seen worse, but not by much. 2 stars
2/01/05 Danita Berg Call me crazy - but I loved this movie - simply for it's campiness! 4 stars
2/01/05 craig varney dissappointing video game action not great vampire movie 3 stars
1/27/05 JesseL Great vampire movie. A little thin in spots but scenic. 4 stars
1/15/05 Hawkeye Pierce unaceptable, being a fan of the classics, the worst re-make ever and respectless. 1 stars
12/29/04 Steve Newman 30mins to long but loved special effects 3 stars
12/27/04 The Mockingbird I will never get the 2 minutes of my life back that I spent running away from this movie 1 stars
12/25/04 Freddy good effects and some hot chicks! 4 stars
12/20/04 jonnyboy omg wig something we agree on 1 stars
12/10/04 Jason Kaul This would have been good if the chick got naked. But she didn't, so it was mediocre. 3 stars
12/08/04 Kristina Williams shit shit shit! 1 stars
12/08/04 jonny boy same as gabby, kate beckinsale is a muppet indeed 2 stars
11/15/04 Gabby Kate Beckinsale cannot act to save her life. This film is just one big computer game. 2 stars
11/11/04 keithers.. yes it sucks...yes it's corney but that's the point..it's all in good fun 4 stars
11/06/04 TCIC The visuals keep this move alive, the plot is corny but the concepts are good 4 stars
11/03/04 JL Kinda cheesy, but Richard Roxburgh is the sexiest Dracula I've ever seen! 3 stars
10/30/04 Howard Lipsit Forget the "Plot" - A Visual Feast! 5 stars
10/28/04 Sean Dalton It makes you groan in embarassment at its ridiculousness again and again. 1 stars
10/26/04 lotrEEproper owns this shi& i agree but still better than hp and avp put together 1 stars
10/23/04 Hilary Adamson Makes Kate Dreckinsale almost seem likeable. 4 stars
10/22/04 Daniel nothing but cgi- poor plot,characters,dialogue-just a big computer animated piece of shit 1 stars
10/17/04 Pollo Excellent special effects. Where's the plot??? Where are the actors???Kill the screenwriter 2 stars
10/15/04 eugene this mvie is a load of fucked crtap is licks utter balls i am a eugene 1 stars
9/28/04 Butter G *speachless* on how terrible this was. it just blew me away by the stupidity!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
9/21/04 Benjamin Spicher Watch Hellboy instead! 1 stars
9/19/04 ozcan ass 4 stars
9/18/04 byron the movie was great itwas the best the harpies (Marishka,verna&Aleera) 5 stars
9/08/04 trent A big pile of sh*t. 1 stars
8/31/04 Rwillough I liked this movie. It wan't meant to be serious, but it was alot of fun to watch. 4 stars
8/21/04 Tyrantis I love Monster Movies, so I loved it. But it still sucked pretty bad. 2 stars
8/14/04 Uncle Phucker The worse big movie of the decaded. Not one good scene. 1 stars
8/09/04 The Lurchprong Splitter Forget Catwoman! This has batwomen! 3 stars
8/03/04 Nykki It was a cool movie to watch, I'm picky and this movie really got on my list ofthingsto buy 5 stars
8/02/04 Raf Milis Except that kate looks like she can come around every night,this movie is so shitty..man... 1 stars
7/30/04 Shams Huque Man this was terrible. 2 stars
7/30/04 Eloise daft megamix of horror legends, yey, can i have some more please!! 5 stars
7/19/04 Sylvia TOP GENIAL !!!! 5 stars
7/17/04 Jeff Hu so boring, just can't wait to see it finishes 1 stars
7/13/04 AV! I loved it! Hugh was really good and so was Kate. Plus I love action! 5 stars
6/30/04 Saigo Whoo-hoo! Action! Never mind it totally sucks! It's got action! Yey! 1 stars
6/26/04 M ZZZZzzzzzzzzz.......... 1 stars
6/17/04 WREN Richard Roxburgh is the sexy and looks very lickable 5 stars
6/15/04 earl duron great fun 4 stars
6/12/04 Sarrah kate beckinsale ROCKS. this movie was amzing. best this year. it ROCKED!! 5 stars
6/09/04 Cameron Slick Lacks excitement but great for a nine-year old boy. 3 stars
6/06/04 SF Great film. 5 stars
6/05/04 Alexis Weston It was great, best horror film of the year. 5 stars
6/03/04 Elizabeth Great opening sequence, but quickly becomes redundant. LOUDEST film I've seen in ages. 2 stars
6/02/04 Coolhand Had potential, but don't skimp on a good writer for Pete's sake!!! 3 stars
6/02/04 Martha Well, about 20 flicks in one; all of the old ones done better 1 stars
6/02/04 Obi Wan I hope NBC never makes another Big Budget Big Screen flick again!!! 1 stars
5/29/04 deena I love sci fi, horror, old movies, even b movies, THIS IS THE WORST MOVIE I HAVE EVER SEEN! 1 stars
5/29/04 Art Richardson I thought it was a good movie 4 stars
5/29/04 matt some parts were ok but it felt too long 3 stars
5/28/04 Ash Jordan Amazing, worth seeing more than once, though only to see Dracula! 5 stars
5/28/04 amy buffy the vampire slayer meets touched by an angel 2 stars
5/28/04 Biily Just plain awlful. 1 stars
5/28/04 Van_Yorking Oh geez, words can't describe how awful this movie is. PASS! 1 stars
5/27/04 steven wortham Best monster movie ever because it has all of them in it, 5 stars
5/26/04 Eponine See it for David Wenham's character, Carl. I thought he was hilarious. 4 stars
5/26/04 Nicole While it was totally Hollywood and many scenes were lame and trite and cheesy, I liked it! 4 stars
5/23/04 S F hey i thoroughlyenjoyed it 4 stars
5/23/04 Jack Bourbon Much like a drinking contest where the loser pukes first: only the most bored should do it 2 stars
5/23/04 malcolm pure summer popcorn fun 4 stars
5/22/04 Alan Liddle Not fantastic, but entertaining. 3 stars
5/22/04 alien assassin Rent "Bride of Frankenstein" instead !!! 2 stars
5/22/04 M not much to say........ 2 stars
5/22/04 Not Public mediocre cgi, zero plot/character dev, but you're beaten by action seq without end 2 stars
5/21/04 Katrina I thought the movie was GREAT!!!!!!!!!!! Bring on the sequal! 5 stars
5/21/04 shadowdancer Love Hugh, hate the movie 2 stars
5/21/04 Vinnie I paid $7.50 for this steaming pile of shit? Maybe 4 bucks, but not $7.50!!! 1 stars
5/20/04 linus Exactly what I expected from watching the previews 1 stars
5/19/04 Stephen Spielborg Hey, it's better than anything I've ever done... 1 stars
5/19/04 Idiot's Mouth Good points but oh! Dick! This is old news! So it sucked! What else is new?!? 1 stars
5/18/04 David Birke jjjjjjjj 1 stars
5/18/04 Bingo Rex hunt fishing adventures is more entertaining then this 1 stars
5/18/04 Julie I hate to say it bc I liek H.Jackmanm but what a waste of $100 million. 1 stars
5/18/04 Anne Exactlay what I was expecting from it. 2 stars
5/18/04 AfroFett oooooh lots of CGI! story? what story? 1 stars
5/17/04 othree cheezy greatness, that works, see it if your in the mood for fun, cool spin 2 4 stars
5/17/04 Troy Butler Not as bad as everyone makes it out to be. LYBATD, and you should have an enjoyable time!!! 3 stars
5/17/04 Maximus I tell you what, you give me $15, and I'll scream in your face for 2 hrs. Enjoy this crap. 1 stars
5/17/04 j This has to be the worst movie i have ever seen. 1 stars
5/15/04 Luis Turd 1 stars
5/15/04 Uncle Phucker This has to be one of the worst big budget films ever. Worse than the Mummy Returns. 1 stars
5/14/04 Stephen Petit stop with the edible garbage 1 stars
5/13/04 Owen S A fun comic book ride for the summer 4 stars
5/13/04 Bethanie Cope I like the movie but hated the End 4 stars
5/13/04 Peter A great ride, and amazing affects. Plot is shallow, but all else was entertaining 4 stars
5/13/04 Mike V First half is pretty good but falls apart after that 3 stars
5/12/04 Whatevr The original authors must be rolling around in their graves 1 stars
5/12/04 Mike Appalling, will appeal to 13yr old boys. 1 stars
5/12/04 Jenny Saypaw Fantastic sets, great CGI, cool vampire offspring concept 4 stars
5/12/04 Sam from Quebec This movie sucked, what a waste of my time. 1 stars
5/12/04 Ajax Horrible movie. So much money and they can't have ONE decent action scene. 1 stars
5/11/04 Ripoff Maybe if a stake was driven through Stephen Sommers' heart, he'd stop making shit movies? 1 stars
5/11/04 Beefcake007 So ridiculous I started laughing till I had tears in my eyes. 1 stars
5/11/04 paganchyk Even the soundtrack was overdone! Hysterical, but not intentionally.... 2 stars
5/11/04 Heath It's an action movie full of non-stop action. What more do you want? 4 stars
5/10/04 A F Better than expected yet still average. 3 stars
5/10/04 Vicious I wanted more werewolf, otherwise it's pretty much eye candy 3 stars
5/10/04 Jorge Fragette Don't anyone go see this turd. Keep your money and your dignity! NO SEQUEL FOR YOU! 1 stars
5/10/04 Giant_Cockroach Stunningly bad. To rope swingey. AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE! 1 stars
5/10/04 Paul Melendy Depressingly bad. Zero suspence. 1 stars
5/09/04 PAYNE I hope that the possible sequeal will be at least better than this 4 stars
5/09/04 Tom It's not the Universal monsters I grew up with but it is still fun. 4 stars
5/09/04 Nicholas Walsh This was one of the most retarded movies I have ever had the displeasure of seeing. 1 stars
5/09/04 David Fowler Horror as Porn. Sommers ROUNDLY buggers, rogers, & violates Universal's classic trinity. 1 stars
5/09/04 Gray should have had only one monstr per a movie 3 stars
5/09/04 Shann hope it does well enough to get a sequel but bad enough that they'll fix the mistakes 4 stars
5/09/04 Caravaggio Worst Dracula ever! Roxburg had scariness and sexual allure of a turd. 1 stars
5/09/04 Roy Again retarted? Anyway... nice fx and that's about it. 2 stars
5/08/04 Jeff MacIver This flick is insanely over-the-top, and bloody good fun. Don't listen to the naysayers. 4 stars
5/08/04 Wolf WAY too much reliance on CGI. Needs better direction and more retakes. 2 stars
5/08/04 AfroFett Hey Look! CGI monsters! Pay no attention to the crappy story behind the curtain! 2 stars
5/08/04 M CGI overload!!! 1 stars
5/08/04 NO SEQUEL 4 U I'll pay for something worthwhile then I'll watch this for on Universal, not on my $9!! 1 stars
5/08/04 Margalo God let this bomb so we dont get a sequel 1 stars
5/07/04 Bill Egan The cinematic equivalent of a sugar overload, but without the sweetness & twice the nausea. 1 stars
5/07/04 La Terra as a movie-lover, I dislike the CG-Film but i love this one 5 stars
5/07/04 Yosh No tension, boring as hell, only nice CG 2 stars
5/07/04 BrianWilly Very fun movie, some of the best CGI ever. But ultimately no depth. 4 stars
5/07/04 Brian if they had spent a fraction on decent graphics that they did on marketing... 1 stars
5/06/04 Mikedy Mike Fun movie, an homage to old cheesey monster flicks. 4 stars
5/06/04 Mark Fulwiler Absolutely godawful torture 1 stars
5/06/04 TXN All FX, Little plot, embarassing dialogue 2 stars
5/06/04 john bale No plot no suspense only Jackman killing SFX. Roll over Bram Stoker ! 2 stars
5/06/04 Margalow Saw a screening in NY last week. Dear God, the agony... 1 stars
5/05/04 MrMean Average 3 stars
5/05/04 Harry This movie sucks nuts! 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  07-May-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 19-Oct-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  05-May-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast