More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.21

Awesome: 22.04%
Worth A Look25.33%
Average: 21.38%
Pretty Bad: 14.14%
Total Crap: 17.11%

13 reviews, 226 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Snowpiercer by Rob Gonsalves

Rosewater by Jay Seaver

World of Kanako, The by Jay Seaver

Tommy (2014) by Jay Seaver

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay, Part 1 by Daniel Kelly

Goodbye to Language by Jay Seaver

Mea Culpa by Jay Seaver

Homesman, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay, Part 1 by Peter Sobczynski

Purge, The: Anarchy by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Troy
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Comes close to doing justice to Homer's grandeur and complexity."
5 stars

Like 'Gladiator' four summers ago, 'Troy' starts the warm-weather season off with a manly, retro, sword-clanging bang. But that's where the similarity ends.

Gladiator, which unaccountably won a Best Picture Oscar, was a numbing and derivative revenge fantasy recast for swords and sandals. Troy takes off from sturdier origins -- Homer's great war poem The Iliad, which seems constructed to show war in all its aspects, its exultant splendor and its terrible cruelty. David Denby, in his appraisal of classic literature Great Books, cites an Iliad passage describing a spear striking a soldier "beside the nipple of the right breast, and the bronze spearhead drove clean through the shoulder." Homer's treatment of violence is both near-pornographic and exhilarating in its attention to the physical.

Director Wolfgang Petersen is aboard Troy, and after a few hit-and-miss blockbusters (his last movie was the waterlogged The Perfect Storm), he has made his most robust yet complex film since Das Boot, the U-boat drama that launched him internationally. There are many, many grand-scale battle scenes in Troy, and Petersen stages them cleanly yet with an emphasis on the chaos of the moment. We see individual mano-a-mano conflicts within the larger fracas, mini-battles in which we can see that this man triumphs because of speed over strength, while that man wins due to sheer dumb luck. Other fights, such as the one between the Trojan warrior hero Hector (Eric Bana) and a massive Greek adversary, are skillfully choreographed dances of rage and honor.

Brad Pitt may take a few critical slings and arrows just for having been cast as Achilles, the arrogant warrior and great hope of Greece, but he's got the moves. Pitt has perfected a highly photogenic maneuver: he runs past an enemy, hops up with his heavy legs swinging, and jabs his opponent fatally above the shoulderblade whap! Pitt brings more to it, though; his Achilles is a great warrior who feels used by the greedy king Agamemnon (Brian Cox, having a grand old time) and has grown contemptuous of the very forces that set him in motion towards glory in battle which means contempt of glory itself. (In Homer, Achilles renounces the heroic code, saying, "We are all held in a single honour, the brave with the weaklings.") By contrast, Hector, as underplayed effectively by Eric Bana, is a strong warrior who would rather not fight he's seen enough fighting to appreciate any other sensible but honorable alternative.

This great war poem, amusingly, has a soap-opera impetus: Hector's brother Paris (Orlando Bloom) runs off with Helen (Diane Kruger), the wife of Agamemnon's brother Menelaus (Brendan Gleeson). In the movie, Agamemnon uses his brother's rage as an excuse to start a war with Troy but really couldn't care less about Menelaus' pride. The weak link of The Iliad turns out to be the weak link of Troy, especially since Orlando Bloom and Diane Kruger, twin pretty flowers, barely suggest the transgressive passion that incinerated a great city. Nevertheless, the story was always meant to focus on the men pitted against each other over such a trifling matter. The face-off between Achilles and Hector is beautifully realized, all the more wounding because we can precisely read each man's emotions going into the fight (even though Achilles' rage is muted in the movie because he is now avenging his cousin, not his, ahem, "friend").

If mesmerizing panoramas of mass carnage don't pull you in, Troy has a major old warhorse in its ranks: Peter O'Toole, seldom seen onscreen lately, enters the movie humbly as King Priam, father of Hector and Paris, and commands the screen effortlessly. When Priam meets Helen, O'Toole compliments her beauty, then delivers a single word, "Welcome," and invests those two syllables with an entire movie's worth of meaning; you can hear the subtext of Priam's exasperation with his son, understanding of why Paris fell so hard for Helen, and acceptance of whatever this illicit love might bring to his nation.

"He was born to end lives," someone says of Achilles, and O'Toole was born to kick movies up another notch.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=9579&reviewer=416
originally posted: 01/28/07 11:56:57
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/23/14 yoyuzrdj USA 2 stars
5/27/14 Linnaeus The death of Hector was very moving. 4 stars
7/22/11 Brian People who call this film "a grotesque butchery" need to get out more. 5 stars
8/15/09 Jeff Wilder Better than King Arthur or Alexander. 3 stars
2/03/09 Art I thought the acting was so-so (better towards the end)but casting was good... 5 stars
12/13/08 Nijinsky Loved the Pitt Bana sword fight, the pirouettes were to die for. 5 stars
11/20/08 Ashwin Lobo every actor pulled his role brilliantly! 5 stars
9/06/08 Rada Sarbu Very good. Big scenes, big sets, big story, great actors. 5 stars
7/22/08 bored mom Zeus, the God of Thunder my ass. This movie has lost all credibility. 1 stars
6/20/08 Don A grotesque butchery of "the Iliad" 1 stars
5/28/08 PAUL SHORTT AS MEMORABLE AND FULLFILLING AS A BAG OF MOVIE POPCORN 1 stars
4/08/08 A Brad Pitt fan For fangirls only. extra CHEESY with horrible acting (except for Bana) & dialogue. a mess 1 stars
3/20/08 Jeffrey James Jealous men that have an inferiority complex don't have the capacity to see the excellence 5 stars
3/02/08 Pamela White Epic filming but not historical 3 stars
2/05/08 Lorenzo A Classic. Great achievement. 5 stars
12/19/07 Joe V Brad & Orlando in leather. What's not to like? 4 stars
12/18/07 Eman Cruz nice movie..a lil' bit off the epic though.. 4 stars
11/19/07 Erica Munro Brad pitt's best movie this man makes killing look sexy! 5 stars
7/20/07 prashant its good movi 5 stars
7/15/07 the young one that's nicely said, if you want ti accurate then go make a ten hour film on the true events 3 stars
6/24/07 John M Petersen has gone the "Michael Bay" way since 95 but at least Bay's movies are entertaining 1 stars
5/15/07 Dave sucks 1 stars
5/13/07 Jemima Piraira ccccrrraaaaapppppppp 1 stars
4/27/07 John Mclane Actually, considering the budget and the names, it's quite terrible. Bana was great, though 1 stars
4/13/07 David Pollastrini Not great not terrible 3 stars
4/04/07 That was a sign of the apocalypse... .., Sure. They spent around 200 M. $ to make this garbage!! then it gained back 500 M. $!!! 1 stars
3/27/07 Achilles sucks Terrible! i was embarrassed for Brad Pitt and i dare him to act worse. R.I.P Tyler Durden.. 1 stars
2/13/07 Double M Woodenly-acted, overblown, inaccurate DISASTER. Bana was the ONLY good thing. For kids only 1 stars
12/17/06 Briseis very interesting adaptation of Greek Myth 5 stars
12/11/06 tanbir aliwal azad fantastic movie.worth wtching again 5 stars
11/13/06 cody better than alexander in story telling and direction if know what l mean. but still 3/5 3 stars
5/29/06 drydock54321 hard to believe nobody could kill him with all those soldiers fighting around him 3 stars
5/12/06 mr.seraph not a bad movie... but deffinately nothing special - not worth watching more than once 3 stars
5/01/06 Gabs hell, I enjoyed this despite it's problems and the lack of Iliad depth 4 stars
4/26/06 Bobby achilles and hector controlled this movie 5 stars
4/25/06 Anthony Feor This would have been better if there was more effort and no Brad Pitt 3 stars
4/08/06 Andy Good Movie 4 stars
1/21/06 John This is terrible!!!!! 1 stars
12/24/05 Paulie Did anyone actually bother to read the Iliad? 1 stars
11/18/05 John The Iliad is a great story and it 1 stars
11/08/05 cooler fucking shit shit shit.Can't even touch Braveheart 1 stars
10/20/05 Wisamane Are you guys fucking kidding me DRUM LINE GETS A BETTER RAITING THAN THIS, SUERB MOVIE 5 stars
10/11/05 Quigley brad pitt did an atrocious job of acting. battles were too LOTR envious, duels were sweet 2 stars
10/04/05 Kaliwind Eric Bana and Peter O'Toole couldn't save this film. The writing is godawful. 1 stars
9/21/05 Alistair Obvious special effects, pitiful music, hilariously camp camera 1 stars
9/20/05 Jonathon Holmes Bana and O' Toole's Oscar worthy performances can't save this dog of a film 1 stars
8/23/05 neno gr8 gr8 gr8888 movie !i love brad alot in this legendry role 5 stars
8/21/05 Aldo OK ...but just ok 3 stars
8/18/05 ES love that CGI enhanced 'special death blow' that Pitt uses = dear lord help us 2 stars
7/28/05 tony SHITSHITSHIT. just a waste of time. I hope there is a rating below total crap for this one 1 stars
7/22/05 Tyler Un-watchable!!! 1 stars
7/11/05 Peteca So good that I got the DVD! 5 stars
7/04/05 Doremimi Eric Bana saves this flick. Pitt is pretty, but SO miscast. Bloom couldn't be any gayer. 3 stars
6/02/05 babak it is a nice movie because of the magic presentation of brad pitt 5 stars
5/31/05 Lynette storyline so-so but a swell performance by Eric Bana 4 stars
4/26/05 Pippin007 Its OK!! 3 stars
4/18/05 Tadhg Simmons Homer is rolling over in his grave... 1 stars
4/18/05 Vince 's okay... Got Pitt in it. And Bloom. 's okay, see it once. 3 stars
4/15/05 Cassander Great to see Peter Otoole 5 stars
4/13/05 Quigley brad pitt cannot act, along with orlando bloom. but good battles save this inaccurate epic 4 stars
3/26/05 Denise tragic but good 5 stars
3/24/05 Nicole I liked it - but I really like an epic 4 stars
2/22/05 ELI not bad or good. just...odd 3 stars
2/19/05 Sharon Davis too much, too much of everything, worth watching tho 3 stars
2/18/05 Shel Just one word sums it up....Brad 5 stars
2/17/05 kathleen4691 Good battle scenes, a bit too much focus on Brad Pitt, otherwise entertaining. 4 stars
2/16/05 Miranda Lahr if you are really into the history movies than this is for you if not you'll get bored 5 stars
2/15/05 xxplosive Not as good as Gladiator but worth a look 3 stars
2/15/05 Joshua Lenti-Jones nice to see the epics getting screen time 4 stars
2/12/05 Ig nothing better than brad pitt in a skirt 5 stars
2/12/05 rebecca gilbert Highly revommended! 5 stars
2/10/05 Colleen Goldrick An Epic 4 stars
2/08/05 dema pretty entertaining but I will remember it for it's many flaws. 2 stars
2/08/05 Jeff Anderson As bad as ALEXANDER, but I'll say one thing. At least director W.P. knew what he was doing! 2 stars
2/07/05 Kenneth Helmick I thought it was pretty decent 4 stars
2/06/05 James Davidson Lots of action, usual good performance by O'Toole 4 stars
2/06/05 Cassandra Farrar big actors - small performances 2 stars
2/05/05 Valerie White I enjoyed it 4 stars
2/04/05 Alice Colwell worth a look but nothing great 4 stars
2/04/05 ss Fantastic Movie, A must go see 4 stars
2/01/05 Tammie Ramsey I loved the movie and all of my family/friends did as well. I fell in love w/Brad Pitt! 5 stars
1/31/05 Lance Wright Deadly dull. Not even a buff Brad Pitt can save it. 2 stars
1/30/05 Frank Tells good movie 4 stars
1/29/05 WILLIAM LOTS OF ACTION! 4 stars
1/28/05 randy no comment 3 stars
1/19/05 HL Surprisingly Entertaining...Pitt's Acting & Story..Very Good. 4 stars
1/14/05 Tjalda L. Schiel Russell, Russell, Where art thou? Helen, Helen, get lost. 2 stars
1/12/05 the Grinch Not flawless, but good historical epic. Those who think this is bad should see Alexander 4 stars
1/11/05 Dan GREAT ASS FILM! 5 stars
1/09/05 keithers.. made durning the epic craze after Lord of the rings...nothing special.. 2 stars
1/07/05 sbpat21 not very good 2 stars
1/07/05 Maalstrom boooooooooo! 2 stars
12/05/04 jonnyboy wat a waist of money man that makes me so angry 1 stars
11/27/04 king of cool how can anyone not like this great sword and sandal movie!!! cost 200 million!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/27/04 james fghfgh 5 stars
11/18/04 Danish Cookie Only idiots like Pitt will like this crap 1 stars
11/09/04 lotrEEproper owns this shi& i agree absolute wank,but no as bad as HPCOSecrets 2 stars
11/08/04 Jim This movie sucked to da funken max and it sucks balls. 2 stars
11/07/04 Sarah I love Troy its my fav movie of all times i also love LOTR and i put them both on a high sc 5 stars
11/01/04 Jimmy James typical hollywood dreck. 2 stars
10/31/04 seb wank 1 stars
10/30/04 Excel This is a movie that was made to be mocked. 1 stars
10/29/04 Scott Roen well done - very impressive 4 stars
10/29/04 asshole FUCK ALL PPL NO MATTER WAT MOVIE IT IS...THE END IS NEAR AARRRRRRRGGHHHHH 2 stars
10/09/04 Big fan I loved orlando blooms acting 5 stars
10/07/04 shazia excellent movie 5 stars
10/06/04 kp masterpiece BEST ACTION FILM EVER 5 stars
10/04/04 Adrienne I thought it was a really good movie! Romance and action all in one!! 5 stars
10/04/04 Captain Caveman The worst thing I've laid eyes on this year and I saw Rosie O'Donald naked last night 1 stars
10/03/04 Daveman Its challenging story, opulence and O'Toole's performance make this often silly film worthy 4 stars
9/29/04 buu afds 5 stars
9/26/04 NJ Cup Winner 95-00-03 Orlando Bloom ruins everything he comes within ten feet of 1 stars
9/21/04 Sonia Pretty good beginning, but poor storyline, worst score (the female voice), unconvincing. 1 stars
9/14/04 Rakel The script was truly awful, I was cringing half the time 2 stars
9/11/04 Tyrantis They shortened the 10 year war to 18 days and it still felt like it took FOREVER. 1 stars
9/10/04 jeff the story is kinda lame, overall an okay movie. 3 stars
8/16/04 Jessica was the best movie ever 5 stars
8/14/04 naresh kadasi it is worth to watch the he movie 4 stars
8/11/04 Sarah Brad Pitt is so hot and does not seem miscast at all.He's blistfully perfect. 5 stars
8/06/04 Lisa Utterly, boring crao that not even the godlike beauty of Brad Pitt can save. 1 stars
8/02/04 chaitanya hair rising fight between pitt and bana. 4 stars
7/22/04 Shams Huque A bit bland, but good entertainment. More Sean Bean dammit! 4 stars
7/17/04 legend The face that lanuched a thousand ships? I think not. Bad cast. 2 stars
7/15/04 S.F O'toole is great.Pitt is constipated. Nazi Helen with blonde hair/ blue eyes.Bloom is pussy 3 stars
7/15/04 Gray tries to be both a drama and an action fails at both 1 stars
7/12/04 Mark C So wooden it creaked. Great action scenes though. 2 stars
7/09/04 Kitty Troy was the best movie ever 5 stars
7/08/04 Stevo So close to being really good . . . but why Pitt? 3 stars
7/03/04 Dani Please, don't try to find a guy named Troy! Great movie! 5 stars
7/03/04 Peteco Really good 5 stars
7/03/04 dr you guys are obviously jealous of brad pitt the movie was great!brad was great 5 stars
6/26/04 M Pitt looks great and Bana even better, though too shallow and tedious. 3 stars
6/26/04 Alex average acting, average directing 3 stars
6/23/04 SF. O'toole rocks! bloom, pitt suck! helen of troy doesn't look greek! 3 stars
6/21/04 Micky LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!! PATROCLUS IS THE BEST! 5 stars
6/21/04 Dick Logan Good cinematography, too long, and a bit cheesy. 4 stars
6/15/04 Gary Hudman An incredible waste of time and money. 2 stars
6/12/04 Melina watch it for brad's butt and eric's chest! 5 stars
6/10/04 herkos akhaion Cox and O'Toole very good, the rest awful 2 stars
6/08/04 Gazza E Better then I expected. Breathtaking fight between Bana and Pitt. 4 stars
6/07/04 Daveman Adequete but too fucking long 3 stars
6/07/04 Recurring Dream it looked pretty but I didn't care much unfortunately 3 stars
6/03/04 Joy Pitt was miscast, but Eric Bana gave a great performance 4 stars
6/03/04 beverly Eric was good, Brad pitt was goo too but Rose Byrne top all of them 5 stars
6/03/04 Elizabeth The review was very accurate, I thought this movie was terrible. 2 stars
6/03/04 Faye Donahue The film was a disappointment to say the least..... it could have been an epic!! 3 stars
6/02/04 nick2k not bad...alot better than gladiator. long live hector!!! 3 stars
6/01/04 Tom Well done, especially given context (we know the story,ending) 4 stars
6/01/04 A F Bloom kinda fit his character(Lil bitch boy). Who were we supposed to sympathize with? 3 stars
6/01/04 The Chronic Miscast, didnt convince me. not pitts best 3 stars
6/01/04 Susan I could have written a better script myself...it was so bad, we laughed our way through it! 1 stars
6/01/04 DC Very enjoyable fim. Not Oscar worthy, but fun to watch. 4 stars
6/01/04 Peteco It was really good 4 stars
5/31/04 gorillabear no cohesion--just scene upon scene--decent overall 4 stars
5/29/04 Parker love Pitt, love Peterson's Das Boot, walked out after 20 minutes, this's irredeemable shite 1 stars
5/28/04 amy hollywood ruins another epic by turning it into a love story 3 stars
5/28/04 Millie Maelstrom Aside from interjection of modern "feminist" "values", a good telling of Trojan War story. 4 stars
5/28/04 Inga Shallow as a spring puddle 3 stars
5/28/04 Mark D. Fulwiler Not great, but entertaining 4 stars
5/27/04 john no brainer, fun, buff Brad, Gladiator copy etc. 4 stars
5/27/04 April Ann Malubay its a goog film 5 stars
5/27/04 pal average 3 stars
5/27/04 FyreCascade AWESOME! love the fight scenes w/ brad too : ) 5 stars
5/26/04 Alex Very good considering the essential need to excise the gods from Homer's plot. No need for 4 stars
5/25/04 john bale Digital FX's can't replace acting and if you want an epic go see Lawrence of Arabia 3 stars
5/25/04 Obi Wan Very good movie...it's not Gladiator but it does hold it's own! 5 stars
5/25/04 gray tries to be a drama and an actions and fails at both+no real good side 3 stars
5/24/04 christy great film, great action, great visuals, great story 5 stars
5/24/04 Daveman The only redeeming facor is the cool one on one fight choreopgraphy. 2 stars
5/24/04 MIKE from MNY As good as Braveheart 5 stars
5/24/04 Movie Expert Much better than Return of the King because at least it is within realm of possibility 5 stars
5/24/04 Equus Really poor revision of Homer's classic. Bad dialogue, bad acting, bad history. 2 stars
5/23/04 Jason Wells Its like Gladiator meets Lord of the rings but gone badly wrong 3 stars
5/23/04 Eros Not worthy of pirating 1 stars
5/22/04 rosa the greatest story ever ruined. 1 stars
5/21/04 b grdner excellent..McCullough's SONG OF TROY was a source..excellent film, faithful to Homer.. 5 stars
5/20/04 elizaveta Bana stole the show! What can I saw, I love epic-style films. I believe I'll re-read Iliad 5 stars
5/20/04 Rootwoman A dumbed-down, dull disappointment. 2 stars
5/20/04 Debra Very much worth it! Eric Bana was right-on in his performance. 5 stars
5/19/04 Garry Thompson Brad Pitt stud flick 1 stars
5/19/04 marzio arigoni@rtsi.ch Simply Boring, Pitt out of role, and the original story was better! 2 stars
5/19/04 Stephen Spielborg Why is The Hulk fighting that vampire anyway? 1 stars
5/19/04 CJ Troy is a great film that captures the ambiguity of war offers great character studies. 5 stars
5/19/04 JEREMY BAD-Orlando B. is gay!! look out for two up and coming writers/directors-indy films 2 stars
5/19/04 JERRY shit 1 stars
5/19/04 Str8Dog Was ok, could have been much better 3 stars
5/19/04 ALI HBOUS A sweeping epic adventure 4 stars
5/19/04 Heath Took a lot of liberties with the story, but still a pretty decent movie. 4 stars
5/18/04 raluca ban it is a good mouvie!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/18/04 Julie a really great movie, much more than just blow em up summer fare 5 stars
5/18/04 JoeManco What the hell happened to Wolfgang Petersen? This movie was TERRIBLE! 2 stars
5/18/04 Lisa We left the theater! 2 stars
5/18/04 Christina homoerotic nonsense 2 stars
5/18/04 Anne Yeaaaaaa............Sean Bean didn't die. . . . AGAIN! 5 stars
5/18/04 Masanori Kikuchi Story became worse than history. Direction is horribly bad. 2 stars
5/17/04 Marianne The Trojan War condensed to 4/5 days! What does that tell you? A snooze. 2 stars
5/17/04 Troy Butler Although majorly flawed, entertaining nonetheless (especially on the big screen) 4 stars
5/17/04 Maalstrom good try but nothing new 3 stars
5/17/04 bob shit 1 stars
5/17/04 Jack Bourbon The dialogue was pretty bad, but the plot and direction were surprisingly fun 4 stars
5/17/04 Koitus Cast from "Braveheart" and "LOTR" = not as good in Troy. Great beach attk. scene, though! 4 stars
5/17/04 true review Bana's performance worse than Hulk, if Pitt wasn't it in it would be in theatres 1 day 1 stars
5/17/04 jennifer Best movie I have seen this year! 5 stars
5/16/04 Sean Destroyed the Iliad 1 stars
5/16/04 Marce Troy = Brad's naked ass and his band of half-naked men. Not that I'm complaining! ;) 4 stars
5/16/04 Idiot's Mouth Seriously--this is crap. Very, very, lavish crap. Like a dump with gold leaf and roses... 1 stars
5/16/04 Sano12 Bana's performance worth price of admission 4 stars
5/16/04 John Flaherty Hollywood needs to stop thinking they are smarter and more talented than the orginal author 1 stars
5/16/04 Wolf O'Toole and Bana were awesome, but Cox felt like a miscast to me. 5 stars
5/16/04 Heidialyssa It would have been better with the gods included as it is in the Iliad. No where near LOTR. 3 stars
5/16/04 Vectorz Worst movie this year 1 stars
5/15/04 John no style - a terrible script - boring and TERRIBLY inacurate adaptation of HOMER - 1 stars
5/15/04 BrianWilly AWESOME. Compelling war drama and timeless tale. 5 stars
5/15/04 Dan Surprisingly deep, multifaceted script. Good adaptation of Homer. Better than Braveheart. 5 stars
5/15/04 ANUS Throw in a volcano, couple of fucking homosexual hobbits, and you can call this ROTK 4 stars
5/15/04 Idiot\'s Mouth Homer's Achilles WAS shallow...Pitt is the perfect choice. Read the book instead. Save $9. 3 stars
5/15/04 jack don't expect too much 3 stars
5/15/04 RICH C I just saw"Bridge on the river Kwai" last night. Jesus! what a MOVIE!! - go watch it! 3 stars
5/15/04 Brian meh...it was alright... 3 stars
5/14/04 Zaharin Hamid aka The Movie Samseng It was fucking boring! I hate it! Also what's with all the "matrix style" moves? 1 stars
5/14/04 sumixam Good movie, not that far short of great 4 stars
5/14/04 BigPoo Rocks Harder Than Your Mom 5 stars
5/13/04 Angolmois If I were a clueless slut, I'd hate this movie, but I'm not so it's awesome. 5 stars
5/13/04 john great looking film, not great but worth your time 4 stars
5/13/04 Cameron Slick Dramatic scenes fail, 1v1 fights are swell, acting is okay, grandiose is succeeds 4 stars
5/10/04 clay great fights and very sexy 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-May-2004 (R)
  DVD: 04-Jan-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  13-May-2004 (MA)


Directed by
  Wolfgang Petersen

Written by
  David Benioff

Cast
  Brad Pitt
  Eric Bana
  Orlando Bloom
  Brian Cox
  Brendan Gleeson
  Sean Bean



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast