More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.16

Awesome67.74%
Worth A Look: 10.75%
Average: 2.15%
Pretty Bad: 8.6%
Total Crap: 10.75%

1 review, 87 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Gone with the Wind
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by PyThomas

"Still a damn good film."
5 stars

Vivian Leigh stars as Scarlett O'Hara, the ORIGINAL Power-Hungry Bitch.

She marries for money. She marries for status. She sleeps around to save her family plantation. When one husband dies, she'll mourn for maybe a few days, then drop her grieving the instant a handsome, rich man catches her eye. Yep, all the hotties in Dallas, Dynasty, 90210, Melrose Place et al. have nothing on Scarlett, the grandmama of all those Class "A" Beeeeeeotch roles.

Scarlett's chief objet de luste is Ashley (Leslie Howard), a Confederate soldier (oh yeah, this takes place in Georgia during the Civil War and Reconstruction). She'd be riding his johnson in a minute if he didn't already have a wife (Olivia de Havilland). And as Scarlett schemes to jump Ashley's bones, she gets involved with an equally shady character, Rhett Butler (Clark "Don't Call Me Gomez Addams" Gable). Rhett and Scarlett seem to be made for each other... if only she'd quit jonesing for Ashley. Hattie McDaniel also stars as the plantation's loyal and outspoken housemaid.

Gone-heads have always been fervent and passionate about their beloved film (chief among them my ex-wife). And who can blame them? After 60 years, Gone With The Wind still holds up excellently as a compelling and charming drama. Vivian plays Scarlett with a delightful nastiness. Clark gives his role an equally scathing and seductive tone. Everything - the directing, the scenic shots, the action, the music - is magnificently done (for a late-thirties film, anyway). This is one classic that's still classy.

And if you don't care for it, well... Southern man don't need you around, anyhow.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=958&reviewer=9
originally posted: 09/18/98 09:23:24
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/16/12 stanley welles gone with the time 2 stars
3/23/11 Jeff Wilder Overlong and over-praised. Not bad. Just undeserving of its status. 2 stars
5/19/10 Geezle Puss Scarlette O'Hair never slept around; she remarried after each husband died. 5 stars
10/02/08 c carey i enjoy the movie very much where cani get part two 5 stars
9/19/08 PAUL SHORTT ONE OF THE EPIC CLASSICS THAT DEFINED AMERICAN CINEMA 5 stars
8/11/08 michael lo it is a nice movie 4 stars
1/28/08 proper amateur film critic Outstanding drama with strong characters and an impeccable production 5 stars
12/15/07 Pamela White Great Civil War epic, acting strong, intense drama 5 stars
9/21/07 David Cohen Pardon me if I don't think the pre-war South was the pinacle of civilization 3 stars
2/21/07 Indrid Cold I don't care if it's a "classic" or not; it's laughably hokey and melodramatic. 2 stars
10/12/06 Tammy Greatest movie of all time, it is funny, romantic,and historical. 5 stars
10/03/06 Jeremy Davies a fart in the wind would be more entertaining 2 stars
9/25/06 Lisa Craven Scarlett oh Scarlett, you ruined a great thing, but we love you anyway!!! 5 stars
5/27/06 Sheena like they say you dont know what you got till its gone 5 stars
5/07/06 chienne After 60 years it still invokes interest...says it all 5 stars
11/26/05 Michael Not A Keeper 2 stars
9/05/05 Patricia Abineno great movie ever... i just love it with all my heart!!!... 5 stars
6/03/05 Pinkline Jones Overrated - very good but not worthy of Top Fifty 4 stars
5/04/05 ELI What the hell is wrong with u retards????? IT's a CLASSIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/13/05 Mark Mayes Greatest film ever 5 stars
12/11/04 DM For the record, Jim, I am a flaming liberal. You sound like Al Sharpton. 5 stars
11/22/04 ROBIN LYNN STAGE IT IS WONDERFUL AND I LOVED IT SOOO. ID WATCH IT OVER AND OVER AND EVERYONE SHOULD SEE IT. 5 stars
11/14/04 psycho black dwarf Why, I declare! A pissing match over Gone with the Wind will always fly in your face fellas 5 stars
11/13/04 Jim Racist, demoralizing rich snobby characters. If you like this movie your a Republican. 1 stars
11/06/04 One more paranoid American A fart & a lit match is more my taste, but all the goofy accents didn't make me laugh ONCE! 1 stars
11/05/04 J bird silly movie that is the "pearl harbor" of its time 1 stars
8/13/04 Sean Scanlan A delightful classic 5 stars
8/07/04 ALDO Long over rated....piece of crap....if ur livin in the 1950's u might like it...not now 1 stars
6/24/04 DM My all-time favorite chick movie 5 stars
5/08/04 Lizzie One of my all time favorite movies that is actually as good as its book. 5 stars
4/19/04 Marisa If you don't like it, then you just don't get it & no one could possibly explain it to you. 5 stars
4/19/04 audrey excellent 5 stars
3/21/04 Tatyana great wicked movie 5 stars
2/17/04 Mr. Blonde Overlong, overblown, sometimes dull, and unintentionally funny soap opera...yet pretty. 3 stars
1/27/04 action moive fan boring long piece of garbage--king kong is a real classic 1 stars
11/22/03 ross hendrick THE BEST MUSICAL SCORE FROM MAX STEINER 5 stars
8/12/03 Pinkline Jones Overrated - Leigh not a patch on Tess's Kinski 4 stars
8/06/03 Double G it was like so like like coliko likeo like liek LIKE 1 stars
6/14/03 Alice Great Classic. 5 stars
4/11/03 Jack Bourbon The only decent scenes involve Scarlett falling down stairs and a girl falling off a horse. 1 stars
3/27/03 Jen My favorite movie ever, Vivien Leigh is amazing! 5 stars
1/30/03 siro The greatest movie ever made. 5 stars
10/17/02 Charles Tatum Vivien Leigh was the most beautiful actress ever 5 stars
7/19/02 Southern Belle trapped in Indiana Fabulous Movie, delicious brain candy 5 stars
5/20/02 Kristen I worship the movie and Vivien Leigh is my idol. Nuff said 5 stars
4/10/02 Butterbean One of the few "classic" movies that live up to it's legendary status, unlike Citizen Kane. 4 stars
2/25/02 Rebecca my all time fave 5 stars
2/20/02 Xaver A fine film. Overrated. Leigh is wonderful. 4 stars
1/13/02 Andrew Carden The Ultimate Romantic Movie, Years Ahead Of It's Time. 5 stars
1/01/02 Katheryne Marshall I like your feelings about "The Movie" !!!!! 4 stars
12/30/01 sarafina they just don't make them like they used to 5 stars
11/28/01 KMG This movie is good with hot chocolate....NO I'm not a fucking pussy! 5 stars
11/02/01 jon holmes its really good 4 stars
9/23/01 Larry Smith I saw this on the BIG screen! More impressive than TV tape. 5 stars
8/31/01 Hooker with a Penis if u like Battle Field Earth, Godzilla, etc, u're an idiot and won't like this movie. 5 stars
7/27/01 Ashley Marie My all time favorite: good characters, story and acting. 5 stars
4/06/01 R.W. Welch Maybe a little soapy but still a momumental production. 5 stars
3/14/01 Ashley Morrison Best movie ever made 5 stars
2/18/01 Viking Leaves Titanic for dead 5 stars
2/15/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Gorgeous, but I guess I'm too 21st century to really get into it. My fault, no one else's. 4 stars
2/07/01 m Nice to look at: boring to watch. Hype has made this a fan favourite. 2 stars
2/02/01 Bob Barker Too long!!! Maureen O'Hare is a total hottie though 1 stars
2/01/01 jordan by the end, i was wondering if i've ever cared less about the resolution of a plot 2 stars
12/04/00 Fred Frankly my dear, it is NOT Fucking Awesome! 4 stars
11/07/00 Tara Crotty I loved the movie ! The best movie I have ever seen . It is my favorite ! 5 stars
9/12/00 Stewart Ball My favorite movie of all time. Frankly my dear, I give a damn about this classic movie. 5 stars
7/17/00 Erin Excellent!! 5 stars
6/10/00 Sarah Launivan What a great movie to see. It shouldn't be missed. 5 stars
5/05/00 matt Simply irrisistible 5 stars
2/19/00 Ann Reva, you have no taste 5 stars
2/08/00 Reva Currie It sucked 1 stars
1/24/00 Casey Jarzabek THE BEST OF THE BEST 5 stars
1/04/00 India Reeves This movie is really good. It really grabs your attention. 5 stars
10/28/99 Cristina Arizmendi I love this movie!!! 5 stars
10/06/99 sophia962 THE One and Only The Sequel was an abomination 5 stars
7/07/99 Ben Leostein Rating: **** (out of ****) Category: "Excellent" 5 stars
6/26/99 Samantha Gone With the Wind is THE greatest movie ever made. 5 stars
6/15/99 Dylan This is atimeless classic. 5 stars
5/09/99 Beachlovr9 Most romantic movie ever made 5 stars
1/24/99 Hannah Don't ever read the book and then watch the movie. You'll wish you hadn't. 2 stars
1/03/99 Dasha I hope dumb Hollywood executives will never try to do the remake of this gem. 5 stars
12/04/98 Matthew J. Soucy Important cinema, from perhaps Hollywood's greatest year: 1939. 4 stars
11/28/98 little jerry The pull back shot where Sarlett vows never to be poor again is alone worth the ticket. 5 stars
10/29/98 Silent Rob A milestone film from a milestone year. Early films' golden moment! 5 stars
10/02/98 sean Great. Fucking great. The sad thing is that it fucks me up to watch it. 5 stars
9/20/98 MovieFanatic The longest and most boring lovestory of them all 1 stars
9/14/98 Amber B. This is the most beautiful lovestory of them all 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Dec-1939
  DVD: 31-Jan-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast