More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4

Awesome41.1%
Worth A Look: 32.88%
Average: 13.7%
Pretty Bad: 9.59%
Total Crap: 2.74%

8 reviews, 98 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Harold and Kumar Go to White Castle
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Like 'Dude, Where's My Car?,' but funny"
4 stars

"Harold & Kumar Go to White Castle" is a stoner comedy in the grand tradition of, um, "Dude, Where's My Car?," only funnier and snappier. I will tell you without compunction that I laughed many times during the film, and I will add that 90 percent of those laughs were at things I cannot repeat here. (Well, I guess I COULD repeat them, since this is the Internet, but I won't.) The movie is approximately what you would expect; if you walk out of it offended, that's your own fault for not doing your homework before you went.

It is the tale of two post-college 20-somethings and their attempt to satisfy some pot-induced late-night munchies. They are the Korean-American Harold (John Cho), a responsible type with much work to do for his investment-banker job this particular Friday night; and Kumar, an Indian-American with great MCAT scores who refuses to go to medical school because he'd rather loaf around, smoke weed, and live off his father's money.

They are residents of Hoboken, N.J., and they realize in order to sate their cravings for White Castle hamburgers, they will have to drive to a nearby town. Thus begins a series of adventures, sidetracks and distractions, most of them typical of the genre: There is a horrific bathroom experience, some vehicular mayhem, and a couple run-ins with wildlife; there are many jokes focused on post-adolescent gay paranoia, where being gay is the worst thing imaginable and is therefore the funniest thing to joke about; and there are hot chicks with whom Harold and Kumar may or may not get to fool around.

These are the film's less inspired elements, exhibiting far less imagination on the part of writers Jon Hurwitz and Hayden Schlossberg (both first-timers) than some of the movie's other scenes suggest. For example, there is a fantasy sequence where Kumar falls in love with a huge bag of pot that is among the funniest things I've seen all year. (Imagine all the love fantasies you've ever seen in movies, then replace the woman with a human-sized brick of marijuana.) There's also a hilariously self-effacing cameo by Neil Patrick Harris ... as himself, high on something and lost in the woods. (Cameos from other pals of the filmmakers abound, too, including Ryan Reynolds and Jamie Kennedy.

So it's hit-or-miss, but the lead actors are eminently likable, and the direction (by Danny Leiner, who also gave us "Dude, Where's My Car?") is brisk and snappy. The jokes that don't work aren't belabored; the ones that do are often gut-bustingly, outrageously funny.

I mentioned the lead characters' race earlier. This is because they often mention it themselves. They have two Jewish friends whose heritage they make the butt of jokes, in addition to the cracks about their own ethnicities. There are also plot points involving racial profiling by police officers. None of it ever feels racist or anti-semitic; in fact, it's just the opposite. The movie sees everyone as being from different backgrounds, but united by the fact that they're all human, all flawed, and all acceptable targets for humor. If you make fun of everyone, then everyone's on the same level.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=9598&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/30/04 19:00:23
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 CineVegas Film Festival. For more in the 2004 CineVegas Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Los Angeles Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Los Angeles Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

2/23/13 Jeff Wilder Amusing bits. But inconsistent. I like "Friday" a lot better. 2 stars
12/09/12 Simon a rare doesnt-give-a-sh*t movie with mixed relentless obvi gags and understated dialogue 5 stars
2/16/09 Samantha Pruitt very smart and fresh, watch if you want a great laugh! 5 stars
9/11/08 alastair white castle = FAIL !!!!! worse film than madonas 'swept away' 1 stars
7/24/08 Shaun Wallner Never laughed so hard in my Life!! 5 stars
7/19/08 Shaun Wallner Harold and Kumar are Hilarious!! 5 stars
7/01/08 Battleshit Contestant ...I'll tell you what...."we're not low"!!!!! Funny as all shit!!!! 5 stars
5/18/08 Jeff Anderson Very, very funny matched greatly by Cho & Penn's easygoing, hilarious & likable perfs! 5 stars
8/12/07 Dk Ashamed this only has a 3 star av. i tihnk it had the best comedy strips in it. even if it 5 stars
5/11/07 nate funniest part was the racoon bitting harold out of no where. 5 stars
3/30/07 fools♫gold I feel as if I'm underrating (I gave Orange County a 5/5), but it'sstillexceptionallycomic. 4 stars
2/07/07 AJ Muller No need to be high to laugh uncontrollably at this one - but it don't hurt, brethren. 5 stars
12/17/06 Jim Harold and Kumar weren't the only ones smoking weed! 4 stars
12/07/06 Jj da guy who reviewed dis must be ratarted!!! 3 stars? 5 stars
10/07/06 salvador it was the greatest movie in the whole world 5 stars
8/15/06 Ashley Hinz I really enjoyed it, but would not buy it. 4 stars
4/02/06 JRE soooo stupid, what's with the black dude and the weed? pretty funny though 2 stars
1/04/06 WISEMAN THIS IS AN AWEEESOME MOVIE!!!!!! 5 stars
12/01/05 michael g. this was an extremely funny movie!!! 5 stars
11/25/05 shaun wallner this movie was kewl i loved it 5 stars
11/12/05 ME GREAT MOVIE!!! Hilariously funny. 5 stars
10/31/05 anonymous asians are dumb and they eat our dogs. WHITE POWER. 1 stars
8/19/05 ES Aside from the really stupid Cheetah part a funny film 4 stars
8/18/05 sweetgrrl1972 I just about peed myself laughing. The domestic violence part was a buzzkill though. 5 stars
8/17/05 Yazid Best comedy movie ever!! Kal Penn and John Cho did a great job 5 stars
8/09/05 Maalstrom some funny, some not. 3 stars
8/05/05 matt r this movie is "F"ing hilarious. 5 stars
7/26/05 Bad Critic This movie really makes you crave White Castle. The giant bag of weed was hilarious! 4 stars
7/25/05 JFK great dope movie. If I were alive i surely consumed this shit 5 stars
7/20/05 Henry One of my favorite movies, finally some truly funny asian actors to hit america 5 stars
5/27/05 buddy funniest movie ever *nothing* is better! 5 stars
5/26/05 Richa It was hilarious. ne1 says otherwise doesnt noe the value of a stereotypical comedy movie. 5 stars
5/24/05 Minesh bad acting, little laughs, repetitive lines, very disappointed 2 stars
5/23/05 John Cena Totaly Tops 5 stars
4/20/05 Clubber Lang A Few funny scenes, but most of gags simply aren't funny, and the pace is way off 2 stars
4/06/05 Vince Decent stoner flick with a good bunch of laughs 3 stars
3/27/05 indrid cold It's just OK, but the sequence where he fantasizes about the pot bag is hilarious. 3 stars
2/20/05 lj delightfully brainless diversion 3 stars
2/19/05 Sharon Davis Odd, funny movie 4 stars
2/17/05 Carolyn Rathburn stupidly funny, how dense can people be. 3 stars
2/14/05 Angela Saunders Mindless but funny. 3 stars
2/10/05 David Bennett Unlike anything else 4 stars
2/10/05 Daniel James A good movie, although it isn't funny all the time. 4 stars
2/02/05 Graves The rating says it all...!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
2/02/05 Lynde Foy HUsband says its awesome--I beg to differ 2 stars
2/01/05 april gupton it was ok 3 stars
2/01/05 Edward Condon I went in knowing nothing and came out with a huge smile on my face, and not b/c of pot. 4 stars
2/01/05 Kenneth Hannan Waste. Of. Time. 1 stars
2/01/05 Robert Pfeifer The best stoner movie I've Seen Since Up In Smoke!! 4 stars
1/31/05 Dan Funny, dull at sometimes, but funny none the less. 4 stars
1/30/05 bongeezer Some funny bits surrounded by alot of non-funny bits. 2 stars
1/30/05 Caroline As s'one who's never been stoned, and obsessed with PC, it was so ironic that I adore it 5 stars
1/30/05 Fred Pellerito If you liked Dazed and Confused and movies of that genre, you'll love this movie. 4 stars
1/29/05 govenar pretty funny 5 stars
1/29/05 DONNA LONGWORTH SO STUPID ITS FUNNY! 4 stars
1/29/05 blueviolet A funny, weird, quirky, oddball, raunchy laughfest. 4 stars
1/26/05 NYYFAN Funniest movie of 2004 5 stars
1/17/05 Dan Some funny parts, but on the whole it was boring 2 stars
1/17/05 Jeff Anderson BRILLIANT, SIMPLY BRILLIANT!! A REAL LAUGH FILLED TREAT AND I DON'T MEAN JUST THE BURGERS!! 5 stars
1/16/05 Jupe very very funny 5 stars
1/15/05 Devin Knox good 5 stars
11/14/04 Faith GREAT DAMN STONER FLICK 5 stars
10/25/04 hudson doesn't get much better 5 stars
9/17/04 Hilary Adamson Wow! If only I could shit as shamelessly as those giddy "diarrhea twins". What a life! 4 stars
9/16/04 Tiffany Thunderhurst Not quite as good as WHITE CHICKS, but similar farcical comedy. 4 stars
9/15/04 Robyn Jamil-Walid EricD, how did "horrific bathroom experience" (my favorite part) not trash it all for you? 4 stars
9/12/04 Noah THIS WAS THE FUNNIEST MOVIE I HAVE EVER SEEN 5 stars
9/03/04 Deepdish I collapsed on the cinema aisle and nearly choked on my popcorn and coke laughing 5 stars
8/25/04 Eric Sun The best movie to help asian guys with low self-esteem.Very funny! 5 stars
8/24/04 Ed fun fare 5 stars
8/21/04 L Wilson I took two friends, one woman 85 who doesn't love the F word, but they loved the movie 5 stars
8/16/04 Peter James Much better then I was expecting after seeing the trailer 4 stars
8/15/04 ben r funny as hell 5 stars
8/14/04 Obi Wan Very funny...about time the MILF kid got more screen time!! 5 stars
8/12/04 Jason Dow Totally funny . . .i was inspired 5 stars
8/12/04 kc about time the B class asian actors starred in their own movie, it was damn hilarious 5 stars
8/10/04 Darren Shea possibly the smartest stoner movie, ever. I want to see H&K Go To Amsterdam 5 stars
8/09/04 Dro If you Blitzed out or Jus CHillin watch this Movie! 5 stars
8/09/04 Kate Funniest movie I've seen since Super Troopers...made me crave some White Castle 5 stars
8/07/04 Gal Great stoner classic! 5 stars
8/06/04 nick2k i want sequel now...damn funny. bring anderson, harris, kennedy, & meloni along too! 5 stars
8/06/04 Terence This movie is by far the funniest movie so far this year 5 stars
8/05/04 Erik This movie was dope, a must see. I don't care who you are, you'll laugh your ass off. 5 stars
8/04/04 cbort hilarious 5 stars
8/03/04 KingNeutron Funny enough for non-stoners. 3 stars
8/03/04 carlos r guzman shitty but a must-see, penn and cho should do more films 2 stars
8/03/04 Jay I'm not a stoner, but I enjoyed this flick 4 stars
8/02/04 dredphul stupid but soo funny 4 stars
8/01/04 ajay there's a fine line between stupid and so stupid it's funny. This movie is the latter. 4 stars
8/01/04 Brad Pretty funny movie! 4 stars
7/31/04 Kumar Kicks ass awesome flick dude 5 stars
7/30/04 john akers harold and kumar is the funniest movie in a couple months 5 stars
7/29/04 Carter Davis Hilarious. Go see this movie. 5 stars
7/27/04 J.D. Semlow Very, very, funny most of the time. 4 stars
7/23/04 Mix Master Mason Everything you need to know about this turd is on the poster, way too PC for me... 1 stars
7/23/04 CM GREAT FILM! IT REMINDED ME OF COLLEGE AND MY BUDS! 5 stars
7/13/04 Ilene Jaffe Great film - smart and very funny 5 stars
6/22/04 Barry Simpson One of the Funniest Movies I've seen in a long time. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Jul-2004 (R)
  DVD: 04-Jan-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  23-Sep-2004 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast