More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.56

Awesome80.33%
Worth A Look: 11.48%
Average: 0%
Pretty Bad: 0%
Total Crap: 8.2%

1 review, 55 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Hercules (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Hal by Jay Seaver

I, Origins by Greg Ursic

Boyhood by Daniel Kelly

Uzumasa Limelight by Jay Seaver

Goal of the Dead by Jay Seaver

Yasmine by Jay Seaver

Mr. Go by Jay Seaver

Hercules (2014) by Brett Gallman

Wish I Was Here by Jaycie

subscribe to this feed


Windy City Heat
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Forget About It Perry, It’s Chi-Town. Let’s Play Two!"
4 stars

Somewhere during the course of Windy City Heat, you expect Clarence Felder to pop-in and say “This could very well be the stupidest person on the face of the Earth.” I don’t mean to cast aspersions on Perry Caravello (Lord knows he’s been through enough) but audiences do have to consider nominating him for “Dunce of the Year”. And why stop there? Put him in the cinema hall-of-fame or at least on the ballot alongside Jim Carrey & Jeff Daniels in Dumb & Dumber and Bill Pullman in Ruthless People because Perry is set-up to be the victim of an elaborate prank without anyone coming out to stop it. I can’t say that I believe for a second that the joke isn’t on us, but believe the gag or not, the result turns out to be both side-clutching funny and a knowing satire of Hollywood’s inside world.

Leave it to the minds behind Comedy Central’s Crank Yankers to pull this off. What’s unbelievable is that they have reportedly been pulling pranks on poor Perry for many, many years. This time out, they’ve set him up to audition for a major Hollywood production. That is, if a screenplay about a Sports Private Eye on the case of retrieving the stolen memorabilia of famous Chicago athletes can be called major. After all, Perry’s biggest competition for the role is none other than MTV’s Carson Daly. One of the film’s slyest jokes is a wall full of X’d stars considered for the lead including Brad Pitt, Harrison Ford and Robert DeNiro. Perry is last on the list, but Carson is right in the middle.

After putting him through the audition process, Perry gets the role of Stone Fury (set to Michael Bolton’s Herculean anthem, “Go The Distance”) in what director Bobcat Goldthwait calls “One of the most exciting action films ever made…and it’s got drama in it.” His friends, Don Barris and stoner Tony “Mole” Barbieri have convinced him that he’s about to become a huge star and that their partnership (branded “The Big Three”) will become Hollywood’s next cause celebre. Anyone else would notice something’s amiss with producer John Quincy Adams and casting director Susan B. Anthony, but not Perry. (Fans will recognize Adams’ voice as sounding conspicuously like Yankers’ Miles Standish, played by one Tony Barbieri)

Why Windy City Heat works beyond the idea of a clothesline for individual Punk’d pranks is how every one of them is so cleverly constructed and taps into Perry’s own personal insecurities including homophobia and being lactose intolerant. Its knocks on rampaging star egos and backstage Hollywood shenanigans approach the inspiration of Spinal Tap. Some are Perry’s lines about why he can’t do porn and his “fetish” are so perfect that it’s hard to believe some genius comedy writer didn’t script them. But who cares, because like I said, it works either way just as well.

Windy City Heat is going to pick up more and more fans as time goes on. It’s appeal will range from aficionados of Crank Yankers, reality show loathers, Hollywood satirists and just flat-out lovers of frantic comedy. It’s no joke that Goldthwait is now associated with two underappreciated comic gems (the first being his directorial debut, Shakes The Clown), although the cult status on this is likely to evolve sooner than later into a full-blown fan base. Maybe you’ll think you’ve been Blair Witch’d again or maybe Perry is the next Andy Kaufman in waiting. Whatever reasoning you believe is justified, it’s liable to be drowned out by that sound you hear when laughing your ass off.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=9610&reviewer=198
originally posted: 06/09/04 11:39:27
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 CineVegas Film Festival. For more in the 2004 CineVegas Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

2/14/14 matthew Insufferable and unfunny 1 stars
10/24/08 Chuck_D Excellent movie. Either you love it or hate it. 1 of the best comedies I have seen. 5 stars
5/12/08 MBL I want 2 hours of my life back ! It's a FAKE ! 1 stars
7/26/07 you it owns 5 stars
6/06/07 Tony c. So funny you won't believe it's real. 5 stars
5/11/07 jeff briliant 5 stars
11/22/06 Vinny Bob and Dan must be the dullest individuals for giving this movie one star. 5 stars
11/08/06 John Why wont they show it on tv anymore 5 stars
10/15/06 Dan Real? Ridiculous and cruel stunt. Fake? Deeply unfunny, pathetic attempt at comedy. 1 stars
10/05/06 superfan 5 stars! 1star = someone who sees alittle of themself in perry! 5 stars
9/30/06 Anthony Lucero Ridiculously funny - definately one of the TOP pranks I've seen pulled off!! A must see!!! 5 stars
9/29/06 Bob Horrible movie, worst Ive ever seen 1 stars
9/29/06 Brian Clark Side-splittingly funny! Perry is a lovable imbecile. 5 stars
9/29/06 m hags fucking amazing 5 stars
6/11/06 cantfindWCH I can't find this movie anywhere! Where can I get it? 5 stars
5/25/06 tim skolnik this movie is funnier every time i watch it 5 stars
5/06/06 Taylor Funniest movie I have ever seen... Where can I buy it? 5 stars
5/05/06 Shilo Is Perry Caravello absolutely retarded or an incredible actor? 5 stars
4/29/06 Mike Zullo cry laughing funny 5 stars
4/23/06 Jannr No Go 5 stars
4/21/06 brian hamilton best comedy ever, cant get more realer than that 4 stars
3/01/06 Brian This is the funniest film EVER. DVD coming out between Feb and April 2006. 5 stars
2/26/06 jake n awesome movie 5 stars
2/23/06 Christopher very amusing film, real or not it is very well done! 5 stars
1/07/06 Samanth One of the funniest movies ever! 5 stars
12/20/05 Jeff FUNNIER THAN SHIT 5 stars
12/10/05 Drexell seriosly tho....where do I buy the DVD?? 5 stars
12/03/05 Butler Too damn funny...where is the dvd man?! 5 stars
11/20/05 Chad The funniest movie I have ever seen! 5 stars
11/01/05 Jin No go 1 stars
10/28/05 Chris Amazing! My husband watches it over and over and dies laughing like its his first each tim 5 stars
10/20/05 Brijit One of the funniest movies I've ever seen. When's the dvd coming out????? 5 stars
9/19/05 Kevin Jyringi Fricken Hillarious, how can i buy it???? 5 stars
8/15/05 Jonas Catch Perry in "The RunOff"! 5 stars
8/12/05 mark hilarious! 5 stars
7/07/05 Kurt It's all real and it's hilarious...I've met Perry in person and that's how he acts! 5 stars
6/17/05 Alex Church If you think this is fake then Perry is the best actor EVER... THIS MOVIE IS THE BEST.FUNNY 5 stars
6/07/05 Susie Fairbrother Haven't laught that hard in a long time! 5 stars
6/04/05 Jessica Ritter It's geniusly histarical, my fav part is when Perry says"it's my ass fartin'" 5 stars
5/25/05 Brian WOW! So fucking funny 5 stars
5/04/05 lj the funniest movie I have ever seen!!! 5 stars
4/15/05 Rick amazing - just couldn't fake that stuff 5 stars
4/09/05 Terry Labonte Funniest movie ever. I've seen it at least ten times and I still cry laughing when i watch 5 stars
12/09/04 Peter Has anyone considered the whole thing might be fake? Still funny as hell! 5 stars
10/19/04 Larry Fredrich Funniest movie I've seen in years! 5 stars
10/17/04 Jeremy Davis Funniest movie ever made! 5 stars
9/17/04 BB The bathroom scene is ABSOLUTLY HYSTERICAL. Too funny 5 stars
9/11/04 francine don barris has a nice c..k 5 stars
9/06/04 E.J This movie is amazingly funny. i think im one of two people in the whole country that saw 5 stars
7/15/04 SUGA MILO fucking fucking comedy i have ever seemn..... 5 stars
7/01/04 adam stoney fury is the greatest man alive 5 stars
7/01/04 Irwin There were three scenes that crippled me with laughter that I replayed over and over again 5 stars
6/15/04 Simply Don This movie is so great that the star of the film (Perry) has written on this message board 5 stars
5/26/04 Dave Funniest movie I have seen in years. Brilliant 5 stars
5/26/04 Mike Roland Hilarious!! One of the best movies made of all time!! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  N/A (R)
  DVD: 26-Sep-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast