More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.29

Awesome: 19.32%
Worth A Look37.68%
Average: 15.46%
Pretty Bad: 7.73%
Total Crap: 19.81%

9 reviews, 153 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Day After Tomorrow, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Note to self: be nicer to the ozone layer..."
4 stars

Say what you will about the bombastic Roland Emmerich, but the guy sure doesn't skimp where spectacle is concerned. So overpowering is his desire to show destruction on an enjoyably massive scale that it often overshadows the components needed to sustain a feature-length movie. Emmerich's earlier trio of sci-fi epics ("Stargate", "Independence Day" and "Godzilla") suffered from too much Bang and not enough Brain. But Roland's latest, the eye-poppingly amazing "The Day After Tomorrow", tips the scales juuuust a little, and the result is a high-end Disaster Epic of the coolest order, complete with all the overwrought theatrics, dramatic demises, and questionable science that the genre implies.

Those raised on the finest Irwin Allen epics (The Poseidon Adventure and The Towering Inferno) undoubtedly harbor a few deliciously disturbing childhood memories: Shelley Winters drowning after some fat-lady heroics; Richard Chamberlain and a host of rich bastards plummeting to their deaths because of their own selfishness; visions of capsized cruise ships and blazing skyscrapers dazzled our impressionable young minds with something quite odd: carnage in most dramatic and horrific style.

I still get kinda gloomy when Borgnine's wife falls to her death.

What people remember (and enjoy most) about the disaster movies is NOT whether the 'science' made sense or that the plot holes were big enough to drive a truck through; it was the boggle-eyed visions of wild cinematic mayhem... horrible grand-scale tragedies that could be enjoyed because they existed in the movie world.

How the post-9/11 moviegoer will respond to the non-stop destruction found in The Day After Tomorrow remains to be seen, but speaking as just one Irwin Allen aficionado, it's pleasing to note that Emmerich's latest venture represents his finest film to date. Indeed, The Day After Tomorrow actually holds up as a 'whole' movie, rather than as a framework on which to hang a half-dozen explosions.

Yes, it's very silly in spots, the science of the thing is suspect (at best), and there are more extraneous subplots than you can shake a Geiger counter at, but The Day After Tomorrow is just a tiny bit smarter than Emmerich's previous efforts, plus his penchant for low-minded, chest-thumping pro-American glad-handing is at an all-time low here. There are plot holes and overbaked speeches aplenty, but none of the material is as head-scratchingly inert as what's found in ID4 or Godzilla.

Plot? Another ice age is coming. Like, real soon.

That's it. I could go in to all the silly scientific mumbo-jumbo, but that's what the actors are paid to do. Suffice to say that we greedy humans have screwed up the greenhouse effect so effectively that Mother Nature is about to kick back. And hard. Tornadoes, ice storms, floods and towering tidal waves are just the appetizers. Just wait till you get hit by a snowstorm that freezes your blood before you can even grab a parka.

For a flick full of such silly propositions, you need a lead who's easily likable, entirely sympathetic and a good enough actor to make a dent amidst all this CG lunacy. Someone intelligent thought to hire Dennis Quaid as the movie's heroic "paleoclimatologist". Actors like Quaid and Jeff Bridges and Kurt Russell might be considered 'the top of the B-list' where lead actors are concerned... so why is it that these guys almost never offer a performance that's less than excellent? Fully aware that he's the co-star to some of the most dazzling special effects yet conceived, Quaid wisely underplays, portraying that familiar stereotype of 'scientist who knows the truth' -- mixed with a healthy dose of 'absentee father after redemption'. It's a one-note role given some actual depth by a reliably fantastic actor.

Scattered throughout all the explosions and waves and blizzards are a host of familiar faces, including Jake Gyllenhaal as Quaid's son (who finds himself firmly encased in an entirely frozen NYC), Ian Holm as a lovable old coot of a professor, and Jay O. Sanders (in a too-brief role) as the inevitably-doomed sidekick. Sela Ward ends up saddled with a wholly disposable subplot involving, yep, a kid with cancer. Perry King (!) pops up as a clueless and conflicted President.

But make no mistake; the actors are merely props to be tossed about by the elements. One could easily dismiss The Day After Tomorrow as 'mindless popcorn entertainment' except that, for all its innate silliness and periodic goofiness, there actually is a small message passed along. It's a simple one about simple ecology, and it does hide in the background beneath tons of snow and rubble and hail and rain, but it's there all the same.

There's a whole lot that's kinda wrong with "The Day After Tomorrow": the action is front-loaded in an annoying way, most of the dialogue consists of thinly veiled (and hastily exhumed) plot exposition, it's a bit corny and more than a little simplistic. But... what the flick does right, it does right in glorious fashion. Taken as a resoundingly escapist throwback to the glory days of Irwin Allen's signature genre, "The Day After Tomorrow" is a bona-fide disaster...in a good way.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=9640&reviewer=128
originally posted: 05/28/04 16:39:54
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/30/16 morris campbell boring disaster flick good fx though 1 stars
2/15/14 Talal Al-Khaldi It was an OK movie. Special effects were the only thing going for it. Dialogue was terrible 3 stars
2/26/13 Mario Segale It's just like mama used to make! 5 stars
1/31/13 Bart If this movie is on I ALWAYS want to watch it! It does exactly what it's supposed to do. 5 stars
10/05/12 mike miller see this one mainly for the effects 3 stars
2/20/11 Ark Not bad, but formulaic! 4 stars
8/16/10 teachinla Doesn't do the global-warming warners any favors. Its science was ludicrous. 2 stars
8/01/10 Imogen Jones If this is such an enviromental movie, why make wolves look bad? They're nature too! 3 stars
5/20/09 Jake Shit "review". More of a bashing. And Penicillin is a latin phrase, universal for science 3 stars
4/06/09 Monica Hands down worst movie ever made. Absolutely laughable 1 stars
11/26/08 R.W. Welch Hokey disaster flick fails to grab, but has some good FX. 2 stars
11/26/08 Leo T crummy title, crummy movie 1 stars
10/24/08 action movie fan the best movie of 2004-great original story terrific in every way 5 stars
10/01/08 Shaun Wallner Great Movie!! 5 stars
6/19/08 OddworldPoop I'm giving it five for making me laugh and point at how pathetic and overrated it all was. 5 stars
6/08/08 PAUL SHORTT HINTS AT OUR FRAGILE HUMANITY AND TRIES TO PUT A FAMILIAR FACE TO MISERY 3 stars
5/16/08 James Dean sucked. absolutely sucked 1 stars
5/04/08 mark madsen why do people think that this could not happen is beyond me 5 stars
3/23/08 Rob g This is a terrible film. It makes no logical sense. It makes me want to punch Roland Emmerw 1 stars
3/08/08 Pamela White Shows that weather will happen even if we count our carbon credits 5 stars
11/18/07 Tee Effects - 7 Acting & Script - 0 2 stars
10/24/07 Ivana Mann Schmaltzy,cartoonish poo that makes "Independence Day" look like "Citizen Kane"! 1 stars
7/23/07 SCOTTIE WORST MOVIE EVER...! 1 stars
6/09/07 Danielle Ophelia I've this theory that a Gyllenhaal could make a Plan 9 redux work. 4 stars
4/23/07 David Risser This was a disaster, completely fake and unrealistic, highly overated 1 stars
4/20/07 Stevo UK Global warming isn't going to happen for a million billion years. Good film. 4 stars
2/17/07 Vip Ebriega The day after, you learn to like it. 3 stars
1/11/07 Matt It isn't about to happen so just ENJOY the fun 5 stars
12/28/06 Richard Paquette ho-hum 2 stars
12/05/06 Stanley Thai A promising thriller. Great SP FX and action scenes! Casts' performance are great. 4 stars
11/11/06 David Pollastrini great fx 5 stars
8/15/06 gem awsum as 5 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist Clever,suspenseful,fascinating,Although some dragging, it is ownable!! 4 stars
7/09/06 Anthony Feor Goes from fun to boring 3 stars
6/16/06 Michele clever 3 stars
6/14/06 oola suspenseful... interesting 4 stars
5/17/06 rocky I thought the way the used little side storys was awsome!!! 5 stars
4/14/06 MP Bartley Best bit = where they tried to outrun cold. Looks terrific and great fun. 4 stars
3/18/06 Bobert This movie was soooo awsome 5 stars
3/11/06 the laughing man Everything was great, except for Dennis Quaid. 4 stars
3/09/06 Dk Emmerichs second best movie. Only Godzilla is better 4 stars
2/07/06 Anthony Good weather flick 4 stars
1/03/06 cody a cool visual effects movie with good subplot and good perf. by dennis, that's all 3 stars
11/13/05 Quigley what this film lacks in acting talent, plot and script is made up for with awesome visuals 5 stars
10/27/05 chris a not bad movie have seen better and have seen worse 3 stars
10/20/05 Agent Sands Unlike other Hollywood disaster movies, this one shows America with a bit of humility. Good 3 stars
10/07/05 Bob Smith Not bad, worth the seeing. 4 stars
9/26/05 a. kurlovs the first half is quite well done. second - dumb beyond imaginable. 4 stars
8/23/05 ES seen worse, not as bad as I figured 3 stars
8/12/05 Kelly same old disaster story but very entertaining,good effects and Jake Gyllenahal 4 stars
8/07/05 Ed Campbell Another reviewer ignorant of science fiction or science. 5 stars
8/03/05 Sully a solid, fun flick. sometimes you just need to enjoy a movie and not critique it.... 4 stars
8/02/05 Hockeytown Global Catastrophe on ICE!!! 4 stars
8/01/05 George It was good and all but the acting really let this one down 3 stars
7/05/05 NANCY I LOVE IT! AWESOME EFFECTS!!! 5 stars
6/07/05 Darcy only average 3 stars
5/03/05 dwarzel Makes Jurassic Park look like a hotbed of scientific plausibility 1 stars
5/01/05 ed.williams Formilaic, same as all the other disaster movies just a different disaster. 2 stars
4/29/05 Quigley absolutely sick acting from some lead characters, but the CG make this worth it 5 stars
4/01/05 failingloser i like it. it's got a point to get through, you just need to recognise it 5 stars
2/26/05 Danny This is one of the stupidest, worst, unrealistic films I've ever seen. 1 stars
2/11/05 Jeff Anderson Begins greatly, but absolute stupidity quickly takes over! Outstanding special effects!!!!! 2 stars
2/02/05 G-Man best movie ever 5 stars
1/28/05 Charlie Wolves and tornadoes pretty lame. Okay, I guess. 3 stars
1/22/05 Rob McKeown The worst movie in history... absolute crap. 1 stars
1/17/05 JJ utter shite...lol gman also gave attack of the clones 5/5 lmao 1 stars
1/03/05 2012 Mayan thin plot doesn't matter, it's mainly about mans ignorance, nature always wins in the end 4 stars
1/02/05 MyGreenBed Atrocious. A "year's worst" listee. Laughable often (and not in a good Ed Wood way). 1 stars
12/12/04 john a big wave splashes over NY and after that Dennis walks there through the snow - the end 1 stars
12/10/04 Jason Kaul Special Effects=WOW. Plot=Thin @ best. Overall=Gotta have more than effects to please me. 2 stars
12/05/04 HL Quaid walks from PA to NY in blizzard in 38 minutes..oh, he saves the world. 4 stars
11/24/04 Zenny does cheese freeze? 2 stars
11/07/04 Joe Smaltz The crack smoking thing seems Plausible. good Cinematography 1 stars
11/05/04 Duncan I wanted to leave. 1 stars
10/31/04 G-man best movie ever 5 stars
10/24/04 lotrEEproper owns....but this is an utterwank film almost as bad as the others they made like iday and armagedon etc..but it has great effects 1 stars
10/24/04 Doc Shock Amusing. Nothing great, but worth a look for mindless entertainment. 3 stars
10/19/04 Joe I can't believe I paid two bucks to see this. 1 stars
10/19/04 EUGENE ahh it was ok but id rather watch an anal orgy 3 stars
10/17/04 Dan Good 4 stars
10/14/04 Nickydonpablos I thought it was interesting. Atleast it caught my attention and kept the story going. 5 stars
10/14/04 tatum Great FX, but stunted and obvious all over the place 2 stars
10/13/04 American Slasher Goddess Has a lot of plot holes, but it's decent two hour entertainment. 3 stars
10/06/04 Paul BORING! BORING! Save ur time,and just fast forward for the pretty effects! 2 stars
8/07/04 G-man best movie ever....tornadoes, ice overs....just plain awesome 5 stars
8/02/04 Nikolai I laughed a little, and I cried a little. what more can one ask? 1 stars
8/01/04 valerie hart fanatstic 5 stars
7/23/04 Jurko the Great Total crap! 1 stars
7/19/04 assassin_chick Special effects are pretty fun--Great flick if you love apocolyptic movies like we do! 4 stars
7/17/04 legend Good summer flick. Excellent special effects which seemed to run out at end. Bad story. 4 stars
7/11/04 Vince Completely unrealistic, standard hollywood fare action flick, saved by special effects 3 stars
7/08/04 Denise Duspiva Good movie and it made a point 4 stars
6/30/04 Mike C. This movie is SO funny, don't view with a critical eye, just enjoy the comedy and specialFX 4 stars
6/27/04 Dan Denson It used fake science to sell itself, and was I the only one hoping the charcters WOULD die? 1 stars
6/27/04 Koitus Gotta love the bus ON the Porsche, and the anchorman getting plastered by the billboard! 4 stars
6/26/04 M slick sfx movie with a plot......finally! 4 stars
6/21/04 cobretti Laughably bad with some real howlers for dialogue. All the effects are in the trailer. 1 stars
6/19/04 Emily I loved this movie 5 stars
6/16/04 Hilarium Is Darkofnight nuts? He honestly thinks this couldn't be better? My god. Warn the children. 1 stars
6/16/04 Luke Wow i would like to know what goes through the heads of people who think this is good 1 stars
6/15/04 Jack Bourbon Mr. Vice President, why haven't you stopped the making of shitty movies?!?!?! 1 stars
6/14/04 Lord Jiggy Better than you've heard...only film this summer not to disappoint 4 stars
6/12/04 Melina entertaining, but not memorable 4 stars
6/10/04 maxomai Pleasantly thrilling if stupid. 4 stars
6/08/04 Dion Ignore the sci-fi haters - this movie is excellent 5 stars
6/07/04 The Chronic only showed destruction in US and then only in NY & LA, plot too unbelieveable 3 stars
6/06/04 Captain Highcrime Wouldn't ya know it, just when I finally land a decent LA apartment... 4 stars
6/06/04 Melissa I thought this movie was great. It actually frightened me that this could happen. 5 stars
6/05/04 alien assassin Head and shoulders above most disaster films 4 stars
6/05/04 DdMM I should have stuck to my original plan for the evening and gone to the gym... 2 stars
6/04/04 iami I laughed outloud (Literally) when Mexico closed the border to the Amaricans. 4 stars
6/04/04 M Hated wil smith in ID4, hate fake wolves in this one! still awesome though 5 stars
6/04/04 Doc Hollywood nonsensical plot forced romance wolves dennis quaid got the picture? 2 stars
6/03/04 SIr Spam-a-lot Best comedy of the year - oh wait 2 stars
6/03/04 Agent Sands Unlike ID4 & Godzilla, this shows a practical disaser & gives the US some humility. 4 stars
6/02/04 Coolhand How in the hell is this 4 stars? Did the price of crack just drop? 1 stars
6/02/04 William DuBay A great spoof of all the disaster films ever made. One campy cliche after another. 4 stars
6/02/04 man on fire This movie was a pathetic excuse for a political thriller/environmental desaster film. 2 stars
6/02/04 Nicole There were some cool effects, but overall the story was weak 3 stars
6/02/04 Obi Wan Good summer movie. Held it's own and thank god we did without the Nuke it scene! 4 stars
6/02/04 Worthy Slacker A few "money shots" doesn't make a good movie. Totally idiotic. "We walk from here" huh? 1 stars
6/02/04 Mike V An unbelievablly atrocious piece of crap. Boring. Roland Emmerich needs to be stopped. 1 stars
6/01/04 A F Anyone who takes this seriously, needs to take a few science classes. Way over done. 1 stars
6/01/04 Susan the best disaster film i've ever seen...phenomenal special effects 5 stars
6/01/04 Wolf Fascinating flick, a real gripper in parts. Wolves weren't good tho. 4 stars
6/01/04 Charlene Javier Deep Impact of the Twisters 2 stars
6/01/04 Kev Bogus, loaded with disaster movie clichés, and numerous eye-rolling moments... but still ok 3 stars
6/01/04 Maalstrom I was yawning 3 stars
6/01/04 Mike It insults anyone with a brain. 1 stars
5/31/04 Jim Pretty good weather porn. Ice age reminds me of upstate New York in January. 4 stars
5/31/04 ajay effects were good, acting/script *wasn't* as bad as expected 4 stars
5/31/04 Meryl Fuckin' rocked. people who don't like it are just worried cuz their SUVs will make it true, 5 stars
5/31/04 Emperor's New Clothes? Nope. Just a Fat, Ugly, Naked, Guy. Good effects & if you ignore the Hollywood drama, you'll see the kernel of dangerous truthh 4 stars
5/31/04 Lukie hated it - worst film I've seen for years 1 stars
5/30/04 BrianWilly Awesome disaster flick with surprisingly good backstory and acting. 5 stars
5/30/04 Prime Worth seeing for the amazing effects. 4 stars
5/30/04 qemm greatest apocalyptical effects ever 5 stars
5/30/04 Jack Bourbon I've never seen a worse film. You reviewers should have your internet privelages revoked 1 stars
5/30/04 Joanna For a disaster film, it was great! 4 stars
5/30/04 Dan Great SFX, but illogical script and boring characters 2 stars
5/30/04 ALI HBOUS the visual effects are scary 4 stars
5/29/04 M Very "COOL" 5 stars
5/29/04 Cameron Slick Paper-thin plot vs. great vfx, breaks down to caring about the characters - I didn't 3 stars
5/29/04 othree funny,unbelievable,no emotional attachment,familiar casts,see trailers 4 efx 3 stars
5/29/04 Edler Made no sense at all. The special FX dudes bribed the producers to make this idiotic heap. 1 stars
5/29/04 Gray needed better editing + end buildup+ less specific science explanations=more belivable 4 stars
5/29/04 Christina That homeless guy was annoying as hell 5 stars
5/29/04 Bradley Woods save yourself some money and rent the DVD. its extreme silliness is amusingly entertaining. 3 stars
5/28/04 Help! My Brain Is Still Turned Off! Now I need it to erase all the bullshit that was fed me in this film! 1 stars
5/28/04 Sebastián Freigeiro I liked it a lot, great movie, at least for me... 4 stars
5/27/04 P.Rodriguez made me laugh, made me cry.. oh wait wrong movie. Total leave you brain and enjoy flick 5 stars
5/27/04 Over-hyped BORING! No sustanable plot, bad dialogue, only 2 action scenes = TERRIBLE MOVIE! 1 stars
5/24/04 Blakers A great film 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-May-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 24-May-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  27-May-2004 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast