More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.64

Awesome35.29%
Worth A Look: 26.47%
Average: 18.38%
Pretty Bad: 6.62%
Total Crap: 13.24%

7 reviews, 94 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Wedding Singer, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Adam Sandler the thespian attempts to expand his repertoire."
3 stars

In an obvious attempt to mellow Sandler's frat boy image, the producers of The Wedding Singer have reduced him to a sniveling little weenie. Sure, he's a pretty funny weenie, but some performers are better off sticking with what they do best. Instead of romantic comedy, Sandler should go back to his breast obsessions and fart jokes.

Adam Sandler is like beer. In his best comic roles, he's as strong as a good lager or ale...or something. (I'm not a beer critic, people!) While The Wedding Singer is easily entertaining enough to recommend, what we're offered here is Sandler Lite, which is just the same as regular Sandler - only watered down quite a bit to better please the masses. An actor cannot live on the goodwill of pre-teen boys alone.

Early in his film career, Adam Sandler single-handedly cornered the market on the whole 'infantile and loving it' brand of cinematic comedy. After bit roles in such "wacky" comedies as Coneheads, Airheads and Mixed Nuts, Sandler got his first starring role, and the world was offered Billy Madison. Thus commenced the parade of childish vulgarity that is the Adam Sandler filmography. Happy Gilmore simply expounded upon such breast and doody jokes, and let's not forget about Sandler starring with Damon Wayans in Bulletproof. (Oh, you missed that one? Lucky you.)

So Adam already had the 14-year old boy demographic firmly in his grasp. The plan was to expand this group to hopefully include a few female fans. Suffice to say that The Wedding Singer exploded at the box office, thus creating a huge female fanbase who now refer to Sandler as "...like, he's soooo cute...and funny...I'd do him."

But all that aside, the main is question is that of laughs. As in "Is this a movie that will make me laugh?" If you're already a fan of Sandler, I can offer a hearty affirmative...and if you don't much care for his juvenile antics, this is the movie that MAY sway your opinion. Look, if you end up hating Adam Sandler on the basis of The Wedding Singer, trust me and DO NOT see any of his other movies...especially The Waterboy.

So I told you all that so I could tell you this: I dig Adam Sandler quite a bit. It's just that I feel he basically makes the same identical movie every year, and his act is starting to wear a little thin. Hoping to curb his more vulgar image, the producers here have toned Sandler down quite a bit, and while it's a welcome sight to see him playing a sweet guy, deep down it just doesn't feel right.

This time around, Sandler plays Robbie Hart (...hart...get it?), and Robbie is...you guessed it...a wedding singer. Robbie has recently been left at the altar by his skeezy girlfriend when he meets the lovably goofy Julia. Long story short? They fall in love. Unfortunately, Julia's already engaged and Robbie is an infantile weenie.

Did I mention that all of this takes place in the eighties? Yeah, it's kind of fun for a while, but maybe we need a little more distance before we start ragging on the eighties...at least until I stop wearing my Michael Jackson glove anyway. The somewhat clever screenplay is packed to the gills with 1980's music, clothes and vocabulary, but the overall effect is fairly listless.

Except for one standout scene of Robbie flipping out onstage, Sandler plays the role quite mellow. That's not to say he should start practicing his Oscar speeches any time soon, but he showed a little range here. (Hey, it's all relative.) As the free-spirited Julia, Drew Barrymore is a lot of fun to watch. She reminds me of a babysitter I used to have who giggled a lot and smelled real pretty...

Where was I? Oh yeah. The Wedding Singer. Here's the deal. If you're a 15-year old girl and you're looking for a romantic comedy, this is the one for you. To my fellow Sandler Fans, I contend that he offers some truly funny stuff, but it's mostly buried under all the silly (not to mention derivative) romance fluff and the intermittently amusing eighties kitsch.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=97&reviewer=128
originally posted: 12/11/00 14:04:15
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/22/14 Luisa Will always be one of my favorite movies. Funny, romantic, musical. 5 stars
5/23/13 Jamie I loved this movie! Warm and funny, did not agree at all with this review! 5 stars
11/26/10 PAUL SHORTT ENTERTAINING, ENERGETIC ROMANTIC COMEDY 3 stars
11/29/09 Jeff Wilder Not as bad as some Sandler movies. Average. Overemphasis on kitsch 3 stars
8/30/09 Samantha Pruitt Really sweet and funny, a definite Aam Sandler classic 4 stars
1/24/08 Charles Tatum Cute and harmless, Barrymore is charming 4 stars
10/24/07 Beau It was funny, doesnt jump out or stand out for me much though! 3 stars
8/31/07 Dark Enchantress great movie 5 stars
9/30/06 someone It was cute. 4 stars
6/26/06 MP Bartley Sandler without the juvenile yucks. A warm, comic treat. 4 stars
5/27/06 Sheena makes you want to blast back to the 80's 5 stars
5/06/06 Ashley Hinz Slightly out of character for Sandler. 5 stars
5/02/06 Anthony Feor The best Sandlar movie to date 5 stars
4/18/06 Julie love it every time 5 stars
4/10/06 cristy i love this movie...it funny and makes me cry and think about someone 5 stars
3/10/06 Dk Having seen Sandler goof a couple of times already this was pretty dull 2 stars
11/21/05 your worst goddamn nightmare This flick kicked ass. Love the 'Flock of Seagulls' haircut!!! 5 stars
11/20/05 AdamSandlerFan This movie rocks.You wouldn' t know great if it came up and bit you on the ass. 5 stars
9/14/05 lisa faust i love adam sandler 5 stars
6/29/05 amie i love these 2 together!!! this was a very good movie. i love them! 5 stars
5/20/05 dwarzel Hey, is this film in set in the 80s? I couldn't really tell 1 stars
12/10/04 Kristina Williams these two are good together 5 stars
7/06/04 Anthony Crane awesome movie!! 5 stars
6/24/04 CRISTINA RISMUNDO NICE MOVIE 5 stars
5/10/04 Ray Nice 5 stars
10/26/03 Samuel under rated, I thought this movie was decent enough.... 4 stars
6/20/03 Tiffany Thunderhurst Adam Sandler and Drew Barrymore a perfect balancing act. Best Movie for both! 5 stars
6/02/03 igent honest, it's great, the songs too 5 stars
3/22/03 Jack Sommersby Medicore. Should have been zanier rather than so maudlin. 3 stars
3/06/03 R.W. Welch Surprise. The rom/com ain't dead yet. Good piece of work all around. 4 stars
2/05/03 Billy fucking sucks 1 stars
2/02/03 Me Good natured fluff, with just a little of that dark Sandler persona lurking beneath. 4 stars
1/20/03 scoot A GREAT FILM 5 stars
1/04/03 John Aster Habig 2 funny songs, feel good romance, zany character development low crudity for a sandler film 5 stars
12/28/02 pb The funniest movie ever made. 10 /10. 5 stars
9/06/02 Chancey Thunderpants Barrymore can bite my ass, but still -despite her demonic presence- it was kinda decent. 3 stars
7/12/02 christina petra loya-fernandez a VERY cute and funny movie 5 stars
6/08/02 Film Guy Not Adam Sandlers best 2 stars
6/06/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi i loved this movie, it's one of the only A.S. movie's that he doesn't act like a retard in 5 stars
5/28/02 hilary pretty bad 2 stars
3/31/02 Jeremy Adam Sandlers best movie since LITTLE NICKY and BIG DADDY 5 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Great music. Simple fun. 4 stars
1/30/02 Tiffany Thunderhurst Adam Sandler and Drew Barrymore a perfect balancing act. Best Movie for both! 5 stars
1/02/02 Andrew Carden A Nostagic and Hilarious Look Into The 1980's. 5 stars
10/17/01 Kelly This is the best movie ever! 5 stars
10/11/01 of the Cheryls Go Ophelia! This is the jewel of Sandler's crown, a LIKABLE movie. And Drew, sweet Drew... 5 stars
9/12/01 Butterbean A Sandler highlight. It was a very sweet comedy! 4 stars
9/09/01 Gary Too cute at times, and the ending on the plane disappointed, but always funny. 4 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Best Sandler movie made. The 80's are remembered in a very cool way. Loved it. 5 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat Cheesy as a 10"x14' block o' cheddar cheese. 1 stars
8/06/01 badfish This is truly one of my favorite movies,I love it!!! I watch it at least twice a month!! 5 stars
7/24/01 Elvisfan Overkill of 80s references notwithstanding, easily Sandlers best by miles 5 stars
6/28/01 Steve You're goin' to the mental institution 5 stars
6/21/01 Dave Sandler is just so irritating in this one 2 stars
4/09/01 Gary It's pretty good but I don't like how they portrayed the 80's... they made it look cheesy. 4 stars
3/02/01 lisa love the song he made up for ex gf. 4 stars
12/03/00 Chris Miller Nice, Heartwarming, Funny, Drew and Sandler got chemistry. 5 stars
9/09/00 Jed Despite what some folks said about this I think he SHOULD do this kind of film more often. 5 stars
6/23/00 Bender This movie proves why the '90s and now are mostly boring 4 stars
6/11/00 Jed Sandlers best film this is the stuff he should be regularly doing. 5 stars
5/05/00 TIGGER FANTASTIC! 5 stars
4/09/00 EMagGaRony cute movie... sandler and barrymore are awesome... so is buschemi... ;) 5 stars
3/12/00 Richard Wright A successful film due to the charming performances and 80's setting.Sandler's best work. 4 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Represents everything GOOD about the 80's. And everything good about romantic comedies. 5 stars
1/18/00 PervertedPixie I like the first 5 minutes with Steve Buscemi. That was it. 2 stars
12/08/99 Jennifer I loved it! 5 stars
10/30/99 Bozo the only movie i can stomach sandler in; drew helps, so does soundtrack 4 stars
7/29/99 Sabina It was okay 3 stars
7/26/99 sunkiss soo sweet 5 stars
7/25/99 J. Random Hacker Sandler plays a character other than himself in this one! =^) Funnier than hell. 4 stars
7/25/99 blue by far the best 80s based comedy (better than romy&michelle and grossepointeblank combined) 5 stars
7/24/99 Matthew Bartley Best Man?!? Better Man! Great comedy 5 stars
4/11/99 Alonzo (alc311@hotmail.com) Christine Taylor and Drew Barrymore, yowzas! Not to mention billy idol 5 stars
3/17/99 Ah Dooey Now that's what I call a romance comedy! 4 stars
3/03/99 Rachel Love Sandler, love Barrymore, love Featherstone, love Taylor. Love the Wedding Singer 5 stars
2/20/99 Piz cute date movie with wacky and adorable characters, Sandler humor surrounded by story. 4 stars
10/27/98 Cage Funny, entertaining, 'feel good' flick.. Sandler is great as usual... 4 stars
10/24/98 Timmy C I usually hate romantic comedies...but not this one. 4 stars
10/18/98 katherine funny. adam sandler is funny. 5 stars
10/14/98 Chi-Fan Hu 80's rule!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/28/98 Heather I liked this one, and all the refs to a truly fun decade gone by! 5 stars
9/15/98 Chip Taylor Adam, "Fuck head" stop the crappy films. 1 stars
9/05/98 Kid Pee-Pee Sickeningly bad. This story has been done a milion times before, only better. Not funny. 1 stars
9/04/98 Badass I wish they had Adam Sandler sing more songs. The story is annoying! 3 stars
8/28/98 Mister Whoopee Cute factor can't disguise lack of depth. Not with me, anyway. 2 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Goofy. Not a fan of this at all. Badly thrown together. 2 stars
8/23/98 Superfly I like Adam Sandler and Billy Idol, hence why I like this movie. 5 stars
8/20/98 The Man With The Helmet I grew up in the 80's and thought it sucked like a Hoover. Not funny, not smart. Dumb 2 stars
8/19/98 PyThomas Something for the eighties buffs. Plus the Drewskie. 4 stars
8/16/98 Miss Stress if you grew up in the 80's you must see this movie 4 stars
8/16/98 Johny I dig Adam Sandler. Sue me. 4 stars
8/15/98 Schmeekins Cute, schmute. I want Tollbooth Willy! 2 stars
8/14/98 f*r*o*s*t*y I love me some Drew Barrymore. It was, as Ben said, cute. 4 stars
8/14/98 {{{OZ}}} The worst kind of exploitation of movie-goers. Utter shite. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Feb-1998 (PG-13)
  DVD: 25-Apr-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  16-Apr-1998 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast