More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.64

Awesome35.29%
Worth A Look: 26.47%
Average: 18.38%
Pretty Bad: 6.62%
Total Crap: 13.24%

7 reviews, 94 user ratings



Wedding Singer, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by PyThomas

"For those who are hungry like the wolf for 80's humor."
4 stars

I miss the eighties already.

The best part about the eighties was the video games. This was before the arcades were 95% full of one-on-one fighting games like Mortal Street Heroes LXXVIII Super Turbo Championship Edition. You had a hell of a lot more variety, graphics be damned.

If I had been a full-grown adult in the eighties instead of a teenager slumming his way through high school, I probably would have been one of those New Romantic-types fidgeting around with a synthesizer, trying to come up with a catchy tune that would become a smash hit. Even if I ultimately ended up a one-hit wonder calling my friends to let them know my song is playing right now on the "Flashback Hour".

But I digress.

Adam Sandler is Robbie Hart, a nice-guy wedding singer (hence the title... DUH) making his rounds at nuptials around the Jersey suburbs. He gets jilted at his own wedding and turns into a manic-depressive emcee. At the same time he meets Julia (Drew Barrymore), a waitress about to get married to a stockbroker (this is in 1985, before the big Dow crash), and basically falls in love with her. Julia's fiance is basically a jerk, so you can see a mile away how this film's gonna end.

But the real fun is catching the retro songs and spotting the 80s references. One of the guys in Robbie's backup band is named George, and he dresses up like a certain musician from the band Culture Club. The cook at one of the receptions wears a "Choose Life" T-shirt. Julia's betrothed pulls up in a DeLorean. Although some are quite anachronistic (like the guy who wants to know who shot J.R.), most of the gags are timely and quite funny.

For once, Adam tones down his loudmouth schtick, saving it for a couple select moments and one song. Drew is so cute in this film, you almost forget she was alcoholic and played a bunch of slut roles. Overall, this is a fun film that doesn't rack your brain.

Now all we need is a Betamax version of the video. Wouldn't that be perfect?

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=97&reviewer=9
originally posted: 09/05/98 07:23:17
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/22/14 Luisa Will always be one of my favorite movies. Funny, romantic, musical. 5 stars
5/23/13 Jamie I loved this movie! Warm and funny, did not agree at all with this review! 5 stars
11/26/10 PAUL SHORTT ENTERTAINING, ENERGETIC ROMANTIC COMEDY 3 stars
11/29/09 Jeff Wilder Not as bad as some Sandler movies. Average. Overemphasis on kitsch 3 stars
8/30/09 Samantha Pruitt Really sweet and funny, a definite Aam Sandler classic 4 stars
1/24/08 Charles Tatum Cute and harmless, Barrymore is charming 4 stars
10/24/07 Beau It was funny, doesnt jump out or stand out for me much though! 3 stars
8/31/07 Dark Enchantress great movie 5 stars
9/30/06 someone It was cute. 4 stars
6/26/06 MP Bartley Sandler without the juvenile yucks. A warm, comic treat. 4 stars
5/27/06 Sheena makes you want to blast back to the 80's 5 stars
5/06/06 Ashley Hinz Slightly out of character for Sandler. 5 stars
5/02/06 Anthony Feor The best Sandlar movie to date 5 stars
4/18/06 Julie love it every time 5 stars
4/10/06 cristy i love this movie...it funny and makes me cry and think about someone 5 stars
3/10/06 Dk Having seen Sandler goof a couple of times already this was pretty dull 2 stars
11/21/05 your worst goddamn nightmare This flick kicked ass. Love the 'Flock of Seagulls' haircut!!! 5 stars
11/20/05 AdamSandlerFan This movie rocks.You wouldn' t know great if it came up and bit you on the ass. 5 stars
9/14/05 lisa faust i love adam sandler 5 stars
6/29/05 amie i love these 2 together!!! this was a very good movie. i love them! 5 stars
5/20/05 dwarzel Hey, is this film in set in the 80s? I couldn't really tell 1 stars
12/10/04 Kristina Williams these two are good together 5 stars
7/06/04 Anthony Crane awesome movie!! 5 stars
6/24/04 CRISTINA RISMUNDO NICE MOVIE 5 stars
5/10/04 Ray Nice 5 stars
10/26/03 Samuel under rated, I thought this movie was decent enough.... 4 stars
6/20/03 Tiffany Thunderhurst Adam Sandler and Drew Barrymore a perfect balancing act. Best Movie for both! 5 stars
6/02/03 igent honest, it's great, the songs too 5 stars
3/22/03 Jack Sommersby Medicore. Should have been zanier rather than so maudlin. 3 stars
3/06/03 R.W. Welch Surprise. The rom/com ain't dead yet. Good piece of work all around. 4 stars
2/05/03 Billy fucking sucks 1 stars
2/02/03 Me Good natured fluff, with just a little of that dark Sandler persona lurking beneath. 4 stars
1/20/03 scoot A GREAT FILM 5 stars
1/04/03 John Aster Habig 2 funny songs, feel good romance, zany character development low crudity for a sandler film 5 stars
12/28/02 pb The funniest movie ever made. 10 /10. 5 stars
9/06/02 Chancey Thunderpants Barrymore can bite my ass, but still -despite her demonic presence- it was kinda decent. 3 stars
7/12/02 christina petra loya-fernandez a VERY cute and funny movie 5 stars
6/08/02 Film Guy Not Adam Sandlers best 2 stars
6/06/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi i loved this movie, it's one of the only A.S. movie's that he doesn't act like a retard in 5 stars
5/28/02 hilary pretty bad 2 stars
3/31/02 Jeremy Adam Sandlers best movie since LITTLE NICKY and BIG DADDY 5 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Great music. Simple fun. 4 stars
1/30/02 Tiffany Thunderhurst Adam Sandler and Drew Barrymore a perfect balancing act. Best Movie for both! 5 stars
1/02/02 Andrew Carden A Nostagic and Hilarious Look Into The 1980's. 5 stars
10/17/01 Kelly This is the best movie ever! 5 stars
10/11/01 of the Cheryls Go Ophelia! This is the jewel of Sandler's crown, a LIKABLE movie. And Drew, sweet Drew... 5 stars
9/12/01 Butterbean A Sandler highlight. It was a very sweet comedy! 4 stars
9/09/01 Gary Too cute at times, and the ending on the plane disappointed, but always funny. 4 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Best Sandler movie made. The 80's are remembered in a very cool way. Loved it. 5 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat Cheesy as a 10"x14' block o' cheddar cheese. 1 stars
8/06/01 badfish This is truly one of my favorite movies,I love it!!! I watch it at least twice a month!! 5 stars
7/24/01 Elvisfan Overkill of 80s references notwithstanding, easily Sandlers best by miles 5 stars
6/28/01 Steve You're goin' to the mental institution 5 stars
6/21/01 Dave Sandler is just so irritating in this one 2 stars
4/09/01 Gary It's pretty good but I don't like how they portrayed the 80's... they made it look cheesy. 4 stars
3/02/01 lisa love the song he made up for ex gf. 4 stars
12/03/00 Chris Miller Nice, Heartwarming, Funny, Drew and Sandler got chemistry. 5 stars
9/09/00 Jed Despite what some folks said about this I think he SHOULD do this kind of film more often. 5 stars
6/23/00 Bender This movie proves why the '90s and now are mostly boring 4 stars
6/11/00 Jed Sandlers best film this is the stuff he should be regularly doing. 5 stars
5/05/00 TIGGER FANTASTIC! 5 stars
4/09/00 EMagGaRony cute movie... sandler and barrymore are awesome... so is buschemi... ;) 5 stars
3/12/00 Richard Wright A successful film due to the charming performances and 80's setting.Sandler's best work. 4 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Represents everything GOOD about the 80's. And everything good about romantic comedies. 5 stars
1/18/00 PervertedPixie I like the first 5 minutes with Steve Buscemi. That was it. 2 stars
12/08/99 Jennifer I loved it! 5 stars
10/30/99 Bozo the only movie i can stomach sandler in; drew helps, so does soundtrack 4 stars
7/29/99 Sabina It was okay 3 stars
7/26/99 sunkiss soo sweet 5 stars
7/25/99 J. Random Hacker Sandler plays a character other than himself in this one! =^) Funnier than hell. 4 stars
7/25/99 blue by far the best 80s based comedy (better than romy&michelle and grossepointeblank combined) 5 stars
7/24/99 Matthew Bartley Best Man?!? Better Man! Great comedy 5 stars
4/11/99 Alonzo (alc311@hotmail.com) Christine Taylor and Drew Barrymore, yowzas! Not to mention billy idol 5 stars
3/17/99 Ah Dooey Now that's what I call a romance comedy! 4 stars
3/03/99 Rachel Love Sandler, love Barrymore, love Featherstone, love Taylor. Love the Wedding Singer 5 stars
2/20/99 Piz cute date movie with wacky and adorable characters, Sandler humor surrounded by story. 4 stars
10/27/98 Cage Funny, entertaining, 'feel good' flick.. Sandler is great as usual... 4 stars
10/24/98 Timmy C I usually hate romantic comedies...but not this one. 4 stars
10/18/98 katherine funny. adam sandler is funny. 5 stars
10/14/98 Chi-Fan Hu 80's rule!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/28/98 Heather I liked this one, and all the refs to a truly fun decade gone by! 5 stars
9/15/98 Chip Taylor Adam, "Fuck head" stop the crappy films. 1 stars
9/05/98 Kid Pee-Pee Sickeningly bad. This story has been done a milion times before, only better. Not funny. 1 stars
9/04/98 Badass I wish they had Adam Sandler sing more songs. The story is annoying! 3 stars
8/28/98 Mister Whoopee Cute factor can't disguise lack of depth. Not with me, anyway. 2 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Goofy. Not a fan of this at all. Badly thrown together. 2 stars
8/23/98 Superfly I like Adam Sandler and Billy Idol, hence why I like this movie. 5 stars
8/20/98 The Man With The Helmet I grew up in the 80's and thought it sucked like a Hoover. Not funny, not smart. Dumb 2 stars
8/19/98 PyThomas Something for the eighties buffs. Plus the Drewskie. 4 stars
8/16/98 Miss Stress if you grew up in the 80's you must see this movie 4 stars
8/16/98 Johny I dig Adam Sandler. Sue me. 4 stars
8/15/98 Schmeekins Cute, schmute. I want Tollbooth Willy! 2 stars
8/14/98 f*r*o*s*t*y I love me some Drew Barrymore. It was, as Ben said, cute. 4 stars
8/14/98 {{{OZ}}} The worst kind of exploitation of movie-goers. Utter shite. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Feb-1998 (PG-13)
  DVD: 25-Apr-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  16-Apr-1998 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast