More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.58

Awesome78.52%
Worth A Look: 8.89%
Average: 8.15%
Pretty Bad: 1.11%
Total Crap: 3.33%

7 reviews, 228 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Citizenfour by Greg Ursic

Women Who Flirt by Jay Seaver

Snowpiercer by Rob Gonsalves

Rosewater by Jay Seaver

World of Kanako, The by Jay Seaver

Tommy (2014) by Jay Seaver

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay, Part 1 by Daniel Kelly

Goodbye to Language by Jay Seaver

Mea Culpa by Jay Seaver

Homesman, The by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Swingers
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"I'm not interested in a movie about clowns like these guys."
3 stars

In 'Swingers,' the twentysomething guys sit around talking about women -- or, more precisely, "babies" -- and comparing notes on how to land them.

Swingers, of course, is the latest illegitimate child of Diner, and bits of it are genuinely sharp and funny. But the movie is also the very latest in ironic, post-everything comedy, with hip references and an obscure lingo -- like Trainspotting for lounge lizards. And do we need another affectionate look at hapless Gen-X guys?

Directed by Doug Liman and written by one of its stars, Jon Favreau, Swingers is a clearly autobiographical L.A. story. The guys are all aspiring actors who grumble about the demeaning stuff they audition for; one character is up for the role of Goofy, but loses it to someone with "more theme-park experience." We've seen the type in many independent movies lately, from Swimming with Sharks to Leaving Las Vegas. But this isn't a movie to wallow in the despair of being a little fish in L.A.'s big pond.

The two main characters, struggling stand-up comic Mike (Favreau) and retro-slick actor Trent (Vince Vaughn), will remind some of Jules Feiffer's clueless guys in his "Bernard and Huey" strips and his script for Carnal Knowledge. Those guys were baffled by the emerging feminism of the '60s. Mike and Trent, by contrast, are fin-de-siecle single guys. Decades of pop culture have given them an ironic awareness of every move they try on women. They're watching themselves imitate the icons they grew up on: Travolta, the Fonz, even Woody Allen.

Some of this is engaging, and the leads do carry you along. Favreau is likably flustered and unsure (despite a troubling resemblance to Steve Guttenberg); Mike, who still carries a torch for the woman he left in New York, tells himself that nice guys finish last -- that women don't respect men who respect them. Trent, played to suave near-perfection by Vaughn, agrees that nice guys finish last, so he turns himself into his idea of a narcissistic playboy. Sex is less important to him than getting a woman's phone number -- he digs the theater of the singles bar, the process, the performance.

Liman and Favreau concoct a consciously derivative world for these guys, and though it's appropriate to the movie, I got tired of it after a while. It's too soon for homages to Reservoir Dogs (especially when the take-off is accompanied by talk about Tarantino), and Liman stumbles when he mimics the Copacabana tracking shot from GoodFellas; he lacks Scorsese's gliding technique and seemingly spontaneous choreography. The scene is there so you can recognize it and feel hip.

Swingers is very of-the-moment. It cashes in on the recent lounge revival and exploits male confusion in an era when sensitive guys are on the way out. (In these films, men are doomed never to know what women want.) It quotes from movies that Gen-X guys know by heart. It has its moments (the punchline of the movie is great), but the moments don't add up to a vision or even a quotable cult comedy.

The guys in 'Swingers' are struggling actors in their careers and in their lives, too. They're the stars of their own self-absorbed Gen-X mind-movies.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=98&reviewer=416
originally posted: 03/07/07 15:07:59
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2006 U.S. Comedy Arts Festival For more in the 2006 U.S. Comedy Arts Festival series, click here.

User Comments

3/24/12 Marty funny, smart, quotable. i had a lot of fun watching it! 4 stars
6/08/10 David Hollingsworth Swing City 5 stars
9/28/09 RLan a good first film for Jon Favreau and Vince Vaughn. A good film, not great. 3 stars
11/16/07 bryannnn BEST. MOVIE. EVER. All comedies should aspire to this level of humor. 5 stars
3/21/07 dmitry Ugh! The unfortunate rise of Vince Vaughn, who's plagued us ever since 2 stars
3/18/06 MP Bartley Favreau and Vaughan are priceless together. Material is great, esp. the phone sequence 5 stars
8/12/05 Kelly my favorite movie and Favreau and Vaughn are a hilarious combonation 5 stars
7/12/05 Jake Very cool 5 stars
6/08/05 Mike A fantastic simple film about everyman and his challenges with love. Vaughan in top fom. 5 stars
5/13/05 Indrid Cold Hilarious and heart-warming; a chick flick for guys. 5 stars
3/09/05 dbx one of my favorite comedies of all time 5 stars
2/15/05 Jin I'm with Sommersby on this one. Made was better. 3 stars
1/20/05 Jeff Anderson THE ULTIMATE GREAT VEGAS FILM! Vaughn is at his smart ass hilarious best. THE MUSIC RULES!! 5 stars
8/11/04 David Jones Vince Vaughan at his best in an awesome indie hit...my favourite movie of all time 5 stars
6/11/04 ian hood full of vince vaughan's specialty's. He's the perfect, hilarious asshole. 3 stars
5/05/04 Jack Sommersby Watchable but quite overrated. 3 stars
5/05/04 y2mckay Great dialogue, good energy, and Vince at his prime. "VEGAS, BABY. VEGAS!" 4 stars
2/19/04 MP Bartley It's donated more dialogue to any party I ever go to than any other film. 5 stars
12/21/03 the Grinch I am filled with shame that I haven't seen this until now...It's on, baby, it's on. 5 stars
11/13/03 Shams Huque Pretty good, with some hilarious scenes! 4 stars
10/29/03 Magnus Best movie ever! 5 stars
6/12/03 Marianne Arieli Down to earth, excellent acting, fun, funny, poignant. Most of all -- different from most. 5 stars
4/30/03 Zel Not only fucking hilarious, but educational as well. 5 stars
1/20/03 WestcoastPunk Jon Favreau and Vince Vaughan's greatest movie ever. It was a giant fucking bear 5 stars
1/03/03 Andrea The best film of 90's 5 stars
10/13/02 Jimmy Jam Best male point of view movie ever "MADE" 5 stars
8/12/02 Michael Carruthers Kool! Defines kool... 5 stars
7/28/02 Adam Voorhees This movie is more money than Bill Gates's bank account. VEGAS BABY!!!! 5 stars
7/02/02 sdjfsdkjf hockey game scene was a hoot. Mike was annoying at times but Trent made up for him. 5 stars
6/27/02 Al How long do you guys wait?......"six days"......top 5 of all time 5 stars
6/25/02 Phil M. Aficionado A very human slice of LA/Hollywood life. It's not all tinsel and glitter out there. 4 stars
6/02/02 BaitedSoul Great MOVIE!!! Jon Favreau and Vince Vaughan Crack me up!! 5 stars
5/24/02 Matt Chez So true to life, great writing 5 stars
2/24/02 Hubie Baby this movie is so money!! 5 stars
1/21/02 Clinton Golden Great movie. Would of liked a longer chapter reflecting the Las Vegas scene. 4 stars
1/05/02 Phil M. Afficianado Me=Awesome'ish. Wife=Barely average. Consensus=Definite worth a look. Guy flick. Smiles. 4 stars
12/01/01 Cracked head BORING LIKE HELL! 1 stars
10/11/01 P.Rodriguez Man This Movie is SO Money! 5 stars
10/05/01 Jenny A fantastic movie 5 stars
7/30/01 Dirty Ninja With No eyes It's quite nice 3 stars
7/22/01 Peter Ron Livingstone pre-Office Space. Don't stop a-rockin'! 5 stars
7/14/01 TLsmooth Favreau and Keanu should have a battle for worst fucking actor. Still pretty good though. 4 stars
6/02/01 Gail Good Movie 4 stars
5/21/01 Monster W. Kung The high rating of this average movie astounds me. Nothing special, nothing original here. 3 stars
4/05/01 David Brown Good flicks baby. Totally money. 5 stars
3/30/01 Spetters Funny, enjoyable, well-played, but ultimately it doesn´t stick to the brain or heart. 3 stars
3/22/01 Thomas J. great guy flick...watch it with your girlfriend! 5 stars
3/20/01 TNT-6 Funny sometimes, but overall pretty boring. 3 stars
3/06/01 me I HATE this movie 1 stars
2/13/01 Jake Vince Vaughn was impressive. Film was overrated. I prefer Go. 3 stars
2/06/01 nympho joe heater is hot, the rest of the film is not 1 stars
2/06/01 Sully you didn't like this movie? then you're a complete fucking moron . go watch Meatballs 5 stars
2/05/01 bomberman retarded as they cum 1 stars
2/02/01 Wafer so good, someone stole this dvd from me 5 stars
1/14/01 Jim Fuck what is all the hype about. This was so freggin boring 1 stars
1/12/01 Skip Mild entertainment. Vince Vaughn was fun. 3 stars
11/29/00 SP fun and original 5 stars
11/29/00 Joe Smith MONEY 5 stars
9/17/00 Jason You're money baby! 5 stars
8/18/00 Matthew Bartley "Niki, it's Mikey" "Never call me again" 5 stars
7/11/00 Michael Grimm Sega rules!!! 5 stars
4/16/00 JDC "You asshole! Haven't you ever seen Boys N The Hood? Now one of us is going to get shot!" 5 stars
4/14/00 cb I must have Vince Vaughn. NOW! 5 stars
4/04/00 PJ Vince Vaughn was great, but Favreau was such a yenta, it had a couple funny parts that it 3 stars
3/25/00 Pizaster a must in every guy's collection, the SEGA scenes are hilarious. 4 stars
1/25/00 Chris Whitney it's so money 5 stars
1/10/00 Dan C. Destined to be a classic! I can watch it over &over. 5 stars
1/10/00 Will it's on, it's definitely on 5 stars
10/19/99 tom i didnt laugh or cry---something's not right 1 stars
10/13/99 Rory One of my favorite movies of all time. I own a copy and must have watched it twenty times. 5 stars
10/10/99 SJKelley Please. Two funny scenes, way too much effort to be a hip film. 2 stars
9/05/99 Weird Andy Gen X tripe. 2 stars
8/27/99 Bornslippy fucking great! Now swing it kid! 5 stars
8/26/99 LushZero a hip witty comedy on contemporary relationships. one of my favorite movie of all time 5 stars
8/04/99 Wafer's Dipstick This movie changed my outlook on life 5 stars
7/26/99 Stuart Smart a genuine see it again movie. 5 stars
7/06/99 J-Dogg One of those films that is so simple it's good. You LIKE it even if you don't want to. 4 stars
7/05/99 Pat Flanagan The movie of my life. Definately on the top of my favorites list!! 5 stars
6/17/99 CARL The NHL94 scenes are classic 5 stars
5/27/99 GothamDK A slice of West Coast city life. Others might not get it. Vaughn is a star! 5 stars
5/03/99 jenna bean i'm so thankful for movies like this that balance out the crap and make movies worth seeing 5 stars
4/26/99 Michael Grimm Vince Vaughn, wow!! 5 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson It's the money! (oh shit, please shoot me) 5 stars
4/14/99 Ami the Wonderbread brilliant acting and writing by all involved, it was so money, superfans get bitchslapped 5 stars
4/10/99 Keith Calder I can't help but love this movie. 5 stars
4/08/99 Daun Harner Great movie! Rockin' soundtrack! 5 stars
4/07/99 lianesse what does everyone like about this, i was so fucking bored 1 stars
4/04/99 Albert Are you kidding? Favreau sucks. 1 stars
3/31/99 The Big RAGOO it's money 5 stars
3/26/99 Miller Time Not just a movie, but a state of mind... 5 stars
3/17/99 Go Swans Did I miss something? 3 stars
3/12/99 The Two headed priest of Deptford Cult status achieved- definitely the money baby! Jedi Mind shit going on... 5 stars
3/10/99 Chris Saenz It was a good movie. Tell your mom she cooks good breakfast. 5 stars
3/08/99 Briona I love this movie. Favreau wrote great characters, I hope to see more of his work. 5 stars
3/05/99 Rob Lopez See this movie before going out on the town with the boys, you'll love yourself for it!!! 5 stars
3/04/99 Joe Danalis This is a great movie. 5 stars
3/02/99 Brad Brown BEST FUCKING MOVIE EVER MADE ABOUT DATING! 5 stars
2/27/99 Andrew your fucking babies for money!!! 5 stars
2/23/99 Beth Vince Vaughan is the man.This movie kicks so much ass 5 stars
2/22/99 julie i'm going to make wayne gretzky's head bleed for superfan #99 here 5 stars
2/20/99 Jeff Summers Incredible, funny, and warm, with the guys trying to help out their friend. 5 stars
2/18/99 Bishop I wanna be Trent. Best movie I've ever seen. 5 stars
2/17/99 Kooky Sal Aside from Favreau's annoying acting, this movie was good stuff. Vaughan was excellent. 4 stars
2/17/99 Little Bill It's so FUCKING money! 5 stars
2/16/99 roger estrada really great movie. Here, in Spain, Swingers doesn't have a lot of fans, but it's quite a 5 stars
2/14/99 Dave Hehhehh.e.... hmm 5 stars
2/11/99 Plato It's SOO MONEY Baby!! 5 stars
2/10/99 Craig Nusekabel (Fozzy Bear) This movie is the REAL thing about Gen-X. The Proof of that is, that NO one hype'd it that 5 stars
2/10/99 Rob Jemella It's about time! 5 stars
2/10/99 Anthony "Alby Williams The Movie Rocks Da Houze 5 stars
2/10/99 Andy Wagner one of the best movies to relate to yourself and your friends...MONEY!! 5 stars
2/09/99 Bill Elftman Jr This film redefines dating and fun in the 90's and the future! 5 stars
2/08/99 Tim GObs A movie to cherish, watch over and over again, and to live by. 5 stars
2/06/99 James Rigney the movie is the dope spot, you'll probably fall all over yourselves 5 stars
2/02/99 Matthew Bartley Its the money baby! 4 stars
2/01/99 dan moke I hated that freakin gay movie. what were they talkin about? 1 stars
2/01/99 Dan Berns This movie was money.... that's all there is to say. 5 stars
1/31/99 Saint very fruity with an indescribable tang! 5 stars
1/31/99 tom money!, it changed my life 5 stars
1/29/99 Sofia Griebel This movie KICKS ASS, i'm a girl and i love it 5 stars
1/27/99 becky Fuck, that is all i have to say, Fuck, The fuckin movie blew me away. I LOVE YOU VINCE 5 stars
1/27/99 Jamie Kaczor Puts some things in a whole new perspective 5 stars
1/27/99 Bishop Johnson This film is money baby! 5 stars
1/26/99 kathleen lavery it is the best movie i have seen in a loooooong time 5 stars
1/25/99 Kelly Cousins It's swinging baby, yeah! 5 stars
1/25/99 Wesley Pinnix Fuckin great film, it is so money! Vaughn and Favreau did great jobs. 5 stars
1/24/99 Funky Boss Best movie ever made. 5 stars
1/23/99 Adam Agress This movie is so fucking money! 5 stars
1/23/99 Trent Fregd & Sue Cali The swingers are so fucking money! 5 stars
1/23/99 jeremy This movie is "so fuckin money" 5 stars
1/22/99 J Sherburne Awesome movie, Jon Favreau was so hot and so were the swingin' tunes. It rocked. 5 stars
1/21/99 Eugene Mendelev Absolutely Terrific and True 5 stars
1/20/99 jared smith the only movie i have ever purchased! 5 stars
1/20/99 Adam Smith a subtle and effective answer to the eternal question: "what is cool?" 5 stars
1/20/99 jiminaconna A film so hip it can't see over it's pelvis. 5 stars
1/18/99 Josh Money 5 stars
1/15/99 Trent Walker It's money apart from Sue's lame attempt at convincing Mikey that he's the money! 5 stars
1/15/99 April I work at a video store, and I recommend this movie at least once a day 5 stars
1/15/99 Deva Diaz schweet sally 5 stars
1/13/99 Fyalon "Swingers" is my all time fave film and the best thing ever made. I simply loved it. 5 stars
1/13/99 Steeve Quessy LE meilleur 5 stars
1/12/99 Amy Dutton Loved it so much, I took a trip to L.A. and Vegas. Great flick. 5 stars
1/12/99 Johny Not as "money" as it thinks it is 3 stars
1/05/99 Tre Dogg Don't hire it ... BUY IT !!!!!!!! , one of the best movies i've ever seen , promise ! 5 stars
1/03/99 Shelly I love this movie its the best movie i've ever seen in my entire 5 stars
1/03/99 Bob Metzner This Movie is the Best i have ever seen! 5 stars
12/28/98 Cage You are so money and you don't even know it... 5 stars
12/27/98 Mark Hrywna The best, most realistic movie about dating, the opposite sex and everything else... 5 stars
12/26/98 Mike Worth seeing 5 stars
12/21/98 Chantily Bates It's the koolest movie ever!!! 5 stars
12/20/98 Paul McGee Fucking awesome! 5 stars
12/18/98 Leo The shit movie!!!!!! 5 stars
12/18/98 hugh gallagher this film is sooo money 5 stars
12/16/98 Alper Kasapoglu It truly is money 5 stars
12/16/98 Brad Moore soon to be a cult classic 5 stars
12/15/98 Ali Kasapoglu Fucking Brilliant 5 stars
12/15/98 Erin Manescaclchi I think that the movie was fucking money. 5 stars
12/14/98 Michael Kay One of the best films ive ever seen...god i wish i had a friend like trent!! 5 stars
12/14/98 Jules Good setting for some very unoriginal humour. 3 stars
12/14/98 sarah so awsome and fun, just a great fun movie! 5 stars
12/14/98 Trish Bure it's the shit. sweet film! 5 stars
12/13/98 Jen L. Fucking Kick Ass--I LOVE TRENT 5 stars
12/11/98 Trent brilliant 5 stars
12/11/98 Jonsson12@hotmail.com where do all the high school girls hang out?? 5 stars
12/10/98 Dustin Folden They're gonna give Daddy the Rainman Suite!!! Vegas Baby, Vegas 5 stars
12/09/98 matt rosen YOUR SO MONEY AND YOU DONT EVEN KNOW IT 5 stars
12/08/98 Marc DeVincentis T gets nothin' in the end. 5 stars
12/08/98 marshall Vegas Baby, Vegas! 5 stars
12/07/98 MSK Absolutely AWESOME movie. Vince is 2 Die 4! <grin> 5 stars
12/06/98 sue so money 5 stars
12/05/98 Leah Trent is so fucking money, baby!! 5 stars
12/04/98 Jason great 5 stars
12/03/98 ANDY For once, a great guy movie 5 stars
12/02/98 Paul Taylor I think I'm Mikey.... 5 stars
12/02/98 Crystal Dawn The bomb-ass film of the decade! 5 stars
12/02/98 kristin rickard It's pure money, baby! 5 stars
12/01/98 brian MONEY!!! 5 stars
12/01/98 Jim Bredberg Sets the rules for dating 5 stars
11/25/98 katharina "hi, this is nikki. leave a message." one of my personal all -time favs. th writing kicks 5 stars
11/25/98 Jimmy White must see before you looking for honeys 5 stars
11/24/98 Anna A few Swingers lines help guys get chicks alright, but SKY ROCKETS chicks' chances w/ guys! 5 stars
11/24/98 Walt Zink this movie is what guys ARE. it's all regional, and i love the overkill of the catch phrase 5 stars
11/24/98 Melanie This movie is SO MONEY! It's like a BIG BEAR! 5 stars
11/24/98 thejosh what the fuck is house of pain gonna do? 5 stars
11/23/98 Greg My all-time favorite movie-my new bible 5 stars
11/23/98 wayne One of the best films ever 5 stars
11/20/98 Evil Buffy swinging film. love vince vaugn. loved it. thought it funny even though i'm a girl 5 stars
11/19/98 FratDogg My favorite movie of all times!! It's the best, baby! 5 stars
11/19/98 Dano No doubt about it, one of the greatest. Independent films are always the best. 5 stars
11/18/98 J. Pickard This is THE guy movie to end all guy movies. Minus the action most guy films have. 5 stars
11/18/98 Steve Gibbs Great movie, my favorite. A must see for all men. 5 stars
11/18/98 positive my cats breath smells like cat food 5 stars
11/17/98 Jules Good moments, great dialogue. But slow and at times brutally stupid. 3 stars
11/17/98 "Double Down It was money baby 5 stars
11/17/98 Bob Castrone A life changing movie for every guy out there with no self confidence 5 stars
11/13/98 Mike Astle This movie rocks!!!! It has changed my life! I've seen it at least 10 times. 5 stars
11/12/98 C.K. Wilson one of the all time great films for those who want to sit around, drink and laugh out loud 5 stars
11/11/98 Lord Of The Dunce I love this movie. Vaughan really is the balls. 5 stars
11/11/98 Scott Wingerter Simply put, Amazing 5 stars
11/11/98 Brandon It's so fucking money! 5 stars
11/10/98 Poss what being single is all about: women, beer, and nintendo 5 stars
11/07/98 T. A. Schumann If you don't love this movie, you're probably dead. 5 stars
11/07/98 Jayson Lauden This movie has a great script with intricate dialogue, and good charactor interaction. 5 stars
11/07/98 Robert Melnik coolest damn flick ever concieved 5 stars
11/06/98 tim coates money 5 stars
11/06/98 Paul Csaszar It fucking kicks ass 5 stars
11/04/98 Oney Temple Kick Ass 5 stars
11/03/98 Heather Ault This movie is one of the absolute best swing flicks ever!!! I wish there were more Mikes... 5 stars
11/02/98 Amy This movie is so MONEY!!! 5 stars
11/01/98 Lars This film was really money. No small change here. Just dead presidents drifting aimlessly 5 stars
10/31/98 Jillian Fantozzi This movie is fucking awesome---i wanna grownsup too!! 5 stars
10/31/98 D.J. Carwile Fucking Awesome 5 stars
10/30/98 Good Brooks This movie was phat!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/29/98 Mikey Best Movie I've Seen 5 stars
10/28/98 cyanide rush "what the fucka re u carrying a gun for?what incase someone steps to u snoopdog?" 5 stars
10/27/98 Mike Lawson & Tim Smith This movie kicks ass. Everyone who says different should beaten...and is not money. 5 stars
10/24/98 grunter modest, unassuming, so fucking money it hurts; I saw it 5 times in the theatre. 5 stars
10/07/98 Maegs Overrated, but ok 4 stars
9/26/98 Pat Flanagan Fucking money baby!! I loved the first time I saw it on tape, and then every time after! 5 stars
9/24/98 Nate Dogg Fan-fuckin-tasic 5 stars
9/20/98 MR HOLLYWOOD COOL AS !!! (MONEY MAN MONEY)!!!! (though Favreau sucked) 4 stars
9/05/98 bizzy eeee. lovely. 4 stars
8/27/98 Mister Whoopee Loved Vince, hated Favreau. He was awful. 4 stars
8/25/98 The Capital City Goofball This film just didn't realise how money it was. 4 stars
8/23/98 Superfly Vince Vaughn is money, baby. 5 stars
8/21/98 Pete I so loved this flick. So many cool little bits that I greatly enjoyed. 5 stars
8/16/98 Johny eh. 3 stars
8/14/98 {{{OZ}}} Nothing but enjoyment here. A good low budget talky. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Oct-1996 (R)
  DVD: 24-Sep-2002

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Doug Liman

Written by
  Jon Favreau

Cast
  Jon Favreau
  Vince Vaughan
  Ron Livingstone
  Patrick Van Horn
  Alex Désert
  Heather Graham



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast