More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.8

Awesome: 7.5%
Worth A Look: 5%
Average: 10%
Pretty Bad: 15%
Total Crap62.5%

3 reviews, 62 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Come Drink with Me by Jay Seaver

Fearless Hyena, The by Jay Seaver

Treatment, The by Jay Seaver

Waste Land (2014) by Jay Seaver

I Am Trash by Jay Seaver

Equalizer, The by Brett Gallman

I Am Here (2014/II) by Jay Seaver

Equalizer, The by Peter Sobczynski

Boxtrolls, The by Peter Sobczynski

Man From Reno by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Superman IV: The Quest For Peace
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"*I* could've kicked Superman's ass in this movie."
1 stars

Superman wasn't killed by Doomsday, he was killed by this utterly stupid sequel.

So Superman's all powerful. He's the man of tomorrow, a god among men. He's the Big Blue, for cryin' out loud. Truth, justice, and the American way, all that stuff.

But he takes it upon himself to rid the world of nuclear weapons, thereby becoming the world's conscience.

Lex Luthor sets some doohickey up where the weapons, after being thrown into the sun, create a new superpowered badguy named, what else, Nuclear Man. He wears black and gold and has long fingernails and flowing blond hair, so you know he's a badass. Or a disco queen. And he basically kicks the Big S's butt and leaves him with a scratch that amounts to radiation poisoning or somesuch. Supes holes up in Clark Kent's apartment until Lois shows up with a new suit. Then he beats the bad guys, saves the world, and admits he was wrong.

Bah.

This was the second franchise killer for Superman. Apparently the abomination of Superman III wasn't enough. So here we have Chris Reeve, trying his damndest to still bring respect to the character, while Gene Hackman is reduced to sharing screen time with Jon Cryer. The whole "we are the world" message is lame.

But hey, it's not as lame as Kryptonite made out of tar, right? Wrong.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=980&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/15/98 00:23:00
[printer] printer-friendly format  
DC Characters: For more in the DC Characters series, click here.

User Comments

6/14/13 PAUL SHORTT CHEESY,BORING ADDITION WITH POOR EFFECTS 1 stars
6/09/13 Neil I ask you god what have we done to deserve this? 1 stars
12/11/12 Andrea I suppose when you see 'Cannon films' on a poster, you should expect the worst! 1 stars
8/14/10 art I THOUGHT THIS SEQUAL WAS a HALLUCINATION! 1 stars
7/06/10 Mark Hughes Wow 1 strand of his hair can hold something that heavy...but 1 snip of a scissors...gone!!! 1 stars
6/21/10 Sarah Almost as bad as Jaws 4, but not quite! 1 stars
1/03/10 art ROSS WEBSTER from SUPERMAN 3 MAKES LEx luthor look like a CHOIRBOY! 1 stars
7/19/09 scott heatherley Unintentionally hilarious. 4 stars
7/26/08 The Dork Knight in retrospect, Superman Returns makes this one look good 3 stars
10/01/07 Andrew Kercher Hackman's return a plus, but nerdy nephew & Nuke Man? Give me a break, til Superman Returns 3 stars
9/30/07 STEVE WOODIER THE BEST SUPERMAN FILM! RELEVANT! 5 stars
2/03/07 Vip Ebriega Cannon films ruined a great hero. 2 stars
12/26/06 johnnyfog Nuclear Man's outfit looked like male lingere 1 stars
12/03/06 David Even worse than the god-awful third 1 stars
11/25/06 Melissa Tokarczyk Not the best from Superman. 2 stars
8/25/06 David Cohen Reeve pushes a ham fisted moral agenda and tries to make it okay by wearing a super suit 1 stars
7/19/06 W Crank one out every night watching this movie. 5 stars
7/11/06 Dez 100% crap. Not even worth 1 STAR!! 1 stars
6/27/06 Criddic2 Bad effects, messy script ruin series 2 stars
6/05/06 drydock54321 what's happened to the writing? 2 bad ones in a row. 2 stars
4/30/06 stallone stephen i like superman character,its such a nice film,nobody matches to Christopher Reeve. 5 stars
1/11/06 JM Synth It's sincertity finished the series w/ a little dignity after enjoyable but comedy heavy 3 3 stars
12/29/05 tony Can't they see that the third one sucked, so why a fourth? 1 stars
11/10/05 BarronFuckoff Sure, it's boring and stupid with bad FX, but...it's still better than SUPERMAN III. 2 stars
8/30/05 ES Series has too much religion for a comic book made for kids, this movie was ok 4 stars
7/12/05 Andrew soon followed by Superman 5: the need to explain what the hell we were thinking. 1 stars
6/23/05 azpinoy The worst of the Superman series 1 stars
6/23/05 Eric Rollins Villain had potential, so sad, so very sad. 2 stars
5/11/05 Indrid Cold Sure there's a lot fo 80s cheesiness, but why do people say it's a such a disaster? 3 stars
2/06/05 Jeff Anderson IT'S A CRAPPY CANNON FILM, WHAT DID YOU EXPECT! The production values TRULY, TRULY SUCKED!! 1 stars
1/20/05 Laurian Diaconescu The first two Superman movies carry this one on their backs. It has its moments though. 3 stars
12/09/04 Sugarfoot What An Embarrassment! 1 stars
9/04/04 T.B. This the worst sequel ever made! 1 stars
7/29/04 American Slasher Goddess Even worse then Part 3. 1 stars
7/11/04 David Fowler Shitty, stupid, and cheap. Still better than SIII. BTW it's Reeve & Siegfried. No s, No z 2 stars
12/25/03 Kron PERFECT FILM 5 stars
12/25/03 ES The best of the series 5 stars
12/07/03 john Chris Reeve is a great Superman but he movie is terrible 1 stars
3/22/03 Jack Sommersby So palpably awful it's a wee bit fun on a trashy level. 2 stars
1/21/03 Matt Thiel Superman 3 feels like a movie. This shit does not. Hacked down from 134 to 90 mintues. 1 stars
11/01/02 Charles Tatum Why does Reeve think so little of his audience? 1 stars
8/16/02 Shaun to tell you the truth, I dont know what to think of this movie. But I was never bored, 3 stars
7/31/02 KMG CHEESY EIGHTIES WARDROBES, ALONG W/ OBNOXIOUS JON CRYER CHARACTER,PLUS TOO MANY STEREOTYPES 2 stars
7/20/02 Shams Huque I make myself believe the first two films are completely separate to this one... 2 stars
1/28/02 kjjjj thismovie bites on ice !!!!! 1 stars
10/31/01 Andrew Carden There Were Actually A Few Cool Scenes, but Only Get It At The Rental Store for 99 cents. 3 stars
7/04/01 Zuma Movie equivalent of a car wreck ... don't wanna look but can't help it. Make it go away! 1 stars
6/27/01 Not as bad as everyone thinks...... Not as bad as everyone thinks. Has a pretty good story and great musical score! 4 stars
5/22/01 Monster W. Kung An insult to the viewer's intelligence. The scene with the moon is pure, unadultered shit. 1 stars
5/03/01 Erick WOW. The comments on here in support of this film show the obvious lack of taste. Crap! 1 stars
4/11/01 Rennie Give me a break, it wasn't THAT bad. 2 stars
9/17/00 total th eonly good thing about this is the message. absolute cheese. 1 stars
4/24/00 Nadine Eugene Nice casting 4 stars
2/28/00 leon best superman movie of all time 5 stars
1/25/00 Bob Barker Superman & Batman both should have stopped after two movies. Wow. 1 stars
1/09/00 John Markham WOW! was this a bad movie or what? A real sewer dweller. 1 stars
6/24/99 Muff Diver I should have known what I was getting when it only cost me 58 cents to rent this. 2 stars
4/10/99 Keith Calder I found this movie entertainingly bad. Like a guide on how to kill a franchise 80s style. 3 stars
4/03/99 Scott I didn't think they could stoop lower then III. I've been proved wrong. 1 stars
11/27/98 Mr.Pink One of the worst movies ever!!!!!! 1 stars
10/24/98 Kwyjibo Not a positive word to say about this bollocks. 1 stars
9/15/98 Negative Creep Christ is this film bad Batman 4 at least was made well, this crap is marred by bad editing 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Jul-1987 (PG)
  DVD: 28-Nov-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast