More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.8

Awesome: 7.5%
Worth A Look: 5%
Average: 10%
Pretty Bad: 15%
Total Crap62.5%

3 reviews, 62 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Hobbit, The: The Battle of the Five Armies by Peter Sobczynski

Strong Man, The by Jay Seaver

Top Five by Jay Seaver

Zero Motivation by Jay Seaver

Exodus: Gods and Kings by Peter Sobczynski

Imitation Game, The by Peter Sobczynski

It Follows by Jay Seaver

Sea Fog (Haemoo) by Jay Seaver

Men, Women & Children by Daniel Kelly

Best of Me, The by Jaycie

subscribe to this feed


Superman IV: The Quest For Peace
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by the Grinch

"Look up in the sky! It's a bird, it's a plane..no, it's a bomb!"
1 stars

Cripes, saw this movie on cable the other day (hey, I've been wheedled to review these forgotten "gems"). I think Chris Reeves' horse saw this movie and wanted some payback. Ok, that joke was in poor taste, but so is this turkey of a flick...now, who's got the carving knife?

Featuring low points in the careers of Reeves and Hackman, and probably the LAST point in Jon Cryer's career before he went on to Sitcom oblivion, Supe 4 is as fascinating to watch as it is gloriously weak. Its naive script sabotages it before it's even begun. Chris Reeves is a fine actor, but he needs to go back to Screenwriting 101. This is one bomb that doesn't explode, it just fizzles out.

I don't think I need to summarize the plot for you as others did an excellent job already...The Supe meddles in human political affairs, it backfires, and the Supe realizes that people need to be allowed to exercise their free will, end of story, tralalala, in march the Ewoks and Big Bird and the Supe and everyone skips off into the sunset to pick flowers with their drum-circle buddies. The End.

Just when you thought things couldn't get worse after Superman 3...I honestly don't know who greenlighted this phenomenally bad idea. Couldn't they have just made this into one of those comics that they giveaway at no-nuke rallies or something? I mean, cmon, this is equivalent to making a movie out of the Wonder Woman comic where she teaches you about the importance of buckling up.
You know, yah, I'm willing to learn anything Wonder Women has to teach me, especially as pertains to belts, but a movie? .

Probably the most hilarious aspect of the Supe IV is the incredibly limp-noodled climax: New-Klee-Ar Man and Stuporman fighting on the moon. I'm sitting here watching this pathetic blonde super-aryan with his frosted-wheat hair and Reeves with his Memphis Mafia brunette coif...they're bitchsmacking each other in questionable zero gravity simulations and I can't help but laugh uncontrollably. That was probably the best part in this movie. It resembled a cat-fight between Zigfried and Roy...*SHHMACK!* "You BEEETCH, zis iz last time you are borrowing my sequined leiderhosen, Roy!" Hello Ziegfried! Hello ROY! I'll bet Joel Shumacher was involved with this movie in some way...call it a hunch.

I honestly think these last two Superman movies are evil...EEEEVIILLLE! There's some sort of Superman curse or
something affecting most of the actors who appeared in these movies...we all know what happened to Chris (as if TV human interest programs will let us forget)...and have you seen Richard Pryor lately? Margot Kidder lost all her teeth and her career went down the tubes. Seen Jon Cryer in any movies lately? Hmmm...I smell an expose.

There's talk of negotiations for a FIFTH Superman movie starring, get this, Nicholas Cage. Bwahaha! I ask, haven't enough lives been sacrificed to Golan Globus? Besides, what would they call it? I suggest SUPERMAN V: The Quest For a Good Hair-Peace.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=980&reviewer=156
originally posted: 12/18/00 20:44:00
[printer] printer-friendly format  
DC Characters: For more in the DC Characters series, click here.

User Comments

6/14/13 PAUL SHORTT CHEESY,BORING ADDITION WITH POOR EFFECTS 1 stars
6/09/13 Neil I ask you god what have we done to deserve this? 1 stars
12/11/12 Andrea I suppose when you see 'Cannon films' on a poster, you should expect the worst! 1 stars
8/14/10 art I THOUGHT THIS SEQUAL WAS a HALLUCINATION! 1 stars
7/06/10 Mark Hughes Wow 1 strand of his hair can hold something that heavy...but 1 snip of a scissors...gone!!! 1 stars
6/21/10 Sarah Almost as bad as Jaws 4, but not quite! 1 stars
1/03/10 art ROSS WEBSTER from SUPERMAN 3 MAKES LEx luthor look like a CHOIRBOY! 1 stars
7/19/09 scott heatherley Unintentionally hilarious. 4 stars
7/26/08 The Dork Knight in retrospect, Superman Returns makes this one look good 3 stars
10/01/07 Andrew Kercher Hackman's return a plus, but nerdy nephew & Nuke Man? Give me a break, til Superman Returns 3 stars
9/30/07 STEVE WOODIER THE BEST SUPERMAN FILM! RELEVANT! 5 stars
2/03/07 Vip Ebriega Cannon films ruined a great hero. 2 stars
12/26/06 johnnyfog Nuclear Man's outfit looked like male lingere 1 stars
12/03/06 David Even worse than the god-awful third 1 stars
11/25/06 Melissa Tokarczyk Not the best from Superman. 2 stars
8/25/06 David Cohen Reeve pushes a ham fisted moral agenda and tries to make it okay by wearing a super suit 1 stars
7/19/06 W Crank one out every night watching this movie. 5 stars
7/11/06 Dez 100% crap. Not even worth 1 STAR!! 1 stars
6/27/06 Criddic2 Bad effects, messy script ruin series 2 stars
6/05/06 drydock54321 what's happened to the writing? 2 bad ones in a row. 2 stars
4/30/06 stallone stephen i like superman character,its such a nice film,nobody matches to Christopher Reeve. 5 stars
1/11/06 JM Synth It's sincertity finished the series w/ a little dignity after enjoyable but comedy heavy 3 3 stars
12/29/05 tony Can't they see that the third one sucked, so why a fourth? 1 stars
11/10/05 BarronFuckoff Sure, it's boring and stupid with bad FX, but...it's still better than SUPERMAN III. 2 stars
8/30/05 ES Series has too much religion for a comic book made for kids, this movie was ok 4 stars
7/12/05 Andrew soon followed by Superman 5: the need to explain what the hell we were thinking. 1 stars
6/23/05 azpinoy The worst of the Superman series 1 stars
6/23/05 Eric Rollins Villain had potential, so sad, so very sad. 2 stars
5/11/05 Indrid Cold Sure there's a lot fo 80s cheesiness, but why do people say it's a such a disaster? 3 stars
2/06/05 Jeff Anderson IT'S A CRAPPY CANNON FILM, WHAT DID YOU EXPECT! The production values TRULY, TRULY SUCKED!! 1 stars
1/20/05 Laurian Diaconescu The first two Superman movies carry this one on their backs. It has its moments though. 3 stars
12/09/04 Sugarfoot What An Embarrassment! 1 stars
9/04/04 T.B. This the worst sequel ever made! 1 stars
7/29/04 American Slasher Goddess Even worse then Part 3. 1 stars
7/11/04 David Fowler Shitty, stupid, and cheap. Still better than SIII. BTW it's Reeve & Siegfried. No s, No z 2 stars
12/25/03 Kron PERFECT FILM 5 stars
12/25/03 ES The best of the series 5 stars
12/07/03 john Chris Reeve is a great Superman but he movie is terrible 1 stars
3/22/03 Jack Sommersby So palpably awful it's a wee bit fun on a trashy level. 2 stars
1/21/03 Matt Thiel Superman 3 feels like a movie. This shit does not. Hacked down from 134 to 90 mintues. 1 stars
11/01/02 Charles Tatum Why does Reeve think so little of his audience? 1 stars
8/16/02 Shaun to tell you the truth, I dont know what to think of this movie. But I was never bored, 3 stars
7/31/02 KMG CHEESY EIGHTIES WARDROBES, ALONG W/ OBNOXIOUS JON CRYER CHARACTER,PLUS TOO MANY STEREOTYPES 2 stars
7/20/02 Shams Huque I make myself believe the first two films are completely separate to this one... 2 stars
1/28/02 kjjjj thismovie bites on ice !!!!! 1 stars
10/31/01 Andrew Carden There Were Actually A Few Cool Scenes, but Only Get It At The Rental Store for 99 cents. 3 stars
7/04/01 Zuma Movie equivalent of a car wreck ... don't wanna look but can't help it. Make it go away! 1 stars
6/27/01 Not as bad as everyone thinks...... Not as bad as everyone thinks. Has a pretty good story and great musical score! 4 stars
5/22/01 Monster W. Kung An insult to the viewer's intelligence. The scene with the moon is pure, unadultered shit. 1 stars
5/03/01 Erick WOW. The comments on here in support of this film show the obvious lack of taste. Crap! 1 stars
4/11/01 Rennie Give me a break, it wasn't THAT bad. 2 stars
9/17/00 total th eonly good thing about this is the message. absolute cheese. 1 stars
4/24/00 Nadine Eugene Nice casting 4 stars
2/28/00 leon best superman movie of all time 5 stars
1/25/00 Bob Barker Superman & Batman both should have stopped after two movies. Wow. 1 stars
1/09/00 John Markham WOW! was this a bad movie or what? A real sewer dweller. 1 stars
6/24/99 Muff Diver I should have known what I was getting when it only cost me 58 cents to rent this. 2 stars
4/10/99 Keith Calder I found this movie entertainingly bad. Like a guide on how to kill a franchise 80s style. 3 stars
4/03/99 Scott I didn't think they could stoop lower then III. I've been proved wrong. 1 stars
11/27/98 Mr.Pink One of the worst movies ever!!!!!! 1 stars
10/24/98 Kwyjibo Not a positive word to say about this bollocks. 1 stars
9/15/98 Negative Creep Christ is this film bad Batman 4 at least was made well, this crap is marred by bad editing 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Jul-1987 (PG)
  DVD: 28-Nov-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast