More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.6

Awesome64.15%
Worth A Look: 32.08%
Average: 3.77%
Pretty Bad: 0%
Total Crap: 0%

2 reviews, 41 user ratings


Latest Reviews

That Demon Within by Jay Seaver

Transcendence by Brett Gallman

Amazing Spider-Man 2, The by Daniel Kelly

Hysteria by Jack Sommersby

Congress, The by Jay Seaver

Love Eternal by Jay Seaver

Ten (2014) by Jay Seaver

Transcendence by Peter Sobczynski

Other Woman, The (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Starry Eyes by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Trading Places
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Oh, ho, ho, thank you for correcting my English which stinks!"
4 stars

Looking good, Billy Ray!

Louis (Dan Ayroyd) is rich. Billy Ray (Eddie Murphy) is not. Two brothers, Mortimer and Randolph Duke (Don Ameche and Ralph Bellamy) decide to make a wager. They'll take Billy Ray off the street and turn him from a bum into a rich man, a successful businessman, overnight. In turn, they'll ruin Louis' life, making him a street bum, seeing if he decides to resort to a life of crime since he's lost everything.

Louis and Billy Ray figure it all out, then decide to work together to bring the Duke brothers down.

OK, it's a little weird, but it's still pretty funny.

This is probably one of the best roles for both Aykroyd and Murphy, plus you get a peek at Jamie Lee Curtis' headlights, if that's your sort of thing.

Directed by John Landis (pre-suckiness Landis, long before The Stupids), it's actually probably a movie everyone's seen, but few will admit to liking.

Feeling good, Louis!

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=985&reviewer=7
originally posted: 10/10/98 01:34:04
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/14/14 PAUL SHORTT APPEALING, WITTY SOCIAL SATIRE WITH ENGAGING PERFORMANCES 4 stars
6/03/13 Ron Great stuff! 5 stars
8/29/08 Shaun Wallner This movie has some great scenes in it. 5 stars
6/29/07 ROB SHADICK $5 DOLLARS, MAYBE IL GOT TO THE MOVIES BY MY SELF! 5 stars
12/26/06 johnnyfog Aykroyd's rich guy accent grates, but funny anyway. "FEELIN' GOOD BILLY RAY!" 5 stars
11/23/06 Josh Racine Wonderful comedy film. 5 stars
8/06/06 Chris Wilbik One of my favorite movies 5 stars
1/23/05 Jeff Anderson ANOTHER TRUE PHILADELPHIA CLASSIC! John Landis & his great, spirited cast deserve praise!!! 5 stars
12/22/04 Landshark Raise a toast and strike the Liberty pose, you've just pulled a Billy Ray Valentine! 5 stars
9/01/04 A upton A classic 5 stars
8/18/04 Siamese Toga Princess i luv u, dan aykroyd!!! 5 stars
5/05/04 Chris Allen this movie great! they dont make like this any more 5 stars
5/04/04 Jack Sommersby Flawed but pretty damn irresistable. Wonderfully acted by all. 4 stars
1/06/04 Monster W. Kung Eeehhh... it's ok. And Tatum, I agree... why the fuck do they play it so much? 3 stars
12/18/03 Made In America 122 AWSOME SO COOL ROCK ON PRIGGISH LOUIS WINTHORPE THE 3RD! 5 stars
11/28/03 Samuel good one 4 stars
8/25/03 doug good 5 stars
7/13/03 Farnq Y when we wanted a jacuzzi we had to fart in the tub 5 stars
3/14/03 Mike FM Murphy's best effort to date. "Who put out their Kool's in my rug?" His best role ever. 4 stars
2/11/03 R.W. Welch Rather clever take on prince & pauper theme with nice casting. 4 stars
10/15/02 Charles Tatum Funny, but does cable TV have to play it EVERY damn day? 4 stars
8/03/02 Justin Dan Aykroyd and Eddie Murphy are terrific! 5 stars
5/19/02 Dark Barøn Pretty darn good movie. 5 stars
4/06/02 Justin Dan Aykroyd and Eddie Murphy are so fuckin' cool! 5 stars
1/14/02 Big Rod Very good movie. The shots of the TT's freaked out my sociology class 5 stars
9/14/01 Butterbean It's classic how it turns out that those old fucks did everything on a dollar bet! 5 stars
8/26/01 Monster W. Kung Funny. Nothing special, but a good and light two hours spent. 4 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa I thought Eddie Murphy was very funny. 4 stars
7/05/01 TLsmooth JLC is a man. 4 stars
6/25/01 J An absolute 80's classic! 5 stars
4/05/01 Andrew Carden Manages to hold itself together, but for the first time Eddie's annoying! 3 stars
3/26/01 Mr. Money Hooterbags Good movie except the part on the train. Take that whole train section out and it's great! 4 stars
2/07/01 Turtle Dan Aykroyd and Eddie Murphy are irresistibly funny! 4 stars
1/31/01 Tim Gee ROTFLMAO (except for the gorilla silliness) 5 stars
12/06/00 Cristopher Revilla it was good, worth your time 5 stars
3/30/00 Tim G. Hilariously funny, although with a few corny moments. 5 stars
3/24/00 Znarf Eddie Murphy is a comical genius. "Billy Ray Valentine... Capricorn" 5 stars
11/03/99 carrotan really funny 5 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob Infinitely quotable. Perhaps the best comedy of the '80's. 5 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo Nice hooters and Eddie really did peak here. Pity he's doing kiddie crap now. 5 stars
10/14/98 Chi-Fan Hu One Eddie murphy's best. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Jun-1983 (R)
  DVD: 05-Jun-2007

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast