More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.18

Awesome: 38.33%
Worth A Look48.33%
Average: 10%
Pretty Bad: 0%
Total Crap: 3.33%

3 reviews, 42 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Congress, The by Jay Seaver

Love Eternal by Jay Seaver

Ten (2014) by Jay Seaver

Transcendence by Peter Sobczynski

Other Woman, The (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Starry Eyes by Jay Seaver

American Jesus by Jay Seaver

Coastlines by Jack Sommersby

Joe by Jay Seaver

Raid 2, The by Brett Gallman

subscribe to this feed


WarGames
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"Shall. We. Play. A. Game?"
4 stars

One of my all time favorite movies. Why? Simple: geeks, armageddon, supercomputers, the 80's, Ally Sheedy, and wouldn't you prefer a good game of chess?

This is, in my humble, unprofessional opinon, one of the best science thrillers ever. Because it's got elements of science fiction (and all the right ones - talking computers just kick ass), but what carries the movie is it's timeless plot.

A young hero, outcast by his peers, mistakenly endangers the welfare of the planet - basically to impress a girl. Also in the pursuit of knowledge, but basically to impress a girl. He seeks the help of an old wise man, who begrudgingly accepts to help them. However, it is the courage of the young hero which eventually prevails. A machine is humanized, the earth is saved, and the hero get's the girl. Awwww yeah.

Matthew Broderick is just plain cool. I think my strange attraction to geeks began with this movie. See, he's a dork, but he saves the planet, see? That makes him hot.

Ally Sheedy rocks my world. She can diss Hollywood as much as she wants in interviews, and then she gets MORE work than before. She rules.

Joshua is cool, too. He's the best talking supercomputer ever. Seriously. In my opinon. Cause he's like, a learner. And he's not evil. He does it because Broderick fucked up, not 'cause he's evil or anything.

Warning: this movie is very corny, and quite predictable.

But it kicks ass nonetheless. 4 sporks. It would be 5, but even I have to admit how cheesy it is.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=987&reviewer=6
originally posted: 09/26/98 10:53:52
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/02/10 bored mom The tictactoe finale is stupid, but yeah, why does the wiz kid get such a hot girlfriend? 4 stars
7/24/10 sunny day I'd also love to be a computer expert with a hot girl friend who always hangs out with me. 4 stars
4/17/10 PAUL SHORTT INTRIGUING AND ENTERTAINING 3 stars
3/27/10 Omar I grew up with this great film. 5 stars
8/28/08 michael thomas good one for it's day, till i figured the whole thing out it kept me on the edge of my seat 5 stars
8/27/08 Shaun Wallner Interesting storyline. 3 stars
6/09/06 Joshua Brilliant. 5 stars
12/06/05 John Dog This was my favorite movie, when I was a kid. 5 stars
4/18/05 Ronin This is THE film that inspired many real world hackers. Obvioulsy for a reason 5 stars
2/23/05 Jeff Anderson A true computer hacker film & BRILLIANT AT THAT! Broderick, Sheedy, & Coleman ARE TERRIFIC! 5 stars
1/20/04 Movie Nerd The coolest hacker movie ever! 5 stars
10/10/03 JimmyC Excellent Movie 5 stars
7/19/03 J.S. Great thriller! 5 stars
5/08/03 defranco71 Great hacker film. 5 stars
3/12/03 Hi there A great hacker movie. 5 stars
3/06/03 HOCKEYCRAZED I THOUGHT THIS FILM, FOR THE TIMES ABSOLUTELY ROCKED. 5 stars
1/12/03 rotten f. milk 2 The best computer movie ever created. 5 stars
12/31/02 Jack Sommersby Crackerjack entertainment. 5 stars
12/17/02 rotten s. milk The best hacker movie? The best 80's movie? Probably both. 5 stars
11/06/02 moviemachine The Best Film Of The 80's. 5 stars
11/01/02 Jay What can I say? The best hacker film I have ever seen! 5 stars
10/18/02 Jay I dare anyone who doesn't like this movie to smash my penis and balls with a steel shoe!!!! 5 stars
10/16/02 Charles Tatum See, the '80's had some good movies... 4 stars
10/10/02 Justin The best hacker movie ever! 5 stars
8/07/02 Nevz A very imaginative film, lots of surprises 4 stars
7/27/02 moviemachine My absolute favorite movie!!! 5 stars
7/24/02 Dark Barøn Tic-Tac-Toe's always ending in a tie! Haven't tried Hollywood Squares? It's learning.... 3 stars
7/12/02 R.W. Welch If you can buy the far-out premise, it's quite an entertaining pic. 4 stars
4/05/02 Justin My favorite film! It's one of the best movies I've ever seen! 5 stars
2/25/02 Mark L A bit dated today, but a lot of fun for 80s kids. 4 stars
11/03/01 Andrew Carden Great Script and Plot, but The Movie Is Very Boring and Unexciting. 3 stars
8/31/01 Paul A. "GringoLatino" Still great even when I saw it back in'83;anyone who thinks this sucks,you don't know films 5 stars
8/29/01 david This Sucks 1 stars
3/26/01 Pissy Sparkplug Shall we play a game? No, but I'd like to watch Wargames again. 4 stars
3/07/01 Jake Dangerous fun. 4 stars
10/17/00 Dan Ally Sheedy is an eternal standout. She's great. The movie very nearly gets 4stars, nearly. 3 stars
3/09/00 David Rogers Real dramatic but boring. 3 stars
6/16/99 Sean 80s Classic, still holds true today 5 stars
5/24/99 HOWARD STERN GOOD OVERALL MOVIE 4 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink It bored the the hell out of me. 1 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob A classic by a director named 'bad ham'. Great cast. 4 stars
9/15/98 tessSpork good entertainment with good story line, though a touch 'yeah right!', but that's movies. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  03-Jun-1983 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Sep-1983




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast