More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3

Awesome: 6.78%
Worth A Look: 23.73%
Average35.59%
Pretty Bad: 30.51%
Total Crap: 3.39%

5 reviews, 29 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Loving Vincent by Jay Seaver

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Replacement Killers, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by rotten f. milk

"Proof that alls you need's a gun to get by in L.A"
4 stars

In every sense of the word, this is one trendy movie. It is the sheep of all films.

Let me justify myself.

To wit:

Chow Yun Fat. Used to capitalize upon Jackie Chan's Hong Kong films in North America, them Hollywood peoples said, "Hey, look at this: there's another Chinese guy and he's famous too!" "Well, gee, Cletus... what's the feller's name?" "His name's Chow Yer Fat er somfin." "Shower Cat? GREAT! GET 'IM!"

Now, Mr. Fat's (or is it Mr. Chow's?) abilities as an actor as one can tell from this movie is not yet known. He rarely speaks. One thing's for sure, Chow Yun is one damn good action star.

Elemental Feeling. The soundtrack is great. Electronica. Very trendy. The camera angles, the sets, the colours used... all, infinitely more interesting than Chow Yun Fat himself.

That in itself ain't all that bad, however. Them Hollywood Peoples are only doing what they know best -- assuming we don't think.

However, that aside, the movie is very entertaining. Chow Yun Fat breaks the mould of the stereotype for East Asian action flicks. That being there's no (NONE) karate chopping n' shit. It's great to see as an Asian that doesn't know karate n' shit.

The plot itself is simplistic, and at most, non-existent. All you need to know is that Chow is a man who kills for a living, but won't kill a kid. And therefore will be killed. Not much to think about, eh? Also, they've got Mira Sorvino in it. The fanboys in the crowd have got to like that.

Very Entertaining.

This is a great movie to rent and to connect your stereo to the VCR and BLAST IT ALL THE WAY. It's sensical candy.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=99&reviewer=3
originally posted: 10/28/98 20:12:35
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/11/15 david froman average action flick 3 stars
12/21/10 Josie Cotton is a goddess A very entertaning action/drama 4 stars
10/12/08 Mr.Hyde Blasphame, ya'll can blow me 5 stars
12/26/06 johnnyfog UNFULFILLING. but good cast, even if the plot's retarded 3 stars
3/09/06 Mushuga Complete and utter garbage, but...it's better than "Bulletproof Monk." 2 stars
11/25/05 CONSTANTINE AWESOME, not a bad transition for Chow, but coudl've been BETTER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/18/05 Hack-SAW The last 20 minutes resembles "The Killer" & "A Better Tommorow"; the rest resembles SHIT!! 3 stars
2/25/04 Stacey Rafferty One of the best Action Films 5 stars
8/01/03 LeoH Don't think, just let the color drenched images seep into your brain. 4 stars
6/21/03 Sammy The Killer is chow's best movie 3 stars
12/29/02 Jack Sommersby Cliched but directed and performed with flair. 3 stars
6/12/02 malcolm a not so great attempt by American filmmakers at Hong Kong style filmmaking 3 stars
3/05/02 Alan Smithee Chow Yun-Fat is cool as always and Mira looks great, but the movie sucks. 2 stars
3/18/01 klw I think most of are missing the point, this movie isn't about content its about COOL! 4 stars
4/27/99 Lucas jackson Fuck Fats movies were good until he came to Hollywood,use his talents well,fuck Hollywood 2 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson Why is water wet? Why did this movie have to suck? 3 stars
4/06/99 Michael Grimm Chow yun fat justs oozes machismo 4 stars
2/27/99 Jerry-93 The breakneck pace caused me to shit my pants 2 stars
2/19/99 charhas I liked it, wasn't as stylized as most HK films, just really gritty 4 stars
1/27/99 Dirty Ol' Bastard Mira has a nice butt... nuff said. 4 stars
1/19/99 donkey_dew I HAVE TO SAY THIS IS AWESOME SIMPLY BECUASE I AM A MEGA-FAN. AWESOME CAMERA STYLE AS WELL 5 stars
11/24/98 Fred Who does Chow hate more, the execs, or Mira. A corpse's penis can write better stuff. 1 stars
10/06/98 katherine ugh. SO STUPID. 1 stars
9/22/98 ARMA-FUCKN-GEDDON Better than I thought.. Smooth action,great directing, Mira is hot! 4 stars
9/20/98 LuvPat I thoroughly enjoyed the film. Very entertaining 4 stars
9/07/98 BBReBozo Yun-Fat's first attempt at English dialogue. And his last English-speaking movie. 3 stars
8/28/98 Mister Whoopee Close the book on Mira's A-list existence. 2 stars
8/16/98 Johny I dug Yun-Fat some of the action, but I wish it had a decent script. 2 stars
8/15/98 {{{OZ}}} Yun-Fat has seen better days and what was Mira thinking?!?! 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Jan-1998 (R)
  DVD: 25-Apr-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast