More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3

Awesome: 6.78%
Worth A Look: 23.73%
Average35.59%
Pretty Bad: 30.51%
Total Crap: 3.39%

5 reviews, 29 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Replacement Killers, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"All style, no substance."
2 stars

It looks good, but it's basically empty.

It's the American debut of Chow Yun-Fat, a veteran of Hong Kong action flicks for the past 20 years, the last 10 being with John Woo (who produced this).

Chow and Woo both deserve better.

Oh, there's some spectacular, balet-like choreography in the action sequences, and the whole thing's glossy and stylish, but there's something missing.

Plot.

Chow plays John Lee, a contract killer. He's hired by Mr. Wei (Kenneth Tsang) to kill someone close to a cop named Zedkov (Michael Rooker). Mr. Wei wants Zedkov to feel the suffering he felt when Zedkov killed his son. When it comes time for Lee to do the deed, he can't do it, and he's forced to go on the run, taking up with an expert forgery artist named Meg (Mira Sorvino). They end up as unlikely partners as Wei throws numerous obstacles at them, not the least of which are the two men hired to replace and then remove Lee (the "replacement killers" of the title).

The movie has the feel of the Hong Kong actioners, but it's definitely got that Hollywood gloss. The plot is paper thin, although the look and feel of the film are pretty cool. It's not enough. Chow has minimal lines (his English isn't that great) and Sorvino seems oddly miscast, so the majority of the film is made up of action sequences and shootouts. Those are fine, but they don't make a movie whole.

It could have been worse (Jean-Claude Van Damme instead of Chow Yun-Fat!) but it should have been better.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=99&reviewer=7
originally posted: 12/12/98 02:58:34
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/11/15 david froman average action flick 3 stars
12/21/10 Josie Cotton is a goddess A very entertaning action/drama 4 stars
10/12/08 Mr.Hyde Blasphame, ya'll can blow me 5 stars
12/26/06 johnnyfog UNFULFILLING. but good cast, even if the plot's retarded 3 stars
3/09/06 Mushuga Complete and utter garbage, but...it's better than "Bulletproof Monk." 2 stars
11/25/05 CONSTANTINE AWESOME, not a bad transition for Chow, but coudl've been BETTER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/18/05 Hack-SAW The last 20 minutes resembles "The Killer" & "A Better Tommorow"; the rest resembles SHIT!! 3 stars
2/25/04 Stacey Rafferty One of the best Action Films 5 stars
8/01/03 LeoH Don't think, just let the color drenched images seep into your brain. 4 stars
6/21/03 Sammy The Killer is chow's best movie 3 stars
12/29/02 Jack Sommersby Cliched but directed and performed with flair. 3 stars
6/12/02 malcolm a not so great attempt by American filmmakers at Hong Kong style filmmaking 3 stars
3/05/02 Alan Smithee Chow Yun-Fat is cool as always and Mira looks great, but the movie sucks. 2 stars
3/18/01 klw I think most of are missing the point, this movie isn't about content its about COOL! 4 stars
4/27/99 Lucas jackson Fuck Fats movies were good until he came to Hollywood,use his talents well,fuck Hollywood 2 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson Why is water wet? Why did this movie have to suck? 3 stars
4/06/99 Michael Grimm Chow yun fat justs oozes machismo 4 stars
2/27/99 Jerry-93 The breakneck pace caused me to shit my pants 2 stars
2/19/99 charhas I liked it, wasn't as stylized as most HK films, just really gritty 4 stars
1/27/99 Dirty Ol' Bastard Mira has a nice butt... nuff said. 4 stars
1/19/99 donkey_dew I HAVE TO SAY THIS IS AWESOME SIMPLY BECUASE I AM A MEGA-FAN. AWESOME CAMERA STYLE AS WELL 5 stars
11/24/98 Fred Who does Chow hate more, the execs, or Mira. A corpse's penis can write better stuff. 1 stars
10/06/98 katherine ugh. SO STUPID. 1 stars
9/22/98 ARMA-FUCKN-GEDDON Better than I thought.. Smooth action,great directing, Mira is hot! 4 stars
9/20/98 LuvPat I thoroughly enjoyed the film. Very entertaining 4 stars
9/07/98 BBReBozo Yun-Fat's first attempt at English dialogue. And his last English-speaking movie. 3 stars
8/28/98 Mister Whoopee Close the book on Mira's A-list existence. 2 stars
8/16/98 Johny I dug Yun-Fat some of the action, but I wish it had a decent script. 2 stars
8/15/98 {{{OZ}}} Yun-Fat has seen better days and what was Mira thinking?!?! 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Jan-1998 (R)
  DVD: 25-Apr-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast