More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.48

Awesome72.73%
Worth A Look: 16.88%
Average: 1.3%
Pretty Bad: 3.9%
Total Crap: 5.19%

1 review, 71 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Star Trek 2: The Wrath of Khan
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"KHAAANNNN! KHAAANNNN!"
5 stars

Probably the best of the series with the original cast.

I was six when this came out, and seeing those little worm things in Chekov's ear gave me nightmares. But then, so did Shatner's hairpiece.

I'm not a Star Trek fan, although I've seen the movies. But boy, did I like this one. I think it's the best of the franchise (certainly the best featuring the old school cast). What's to like?

Ricardo Montalban as Khan. The guy hams it up so much. He's, like, the perfect villain, and I'm pretty sure that torso he's got was the most expensive special effect in the film. I think they just spray painted that thing black and gave it to Michael Keaton for use in the first Batman movie.

Anyways. In the series, Khan was brilliant and wanted to take over the world. He was banished to some desert planet. He survived, he blamed Kirk for the death of his wife and the fact that his life's in the crapper, and now, by God, he's pissed. He's bitter as fuck and he's maniacal in his pursuit of Kirk. He contructs an elaborate trap for Kirk, hijacking a Federation starship, swiping a sort of doomsday device called Genesis (created by one of Kirk's ex-lovers and the son they had) and leading the Enterprise into a trap.

This is probably the most action-packed film of the entire series (right up there with First Contact), and includes some kickass battle sequences (especially the climactic final battle) and a pretty damn good score from James Horner. And could it be, just possibly, that Bill Shatner nails the Kirk character perfectly? Not the brazen overacting that we're used to (the overacting, as I said, belongs to Mr. Roarke), but the embodiment of the character who goes through the emotional wringer? I think so. It's Shatner's finest hour, I think. Throw in the (at the time) surprise ending, and it's an all-around good flick.

I'm not a Trekker. Never have been. But Trekkers and non-Trekkers alike should definitely dig this movie.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=993&reviewer=7
originally posted: 01/22/99 02:59:22
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

2/27/16 Anne I'm not a Trekker either, yet I enjoyed this film. 4 stars
5/27/13 Jeff Wilder Best of the series. No question. 4 stars
1/13/10 art A SUPERIOR FOLLOW-UP TO THAT RIDICULOUS FIRST STAR TREK FLICK! 4 stars
5/17/09 Sam A good Trek film is best served cold... It is verry cold in spaaaace. 5 stars
3/25/09 John best trek and villian 5 stars
1/29/09 Ron Great movie. by the way, that is the REAL Ricardo Montalban torso,lol 5 stars
10/18/08 PAUL SHORTT JUST ANOTHER TV EPISODE RECYCLED 1 stars
10/24/07 Abhishek Chakraborty The best star trek movie ever made 5 stars
9/05/07 Clericjack After ten films, this one is still the best! 5 stars
1/31/07 Abs Unmatched by any other star trek movie 5 stars
7/25/06 David Cohen Tense, exciting, easily the best Star Trek movie 5 stars
5/29/06 drydock54321 a classic star trek movie. the best one 5 stars
4/14/06 ES best of the best series, forget that next gen crap 5 stars
6/08/05 Drew Peltier Excellent movie! 5 stars
3/16/05 dwarzel Generally considered the best, but I like 6 better 5 stars
5/14/04 Darryl The best of the ST movies. 5 stars
4/24/04 Easter Lemming "Khaaannnnnn!" 5 stars
1/23/04 Eric Pretty cool space adventure. 4 stars
12/20/03 Admiral Piett Empire Strikes Back was a much better sequel 2 stars
12/17/03 Tim Triangle Overacted and very camp, has its moments a bit dated though. 4 stars
4/09/03 Dave Great sci-fi movie, though not for all tastes. 4 stars
3/04/03 YES Good movie, but I prefer First Contact 4 stars
3/03/03 Jack Sommersby I'm not alone here -- best of the series! 4 stars
2/19/03 Matthew Jones The best of the best!!! Spock dying was kinda sad though... 5 stars
12/25/02 Matt Thiel Paramount: Make more Trek films as good as this one. Stop ripping off this film!!!! 5 stars
12/10/02 Zefram Mann What I'd really liked to have seen was a fight between Shatner's and Montalban's wigs. 5 stars
11/25/02 Kyle Without a doubt, this is the best of the Star Trek movies! 5 stars
11/23/02 Charles Tatum The best of the series 5 stars
11/20/02 Jack Wolverton Great ST Movie, I feel 4 was a little better tho... 5 stars
10/18/02 Red Shirt Guy Best of the lot. The "Das Boot" of outer space. 4 stars
7/09/02 wintermute This movie gives me that shakes. It totally owns me. 5 stars
3/14/02 Rockitman007 Sci-Fi doesnt get any better than this movie! 5 stars
2/23/02 Mark Lloyd Star Trek ans Sci-Fi in general just don't get much better than this. 5 stars
2/21/02 R.W. Welch Hissable villain and moves well. 4 stars
12/16/01 Kenneth E. Carper The best Trek ever! AS GOOD AS STAR WARS! Anyone who hates it is an asshole! KHAN RULES! 5 stars
8/01/01 TLsmooth There will never be a Shit Trek movie this good again. Never ever. Not even close. 5 stars
7/03/01 Connoisseur boring! just watch IV or VI or VIII for good, entertaining Star Trek 2 stars
6/21/01 steve contains the best battle scenes in the entire movie series 4 stars
4/11/01 Emperor Matthew I This movie just plain kicked ass!!! 5 stars
4/04/01 Andrew Carden Over the top, dark sequel. 3 stars
2/10/01 Juan Mejia Best startrek movie up to date! 5 stars
2/04/01 Avenger Girl More trekkie CRAP...grow up and get a real life 1 stars
1/29/01 Killdata Best Trek in the series (Voyage Home comes in close second). Music rules, too. 5 stars
1/20/01 Rex DeHoy Not just fucking awesome; one of the best films of all time 5 stars
1/03/01 fifu this is the best one of all the trek movies including the new ones 4 stars
12/21/00 MrSmithers I'm a Trekkie and I hated it. Disservice to the whole ST family 1 stars
12/13/00 Emperor Websterus Tihs is what I call a kewl movie. 5 stars
11/02/00 viking a space opera classic !!! 5 stars
8/30/00 tom Montalban got an oscar nod for this - shame he can't get any good roles any more... 5 stars
5/26/00 Add Loadsa action, chessey dialogue, Klingons and deaths left right and centre. Perfect! 5 stars
4/17/00 BB-15 WOW! A HUGE improvent over TMP! 5 stars
3/29/00 malcolm easily the best of the series! a sci-fi classic 5 stars
1/13/00 Jedi15 Excellent! The way Star Trek should be! Story, action, and cool characters! 5 stars
1/10/00 John Markham All i saw, were old men wearing girdles and wigs. 2 stars
11/14/99 BEN INCREDIBLE! 5 stars
11/06/99 Jerry Green 5 stars
10/24/99 Scarface great fun and excitement 5 stars
10/23/99 The Bomb 69 not a trekkie but best of the lot 4 stars
10/20/99 Lame-Oh it was phat 5 stars
10/07/99 sophia962 Only IV was better. Sobbed like a baby. 5 stars
9/30/99 Jeremy Rae Great entertainment, best ST movie and one of my favourite all-time movies 5 stars
9/28/99 Neil Thayer Ranks with "Citizen Kane" in quality. 5 stars
7/22/99 Francis Kretzer, Ph.D. Positively elegant 5 stars
7/19/99 Alan Presley Second best Trek movie, but still gets a "5" rating. 5 stars
5/10/99 Arkansas Jon Khan gives the Trek series a kick in the ass. I cried the first time I saw Spock die. 5 stars
1/25/99 Yo Momma excellent 5 stars
1/08/99 Jo Mama best of them 5 stars
12/04/98 Shadow Raider Excellent sequel, a must-see for any Star Trek fan. Outstanding. 5 stars
11/02/98 Baba booey Best ST movie ever. 5 stars
9/28/98 Brandon B. This movie sucked. It was just a rehash of Mellville's Moby Dick. 1 stars
9/15/98 pete c the star trek series starts to hit homers in the even numbers with this film. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  04-Jun-1983 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast