More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.45

Awesome69.3%
Worth A Look: 17.54%
Average: 6.14%
Pretty Bad: 2.63%
Total Crap: 4.39%

5 reviews, 84 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Pink Floyd: The Wall
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"If you don't eat yer meat..."
4 stars

Sometimes trippy, sometimes mesmerizing, but never lame. It suffers from a bad lead, but it's still an engrossing watch.

I think Bob Gedlof can't act worth a hoot. Boomtown Rats and Live Aid or no, he was just about the only thing I didn't like about this film.

That said, The Wall should be (and is) required viewing for any Pink Floyd fan. General moviegoers may not get it, but it's certainly worth watching.

I'm not a diehard Floyd fan, but I got the gist of it. I've listened to the album, and that'll help.

The Wall tells the story of Pink (Geldof) from different stages in his life. We see Pink as a boy, where he is smothered by a mother and missing his father. We see Pink as a man, a rock star who can't seem to connect with his wife. We see Pink flashing back and forth between his past and present, and we're starting to get just as freaked out as he is. He fantasizes himself as some skinheaded, fascist leader, and even goes far as to shave his own eyebrows. Freaky. He's prone to rants and rages.

We see these rages and flights of fancy as animated sequences, drawn by British artist Gerlad Scarfe. The visions are often violent and sexual, and hold your attention.

The Wall's loaded with cool imagery, like the animated sequences and scenes where Pink views himself as the leader of the fascist "Hammers."

The movie will give a better understanding of the album, and vice versa. This is not, however, a movie that requires you to be in an altered state (such as it is) to truly enjoy it. It's not your typical rock movie, in that there's no concert sequences. It's actually quite interesting, though probably not for everyone.

Floyd fans will dig it, everyone else might have their problems with it, but it's worth the rental.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=994&reviewer=7
originally posted: 07/19/99 12:40:32
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/12/12 Matthew Thompson Dalldorf Damn, movies do not get any better! 5 stars
7/08/11 Josie Cotton is a goddess A must for any Pink fan 5 stars
8/09/10 John Aster Habig Touches with graphic emotion all the things that alienate us in society 5 stars
5/13/10 pd Your facts on Syd are either fabricated or badly-sourced and embarassing to fans of the man 5 stars
12/03/08 Nick The music is great, makes the movie good. 4 stars
11/28/08 Chris Classic, you might have to love the album which is also a classic 5 stars
10/04/08 Samantha Pruitt i think i have to see it intoxicated! amazing to look at still. 4 stars
9/11/08 Layla Great first half hour but ultimately misogynistic jaded doom mongering 3 stars
3/17/08 Pamela White tremendous movie length music video 5 stars
3/17/08 james kielty The most intelligent music and film Ive ever seen/heard 5 stars
9/13/07 Peppy Do a barrel roll! 5 stars
12/01/06 David Pollastrini best viewed while stoned 5 stars
10/25/06 David Pollastrini great music 4 stars
7/24/06 shane swank One of the least dated Rock Films.Fascism,alienation never go out of style. 5 stars
2/24/06 omar i friggin love this movie. if ur lookin for great music and cool visuals, this is it 5 stars
10/21/05 Arska one of the best movies i've ever seen! 5 stars
10/08/05 tim fuckin trippy 5 stars
9/06/05 ashe yernon gives you a different outlook onlife itself 5 stars
8/13/05 Ben Quinn Despite the very thin plot, this film is excellent and MANDATORY for any Pink Floyd fan 4 stars
6/03/05 Sammy I've learned alot from that film. 5 stars
5/28/05 Reih I thought it was a very indepth movie. This is really what got me into Pink Floyd. 5 stars
1/15/05 Elze IT'S THE BEST FILM! 5 stars
11/26/04 Thomas Skroob I loved it! 5 stars
10/08/04 rita giusti the best film ever!! 5 stars
9/23/04 Kenny Wilson One of the best movies i've seen, ever!!! 5 stars
9/08/04 Bob Excellent. 5 stars
8/21/04 Josh Standlee I think I said this movie was bad, well that was before I REALLY got into Pink Floyd. 4 stars
6/30/04 DM That was a fucking weird movie 4 stars
6/22/04 andrew great movie fun to watch 5 stars
6/05/04 Craig Isenor An amazing assault on all the senses. 5 stars
5/01/04 Dark Archon If u don't get it - don't rate it crap. It's just to complicated 4 you. It's great. 5 stars
4/30/04 ArcticCheetah Psychololgically delicious... learn something new every time I view it. 4 stars
4/29/04 Sarah Jackson The best movie I've seen in a while 5 stars
4/26/04 Justin Mulligan This movie is ingenious and takes countless hours for one to be able to understand fully 5 stars
4/02/04 Barry Dunlop Alot of the images should have been cencored so kids could see it as well. Dunlop out! 1 stars
3/08/04 Snickerdoodle Really great movie, powerful anti-war message, I wish the ending was different though. 5 stars
2/23/04 Daveman Alan Parker and Roger Waters, the worst collaboration of two British creative talents, EVER 2 stars
12/26/03 ROY L. CAIN,JR. The perfect movie to the perfect album. HEY YOU!!! 5 stars
12/09/03 john kids love it and with good reason and I like it still - the music is phenomenal 5 stars
10/24/03 Josh Standlee All I can say is once the movie was over, all I could think was,"What the hell was that?" 1 stars
8/05/03 Christina AMAZING 5 stars
7/13/03 Morpheus Pretentious, self-important wank, just like the album. 2 stars
5/26/03 Pascal One of my favorite films 5 stars
4/10/03 Dave Some nice visual flare but contains the same artistic flaws of the album of the same name. 2 stars
1/09/03 April I LOVE it! 5 stars
10/15/02 maximal01 the end wraps up kinda wrong; it woulda been nice to see pink "after the wall"... 4 stars
4/15/02 andrew rozen The CD is fucking amazing, roger waters is a genius 5 stars
4/02/02 bonnie Its all forms of film rolled up into one, history, montage, animation, musical, etc. 5 stars
1/02/02 Andrew Carden The Music Of Pink Floyd Is Good...The Movie Isn't. 1 stars
1/01/02 a floyd fan Best movie I've ever seen!! A must for fans of Pink Floyd!!!! 5 stars
12/20/01 Dgunner71 Quite possibly the greatest footage ever to be brought to film. 5 stars
12/10/01 Dana Brilliant! 5 stars
11/13/01 Monster W. Kung Great rock opera. The scene with the young kid thinking about his father is heartbreaking. 5 stars
6/22/01 Chris after the first 50 or so viewings, it's all downhill 4 stars
3/27/01 Amanda Too great for words. 5 stars
3/08/01 Matthew Richardson dark, depressing, very "real", great film 5 stars
3/02/01 Leonardo Madeira For stoned ones who don't mind listening to Pink Floyd through almost 2 hours 4 stars
2/14/01 Alex Bergen The best movie I have ever seen.... 4 stars
2/12/01 john d(THE DUDE) you don't need to be into drugs to enjoy this artwork, a masterpiece! 5 stars
11/29/00 Cristopher Revilla The most psychotic film i've ever seen, maybe because i wasn't in to Pink Floyd at the time 4 stars
11/02/00 Galgon Waste of money and time. Don't bother, unless you are heavily into drugs. IT SUCKED!!!! 1 stars
10/10/00 bob gets better each time. a real thinker 5 stars
10/02/00 Diggs D A movie that will shock you and educate you at the same time. 5 stars
5/16/00 adjensen Deep, dark and intense. Great music. 5 stars
5/08/00 Daniel Greve maybe this fil is the best scan from 80s to our times 5 stars
5/04/00 Chad Sheer genius 5 stars
4/12/00 Shelly how can you not get totally into such iteresting minds like those of pink floyds 5 stars
4/05/00 john holmes decent 5 stars
3/03/00 joel toooooo underated, i am a die hard floyd fan 5 stars
12/20/99 Cerise347@AOL.com Everytime you watch it, it's a totally different experience in viewing the film. 5 stars
12/16/99 serge Best COMMERCIAL album 5 stars
12/03/99 perpetual loser i was born in the wrong fuking decade. this is great shit (and i'm not a druggie) 5 stars
8/19/99 David You think it's a head trip in your home, imagine watching it on a movie screen in 70mm 5 stars
7/17/99 Ostrich My favourite movie, and no, I was NOT stoned or drunk, grunter, thank you very much... 5 stars
6/19/99 theo_mcl@hotmail.com This is just amazing... all I can say. 5 stars
5/16/99 Matt I'm a huge Floyd freak but this movie IS overrated. 4 stars
3/28/99 HeatherLadyBug oh my! 5 stars
1/02/99 tarkin666 On par with a Pink Floyd laser show, this is a damn trip! 5 stars
12/05/98 tj a great mind-fuck...one of the best albums ever written 5 stars
10/31/98 Silent Rob Well done visual interpretation of one of the greatest Albums of all time. Haunting!!! 5 stars
10/24/98 grunter dada for frat boys; slapstick psychology; gee, lemme guess were you stoned at the time? 1 stars
10/02/98 arachic13 the greatest experimental of all time!!!!!! 5 stars
10/01/98 CaptNish Tell me what it's about....please....I can't figure it out alone... 4 stars
9/21/98 Miss Stress if you wanna feel like you're tripping without doing the drugs watch this movie. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Aug-1982 (R)

UK
  14-Jul-1982 (15)

Australia
  N/A (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast