More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.38

Awesome62.35%
Worth A Look: 20%
Average: 12.94%
Pretty Bad: 2.35%
Total Crap: 2.35%

4 reviews, 61 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Book of Life, The (2014) by Jay Seaver

Golden Era, The by Jay Seaver

Maze Runner, The by Daniel Kelly

Art and Craft by Jay Seaver

One Chance by Jay Seaver

St. Vincent by Peter Sobczynski

Wyrmwood by Jay Seaver

Judge, The by Peter Sobczynski

Over Your Dead Body by Jay Seaver

Breakup Buddies by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Fast Times at Ridgemont High
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Vanessa

"Screw you!"
4 stars

Sean Penn as a surfer.

That'll haunt him for the rest of his career. Good thing it's one of his best roles. Spiconi, the slacker to be all, end all, and start all slackers. One of my fave scenes in movie history is when he tells off his teahcer, who i think is played by Vincent Price.

Amy Heckerling (Clueless, A Night at the Roxbury) started out with this fun piece of film. She wasn't heard from again for 12 years. Now there's quite the slump. Besides being funny (the already mentioned Penn and the much parodied-Phoebe Cates/Judge Reingold bathing suit scene), the movie also was the first ever to deal with teen abortion. Jennifer Jason Lee, who like Heckerling did not resurface for a number of years, makes a great suffering teen, who desperate to fit in loses her virginity in a pool house to someone who could never care about or love her.

Fast Times at Ridgemont High is often overlooked when thinking of great films of the 80's, but this wasn't just another Porky's, it had substance, too.

Plus, Judge got to wear that cool hat.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=995&reviewer=5
originally posted: 09/22/98 00:51:08
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/19/13 PAUL SHORTT BRASH, CRUDE AND TIRESOME 2 stars
11/14/10 Tweeter & the Monkeyman Who let Vanessa be a film critic? She knows shit about movies. 4 stars
10/09/09 Jeff Wilder Greatest High School Comedy of all time. 5 stars
9/07/08 Samantha Pruitt slightly overrated but still funny 4 stars
6/22/08 mr.mike As I always suspected , overrated. 3 stars
4/28/08 art A UNIQUE MIXTURE OF COMEDY AND some PRETTY SERIOUS STUFF 4 stars
6/05/07 Paul Some funny parts but not as good as Screwballs 3 stars
4/19/07 MP Bartley Funny and sweet stuff. 4 stars
3/31/07 fools♫gold The type of film I'll probabl later wish I gave a 5/5, but then I'd wish I gave it a 4/5... 4 stars
12/01/06 David Pollastrini all the women in this film are hot! 5 stars
8/04/06 Mike Filmview magazine says Sean Penn says "you dick!" better then any actor in movie history 5 stars
2/03/06 John Dog Awesome! Totally Awesome! 5 stars
11/21/05 Frank Rountree A classic! I added it to my collection a long time ago. Extremely funny, with a good story. 5 stars
10/07/05 Johnny Quite possibly the best high school movie ever. 5 stars
9/22/05 Nick Best high school teen movie ever 5 stars
7/28/05 Cooper I'm sure most people agree that the best cene in the movie's when Wooley goes apeshit! 5 stars
7/20/05 DM Worth seeing just to watch Sean Penn before he got so serious. 4 stars
7/07/05 People who don't know what they're talking about should not... ...be allowed to post reviews here (i.e. Vanessa). It's called FACT-CHECKING!!!! 5 stars
5/08/05 Indrid Cold Surprisingly unfunny given its reputation. Guess you had to be around back then. 3 stars
1/18/05 Jeff Anderson Great, TOTALLY GREAT! Oh, and I liked the followup THE WILD LIFE also. "IT'S CASUAL!" 5 stars
11/12/04 marshall that movie is sooooo cool 5 stars
6/15/04 T. Maj The "American Graffiti" of its generation --very accurate depiction of its period 5 stars
2/26/04 carly this is the best movie ever made, jeff spicoli rocks my world 5 stars
1/30/04 Alex Bowser Awesome, TOTALLY AWESOME! 5 stars
1/11/04 grant barnes its totally gnarley 5 stars
12/29/03 Matt wicked!!! watch it, cult classic 5 stars
12/17/03 sean panfil one of the best movies ever. everyone should have this movie in their colection. 5 stars
11/25/03 homer J. Simpson drugs, sex and alcohol thrown in with a bunch of high schoolers, hell yes, awesome baby 5 stars
10/03/03 Samuel Justus one of my favorite movie ever!!! 5 stars
6/22/03 cochese Fuck Sean Penn. 3 stars
2/18/03 Mr Hand "All I need are some tasty waves, acool buzz and I'm fine!!" Great Movie! 4 stars
1/13/03 Jack Sommersby Quite simply, the best high-school comedy ever made. Flawlessly acted. 5 stars
11/10/02 moviemachine A classic high school movie!!! 5 stars
11/07/02 Justin Fucking awesome!!! 5 stars
7/27/02 moviemachine Whoever thinks this film is bad has a problem! 5 stars
4/11/02 Spicoli028 The best fucking movie ever, suck dick whoever doesnt like it 5 stars
3/08/02 Mo Anand You watch it a couple times, it's good...but it gets boring... 4 stars
2/15/02 kitten This movie's great!! I've seen it more then twice and its still good! 5 stars
1/06/02 paul probably the best teen movie ever made... 5 stars
11/24/01 Andrew Carden There Isn't Much Plot, and The Scripts Are Dull. 2 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean A cool high school comedy that wasn't afraid to talk about the bad choices teens make 5 stars
8/08/01 Leave Me Alone I'm in shock anyone has anything bad to say about this movie! 5 stars
8/06/01 Manos Hater Absolute greatness beginning to end 5 stars
4/28/01 Boocat A great fun time. Penn is incredibly funny. 5 stars
3/28/01 Jesse L If you don't like this movie you are a DICK 5 stars
2/23/01 Brian Reynolds Funny at times, but really pretty grim 1 stars
1/14/01 Invader This movie is like watching a cartoon, I enjoyed it despite its crap potential. 4 stars
12/09/00 clifford greenhill This movie sucks, go see screwballs 1 stars
11/22/00 Tylor Chermak Best movie around. Even though it`s not about my generation me and my friends watch it all 5 stars
7/09/00 Bender Entertainiing, but at times too fast paced for its own good. 4 stars
3/03/00 Ryan Shows just how overrated a hedonistic lifestyle is. Jennifer Jason Leigh is heartbreaking 4 stars
9/23/99 Matt One that will achieve classic status everywhere among all ages!!! 5 stars
7/26/99 The Bomb 69 Phoebe topless, grrrgrrrr 5 stars
5/23/99 GothamDK Classic that never gets old. Phoebe Cates at her best. Aloha Mr. Hand. 5 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson Hey bud, this movie is the shit, damn Phoebe Cates gots some lungs! 5 stars
4/06/99 Michael Grimm Spicoli is god, Mr. Hand rules 5 stars
11/29/98 Q-Meister Required viewing. Period. 5 stars
11/19/98 Johnny Childish This movie is Tha ShiT!!! 5 stars
11/13/98 Lord Of The Dunce Just to see a geeky Nic Cage second stringing it to Judge Reinhold, this is great stuff. 5 stars
10/01/98 {{{OZ}}} A great pre-stardom-star movie. Sean Penn is awesome. 5 stars
9/15/98 Badass Soem parts are fine, but the shitty dialoge ruins it. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Sep-1982 (R)
  DVD: 02-Nov-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1983




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast