More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.38

Awesome62.35%
Worth A Look: 20%
Average: 12.94%
Pretty Bad: 2.35%
Total Crap: 2.35%

4 reviews, 61 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Starry Eyes by Jay Seaver

American Jesus by Jay Seaver

Coastlines by Jack Sommersby

Joe by Jay Seaver

Raid 2, The by Brett Gallman

Crimes Against Humanity by Jay Seaver

Murder at 1600 by Charles Tatum

Mr. Bean's Holiday by Charles Tatum

Quiet Ones, The (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Missing Picture, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Fast Times at Ridgemont High
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by The King of the Bros

"Bo Derek's Tits! I like sex!"
5 stars

This movie is sex in a baseball dugout at midnight. It's smoking pot in the van before school. It's jerking off in the bathroom while fantasizing about Phoebe Cates getting naked to the Cars. It's driving whilst getting drunk and running the car into a big pile of bricks. My dear friends, this movie is America. Or at least what America should be.

I really don't know what kind of problems you could have with this film. If you do, then should probably do the world a favor and suck on a gun.

It took me a few viewings, but I realized that this movie doesn't really have a plot. It's just a slice of FUCK YEAH.

The thing that makes this movie is the characters. Jennifer Jason Leigh plays Stacy, the naive, virginal (not for long) and trusting girl that everybody seems to know. Judge Reinhold plays her brother, a dude that really doesn't know what's going on, but still likes to kick ass. Phoebe Cates is Stacy's older, more experienced friend. She likes to give Stacy really good advice as well as show her how to give a carrot a blow job. She also likes to show her breasts.

You got that guy Ratner, who really is a little bitch, but you can't blame him, he doesn't know any better. His buddy Demone is a "cool" guy who's into scoring with chicks and then impregnating them and ditching them in one fell swoop. He also sells Van Halen tickets.

But then as we all know, the scene stealer is of course Jeff Spicoli, the stoner/surfer played by Sean Penn. Now, I know Mr.Penn has been nominated and or won some Oscars, but that don't mean shit. This is hands down his best performance ever, and he will never top it. I don't care what you say, this is it my good friends. This is acting.

Ray Walston is the ever charming Mr.Hand. He's hellbent on getting his student's to learn. He doesn't like it when people eat food in his class, he also doesn't like you.

One of the things I like about this movie is it doesn't follow the regular standards of a teen movie. It doesn't have the happy ending where everybody finds true love, or the party scene where somebody barfs.

Strangely enough, this movie is an original and can never be touched. Then again I suppose that's mostly due to the fact that it was made in the early 80's and the world as we know it will never be that cool again.

All in all, this movie is just like how you remember high school, only all the good parts are put together. And then there's some abortion and stuff like your best friend banging that girl you have a crush on, but basically it's all good. If you haven't seen it already, then fucking what the hell are you doing? Go! Now! Or else!

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=995&reviewer=176
originally posted: 06/17/00 06:35:13
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/19/13 PAUL SHORTT BRASH, CRUDE AND TIRESOME 2 stars
11/14/10 Tweeter & the Monkeyman Who let Vanessa be a film critic? She knows shit about movies. 4 stars
10/09/09 Jeff Wilder Greatest High School Comedy of all time. 5 stars
9/07/08 Samantha Pruitt slightly overrated but still funny 4 stars
6/22/08 mr.mike As I always suspected , overrated. 3 stars
4/28/08 art A UNIQUE MIXTURE OF COMEDY AND some PRETTY SERIOUS STUFF 4 stars
6/05/07 Paul Some funny parts but not as good as Screwballs 3 stars
4/19/07 MP Bartley Funny and sweet stuff. 4 stars
3/31/07 fools♫gold The type of film I'll probabl later wish I gave a 5/5, but then I'd wish I gave it a 4/5... 4 stars
12/01/06 David Pollastrini all the women in this film are hot! 5 stars
8/04/06 Mike Filmview magazine says Sean Penn says "you dick!" better then any actor in movie history 5 stars
2/03/06 John Dog Awesome! Totally Awesome! 5 stars
11/21/05 Frank Rountree A classic! I added it to my collection a long time ago. Extremely funny, with a good story. 5 stars
10/07/05 Johnny Quite possibly the best high school movie ever. 5 stars
9/22/05 Nick Best high school teen movie ever 5 stars
7/28/05 Cooper I'm sure most people agree that the best cene in the movie's when Wooley goes apeshit! 5 stars
7/20/05 DM Worth seeing just to watch Sean Penn before he got so serious. 4 stars
7/07/05 People who don't know what they're talking about should not... ...be allowed to post reviews here (i.e. Vanessa). It's called FACT-CHECKING!!!! 5 stars
5/08/05 Indrid Cold Surprisingly unfunny given its reputation. Guess you had to be around back then. 3 stars
1/18/05 Jeff Anderson Great, TOTALLY GREAT! Oh, and I liked the followup THE WILD LIFE also. "IT'S CASUAL!" 5 stars
11/12/04 marshall that movie is sooooo cool 5 stars
6/15/04 T. Maj The "American Graffiti" of its generation --very accurate depiction of its period 5 stars
2/26/04 carly this is the best movie ever made, jeff spicoli rocks my world 5 stars
1/30/04 Alex Bowser Awesome, TOTALLY AWESOME! 5 stars
1/11/04 grant barnes its totally gnarley 5 stars
12/29/03 Matt wicked!!! watch it, cult classic 5 stars
12/17/03 sean panfil one of the best movies ever. everyone should have this movie in their colection. 5 stars
11/25/03 homer J. Simpson drugs, sex and alcohol thrown in with a bunch of high schoolers, hell yes, awesome baby 5 stars
10/03/03 Samuel Justus one of my favorite movie ever!!! 5 stars
6/22/03 cochese Fuck Sean Penn. 3 stars
2/18/03 Mr Hand "All I need are some tasty waves, acool buzz and I'm fine!!" Great Movie! 4 stars
1/13/03 Jack Sommersby Quite simply, the best high-school comedy ever made. Flawlessly acted. 5 stars
11/10/02 moviemachine A classic high school movie!!! 5 stars
11/07/02 Justin Fucking awesome!!! 5 stars
7/27/02 moviemachine Whoever thinks this film is bad has a problem! 5 stars
4/11/02 Spicoli028 The best fucking movie ever, suck dick whoever doesnt like it 5 stars
3/08/02 Mo Anand You watch it a couple times, it's good...but it gets boring... 4 stars
2/15/02 kitten This movie's great!! I've seen it more then twice and its still good! 5 stars
1/06/02 paul probably the best teen movie ever made... 5 stars
11/24/01 Andrew Carden There Isn't Much Plot, and The Scripts Are Dull. 2 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean A cool high school comedy that wasn't afraid to talk about the bad choices teens make 5 stars
8/08/01 Leave Me Alone I'm in shock anyone has anything bad to say about this movie! 5 stars
8/06/01 Manos Hater Absolute greatness beginning to end 5 stars
4/28/01 Boocat A great fun time. Penn is incredibly funny. 5 stars
3/28/01 Jesse L If you don't like this movie you are a DICK 5 stars
2/23/01 Brian Reynolds Funny at times, but really pretty grim 1 stars
1/14/01 Invader This movie is like watching a cartoon, I enjoyed it despite its crap potential. 4 stars
12/09/00 clifford greenhill This movie sucks, go see screwballs 1 stars
11/22/00 Tylor Chermak Best movie around. Even though it`s not about my generation me and my friends watch it all 5 stars
7/09/00 Bender Entertainiing, but at times too fast paced for its own good. 4 stars
3/03/00 Ryan Shows just how overrated a hedonistic lifestyle is. Jennifer Jason Leigh is heartbreaking 4 stars
9/23/99 Matt One that will achieve classic status everywhere among all ages!!! 5 stars
7/26/99 The Bomb 69 Phoebe topless, grrrgrrrr 5 stars
5/23/99 GothamDK Classic that never gets old. Phoebe Cates at her best. Aloha Mr. Hand. 5 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson Hey bud, this movie is the shit, damn Phoebe Cates gots some lungs! 5 stars
4/06/99 Michael Grimm Spicoli is god, Mr. Hand rules 5 stars
11/29/98 Q-Meister Required viewing. Period. 5 stars
11/19/98 Johnny Childish This movie is Tha ShiT!!! 5 stars
11/13/98 Lord Of The Dunce Just to see a geeky Nic Cage second stringing it to Judge Reinhold, this is great stuff. 5 stars
10/01/98 {{{OZ}}} A great pre-stardom-star movie. Sean Penn is awesome. 5 stars
9/15/98 Badass Soem parts are fine, but the shitty dialoge ruins it. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Sep-1982 (R)
  DVD: 02-Nov-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1983




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast