More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.96

Awesome: 14.55%
Worth A Look30%
Average: 13.64%
Pretty Bad: 20.91%
Total Crap: 20.91%

4 reviews, 86 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Citizenfour by Greg Ursic

Women Who Flirt by Jay Seaver

Snowpiercer by Rob Gonsalves

Rosewater by Jay Seaver

World of Kanako, The by Jay Seaver

Tommy (2014) by Jay Seaver

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay, Part 1 by Daniel Kelly

Goodbye to Language by Jay Seaver

Mea Culpa by Jay Seaver

Homesman, The by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Friday the 13th Part 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"For sicko gorehounds only!...like me."
4 stars

In the pantheon of Cheapo Slasher Ripoffs/Sequels, Friday the 13th Part 2 rates pretty highly. It's got all the basics down - The carnage is nastier, the girls are cuter, and the screenplay is exponentially stupider. Once again, I fall victim to my childhood addictions, and find myself recommending a truly horrible movie.

To try and review Friday the 13th Part 2 as if it were an average Hollywood movie would be an exercise in futility. The Friday the 13th movies were never produced with highbrow movie critics in mind, and if the art-house crowd turns its collective nose up at them, that's fine; there are millions of sickos like me to enjoy the grue. These movies are made for gorehounds - people who are smart enough to know they're watching junk, but are simply having too much fun to care. If I ventured to employ a mealtime analogy, Saving Private Ryan would be a steak, Back to the Future is a big helping of delicious mashed potatoes, and a movie like Friday the 13th Part 2 is the worst kind of candy imaginable. Like Pixy Stix or Lik-M-Aid.

How can you tell that Part 2 is a true classic? Jason hasn't even discovered his hockey mask yet! He plods along stabbing and impaling, all the while wearing this unseemly potato sack over his grossly misshapen noggin.

Friday the 13th Part 2 offers us a brutally abrupt prologue, in which our plucky survivor from Part 1 is violently dispatched, with nary an afterthought. After the bombastic opening credits, we begin the long, thankless journey that is known as slasher movie character development:

"OK, we got an obnoxious imbecile who curses a lot, plays a lot of pranks and generally earns the most graphically disgusting death?"

"I'm here, you dumb dick! Haha! Pull my finger! Hyuk Hyuk!"

"How about the virginal, anti-social, mildly overweight, mousy, frumpy and dull young woman who will inexplicably end up as the only living mammal when the credits roll?"

"...um...here..."

"OK, I need one horny couple who think of nothing but humping every 14 minutes like two sweaty rhinos..."

"...pant...pant...We're here!...Got any smokes?"

"Slutty harlot tramp girl who likes to skinny dip and behaves like God's gift to anything testosterone-based?"

"I'm here, babe...Here's my number...Call me...Do these jeans make my ass look fat?"

"And finally, the completely worthless, personality-free and ineffectual camp administrator who isn't even interesting enough to warrant an 'on-screen kill'?"

"Yo, seriously...don't feed raccoons."


After about 46 minutes of watching these idiots do some inane interaction, it eventually gets dark outside and the corpses start piling up. Why movies like this even BOTHER to flesh out the characters is beyond me. It's like eating a cheeseburger after hearing the cow's name. It's just unnecessary.

To celebrate the last night of their lives, a handful of counselors decide to head out to town for some beers. Unfortunately for the audience, the most obnoxious guy in the movie stays at the bar, and never returns for his welcome demise. The handful of fools who do choose to stay get sliced up but good. That's pretty much it, plot-wise. But if you're watching Friday the 13th Part 2 and expecting Alfred Hitchcock, then you need to rent a clue.


Body Count: 10
Total for series so far: 20

Cool Deaths:
Fat Cop on the Receiving End of a Claw Hammer
Idiot Stuck in a Bear Trap Gets His Throat Slit
Horny Couple gets Shish-Ka-Bobbed while Doin' the Nastiness
Unfortunate Handicapped Guy gets a Machete in the Face

The fun of these movies is quite simply the gore, the creative carnage, the rampant cinematic brutality. Call me sick, but I'd rather watch every F13 movie in a row than watch Patch Adams just one more time. To the average movie fan, I'd probably recommend you rent something else. To my fellow horror freaks, you know what I'm talking about.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=999&reviewer=128
originally posted: 11/06/00 16:30:06
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/29/11 Louis Blyskal Just another scary movie 2 stars
7/18/11 art Once again FRIDAY the 13th BURRIES halloween!!!! 5 stars
10/08/10 art i saw this at a drive -in,it was a double feature with SATURN 3, i liked saturn 3! 1 stars
9/28/10 PAUL SHORTT REPETITIVE AND TEDIOUS 1 stars
12/27/09 art THE BEST FRIDAY'S are as follow's PART ONE,PART TWO{THIS ONE},AND PART 3. > 5 stars
10/08/09 art THIS SEQUAL TO THE 1980 CLASSIC IS FOR THE BIRD"S!,NICE TRY. 1 stars
6/14/09 art THIS FRIDAY THE 13TH[PART TWO] is FOR THE BIRD"S!. 1 stars
2/10/09 lo& This movie scared the crap out of me when I was a kid. 4 stars
10/20/08 Monster A Go-Go Awful-worst of the series-it's a wonder Miner got another job after this.Horrible direction 1 stars
10/05/08 blarginbadigalnohif mehhhhhhhhhhhhh 3 stars
4/16/08 art FRIDAY THE 13THpart ONE THE BEST SLASHER FILM I APOLOGIZE IT SUCKED JUST LIKE PART 2 1 stars
2/17/07 David Pollastrini Jason looks better in the hockey mask 4 stars
12/09/06 GAH! gay 1 stars
11/05/06 MP Bartley Good opening and thumbs up for the weirdo ending. Some decent chills to be had. 3 stars
7/24/06 Quazar oo look out im wearing a bread bag. ooga booga. spare me 1 stars
4/12/06 Daniel Kirsten Baker,s Sexy Goddess 5 stars
1/17/06 Anthony Feor Sequels suck and this movie proves it 2 stars
11/24/05 cr almost good as the first friday, I like Ginny and all the other characters Ki ki ki ki ha 4 stars
10/14/05 Darren O Delivers as good as the first, though the diluted gore dulls the effect. Amy Steel rocks. 4 stars
8/23/05 Sugarfoot Just a tip:Having the killer wear a gunny sack over his head is more amusing than scary. 2 stars
7/14/05 Brandy Harrington The Fiday The 13th series blows, each movie spawned a Halloween rip-off. 1 stars
6/28/05 R just for fun, hold this up against the likes of "audition." american horror is a joke. 1 stars
6/11/05 Manu Ginobli God this fuckin' shit sucks. 1 stars
5/27/05 tony not as good as the first one.but still has its classic scary moments 4 stars
11/10/04 Iwata One of the best sequels for the best slasher series out there. 5 stars
11/05/04 dave oh im scary im wearing a bread bag oga boga. spare me 1 stars
10/12/04 kevin watts NOT AS GOOD AS FIRST,BUT NOT BAD 4 stars
7/02/04 American Slasher Goddess The best sequel in the series, Amy Steel is a likeable heroine. 4 stars
6/07/04 Ryan Clark The best sequel of the series... this is just as good as (if not better than) the original. 4 stars
5/16/04 John oh well 2 stars
4/08/04 phoenix Amy Steel is a great and sexy heroine. Jason's rules, except for that sack. 4 stars
3/17/04 PAYNE_KillerZ No hockey mask!!!!... BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO 2 stars
2/26/04 Samuel A great sequel to a great origional 4 stars
2/17/04 Ramey Jason needs a mask not a bag on his head. Otherwise decent flick. 3 stars
2/06/04 c.r a good sequel, Jason best movie! 4 stars
2/04/04 Chad Foster Luv It 5 stars
12/12/03 Captain Spaulding probably the second best in the series, not counting 'Freddy vs Jason' 5 stars
12/12/03 Kellie unintentionally funny..but still a good horror flick!! 3 stars
12/10/03 Tommy good film!! 4 stars
11/02/03 American Slasher Goddess Very good followup to the great original. Steel is a likeable heroine. 4 stars
10/16/03 Erik Van Sant Jason's debut! Looks like a KKK hillbilly though. Watch for wheel-chair arm wrestling! 4 stars
10/08/03 Double G Potatoe Bag over jason's head, UNBEATABLE! 5 stars
9/17/03 Samuel Justus This is where the torture starts from part 2 all the wat to Freddy vs Jason!! Shit!!!! 1 stars
8/29/03 darren ALMOST MATCHES THE CLASSIC ORIGINAL-BUT TOO MANY CUTS 4 stars
7/22/03 Double G A classic. Jason has not yet found his hockey mask! 3 stars
6/04/03 Mike I watched this? Why me!? 2 stars
1/02/03 Chowie mmm.... 2 stars
12/29/02 Jack Sommersby Kristen Baker's awesome butt in those short-shorts is to die for!!!! 2 stars
11/28/02 Kyle Repectable sequel, then they really start going downhill fast. 3 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum More gore for your snore 3 stars
9/30/02 Michael Carruthers Pretty much the same as the first one - except scarier, with more nudity and overall better 2 stars
8/16/02 Shaun good 4 stars
8/09/02 Tyner best of the series, last 4 movies are fucking lame 5 stars
6/20/02 Film Dude Full nudity. Sweet. 4 stars
6/02/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi well, i actually liked his mum more....but ok 3 stars
4/25/02 maximal01 Oh,wow. Look. The guy who wants to kill us is having a bad hair day (yawn). 1 stars
3/09/02 Chowie the people who made this should be stripped of their clothes, tied up &shitted on 1 stars
1/16/02 David A. The first twenty minutes were the scariest. 4 stars
11/30/01 Rutt13 can't explain it, but I kinda dig it 3 stars
11/20/01 Chris K. Once again, this ripped off Mario Bava's TWITCH OF THE DEATH NERVE (1971). 1 stars
10/05/01 Eric Incredibly boring. Parts 4, 6, 7, and 9 are a lot better. 1 stars
9/29/01 Phoenix Compared to some of the other sequels, this one is OK. 3 stars
9/25/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It's strange because... I thought Jason was'nt alive!?! 4 stars
9/16/01 Mr. Hat Better than the first one. 3 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Jason makes his entrance...I'm lovin' it! 5 stars
7/28/01 Francine Boobs...yes. Scary...no. Blandly entertaining. 2 stars
4/14/01 LiL Predictable piece of shit. What the fuck is Jason wearing around his head?! 1 stars
2/23/01 Jeremy part 1 and 2 (also "jason in manhattan")are great 5 stars
1/28/01 Barrett Kaelin Kirsten Baker has the nicest looking arse! 3 stars
1/09/01 Steve Summers This is the best movie of the series in my opinion, i don't care what all you fucks think 5 stars
8/12/00 Justin Its got decapitations, dead dogs and full frontal nudity! What more could u want? 5 stars
5/01/00 Bender Underrated and scarier than the original. 4 stars
5/01/00 Gus Van Sant wonderful shite! 5 stars
4/29/00 Ehh... good 5 stars
4/13/00 SwatchDog The final scene is a real chiller.. good performances and even some T&A for the desperate! 4 stars
3/31/00 TIGGER I word- CRAP! 1 stars
3/24/00 David Rogers In the first one they said Jason was a dead little boy, that just confused me. 1 stars
3/02/00 Kyle Broflovski I fell asleep--and I was on a caffeine binge!!! Need I say more??? 1 stars
1/18/00 Jedi15 More of the same, only much worse. Not even the death scenes can save this shit. 1 stars
10/01/99 rob better than the first 3 stars
3/15/99 Tirana Parker The 3rd i luv sein the white crakers getn hacked, i do it 2 and shit 5 stars
3/08/99 Abdulawana the Boshma of India Teefa no like this movie, no indians. 1 stars
3/07/99 KK Dusenbury It fucking kicks ass. Lets all go out and machete handicap people!!!( I love that part) 5 stars
11/13/98 Lord Of The Dunce It got worse. And worse. And worse. 3 stars
10/30/98 Negative Creep Much like Scream, The first fifteen minutes makes up for the rest of the film. 3 stars
9/28/98 katherine the fri 13 movies all stink. i luv horrors, but fri 13 is boring! 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-May-1981 (R)
  DVD: 05-Oct-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1982


Directed by
  Steve Miner

Written by
  Ron Kurz

Cast
  Amy Steel
  John furey
  Adrienne King
  Kirsten Baker
  Stuart Charno
  Warrington Gillette



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast