More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.95

Awesome: 14.41%
Worth A Look29.73%
Average: 13.51%
Pretty Bad: 20.72%
Total Crap: 21.62%

4 reviews, 87 user ratings



Friday the 13th Part 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jack Sommersby

"Substandard Sequel"
2 stars

It's not atrocious like a lot of '80s slasher movies, but it's not particularly distinguished, either.

With uncreative kills (excepting one involving a spear), tame carnal relations, and a dire lack of scares, Friday the 13th Part 2 is a lackadaisical sequel that definitely makes one want to revisit the flawed but perfectly acceptable original. For the uninitiated, that box-office smash involved an array of camp counselors being systematically slaughtered one fateful night while getting the immortal Camp Crystal Lake ready for its summer opening. The killer, largely unseen until the final fifteen minutes, hacked away at the nubile, pot-smoking, sexually-promiscuous teens with a Grim Reaper's efficiency -- finding quite inventive ways with sharpened instruments, ranging from arrows, knives and axes that would've made the Marquis de Sade positively weep with unbridled envy. The culprit, finally revealed, was deranged mother Pamela Voorhees, the mother of a boy who presumably drowned twenty-two years prior at that same camp while the counselors were too busy making whoopee; she was eventually decapitated by the heroine, Alice, who, following the standard slasher-movie template, neither made sexual overtures nor had sexual intercourse, thus ensuring her survival. Until now, that is, for the movie opens five years later with an extended sequence where Alice (still played by the excellent Adrienne King) is alone in her townhouse and still having nightmares over those tumultuous events -- we're given brief flashbacks from the original detailing her graphically doing in Big Bad Mama; but her screen time is rather brief as she's soon the victim of an icepick to the head at the hands of an unforeseen assailant right when she's about to feed her kitty (which, of course, has been employed for the sole sake of jumping out at her right beforehand for a cheap shock effect). We forward to a camp-counselor training center, which is just starting its session and which just happens to be located quite close to Camp Crystal, which local law enforcement has declared off-limits. The youngsters this time around run to more or less the same 'ol type: the mature, level-headed directors of the center Paul (John Furey) and Ginny (Amy Steel); practical joker/flirt Scott (Russell Todd); skinny, carrot-top geek Mark (Stuart Charno); sexually-active couple Jeff (Bill Randolph) and Sandra (Marta Kober); flimsily-clad, bodacious-figured Terry (Kristen Baker); with wheelchair-bound Mark (Tom McBride) and lusting-after-him cutie Vickie (Lauren Marie-Taylor) thrown into the mix. Oh, and also making an appearance is Crazy Ralph (Walt Gorney), who's still into issuing warnings to the teens that their fates will be sealed if they don't listen to him; naturally, they don't, ensuring their untimely-demises, and, in a welcome surprise, Ralph is finally earmarked to meet his maker, as well. (Then again, maybe Gorney's horrific thespian abilities is the reason why.) After some boring exposition and talking-heads scenes, the seasonal slaughter is under way, with an adult Jason, who most definitely is not dead, getting even for the death of his mother (though how his sub-mental, backwoods, man-beast self was able to locate Alice in a major city is something for scholars to contemplate, I guess).

Granted, one doesn't go into something like Friday the 13th Part 2 expecting something of Shakespearean proportions, but it's still an inept piece of work. The debuting director, Steve Miner, doesn't get enough creepy atmosphere going -- unlike in the original, we never feel the counselors are vulnerably isolated out in the woods; and his camerawork is consistently underwhelming (the numerous shots from the killer's point-of-view are overused and clunky; and the compositions are inexpressive and boxy in a bland TV kind of way -- it's hard to believe the movie was shot in 1.85:1 rather than 1.33:1). Here is a filmmaker who's not only fouling up on the basics but throwing in groan-inducing attempts at humor like cutting from a shot of a dog walking up to Jason's feet to one of hot dogs cooking away on a grill. And what on earth, pray tell, possessed him to unfathomably cut to shots of a full moon during a late-in-the-game action sequence (with grade-Z spatial logistics, mind you) where Jason is in hot pursuit of Ginny over hundreds of yards? You'd think someone of even mediocre technical know-how couldn't screw up an entry in an undemanding series such as this, but darned if Miner, whose use of film language is akin to a drunk fumbling about for his car keys, rolls snake eyes through most of the still-feels-overlong eighty-six-minute running time. Of course, the screenplay by Ron Kurz (who did much better work in the crude but effective urban slasher Eyes of a Stranger), hasn't exactly provided the sturdiest of groundwork. The dialogue is pure poppycock ("What's brown and sits on a piano? Beethoven's bowel movement"), the telegraphing of plot devices blatantly obvious to the nth degree (a VW having trouble starting at the beginning, and a chainsaw, which we haven't seen used for anything, being put away in a nearby closet), and the ultra-low behavioral actions of the heroine pitiful beyond belief (after she strikes Jason with the chainsaw, rather than finishing him off while he's on the floor, she just hits him with a chair and runs away, just so Jason can have -- no pun intended -- yet another stab at her). Which is a shame because some of the performers, against all odds, manage to come through. Furey's understated, quietly-resilient hero is very appealing. Baker, who indulges in a skinny-dipping scene displaying the kind of perfect figure and delectable tan lines that should make all men libidinously moan, has a playful naughtiness that's all her own. And McBride and Marie-Taylor have a couple of really sweet scenes. (Unfortunately, Steel's performance is runny, with both Randolph and Kober repulsive and about as erotic as raw sewage.) Friday the 13th Part 2 simply fails to deliver the goods, with gorehounds likely to be disappointed, too, what with Miner, whose camera never seems to be in the right damn place, cutting away from the killings way too soon -- there's more of the almighty red stuff to be found in an old Marcus Welby, M.D. rerun, for cripe's sake. Tsk, tsk.

Rent the original.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=999&reviewer=327
originally posted: 10/24/11 02:00:42
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/22/17 morris campbell same old shit 1 stars
10/29/11 Louis Blyskal Just another scary movie 2 stars
7/18/11 art Once again FRIDAY the 13th BURRIES halloween!!!! 5 stars
10/08/10 art i saw this at a drive -in,it was a double feature with SATURN 3, i liked saturn 3! 1 stars
9/28/10 PAUL SHORTT REPETITIVE AND TEDIOUS 1 stars
12/27/09 art THE BEST FRIDAY'S are as follow's PART ONE,PART TWO{THIS ONE},AND PART 3. > 5 stars
10/08/09 art THIS SEQUAL TO THE 1980 CLASSIC IS FOR THE BIRD"S!,NICE TRY. 1 stars
6/14/09 art THIS FRIDAY THE 13TH[PART TWO] is FOR THE BIRD"S!. 1 stars
2/10/09 lo& This movie scared the crap out of me when I was a kid. 4 stars
10/20/08 Monster A Go-Go Awful-worst of the series-it's a wonder Miner got another job after this.Horrible direction 1 stars
10/05/08 blarginbadigalnohif mehhhhhhhhhhhhh 3 stars
4/16/08 art FRIDAY THE 13THpart ONE THE BEST SLASHER FILM I APOLOGIZE IT SUCKED JUST LIKE PART 2 1 stars
2/17/07 David Pollastrini Jason looks better in the hockey mask 4 stars
12/09/06 GAH! gay 1 stars
11/05/06 MP Bartley Good opening and thumbs up for the weirdo ending. Some decent chills to be had. 3 stars
7/24/06 Quazar oo look out im wearing a bread bag. ooga booga. spare me 1 stars
4/12/06 Daniel Kirsten Baker,s Sexy Goddess 5 stars
1/17/06 Anthony Feor Sequels suck and this movie proves it 2 stars
11/24/05 cr almost good as the first friday, I like Ginny and all the other characters Ki ki ki ki ha 4 stars
10/14/05 Darren O Delivers as good as the first, though the diluted gore dulls the effect. Amy Steel rocks. 4 stars
8/23/05 Sugarfoot Just a tip:Having the killer wear a gunny sack over his head is more amusing than scary. 2 stars
7/14/05 Brandy Harrington The Fiday The 13th series blows, each movie spawned a Halloween rip-off. 1 stars
6/28/05 R just for fun, hold this up against the likes of "audition." american horror is a joke. 1 stars
6/11/05 Manu Ginobli God this fuckin' shit sucks. 1 stars
5/27/05 tony not as good as the first one.but still has its classic scary moments 4 stars
11/10/04 Iwata One of the best sequels for the best slasher series out there. 5 stars
11/05/04 dave oh im scary im wearing a bread bag oga boga. spare me 1 stars
10/12/04 kevin watts NOT AS GOOD AS FIRST,BUT NOT BAD 4 stars
7/02/04 American Slasher Goddess The best sequel in the series, Amy Steel is a likeable heroine. 4 stars
6/07/04 Ryan Clark The best sequel of the series... this is just as good as (if not better than) the original. 4 stars
5/16/04 John oh well 2 stars
4/08/04 phoenix Amy Steel is a great and sexy heroine. Jason's rules, except for that sack. 4 stars
3/17/04 PAYNE_KillerZ No hockey mask!!!!... BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO 2 stars
2/26/04 Samuel A great sequel to a great origional 4 stars
2/17/04 Ramey Jason needs a mask not a bag on his head. Otherwise decent flick. 3 stars
2/06/04 c.r a good sequel, Jason best movie! 4 stars
2/04/04 Chad Foster Luv It 5 stars
12/12/03 Captain Spaulding probably the second best in the series, not counting 'Freddy vs Jason' 5 stars
12/12/03 Kellie unintentionally funny..but still a good horror flick!! 3 stars
12/10/03 Tommy good film!! 4 stars
11/02/03 American Slasher Goddess Very good followup to the great original. Steel is a likeable heroine. 4 stars
10/16/03 Erik Van Sant Jason's debut! Looks like a KKK hillbilly though. Watch for wheel-chair arm wrestling! 4 stars
10/08/03 Double G Potatoe Bag over jason's head, UNBEATABLE! 5 stars
9/17/03 Samuel Justus This is where the torture starts from part 2 all the wat to Freddy vs Jason!! Shit!!!! 1 stars
8/29/03 darren ALMOST MATCHES THE CLASSIC ORIGINAL-BUT TOO MANY CUTS 4 stars
7/22/03 Double G A classic. Jason has not yet found his hockey mask! 3 stars
6/04/03 Mike I watched this? Why me!? 2 stars
1/02/03 Chowie mmm.... 2 stars
12/29/02 Jack Sommersby Kristen Baker's awesome butt in those short-shorts is to die for!!!! 2 stars
11/28/02 Kyle Repectable sequel, then they really start going downhill fast. 3 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum More gore for your snore 3 stars
9/30/02 Michael Carruthers Pretty much the same as the first one - except scarier, with more nudity and overall better 2 stars
8/16/02 Shaun good 4 stars
8/09/02 Tyner best of the series, last 4 movies are fucking lame 5 stars
6/20/02 Film Dude Full nudity. Sweet. 4 stars
6/02/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi well, i actually liked his mum more....but ok 3 stars
4/25/02 maximal01 Oh,wow. Look. The guy who wants to kill us is having a bad hair day (yawn). 1 stars
3/09/02 Chowie the people who made this should be stripped of their clothes, tied up &shitted on 1 stars
1/16/02 David A. The first twenty minutes were the scariest. 4 stars
11/30/01 Rutt13 can't explain it, but I kinda dig it 3 stars
11/20/01 Chris K. Once again, this ripped off Mario Bava's TWITCH OF THE DEATH NERVE (1971). 1 stars
10/05/01 Eric Incredibly boring. Parts 4, 6, 7, and 9 are a lot better. 1 stars
9/29/01 Phoenix Compared to some of the other sequels, this one is OK. 3 stars
9/25/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It's strange because... I thought Jason was'nt alive!?! 4 stars
9/16/01 Mr. Hat Better than the first one. 3 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Jason makes his entrance...I'm lovin' it! 5 stars
7/28/01 Francine Boobs...yes. Scary...no. Blandly entertaining. 2 stars
4/14/01 LiL Predictable piece of shit. What the fuck is Jason wearing around his head?! 1 stars
2/23/01 Jeremy part 1 and 2 (also "jason in manhattan")are great 5 stars
1/28/01 Barrett Kaelin Kirsten Baker has the nicest looking arse! 3 stars
1/09/01 Steve Summers This is the best movie of the series in my opinion, i don't care what all you fucks think 5 stars
8/12/00 Justin Its got decapitations, dead dogs and full frontal nudity! What more could u want? 5 stars
5/01/00 Bender Underrated and scarier than the original. 4 stars
5/01/00 Gus Van Sant wonderful shite! 5 stars
4/29/00 Ehh... good 5 stars
4/13/00 SwatchDog The final scene is a real chiller.. good performances and even some T&A for the desperate! 4 stars
3/31/00 TIGGER I word- CRAP! 1 stars
3/24/00 David Rogers In the first one they said Jason was a dead little boy, that just confused me. 1 stars
3/02/00 Kyle Broflovski I fell asleep--and I was on a caffeine binge!!! Need I say more??? 1 stars
1/18/00 Jedi15 More of the same, only much worse. Not even the death scenes can save this shit. 1 stars
10/01/99 rob better than the first 3 stars
3/15/99 Tirana Parker The 3rd i luv sein the white crakers getn hacked, i do it 2 and shit 5 stars
3/08/99 Abdulawana the Boshma of India Teefa no like this movie, no indians. 1 stars
3/07/99 KK Dusenbury It fucking kicks ass. Lets all go out and machete handicap people!!!( I love that part) 5 stars
11/13/98 Lord Of The Dunce It got worse. And worse. And worse. 3 stars
10/30/98 Negative Creep Much like Scream, The first fifteen minutes makes up for the rest of the film. 3 stars
9/28/98 katherine the fri 13 movies all stink. i luv horrors, but fri 13 is boring! 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-May-1981 (R)
  DVD: 05-Oct-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1982


Directed by
  Steve Miner

Written by
  Ron Kurz

Cast
  Amy Steel
  John furey
  Adrienne King
  Kirsten Baker
  Stuart Charno
  Warrington Gillette



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast