eFilmCritic Forum Index eFilmCritic
Community Forum

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

user

View previous topic :: View next topic  
SarahKimball

PostPosted: Thu Nov 07, 2002 11:11 am    Post subject: user Reply with quote

Hello everyone, I am a student at Tufts University writing an article about all of the ratings and review sites online. I was wondering if any of you would want to answer a few questions about why/how you became reviewers, what sort of feedback you get, if you use consumer review sites yourself, and how valid customer ratings and reviews are in general. Thanks!!! please email me at sarah.kimball@tufts.edu
Mrs. Norman Maine

PostPosted: Thu Nov 07, 2002 1:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you suppose she's interested in fictitious Hollywood Divas?

MNM
Oz
HBS Monkey
HBS Monkey

PostPosted: Thu Nov 07, 2002 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you read her post in the feedback/suggestions thread, yeah.

Why do I do it? Used to work in film production, got sick of finding new jobs every few months, figured writing about it might prove more stable. Shows how much I knew.

Feedback - depends on what I say. If I ride the fence, like 98% of reviewers that don't write on this site do, I get nothing. If I go hard and smite the unworthy, I get plenty of 'yeehaw' emails. The best feedback is from the filmmakers themselves. Those are really who I'm aiming the reviews at - either a 'take that, you hack' or a 'round of applause'. The smaller filmmakers make it very clear that they're listening and appreciative.

Yes, I use consumer reviews myself, but only from a few select folks. I could really care less what Harry Knowles has to say. The world has enough ginger-headed globular fanboys that I don't need advice from one.