More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.51

Awesome: 14.2%
Worth A Look: 16.98%
Average: 12.65%
Pretty Bad: 17.9%
Total Crap38.27%

13 reviews, 246 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Psychomagic, a Healing Art by Rob Gonsalves

Secret Garden, The (2020) by Peter Sobczynski

Star Wars Episode IX: The Rise of Skywalker by Jay Seaver

Force of Nature by Rob Gonsalves

Greyhound by Rob Gonsalves

Undercover Vice: Strapped for Danger Part II by Rob Gonsalves

Painted Bird, The by Rob Gonsalves

Relativity by Jay Seaver

Amulet by Jay Seaver

Secret, The: Dare to Dream by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Village, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by David Hollands

"Watching village idiots for two hours."
1 stars

Throughout The Village, I was shocked beyond belief. M. Night Shyamalan's latest is easily of the worst, most ridiculous films of 2004. Hardly a single frame goes by in which we don't hear atrocious dialogue, see some of the worst directorial decisions since The Ring, and bear witness to a movie made by a filmmaker who's only inspiration here seems to be his own ego.

The Village concerns a village (heh) surrounded by a forest. Within are boring people. In the forest around them are creatures. There is an established deal with the creatures whereby no one will venture into the forest and the creatures won't enter the village. This changes when a boring villager discovers skinned chiwawas in a boring fashion (literally! The shot is four people standing perfectly symmetrical, and staring without emotion). Boring people then talk. There's a poor love story. The creatures are then revealed full on, and after, the director attempts to build suspense by hiding them. More boring people talk. There's a stabbing. Someone goes into the forest. More d*mn talking. Obvious twists are revealed...through more boring talk. A creature attacks. Someone talks. Then it's over. I've just saved you your money.

The main reason why this fails is that writer, producer, director M. Night Shyamalan seems to have built this film up solely from the twist. Watching this, he obviously started there and worked up very flimsily. This is evidenced by the virtual nothing that happens throughout the film. When something of interest does happen, it's usually horribly forced or terribly obvious. For example, Shyamalan introduces a love story into the film. This could have been interesting, but I was reminded of the worst elements of a Stanley Kubrick film when watching these scenes. The dialogue is constantly cold and un-moving. Things that could have been told to the audience through subtle expressions are explained in detail. There's absolutely zero chemistry between the actors. And Shyamalan still felt this warranted having this subplot shoved in our faces for an hour and a half of screen time.

It isn't just that that irks me, though. Shyamalan, who had impressed me to no end with the superb Signs, has written a terminally stupid film. Whenever a twist needs to be revealed to us, Shyamalan has someone literally popping up on the screen and explaining everything in detail. If that doesn't happen, characters usually re-open secret boxes for no particular reason, and we hear interior monologues of things that we hadn't previously seen or heard. The boxes themselves, containing some pretty important information, are seen basically sitting under every villager's staircase! Right, stick it in the most noticeable place if your one intention is keeping it hidden.

Script elements come out of nowhere constantly. Someone mentions magic rocks (!), and then those are discarded as soon as they are revealed. As one can probably tell, logic is constantly thrown to the wolves. Just wait until you get to the point where a father sends out his blind daughter (!!) to retrieve medicine. What the Hell was this guy on when he made that smart decision? And if this is truly 1897, what in the world are chiwawas doing in this village? An important plot point is hidden in a place in which people are put when they're bad. A lot of people go in there. When the plot point is discovered, ADR dialogue comes out of nowhere informing us what we are watching, even though we've already figured things out and know that it is stupid. To have someone tell us what it is only seems to make it more stupid. Not only that, but these people actually sound surprised that their secret was discovered in one of the worst places to hide anything.

****SPOILER WARNING****

Then, there's the issue of the twist itself. Even if it could have shocked anyone, it is unbelievably poor. Logic errors abound here. For one, it is revealed that the creatures in the woods are actually people dressed up in costumes. Right. Then how the Hell were these people making the rather complicated and obviously electronic growling sounds whenever they showed up? When the sounds come from the depths of the forest, I can accept that; it probably was something electronic. But when wearing the costume in the film, it's pretty hard to carry a synthesizer around with you. Each person inside the costume makes that same sound throughout, even one character at the end who puts it on for the first time.

We also wonder why no one noticed that the village elders where conveniently disappearing whenever a monster showed up...come to think of it, neither did Shyamalan. Whenever the creatures are around, we usually see every elder in the scene as well. That makes no sense, given that they are the ones who dress up as the creatures. So who's doing this? When yet another twist occurs, it is revealed this time that the village is actually located in a nature preserve closed off near a highway! Say that again to yourself out loud, and realise just how that sounds. It comes so out of nowhere that it threatens to rip the celluloid in which it rests completely to shreds. And when we start thinking about how planes never conveniently fly over the village, Shyamalan gives us a quick explanation that the chief elder of the village paid for the airspace (!!!). I'm sorry, but in order to keep a plane from being seen in what is a pretty big d*mn sky, A LOT of air space needs to be bought. Miles and miles of sky. Either the man has over thirty trillion dollars, or this too convenient plot point is trying to be covered over.

Let's take a moment to comment upon Shyamalan's cameo. It is one of the most egotistical I've ever seen. It consists of his face only being shown vaguely in reflection as if he's some kind of important mysterious figure. He's only in the movie to give bad plot information. Yet Shyamalan apparently thinks he's Alfred Hitchcock all of a sudden. After an audience member has sat through a film this bad, and then he or she sees THAT...most, if not all respect for the filmmaker flies out more than a few windows.

There is one little inkling of a thought within the film, involving human nature. It could have been handled brilliantly, but it, like everything else in the movie, is as obvious as can be. The elders created the village because they didn't like the modern world in which they lived; one filled with cruelty and violence. I find it very telling that their attempts to create a peaceful society without the modern weapons of destruction failed simply because of human nature. There's also a slight fear here as well. Basically, no one is allowed to leave the village. No one can go for medicine or supplies if needed, and they don't know that those supplies exist. However, it again feels stupid that the elders wouldn't bother bringing even medicine with them! How can this much stupidity exist among a group of about six. Surely one person must have told the others that this aspect of the plan was a bad idea, and that problems like the main one in the film usually come about because of such stupidity.

In any case, that aspect of the plot is telling, though it is presented as horribly as anything else in the film. Shyamalan sets up a dramatically obvious situation. Characters talk about the town from which they came in the film as something unbearably evil; when we actually leave the village and head into modern times, we see nothing but literal walls and walls of newspaper clippings detailing stabbings, gunshot victims, and even decapitations! This fills every part of every newspaper clipping we see. You know Mr. Director, I got this aspect without having to have the evil of the world overemphasized to such an insulting degree. The clippings are shown right up to the camera lense, making sure it's what we focus on the most during the scenes in which they are featured. To say it approaches bad comic book level goofiness would be like saying water is clear.

There is one thing done well here, and that is the whole concept of the bad colour. The villagers in the film are forbidden to have the colour red in their midst. Throughout the movie, I was genuinely curious why it was that particular colour, and I found out the answer when a character stabs someone, and calls the blood on the knife the bad colour. Thus, the bad colour symbolises the violence inherent in every human being. Too bad this is the only truly clever thing in the film.

****END SPOILER WARNING****

Even if one hasn't seen the film, one probably already knows the big twist. Shyamalan has ruined himself, because at this point, we can usually predict his twists just because we know they're coming. Predicting what this one will be can be done easily by just reading about the plot. The fact that Shyamalan still takes his sweet time getting there is what frustrates me the most. With the audience already clued in well into the film, the sensible thing to do would be to try and make as entertaining a film as possible. But no, Shyamalan must think he's a filmmaking God or something, because he lets his movie unfold in the slowest, most bland way possible. At least fifty f*cking minutes could have been cut from this film, yet Shyamalan obviously thinks that everything he's created is absolute gold. I would be very surprised if deleted scenes showed up on the DVD. One honestly wishes the film would get to the twist faster, because we simply couldn't bear more talking. Most of the scenes are shot in this pretentious, pseudo-important fashion: very little cuts between shots allowing us to focus on the...cough cough...dialogue. We notice this pretentiousness constantly, and it distracts and insults us to no end.

The monsters show up for about two short scenes. They are laughable in every way. After Shyamalan displayed a marvellous sense of control with his monsters in Signs, it truly depresses me that he chose to reveal the monsters here twenty minutes in. Even if it is a fleeting glimpse, it's one that's filled with too much visual information. Plus, the main monster that we see is actually done by computer generated imagery. Not only does it look terrible, but the decision to make the thing CGI makes absolutely no sense when one finds out the twist ending. In any case, when Shyamalan tries to scare the audience by shoving these things into the frame, the attempts fail miserably. A poorly designed Muppet isn't scary. Just idiotic on his part.

This movie is blandly directed to a depressing degree. There are a few good shots here and there, but one can just tell that the director is setting himself on autopilot throughout. Some of the scene executions range from bad (Shyamalan panning nonsensically to various objects in the frame) to horrifically awful (Shyamalan creating what is essentially the worst stabbing scene ever put on film; POV shot, POV shot, shot of knife. Choppy, with edits that are horrifically distracting). If the director's intention was to bore the Hell out of his audience, then he's obviously created a masterpiece here. Nothing that he does in the film hits us in any way. For most of the movie, Shyamalan relies on the traditional jump scare. Usually, unlike in Signs, most of those jumps don't even feature the monsters. It's usually tree branches breaking at twice their normal volume and what not. The huge climactic sequence of the film isn't frightening in the least, because Shyamalan for some reason thinks that a Muppet monster standing in the background of a shot is in any way scary. When it does move, it runs like an over-emotive sprinter. Definitely not the most frightening image around. And the scene is photographed with as few cuts as possible, which hardly gets the blood pumping in any way, since there's nothing particularly interesting the eye can follow.

The performances indicate nothing but extreme boredom. My jaw dropped when I saw that actors such as Joaquin Phoenix, Sigourney Weaver, William Hurt, and Brendan Gleeson could possibly give poor performances. Every actor in this film does his or her best to impersonate sleepwalkers. Unfortunately for the audience, we feel like falling asleep watching these cardboard cut-outs trying to emote. Phoenix does literally nothing in his role. Shyamalan wrote him as something of a mute, and his painfully vacant expressions had me thinking that he really should have played someone who spoke a little bit more. William Hurt acts like a pretentious a*shole throughout, speaking his lines in such a pompous fashion. I usually love this guy's performances, but he does absolutely nothing of note here. Even Gleeson doesn't seem to be having fun here, and he's usually a very gifted character actor. What a shame. Only Bryce Dallas Howard does anything even remotely interesting. She's honestly pretty good, and I hope this movie doesn't ruin her acting career.

Roger Deakins did the film's cinematography, and I find it unfortunate that his work ended up being so bland here. Most of the time, we see very bland colours throughout, the only thing jarring us out of our somnambulist state being the occasional flash of red. Otherwise, the dark scenes are unfortunately lit too brightly, not giving the audience enough sense of mystery to be truly terrified. The scenes in daylight are a bit too bright, and look processed most of the time. In a film that's supposed to be taking place in a spot with no electric light, that definitely isn't a good sign. Finally, whenever a monster shows up, Deakins doesn't even try to put some kind of a shadow over it to make it at all menacing. It's just shown brightly, and it spoils any sense of mystery.

Wrapping all this mediocrity together is a thankfully incredible musical score from James Newton Howard. The guy is an incredible talent, and he almost lifts a few scenes above the level of horrible. His music is provocative and foreboding, unfortunately not reflecting what's happening onscreen. Still, if one closes one's eyes, the music almost makes one think that something far better than this film is playing. There are quiet moments in the score, with the strings used subtly to bring us into the world of The Village. At least I can say that the jumps themselves aren't bad, thanks to Howard providing a few very good jump scare stingers. Finally, I must praise the violin work in the film. The violin is a huge part of this score, and it is just lovely. When that part of the music kicks in, one just wants to lean back and cry. It's that good. I guess it's just unfortunate that it couldn't have been in a better film.

The Village is easily one of the biggest disappointments of the year. Shyamalan was obviously working from the first draft of his script, because this puppy needed some major work. It is one Hell of a long, bloated affair that couldn't excite a rock. Depressing to know that it came from a director who once showed so much promise.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=10269&reviewer=355
originally posted: 03/26/05 05:19:26
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/07/20 dupadoit it is cool 4 stars
10/30/16 morris campbell dull dumb dreary one the worst movies EVER 1 stars
2/06/14 Luisa Thought provoking, great acting, creepy! loved it! 5 stars
9/02/11 John Nowak Hilariously artificial. The characters seem to do things to fool the audience. 2 stars
8/16/11 chris Dumber than a sack of hammers, stupid people make for great cinema I guess. 1 stars
2/23/10 JM Synth By turns dull and risible, and somethimes even both at once 2 stars
12/16/09 girl sadly underrated 4 stars
3/19/09 Norma Lehigh Sany Zendup in MARY SCOOVIE IV vave GILLAGE a daison r'etre after all! 2 stars
3/17/09 :] not a bad movie 4 stars
1/13/09 Anonymous. this works better as a love story than a horror movie, but i really liked it! :] 4 stars
1/06/09 FrankNFurter Bryce Howard plays blind like Marlee Matlin could play a piano tuner.Indescribably bad! 1 stars
10/14/08 sonu bhabhi ki chut 2 stars
9/07/08 Samantha Pruitt predictable, a few scary parts, has a great look to it 3 stars
6/03/08 David Cohen Director tries to recreate "Sixth Sense" and fails miserably, pretentious and preciatable 1 stars
5/28/08 PAUL SHORTT A MADDENINGLY MISCALCULATED HACK JOB 1 stars
5/04/08 Josh Just read how dumb the reviewers who gave it low are. 5 stars
5/20/07 fools♫gold O, how much people would like it if it wasn't so popular! Hell, bttr thn Sixth Sense. 9/10. 5 stars
5/07/07 Orange A somewhat goofy allegory but it looked and sounded wonderful as did Bryce Howard. 3 stars
5/02/07 Tracey Chambers crap, total crap 1 stars
4/08/07 Nobody If he just cut 20 minutes of nothing and added more scares, it would have been great 4 stars
3/20/07 Timothy Those who don't like this movie don't go to a movie theater to think 5 stars
2/22/07 Beau Had its good moments...cleverly made but lacked some expected themes e.g horror/thriller 3 stars
11/11/06 David Pollastrini I liked it better than Signs 4 stars
10/20/06 Pierre People's tastes differ wildly ... I loved it!! .... My Mom would hate it. Worth seeing 5 stars
9/17/06 hector i spend like 30 bucks with my girl and we almost fell sleep 1 stars
8/19/06 Beau I liked it! great acting, good plot and this kept you in suspense!!! 4 stars
8/07/06 Chloe It was totally brilliant!! 5 stars
7/21/06 Mr. Incredible All Im going to say is that I wouldn't recommend this to anyone else 1 stars
7/15/06 Anthony G Being as how I saw this movie for free, I still wanted my money back. 1 stars
7/04/06 Sumit Kumar Pal Amazing performances, direction, truly Shyamalan....and wtf the ending is also greaaat!!. 5 stars
6/05/06 mary just bad 1 stars
5/12/06 mr.seraph i didnt see that end comming... but i wasnt impressed wen it came - boring 1 stars
4/23/06 UnKnown it was arite but "the sixth sense" was better 4 stars
3/12/06 Jim It ain't a twist if you see it coming. 3 stars
3/03/06 Tanya I liked it even though it was strange 4 stars
2/15/06 matt its a beautiful movie, as long as your not looking for "popular crap" like most others. 5 stars
1/22/06 Your Mum Good 4 stars
1/17/06 josh horrible twist ending 1 stars
12/20/05 Nicole Not as bad as the rumors led me to believe, but not great. 3 stars
12/06/05 tatum Even knowing "the twist," I was impressed 4 stars
11/18/05 noops pretty nice movie..... 4 stars
11/09/05 Anthony G Fucking borefest, more excitement taking a diarhea shit. 1 stars
10/30/05 love not so bad, but seen better movies of this director 3 stars
9/26/05 Klondo a movie so disappointing and condescending that it inspires you 1 stars
9/25/05 D Buckley "He's found one of the suits under the floorboards!" 1 stars
9/10/05 Joe dirt Im starting to think Night Shyamalan stole the ideas for Unrbeakable and Six sence 1 stars
9/04/05 Quigley it had so much potential...what the crap happened?! not scary and not good. watch signs 1 stars
8/24/05 Anthony G I really hope I don't have to waste 2 hours of my life, oh wait...GARBAGE 1 stars
7/09/05 Moctezuma About as bad as House Of 1,000 Crappy-Ass Filmmakers, er, I mean, Corpses 1 stars
6/28/05 R hahaha! "the baaad color!" shyamalan, you SLAY me! HAHAHA! oh my god, you're serious... 1 stars
6/27/05 pin cliched crap. Ironic microcosm...planet of the apes? End the cameos please 1 stars
6/22/05 Manu Ginobli david hollands writes fuckin long reviews. 1 stars
6/08/05 Rock-Steady wow, looking foward to this for a long time, and then! SHIT 1 stars
5/25/05 Casey Becher A real disappointment 1 stars
5/20/05 dwarzel How did half a dozen elders beget all these villagers? 1 stars
5/19/05 wjrogers Ok movie...alittle slow..ending made you think maybe they were not so crazy after all 4 stars
5/17/05 E-FUNK Shyamalan Village is full of nothing. Another shitty trick ending to an un-scary movie. 1 stars
5/01/05 Paul Shawver good first half unimaginative ending 2 stars
5/01/05 reuben rupp this movie had such an original plot and some great twists. 5 stars
4/29/05 haha dumbest ending ever, by the way,when your blind your not supposed to see things? 1 stars
4/23/05 Quigley the sickest plot twist ever should have been in movies like Walking Tall, not with shymalan 2 stars
4/23/05 Heather Tarlecky I love the suprise ending 4 stars
4/21/05 Carolyn Rathburn It certainly wasn't what I expected, but it had a strange attraction, I liked it. 5 stars
4/17/05 Cary Gordon Expectations were so high all were disappointed by an only OK film. 3 stars
4/17/05 David Siegel There was a point to this thing? 1 stars
4/16/05 Carol Conway It was pretty bad 1 stars
4/08/05 Lina Correa His movies get worse and worse, this is really not worth it 2 stars
4/04/05 Littlepurch If only it was all as good as last 25 mins. Bored out of my skull for the rest of it. 2 stars
4/02/05 irene diaz A very bad film, almost weird in a not good kind of way 1 stars
3/30/05 Skeeve Shamalamadingdong's OWW! I STUBBED MY TOE! 1 stars
3/28/05 Charlene Javier What a laugh! 1 stars
3/26/05 hannaho It wasn't the Sixth Sense, but it was intriguing nonetheless. 4 stars
3/13/05 zaw Not Horror Film, but interesting 4 stars
3/12/05 DONNA L MILLER it was a great movie 4 stars
3/09/05 pepperann224 more of a love story then anything 3 stars
2/26/05 k Sucked harder than ur girlfriend... 1 stars
2/22/05 Reese Great movie...if your IQ is higher than 17. 5 stars
2/19/05 NBCraftsman "This film makes you re-evaluate the concept of whom truly is the monster in the woods..." 5 stars
2/17/05 Kathleen4691 Normal suspension of disbelief isn't close to enough for this one, get the lobotomy first. 1 stars
2/15/05 Rock-steady Fuck that, a waste of 8 bucks(could of got a bj for that) 1 stars
2/14/05 Angela Saunders Disappointing as a horror film, entertaining and likeable if you take it at face value. 3 stars
2/12/05 John Jankowski interesting plot twist, but otherwise not very scary or entertaining 3 stars
2/11/05 Beryl Ladd perfect, brillient, superb. watch it again if you don't thinkso, you have obviouly missed s 5 stars
2/09/05 moviefan This now is in my worst movies I've ever seen category. 1 stars
2/09/05 nannette ryan this was a terrible movie. It advertised as scary but was only dumb 1 stars
2/07/05 Vince A rather enjoyable experience... it's different 4 stars
2/05/05 DM Wooden dialogue, stilted acting, convoluted plot, but good cinematography and music 2 stars
2/05/05 LilyM A huge disappointment; Adrien Brody should give his Oscar back. 2 stars
2/03/05 Kathy terPlugg Fuck The Village's "takeoverAd"! Boycott this cinematic toxic waste dump! 1 stars
2/03/05 haha this movie sucks 1 stars
2/03/05 jj It's about preserving innocence from a cruel world with a strong love plot. 5 stars
2/02/05 BobbysRedQueen This is one of the worst movies I've ever seen. It basically put my whole family to sleep ! 1 stars
2/01/05 april gupton WOW, this was bad 1 stars
1/30/05 Frank Tells good movie 1 stars
1/29/05 WILLIAM OK MOVIE 3 stars
1/28/05 M A Smith Thought-provoking and absorbing 5 stars
1/27/05 JesseL Started out great! Then turned into a didactic farce. 1 stars
1/22/05 Darryl I didn't expect to see so many "sucks" ratings. It's not scary, but an interesting story. 3 stars
1/16/05 Charlene Javier Shyamalan h*t 1 stars
1/14/05 Barry Taylor It was a waste of money, I was not impressed at all 2 stars
1/14/05 Al Guy A waste of real movie watching time. 2 stars
1/11/05 KSisko2K5 Plays like a low rent Twlight Zone. Ugh. The Hitchcockian cameo is pompous & irritating 1 stars
1/11/05 Katie Heath too generous with one star 1 stars
11/24/04 Brody plays village idiot? How were we to know? Idiot, schmidiot! Everybody in this village acts like a freaky idiot! 1 stars
11/24/04 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne I wish somebody farted in it so EricDSnider would realize it is crap! 1 stars
11/23/04 Hilary Adamson The Blair Lunatic Project! Hopefully NOT what it takes to raise a child! 1 stars
11/15/04 Gabby What a major failure. It was like a tele-movie. I guessed the ending in 15 minutes! Boring 1 stars
11/09/04 Emily Great drama, beautiful score, critical examination of what society can force people into 5 stars
10/26/04 Curtis Chapman I love fat people 5 stars
10/22/04 T it shouldn't be compared to "Sixth Sense" but viewed for it's own merits. watchable film 4 stars
10/20/04 Susan L. Okay. The director can't seem to beat Sixth Sense. 3 stars
10/09/04 Denise It was good it showed how easily people can be mislead. 5 stars
10/08/04 Josť Oviedo Even masters sometimes have flaws! 4 stars
10/07/04 malcolm the suspense was incredible, Hitchcock-like even; story was pretty preposterous though. 3 stars
10/04/04 Marco Do not try to see behind what may be is supposed not to have behind. 4 stars
10/01/04 meera very nice movie. but it's bit slow,nice cinematography,director done a good job 5 stars
9/25/04 M waste, total waste. 2 stars
9/24/04 Serch Exellent Movie, totally unpredictable 5 stars
9/23/04 Laura really enjoyed it 4 stars
9/20/04 Battery How do you deal with grief? To clever, to subtle for most. 5 stars
9/19/04 Foks Maha gandu aur nihayat hi bhosar aur lund picture hai...manoj shayamlan ki maa ki chut 1 stars
9/17/04 Jojie I rather slice my dick off with a blunt knife than watching this shit fest. BE WARNED!!! 1 stars
9/16/04 Joseph Barale Rubbish 1 stars
9/15/04 Diego Bega It's a great film. Should be watched as a story. 5 stars
9/12/04 croweater888 this film is bad, we must bury it... 1 stars
9/12/04 john bale Lead down the garden path AGAIN. Clever filmaking. Howard (Actress) & Howard (Music) excell 4 stars
9/12/04 Saffier I really liked it, it was a cool movie 4 stars
9/11/04 E-v@2_m*cs Sit, watch and let it come all over you... 5 stars
9/08/04 ALDO watch it if you liked Little House on the Prairie...its that bad 1 stars
9/06/04 zachula bronder i think this movie is very good 5 stars
9/05/04 danissa dorren awesome!!! the end a little bit deceiving but worth the watch 5 stars
9/04/04 M Plot holes galore! a lead up to nothing and waste of suspense. 2 stars
9/03/04 todd it's "those we do not speak of" dummy 4 stars
9/02/04 Vince Unique cinematography and atmosphere / extremely slow story-telling 3 stars
8/31/04 The Predator horrible, wordt movie ever, yellow is the save color my ass!!! 1 stars
8/30/04 Tam Awful let-down of an ending ruins decent direction & top acting from Bryce 3 stars
8/29/04 HitmanThomas Just not so good at all... 2 stars
8/28/04 Barbara Jones Don't try to guess the ending, or you will. A good movie. Dont try to make it 6th sense! 4 stars
8/26/04 Anthony G wow, wtf is wrong with m.night, this movie was fucking horseshit 1 stars
8/26/04 Claire Waldron A clever funny and downright creepy film that is very watchable. 5 stars
8/24/04 Alan Haverty Bet you didnt see twist coming, critics! 5 stars
8/24/04 Usman Ahmedani Worst film ever. 1 stars
8/23/04 ajay now that bitchslap lowered my expectations, I thought it was good. :) 4 stars
8/22/04 sylvie beautifully directed and acted, story line crap but hey i did scream several times 4 stars
8/21/04 Josh Standlee Goes from kind of scary, to kind of depressing. I can't say I hated it, though. 3 stars
8/20/04 S.F Predictable. 'Creature' looks like the Grinch. watch Unbreakable instead. 2 stars
8/20/04 anna so awosme, makes yah think adn if u didnt think it was awsome meaans u didnt think about it 5 stars
8/19/04 Carly i thought it was fantastic. 5 stars
8/16/04 Anonymous An awesome film. I don't know why most people didn't like it. 5 stars
8/16/04 Jay totally not that bad 4 stars
8/15/04 chris i think it was great and if you dontlike it you crazy 5 stars
8/15/04 ByeNight garbage, inflated art film to Hollywood appease 1 stars
8/15/04 Anthony G wack status 1 stars
8/15/04 Peter James Does not nearly supply the "scares" that the trailer would have you believe it has 2 stars
8/13/04 rose was giggling ALOT by the end of The Village 4 stars
8/12/04 Nikolai Idiots whining about the plot gladly fork $300 billion for Bush's "kindler gentler" remake 5 stars
8/12/04 Bill Egan I can't believe the twist was so obvious, and so stupid. Why M Night, why? 1 stars
8/12/04 kc great acting, great story telling, people without brains just can't appreciate this 5 stars
8/11/04 prith not a movie for village idiots 5 stars
8/11/04 yuri over expected 1 stars
8/11/04 Aaron Worst movie I have ever seen 1 stars
8/11/04 simon A slow, boring Amish love story 2 stars
8/11/04 Chance Film is not a horror flick so it did not disappoint me 4 stars
8/10/04 Jeff Riley This film is execrable 1 stars
8/10/04 psycho dwarf It took The Village to convince me that M. Night is more substantive than "Mmm Bop". 4 stars
8/10/04 gin why does he get so much press 2 stars
8/09/04 Liza Awesome.See it a second time and everything falls into place,every single dialogue & nuance 5 stars
8/09/04 Hadley Loved it. People should stop focusing on the twist and start focusing on the characters 4 stars
8/09/04 A F Predictable, boring, unoriginal, sappy, great cinematography, and pretty crappy. 2 stars
8/09/04 John Larson I bore dead people! 1 stars
8/09/04 Joe Smaltz Story sucks, acting sucks, really liked the gas fire logs in 18th century setting. Sucks! 1 stars
8/08/04 Mike McGilvray A very smart film. Too smart for most people. I Liked it very much. 5 stars
8/08/04 Jazmin Berona The movie sucked....and it sucked bad... 1 stars
8/08/04 Anus It's 2004, not the 1800s. Crazy fucking white isolationist amish hicks 1 stars
8/07/04 Movietitan Easily predictable and minimal thrills 2 stars
8/07/04 Gladys Sucks 1 stars
8/07/04 Jason this movie licks balls, the story sucked and the ending was extremely dumb 1 stars
8/07/04 chris. signs & unbreak sucked ass, this was better than 6th sense 5 stars
8/06/04 Anthony G Fake scares and a bullshit plot means????? this movie sucks balls 1 stars
8/06/04 Jeff Excellent -- very intelligent movie. 5 stars
8/06/04 Dean It could have used a little excitement. I fell asleep several times 3 stars
8/06/04 ELI I thought it would never end 2 stars
8/06/04 Ahnold Agree w/hankster. Not what was expected, but, a decent story by itself. 4 stars
8/06/04 steve palius great atmosphere and film technique but ridiculous plotting and surprises. 2 stars
8/06/04 hankster wasn't bad, just wasn't what it was made out to be 3 stars
8/06/04 Roger D. I made the mistake of guessing the outcome instead of enjoying the film. 5 stars
8/06/04 Maureen B.Howard's performance is the only thing this film has going for it. 4 stars
8/06/04 McGraw Terrible, fails on nearly every level. Ending is awful and lame. 2 stars
8/05/04 Jin M Night scores again. 5 stars
8/05/04 Chris disappointing at first but seeing it as a normal movie it was real good. I liked it a lot 4 stars
8/05/04 KingCanuck Worst. Movie. Ever. 90min of boring, 20min of stupid. You could always see the boom mic too 1 stars
8/05/04 Missy The more I think about it, the more I like it! 4 stars
8/05/04 Barbara somehow, I KNEW what the twist was before the movie started I could have written this scrip 3 stars
8/05/04 Snickerdoodle I liked it but wish Adrien Brody's character wasn't so violent and creepy, I like AB alot 4 stars
8/05/04 K + R 95% of the movie is boring and nothing happens. There is nothing scary about it. 2 stars
8/04/04 ownerofdajoint this movie is incredible.it works on so many levels.don't miss it.it's saying so much!!!!!! 5 stars
8/04/04 Jam Thi People just arent getting what the village is really about...there is a hidden meaning 5 stars
8/04/04 Ian Umm..."interesting"....but it's just bad after you analyze it, sorry M 2 stars
8/04/04 Marce It sucked all ass. To recall this rating's original name. ;) 1 stars
8/04/04 Jimmy James After Unbreakable, I swore I would never watch another MNS movie. doh! 1 stars
8/04/04 Whatevr Better luck next time, Shyamalan 1 stars
8/04/04 eala why do they give him money to make films 1 stars
8/03/04 joe man yall are dumbasses, it was creative all yall want is action dumb fucks 4 stars
8/03/04 Holli It could have been good - but it wasn't. 2 stars
8/03/04 Richard Next time Shaymalan makes a movie I'll wait for it to come on HBO 1 stars
8/03/04 John B What a tragic disappointment. This movie is without question the worst thing I have seen i 1 stars
8/03/04 adora it sucked. it went on and on and the ending had no point. 1 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G This movie fucking sucks fat black dick, worst movie 1 stars
8/03/04 Jahoo This movie sucks "what I shall not speak of" 1 stars
8/03/04 your mom this is the worst movie ive ever seen, Id rather die than sit through the village again!!!! 1 stars
8/03/04 mike belardo If you are looking for suspense and horror look elsewhere. 5 stars
8/03/04 Jesse Perez This movie was a shoddy piece of crap. The dialogue was cheesy. P.S. Ivy is not blind. 2 stars
8/03/04 Kris Certainly not his best, but it's better than most Hollywood schlock these days. 3 stars
8/03/04 Ralph T. The monsters aren't real, where the fuck is the suspense in that? 1 stars
8/03/04 Dave Jensen The Village was the worst movie this year 1 stars
8/03/04 Shane Bell Should have been a made for T.V. that way I wouldnt have had to pay for the gas and ticket 1 stars
8/02/04 M. Trice Great idea for a book, bad idea for a movie. 2 stars
8/02/04 J-rod it's time to put the whole "twist ending" formula to bed. running out of ideas. 2 stars
8/02/04 Jennifer Barker I was so bored throughout most of the film but it's probably b/c I had high expectations. 3 stars
8/02/04 K not so good...made me mad that I wasted the $9 2 stars
8/02/04 Z & H No character development, monsters were you know what, ending made my mouth drop 2 stars
8/02/04 Grace Oh my GOD...OH MY GOD. Nothing in the history of film could be this bad...Gigli was better. 1 stars
8/02/04 Jason this movie is absolutely horrible, and a complete waste of time 1 stars
8/02/04 Melissa Was dissapointed at first (wanted a real scare), but can't stop thinking about it. 4 stars
8/02/04 Emperor's New Clothes At least it was funny, no matter that it wasn't supposed to be. Still gotta <3 Shayamalan 3 stars
8/02/04 JesseL It could have been great, it could have been a contender, instead it SUCKED 5 stars
8/02/04 Mary This movie was drawn out and had no point... it wasn't even scary or anything 1 stars
8/02/04 Rocky I want my 2 hours back to see ANYTHING ELSE! Village of the Luddite Idiots is more honest 1 stars
8/02/04 Michele Schafer Political in nature! The village is analogous to the U.S. 4 stars
8/02/04 Aldo E This movie was definately the most weakest story I have seen in a long while. 1 stars
8/02/04 Elaine Perrone I spent good money on this shit! I See Red, People! 1 stars
8/02/04 Anthony G this movie sucks balls 1 stars
8/02/04 Emily not his best, but that's still a compliment since his worst is still in the A-/B+ category 4 stars
8/01/04 Law stop being so cyncial and appericate a unique and brillant filmamker 5 stars
8/01/04 Jack Oh my, what a borefest. Seriously, I almost walked out of the theater it was so bad. 1 stars
8/01/04 Boyd Petrie If it weren't for Bryce Howard and Joaquin Phoenix, I would have walked out... 1 stars
8/01/04 CharWar Liked it almost as much as 6th Sense - BDHoward is beautiful! 5 stars
8/01/04 Michael Washington An extreme disappointment and clearly the biggest bust of a blockbuster release this summer 1 stars
8/01/04 jumbomargarita A WASTE OF MONEY, BORING 1 stars
7/31/04 Dan Very boring, suspected the twist early in the movie 1 stars
7/31/04 iambubby If he'd have released it under a psuedonym, poeple would have praised it 4 stars
7/31/04 Brad A real let down. 2 stars
7/31/04 Jack Bourbon Heh I thought this was Shyam's best movie yet. 2 stars
7/31/04 zimtk The worst film I've seen so far this year; Worse than Catwoman and White Chicks 1 stars
7/31/04 Thomas Slow; Predictable and the "twist" could have and should have much more meaining. 1 stars
7/30/04 Brian saying this isnt as bad as signs is like saying plague isnt as bad as e. bola 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Jul-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 11-Jan-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Sep-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast