More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.7

Awesome: 10.66%
Worth A Look: 2.46%
Average: 1.64%
Pretty Bad: 17.21%
Total Crap68.03%

5 reviews, 92 user ratings


Latest Reviews

We Are Not Princesses by Jay Seaver

Hustlers by Jay Seaver

Promare by Jay Seaver

Tokyo Ghoul "S" by Jay Seaver

BrightBurn by Rob Gonsalves

Booksmart by Rob Gonsalves

Dead Don't Die, The by Rob Gonsalves

Fagara by Jay Seaver

Rezo by Jay Seaver

Depraved by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Spice World
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"'Girl power' means nothing if you can't spell it."
1 stars

There's just no point to any of this.

Let's be serious. The songs are crap. The appeal, to thousands of pre-14 year old females and the same number of post-30 year old men, is a combination of breast and success.

This film goes no way to changing that impression. There's nothing to it. One of the earlier working titles was "It's Been A Hard Fifteen Minutes", which didn't even try to disguise the fact that this is a blatant Hard Day's Night rip off.

The girls run around singing occasionally, acting badly, trying to be funny and clinging like leeches to any famous face who agreed to do a cameo, hoping they'll give the movie substance.

They don't. It's awful. Even from a fan's point of view, I can't see how it would be seen as anything more. They should have just filmed a concert. At least that would have been original.

"People Of The World!" "BREAK! OUT! THE! GUNS!"

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=106&reviewer=1
originally posted: 08/16/98 10:17:54
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/06/13 PAUL SHORTT BRASH AND SILLY 2 stars
1/10/13 Michael Hernandez 90s Kids Top 10 List for sure, Best Ever 5 stars
11/23/10 Jeff Wilder Hilarious albeit not in the way the "filmmakers" intended. 1 stars
2/18/10 Dr.Lao Insipid and asinine, but hey, its the Spice Girls, what did you expect? 1 stars
1/06/09 the dork knight If you like, YOU'RE AN IDIOT!! There, I said it. 1 stars
8/26/08 Charles Tatum Nothing will prepare you for how bad this is 1 stars
7/27/08 The Dork Knight Will make you want to bomb Britain. 1 stars
12/03/07 sassy brilliant 5 stars
6/24/07 Sugarfoot One of the worst movies ever made. 1 stars
5/11/07 Andy Rubbish review - get a sense of humour. Spice World is amazing! 5 stars
12/01/06 David Pollastrini all the women in this film are hot! 1 stars
5/27/06 Sheena girl power a movie for a child of the 90's 4 stars
4/11/06 Justin Spice Girls OWN. Anyone who takes this movie seriously needs major help. RENT IT. 5 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer The only entertainment this film gave, was me smashing my sister's vhs on the asphault! 1 stars
2/21/06 Sean D It's still not as bad as In The Mix but it's shit 2 stars
9/19/05 Lisa I LOVE IT! 5 stars
9/02/05 tony i used to like the spice girls and this movie still makes me like them! 4 stars
8/06/05 Brandy Harrington WTF? 1 stars
8/03/05 Megan Greer I love the spice girls and that movie was DA BOMB!!!! 5 stars
7/26/05 ROY L. CAIN Definitly not "A HARD DAYS NIGHT." 2 stars
7/20/05 Chris And I used to like this crap... 2 stars
12/05/04 Kristina Williams Posh Spice was my shit in '97, I've laid off the drugs since. 1 stars
11/10/04 spicyzah Spice Girls still rule!! :) One of the best movies in the entire planet!! :) 5 stars
7/17/04 Gray some one is an ASS!!! 1 stars
7/14/04 someone I thought it was the BEST MOVIE EVER! So f*** yall if you think its stupid! 5 stars
7/06/04 Spiderfan720 I... Ga... it really... Oh, words can't describe how bad this is!!! 1 stars
6/25/04 Gray next time any of these girls are on film it will be a porno 1 stars
12/10/03 Samuel retarded!! 1 stars
6/22/03 John Aster Habig Skunk Hos hypocrits to female liberation 1 stars
5/01/03 Spicers #1 Fan This movie was excellent a work of genius! I really enjoyed it,it was really funny*10/10 5 stars
4/28/03 Mara The best movie i have ever seen in my life 5 stars
4/24/03 GWB I say hell yeah hot chicks cool tunes 5 stars
4/17/03 MOHD ZAMRI B. ALI ITS A GREAT MOVIE! I LIKE IT COZ I LURVE THESE SPICE SOO MUCH!!! 5 stars
3/18/03 Sean McLean I would rather watch five spices sit in my kitchen cabinet. 1 stars
2/25/03 Croweater I'll tell you what I want, what I really really want- I want my 8 bucks back! 1 stars
2/04/03 matt scarborough my sister could have made a better movie! 1 stars
1/31/03 Donn Kixote Don't took so seriously, people! Jerk Off! Its a great movie sign othe times 5 stars
1/10/03 Mitsaso I liked it-I'm a masochist!DIE Spice Girls DIEEE!! 1 stars
1/08/03 Kevin I almost wept why was film wasted? 1 stars
11/29/02 mr. Pink A few good moments, but still really bad 2 stars
11/21/02 SHAWSHANK REDEMPTION SLAGS LET LOOSE AGAIN...WITH PLENTY OF STDS 1 stars
11/17/02 Jenna The worst movie I ever had to see!!! It FUCKING SUCKS!!!!!!!! 1 stars
11/13/02 liz lost they were'nt even good at their music why would someone allow them to make a movie... 1 stars
10/27/02 MarktheShark6 Come on now, the Spice Girls are hot!!! Not really, sorry... 1 stars
10/16/02 hitman suite crap film from the hoes with aids......what can i say 1 stars
9/06/02 Chancey Thunderpants Fuck the Spice Girls and their goddamned "movie"! 1 stars
8/16/02 MR Meatloaf drives their bus! Way better than Gladiator! 4 stars
7/17/02 John Unless you are an overwhelming Spice Girls fan, DO NOT i repeat DO NOT see this movie... 1 stars
7/08/02 Girl 9 this movie was so bad I actually had the nerve to ask for my money back! 1 stars
7/02/02 Monster W. Kung Tried to watch it three times, but the temptation to turn the channel was always too strong 1 stars
6/02/02 sdjfsdkjf fucking awful. They're on my hate list now. I want to stick a pencil through Emma's temple. 1 stars
6/01/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi stop rite now shank u very much, i need somebody with some bullets and a gun...... 1 stars
4/29/02 Malcolm Masiero I'll tell you what i want, what i really really want....my 8 bucks back 1 stars
4/13/02 oldgoatmon a movie that was destined to be full of nudity had family values. Go figure. 1 stars
3/25/02 Jimmy Bad movie 1 stars
10/10/01 Butterbean Hey, remember that shit movie that The Monkees made? Spiceworld was not that much better. 2 stars
9/09/01 Gary Victoria was the best actress. I spent the whole movie tryin to decide. 1 stars
8/19/01 Dakamus They dress(ed) like drag queens. What a shitty... film. 1 stars
8/09/01 KC Au Simply awful and unwatchable! Who wrote this thing?! And that music....arrgh....!! 1 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg To watch it is to go mad . 1 stars
6/08/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Ugh. Ugh ugh ugh ugh ugh. Did I mention ugh? UGH!!!!! 1 stars
3/30/01 Rampage this was worse than watching a crappy Britney Spears music video 1 stars
2/15/01 viking Rent "Abba- the Movie" instead !!!! 2 stars
9/14/00 Ground Zero goddam awful 1 stars
4/26/00 Pansy GO SEE DETROIT ROCK CITY 1 stars
2/22/00 Mr. Kramitall Whoever gave this pissant 5 stars is a lousy idiot! And that means you teen movie critic II 1 stars
2/09/00 Richard Wright Get a film, stick the Spice Girls in it. Who cares about silly things like plot and acting? 1 stars
1/09/00 John Markham Just seen it on T.V. FUCKING AWFUL, MAKES GODZILLA LOOK LIKE A MASTERPIECE! 1 stars
11/22/99 Phreezer Imagine I watched Phantoms 4 times before being dragged to this armpit 1 stars
10/17/99 Mr. Invincible You're the man, Ryan_A! Spice Girls suck ass! 1 stars
10/14/99 Lame-Oh Drove me to suicide. Sporty Spice is a female Judge Joe Brown. 1 stars
9/23/99 Matt They can't sing. They can't act. I only wish they couldn't breath!!!! WHO FUCKING CARES! 1 stars
7/20/99 Imagoner Err, Sentaia E, your biological clock is showing. Oh, and the movie is stupid and idiotic. 1 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg Keep your fuckin' day jobs, talentless bitches! Unfunny all the way. 1 stars
5/10/99 Ah Dooey terrible and pointless 1 stars
3/01/99 Spankey They act just as well as they sing 1 stars
2/25/99 Viral Messiah Shi shit shit shit shit shit shit shit 1 stars
1/31/99 El Dorko The hell with your Spiceworld movie crap! 1 stars
12/05/98 Scion of Sailor Jupiter For those of you who hate Spice Girls(Me included)..... This movie proves you right 1 stars
11/16/98 Jules I've seen worse 2 stars
10/24/98 Kwyjibo Ick. Poop. Gah. No. Please. TURN IT OFF! 1 stars
10/17/98 eric sin-chan what a ripoff! they look like Indigo Girls on Prozac 1 stars
9/24/98 Nate Dogg Good clean wholesome poplike this ain't gonna change the world, but it's fun..real fun even 3 stars
9/23/98 Jason Rosenbaum The first movie without a plot. And it sucks all ass! 1 stars
9/06/98 Young Einstein In years to come, women will be ashamed that they liked the Spice Girls this much. 1 stars
8/25/98 Mister Whoopee A shocker. Posh Spice has a nice bum. 1 stars
8/25/98 The Capital City Goofball Keep your tongue in someone elses cheek when watching - And their little Gucci dress. 1 stars
8/24/98 JenniferLorraine Keep your tongue in your cheek when you watch it; & your 'Little Gucci Dress' on. 3 stars
8/20/98 The Man With The Helmet I thought this was about the spice dealers of ancient Peru. Imagine how I felt. 1 stars
8/16/98 Johny I asked the manager for my money back after. He said no. Bastard. 1 stars
8/15/98 Pete I like Posh Spice's legs. So, sue me. 2 stars
8/15/98 {{{OZ}}} The original title was "It's Been A Hard 15 Minutes" It has. On us. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-Jan-1998 (PG)
  DVD: 07-Dec-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  08-Feb-1998 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast