More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.95

Awesome: 1.1%
Worth A Look: 12.09%
Average: 10.99%
Pretty Bad: 31.87%
Total Crap43.96%

7 reviews, 49 user ratings


Latest Reviews

One Child Nation (aka Born in China) by Jay Seaver

Kingdom (2019) by Jay Seaver

Chained for Life by Rob Gonsalves

Ready or Not by Peter Sobczynski

Nightingale, The by Jay Seaver

Line Walker 2: Invisible Spy by Jay Seaver

Death of Dick Long, The by Jay Seaver

Blinded By the Light by Lybarger

Blinded By the Light by Peter Sobczynski

Good Boys by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Snake Eyes
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by sean

"Gouge out my eyes. Please."
1 stars

Nick Cage can sure do some stupid movies. I mean, "Con Air" was enjoybale, but stupid. And this movie was just stupid.

I read a review that said that this movie had the most amazing opening scene in years except for "Saving Private Ryan". Well, it was cool, I guess, but it wasn't amazing at all. It was all done in one shot. Woo-woo. Put it in a textbook.

This movie had every cliche at least twice, and none of them were any good. I think the main thing about this movie was that it sucked. Nick Cage's character was supposed to be 'rounded', 'cause he was a cop but, get this, he's crooked! So he's not a 'good guy'. But he wasn't at all good, until the end, which (by the way) made no sense.

And in between the beginning and end was a middle that was even worse.

All in all, it sucked.

What more can be said? It sucked. Go home.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=11&reviewer=18
originally posted: 08/30/98 12:51:48
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/26/08 Shaun Wallner Very Boring! 1 stars
1/16/07 Ole Man Bourbon Stupid crap 1 stars
4/11/06 Indrid Cold Not bad at all. Fairly unique and entertaining. 3 stars
12/23/04 Jason Kaul I suppose it could be worse. I would love to see the redhead and Gugino dyke on camera. 3 stars
10/09/04 Denise I love Cage 2 stars
4/19/04 Gobsmack Not great, but Cage's preformance and that AMAZING intro tracking shot make it worthwhile. 4 stars
2/18/04 john incoherent with a truly awful story - painful to watch 1 stars
5/23/03 mr. Pink First twenty minutes are breathtakingly good. But it descends into an awful ending. 3 stars
3/20/03 Jack Sommersby I think this sucks even more than De Palma's "Bonfire of the Vanities". 1 stars
10/27/02 MarktheShark6 Nicholas Cage has had better, but I think the plot here isn't too bad. 3 stars
10/23/02 palaboy101 The VCD promised "a highly entertaining action thriller"... Seeing is truly believing! 2 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk You fucking Hitchcock hack! DePalma, grow a pair! 1 stars
5/05/01 The Moorhen Started off with potential... then Cage came on screen. And all those camera angles - shit 1 stars
3/31/01 Miguel What a piece of shit movie. Brian DePalma and Nic Cage both need to retire like yesterday 1 stars
2/14/01 Jake Much better than the Rock. Ok thats not saying much. LOL 3 stars
10/14/00 Terrie Smith Pretty predictable; hard to keep awake watching this one. 1 stars
1/02/00 Nice Guy Eddie Not a masterpiece but definitely worth the money to rent. 4 stars
12/18/99 Matthew Smith the worst nicholas cage film ever, a dog of a film. 2 stars
9/23/99 Matt Nicolas Cage... ENUF said! This movie SUCKS MAJOR ALL ASS!!! 1 stars
7/19/99 Chef ADogg Cage has now been demoted to the status of taltentless fuckhead 1 stars
4/28/99 NicholasCageSucks Shit on celluloid - worthy of Nicholas Cage! 1 stars
3/16/99 the_machine god-awful, what was Cage thinking? 1 stars
3/15/99 Go Swans Hint to De Palma - hire a scriptwriter next time. This was poor. Very poor. 2 stars
2/23/99 videopirate Carla is a babe 3 stars
1/16/99 Shadow Raider What a hodown. Cage's at it again. Bastard ruined Snake Eyes. 2 stars
12/07/98 Rupert Ritzick That Gary Sinese ain't Japanesee 1 stars
10/24/98 Ash This movie could of been really good but only succeeds in making you look at your watch. 2 stars
10/08/98 Armageddon See this movie for CAGE alone... Not bad, not great. Cage is super. 3 stars
10/07/98 Korny Island Shockingly awful. Depalma has lost the plot. Cage is so ripe for a fall. 1 stars
10/07/98 Scott R Was a good date flick! 3 stars
10/03/98 MR HOLLYWOOD !! NICOLAS TRIES TOO HARD (but still rules) BRIAN DE PALMA is a great!! director....... 3 stars
10/01/98 {{{OZ}}} Daddy Rich is too used to crap. Wouldn't see this again if you paid me. Well, for $50 maybe 1 stars
9/30/98 Daddy Rich Ryan A. doesn't know what the fuck he's talking about. I loved it you shitbag!! 5 stars
9/29/98 Marty in St.Louis The freakin trailer gave away the ENTIRE MOVIE. If it smells like poop it is! 2 stars
9/21/98 Maegs I liked the noirish feel and the opening scene, but the characters were stale. 2 stars
9/18/98 Christian I thought it was a great acyion mystery type film and Cage is great. 4 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor End isn't so good but hell half the movies out there have bad plots so .... 4 stars
9/12/98 Bart Barton Cage is way overrated 1 stars
9/07/98 ARMA-FUCK'N-GEDDON Come on, it wasn't THAT bad.. Cage was great, opening scene was great, rest OK at best... 4 stars
9/05/98 Kid Pee-Pee DePalma should be ashamed. This was so bad. How could he leave his name on it? Cage=poison. 1 stars
9/05/98 Jon It TRULY was one of the worst movies I have ever seen---but Nic Cage still rocks (not here) 1 stars
9/04/98 pooky the bald Nic Cage is a complete non talent. This whole film was an excuse for the opening shot. Shit 1 stars
9/04/98 Scott Taylor One of the worst movies I have ever seen. Send it back to hell. 1 stars
8/30/98 Drasord Poor character build-up, weak plot, lacks originality. 3 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball S.H.I.T. 1 stars
8/23/98 Vincent Watching this makes one wonder how Brian DePalma ever made any GOOD films 2 stars
8/22/98 Mister Whoopee Tedious, convoluted crap 2 stars
8/14/98 sean The assassin and senator die in the first scene. I envied them. 1 stars
8/13/98 {{OZ}} I hear it bites 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Jul-1998 (R)
  DVD: 19-Aug-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  08-Oct-1998


Directed by
  Brian De Palma

Written by
  Brian De Palma
  David Koepp

Cast
  Nicolas Cage
  Gary Sinise
  John Heard
  Carla Gugino
  Stan Shaw
  Kevin Dunn



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast