More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.37

Awesome: 29.63%
Worth A Look: 25.93%
Average: 3.7%
Pretty Bad33.33%
Total Crap: 7.41%

1 review, 21 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Doctor Sleep by Jay Seaver

Ford v Ferrari by Peter Sobczynski

Marriage Story by Peter Sobczynski

Better Days by Jay Seaver

Scandalous: The True Story of the National Enquirer by Rob Gonsalves

Paradise Hills by Rob Gonsalves

3 from Hell by Rob Gonsalves

Dolemite Is My Name by Rob Gonsalves

My Dear Liar by Jay Seaver

Truth, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


She's Gotta Have It
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Don't believe the hype."
2 stars

Spike Lee's first was good for what it was, a low budget student effort, but as a stand alone film it's lacking in many areas.

Firstly, the acting by all but Lee himself is pretty shoddy, even abysmal. Secondly, the story (a woman chased by three males has to choose which one she wants, if any) is shallow. Thirdly, nothing really happens. At all. Maybe some sex, but little else.

What is going for it is the occasional display of Spike Lee wit, some (and I do mean some) scraps of interesting dialogue, a groovy (for want of a better word) score and more than a fair share of sex.

So is it worth renting? Depends on your outlook on all things Lee. Everyone loved Do The Right Thing, but if you also loved Mo Better Blues, Clockers and Malcolm X then you're probably a big enough Lee fan to come away from this feeling happy. But if you couldn't do those other titles again, then you might have trouble keeping She's Gotta Have It down.

It's somewhat interesting to see where one of today's more reknowned filmmakers got his sea-legs, but not the kind of thing you "need" to see..

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1108&reviewer=1
originally posted: 01/26/99 21:01:09
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2005 Atlanta Film Festival For more in the 2005 Atlanta Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

7/08/10 PAUL SHORTT TIRESOME AND BADLY ACTED 2 stars
2/18/10 Jeff Wilder Not a bad first effort. Greater would come. But this is still compelling. 4 stars
11/18/09 Martha A potentially interesting story ruined by absolutely abysmal acting. 2 stars
7/22/07 DG The beginnings of a legend. 2nd favourite soundtrack (fave is also a Spike Lee joint) 4 stars
3/01/07 Bridge Easily could've been contained within about fifteen minutes and poorly acted to boot. 2 stars
9/28/06 Moon Zero i really enjoyed this movie it's a real dipiction of life 4 stars
6/08/05 Agent Sands I have no interest in the plot, really, but Spike can erally keep you interested. 3 stars
3/21/04 Harry Dyck I loved the movie, especially Tracy Camilla Johns 5 stars
3/10/04 MEGAN LEWIS interesting film. i found some scary parallels between her and me. good film for his debut 4 stars
1/24/04 Judith Loved it! 5 stars
12/14/03 Briana If you are a Black person, especially a woman, you can appreciate this movie 5 stars
4/16/02 Ntando Nkala You must admit it makes you think on more levels than one, you mustn't be shallow minded. 4 stars
8/30/01 Diana furious Am I the only person who was horrified by the rape scene, in which, when asked, "whose puss 1 stars
1/03/01 fred taylor love the movie and all of spike lee joints 5 stars
3/28/00 jerry carroll Gave realistic depiction of african americans making mainstream critics nervous! 4 stars
12/13/99 Bryan Tysinger I loved this film! 5 stars
11/08/99 Steve One of the worst things I have ever sat through. 1 stars
10/28/99 c2187 Character driven film, intresting situation 4 stars
10/24/98 Kwyjibo If you haven't seen this, spike's debut, you must. It rules. 5 stars
10/10/98 {{{OZ}}} Great arty indie without being an arty indie 5 stars
10/10/98 Nate Dogg Ah, the Spike movie I wish he made more of... 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  20-Aug-1986 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast