More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.35

Awesome: 42.86%
Worth A Look53.25%
Average: 1.3%
Pretty Bad: 1.3%
Total Crap: 1.3%

3 reviews, 59 user ratings


Latest Reviews

We Are Not Princesses by Jay Seaver

Hustlers by Jay Seaver

Promare by Jay Seaver

Tokyo Ghoul "S" by Jay Seaver

BrightBurn by Rob Gonsalves

Booksmart by Rob Gonsalves

Dead Don't Die, The by Rob Gonsalves

Fagara by Jay Seaver

Rezo by Jay Seaver

Depraved by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"The manic look in Chevy's eyes is worth admission."
4 stars

Quite possibly as good as the Griswald's ever got.

If you're not aware of the "National Lampoon's Vacation" series, with Chevy Chase, Bev D'Angelo et al, well it might be time to crawl out from under the safety of yonder rock and hit your Blockbuster (or appropriate alternative video place that allows it's customers to see porn if they so choose).

I'll ecapsulate the story, which you can take with you to every other Vacation movie, because the story never changes.

Clark Griswald and wife and kids go on a vacation to Europe/Las Vegas/WallyWorld/home for Christmas and encounter wacky hilarity and many dysfunctional relatives.

It's a formula that took John Hughes to fame and fortune, and he's repeated it often (The Great Outdoors, every Vacation flick) and this is as good as it gets.

It takes a bold studio to try to make a genuinely funny Christmas movie, and this is one of the few. It's a guilty pleasure, to be sure.

Chase is spot on, the family are all great, the jokes are frequent and passable, if predictable.

In short, this is a great renter.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1116&reviewer=1
originally posted: 12/10/98 15:41:26
[printer] printer-friendly format  
For more in the National Lampoon Movies series, click here.

User Comments

3/13/19 Ed Riddick Dec 89 took our 8 year old son to see it. He fell off the seat once laughing. Great cast. 5 stars
12/02/17 David froeman Check out the lights ha ha 4 stars
1/25/11 Diehard hell i watch this one year round were's art to cry bout this movie 5 stars
10/23/09 Rachel Very funny. Definitely a movie I watch around Christmas every year. 4 stars
8/03/09 Rachel One of the few movies I watch every time around Christmas 5 stars
7/08/09 *Holy_J@lapeno* A awesome movie to watch around christmas time. Alot of great laughs and great plot! 5 stars
12/28/07 Russ Crafts Simply Chevy and crew at their best 4 stars
12/14/07 KENNY YOU KNOW YOULIKED A MOVIE WHEN YOU KNOW WHATS NEXT WORD FOR WORD 4 stars
12/07/07 Pamela White movie proves you can't choose your family we watch it every year 5 stars
3/09/07 David Pollastrini not as good as the first 2 3 stars
1/03/07 Clark G. Hey kids, look, a deer....... 5 stars
11/27/06 Joel A classic! 5 stars
11/24/06 michaelb1478 Watch it every year, it's a xmas tradition, and it's still funny after all this time 5 stars
3/25/06 Dan My favorite Christmas movie 5 stars
1/03/06 Anthony Feor The greatest christmas movie ever made! 4 stars
8/12/05 ES The best christmas movie ever= you gotta love it 5 stars
5/27/05 tony FUNNIEST christmas movie every.i cried laughing. A BLOCKBUSTER 4 stars
5/08/05 Indrid Cold The funniest National Lampoon movie, but not quite a classic. 4 stars
4/10/05 judith anderson My favorite of the vacation movies 5 stars
1/18/05 Jeff Anderson Randy Quaid's Cousin Eddie RULES this vacation as always. BINGO! Avoid NLCV2 at all costs. 4 stars
12/08/04 Ashley A great christmas movie that leaves u blue in the face! 4 stars
12/07/04 Natasha Theobald a black dickey under a white sweater - the height of holiday fashion! 4 stars
12/27/03 michaelb14 Watch it every Xmas and still laugh my ass off after all this time 5 stars
7/21/03 Evan Best Christmas movie/Chevy Chase movie/and Vacation movie of all time. 5 stars
1/03/03 dan watch it ever christmas!! 5 stars
12/29/02 y2mckay MP hit it on the head - the best one since the original, and last funny thing Chevy did 4 stars
12/29/02 Jack Sommersby Nicoletta Scorsese is so hot as the underwear saleslady! 4 stars
12/26/02 brad hardesty it is a relly great movie 5 stars
12/07/02 Kyle I think this is the best of the "lampoon" movies! Funny!! 5 stars
11/30/02 peter this film is the fuuuniest film i have ever seen 5 stars
11/20/02 Natalie B. I love this movie more than anything. It's a classic. 5 stars
11/01/02 John So Funny!!! 5 stars
10/15/02 Charles Tatum Funnier than the original 5 stars
7/25/02 CVJ the best national lampoons movie out of all of them 5 stars
4/02/02 lauren mccreight the best of the Vacation movies...ranks up there with Fletch 5 stars
11/28/01 C.B "SHITTER WAS FULL!" -Cousin Eddie 5 stars
11/27/01 The $1.98 Pyramid Simply The Best "Wrost" Christmas Event Ever 5 stars
8/30/01 Eve Pricks A memorable, nostalgia-inducing (for those of us who grew up watching it), and really funny 5 stars
5/30/01 Chevy Murray Good God, the memories!! I watch this every Christmas and so will my kids someday. 5 stars
4/09/01 Gary This is the 2nd best Vacation film! I don't like Russ and Audry in this one though! 4 stars
3/29/01 Andrew Carden One-Joke Flick. 2 stars
2/15/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) This is the best holiday movie in the history of film!! Kiss my ass if you don't agree. 5 stars
2/14/01 Lee Chevy Chase being put to good use causes laughter and lots of it 4 stars
2/06/01 Classicdog Funny shit!!! 5 stars
1/16/01 Sklorsh Best of all the vacation movies. 4 stars
12/28/00 Turtle This is an example of how to make a stupid comedy. I mean that in a good way! 5 stars
12/17/00 The Evil Penguin very hilarious 4 stars
12/04/00 Izzy My favorite movie is this one! nothing will ever beat it! i hope it goes back to the movies 5 stars
9/12/00 Bender Not as good as the original, but better than the second and 10 times better than the fourth 4 stars
7/24/00 Matthew Bartley Very very funny 4 stars
3/11/00 David Rogers Not funny at all. 1 stars
12/12/99 Tyson Stewart Entertaining, funny, and sweet! (***1/2 out of ****) 4 stars
9/13/99 Jason Kinsey not bad- better than "European" and "Vegas" worse than "Vacation" 4 stars
9/07/99 Radium The Best of the Griswald´s serie by far. Others were dissapointing. But this one rules. 5 stars
7/09/99 Ben Leostein Rating: **˝ (out of ****) Category: "Above Average" 4 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg This is the funniest "Vacation" movie I've seen next to the first. The rest suck badly. 4 stars
10/29/98 Silent Rob An amazingly good Chevy vehicle. The snow disc scene brings me to tears every year! 5 stars
10/11/98 J-Guy Best of the films, if you havent seen any, save this one for last. 4 stars
10/10/98 {{{OZ}}} The best of the Griswald's. Very funny. But it was all downhill fast from here. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1990 (PG-13)
  DVD: 07-Oct-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1990 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast