More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.26

Awesome: 4.17%
Worth A Look: 8.33%
Average: 21.88%
Pretty Bad40.63%
Total Crap: 25%

7 reviews, 54 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Jessica Forever by Jay Seaver

Charlie's Angels (2019) by Jay Seaver

Harriet by Jay Seaver

Greener Grass by Jay Seaver

Two Tigers by Jay Seaver

Dare to Stop Us by Jay Seaver

White Snake by Jay Seaver

Knives Out by Peter Sobczynski

21 Bridges by Jay Seaver

Frozen 2 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Ring 2, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Doug Bentin

"Ring out the new; ring in the old."
2 stars

She’s back, she being Samara, that creepy little girl with long, wet hair who crawls up out of the well her mother dumped her into and then pops out of TV screens and scares people to death. Yes, it’s another one of those movies.

Actually, I enjoyed “The Ring.” I enjoyed the original Japanese version and the later “Ring Virus” from South Korea. I awaited the release of this second American Ringer with more anticipation than I usually feel with sequels.

But the circle is broken, folks. Big time.

Samara is still picking on the same mother/son duo, Rachel and Aidan Keller (Naomi Watts and David Dorfman) despite the fact that they’ve moved to a small town to escape the horrors of the first film. Remember what happened to them then? All the deaths and ghosts and creepy shit. I guess when that sort of stuff starts happening to you, you can buoy up your spirits with the knowledge that all you have to do is move to another city to get away from it all. Therapy is for wussies.

But back to the sequel. This time, the Kellers’ woes are heavier because the long-dead Samara has found a way to posses Aidan’s body. See, she misses having a mommy since her biological mater (Sissy Spacek) is in an insane asylum and her adopted mom murdered her and all. Kids take things like that so damn seriously.

Anyway, Rachel has to find a way to drive Samara out of her son’s body and the only way that’s suggested to her is to kill Aidan by drowning him in the bathtub. See, since Samara drowned in a well, and even though she’s a ghost, she’s afraid of water. Kids take stuff like that seriously, too, but I guess Rachel feels that killing her son’s mortal shell is all in a good cause and so he won’t suffer any lingering after effects, like brain damage or a generally pissed off attitude.

But here’s the hard part. Child Protective Services tends to frown on mothers who keep trying to do away with their own children, (they take that kind of thing seriously) and telling them that the kid has the ghost of an evil little girl living inside him does nothing but raise eyebrows and cause psychiatrists to make that finger-whirling-next-to-the-head gesture as they back slowly to the door.

I think you’re getting the point here. There is nothing in this movie that is in the least surprising, and therefore nothing is scary. The flick opens with two teens watching the haunted videotape, one of them being frightened to death, just the way the first movie started. Then Rachel enlists a man to help her, and he ends up watching the wrong thing on television, if you know what I mean. Just like the first movie.

Naomi Watts seems bored out of her mind with this replay, and Dorfman just isn’t up to the dramatic bits.

The picture is directed by Hideo Nakata, the Japanese director of the original original films, “Ringu” and “Ringu 2,” and if he isn’t more bored than Watts you can’t prove it by sitting through this flick. This thing is so tired, it makes your average Snooze-a-Palooza on the SciFi Channel look like a six-year-old on Christmas morning.

If money didn’t exist there’d be absolutely no excuse for making a movie this cynical. No one appears to want to have anything to do with it, including its cast. When I sat through it, I was the only person in the theater. I know there will be some degree of interest from fans of the first movie—I’m one of them—but by the time this review sees print, that interest will surely have faded due to word of mouth. I know my mouth was open as I watched it. Yawning, you know. I hate it when that happens as I tend to drool into my box of Junior Mints, and they tend to be mushed and sticky already.

As the referee said to the punch-drunk boxer, it’s time to get out of The Ring.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=11679&reviewer=405
originally posted: 08/25/05 04:33:56
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2005 SXSW Film Festival. For more in the 2005 South By Southwest Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

3/13/17 morris campbell one is better two is not bad 3 stars
6/08/10 David Hollingsworth Better than most horror sequels 3 stars
1/13/09 Anonymous. better than most other lame "horror" movies, though it wasn't that scary... 4 stars
11/01/08 Shaun Wallner Scary Film! 3 stars
1/04/08 Bozofreak Jesus, it kills me to give it one star, but unfortunately there isn't a "no star" option. 1 stars
6/02/07 aurora very good 4 stars
1/29/07 Stanley Thai A better film than the original but not any scarier. 4 stars
10/02/06 Pritchett A complete letdown after the very good remake...too bad. A waste of time. 1 stars
8/16/06 anthonyuk total garbage, why did they bother! 1 stars
5/17/06 Anthony G I was laughing so hard!!!....oh wait... this was a horror flick. 1 stars
5/01/06 Del Killer Deer.. you know, hunting is bad and all... yeah, right 1 stars
4/14/06 ghvhvmghvhvghkgv boring and very predictable 3 stars
1/22/06 John Ward it had a weak story line wasn't scary and left more questions than it answered 4 stars
10/14/05 eddiejohns Not satisfying at all!!! 2 stars
10/01/05 tatum Doesn't come close to the original 2 stars
9/20/05 Jonathon Holmes the only great horror films that we will ever see are the ones from the past 1 stars
9/02/05 ES A disappointing original, follows through with a disappointing sequel 2 stars
8/31/05 Indrid Cold Ironically, series creator Nakata can't manage even 1/10th the impact of Verbinski's film. 3 stars
8/28/05 Breanna I really like David Dorfman 5 stars
8/25/05 Caiphn As a huge fan of The Ring, this was extremely disappointing. Deer scene = laughable. Bad. 2 stars
8/10/05 Tina Scism Best film 5 stars
7/22/05 Jordan okay once again sequals and prquels suck except some the director should die now..bad movie 1 stars
6/26/05 Andrew Kennedy This is one of those movies, that will keep u hiding under ur coat for the whole movie 5 stars
5/24/05 E-FUNK Fucking worthless sequel. I could not stand this movie. Hopefully, it killed the series. 1 stars
5/17/05 Shawn Borucki Hideo Nakata's disappointment. Stick with the original, but it was better than Rasen. 2 stars
4/15/05 shatonjia Keep the money...I want my 90 minutes back. 1 stars
4/13/05 Junior LaRoche I hate current American remakes. Awful movie. 2 stars
4/09/05 Denise not as good as the first 3 stars
4/09/05 Brittany Tate You can not be scary to see this movie 4 stars
4/08/05 haha this movie sucks 1 stars
4/06/05 dj very predictable, yet needed to fill in the holes in the first one, they both suck 2 stars
4/04/05 ELI kinda boring, sucky compared to the first. and what the fuck was up with the deer?????????? 2 stars
4/03/05 M Plot holes!!!!!!!!! poor naomi! doesnt suck but is on the verge! 3 stars
4/02/05 Landshark haunting Suspiria melody by the Goblins was wasted in this awkward sequel 3 stars
4/01/05 Kyle Seriously. What the fuck? 1 stars
3/31/05 Death Dogg Huge plot holes. I guess anyone can be a screenwriter these days. Off to Hollywood I go! 1 stars
3/30/05 pattonjr5 naomi was great.even critics who hated ring2 realized that.women made ring a hit, not scott 5 stars
3/29/05 Mix Master Mason This movie is NOTHING like the first RING. It doesn't even try to be good. 1 stars
3/26/05 Greg Ursic Plumbs the very depths of badness. 1 stars
3/25/05 malcontent boring and scareless 2 stars
3/25/05 hannaho A very poor attempt to make a buck off the first movie. 2 stars
3/24/05 Goatse Retarded Americunts and their retarded scripts and remakes 2 stars
3/24/05 Colleen Goldrick Disappointing 2 stars
3/24/05 Jin More from the Queen of Melodrama. 1 stars
3/23/05 Naka The sequel to one of my favorite horror films of all time is...god DAMNIT. 1 stars
3/23/05 Jack Bourbon Almost works, but doesn't quite 3 stars
3/21/05 Roy Asshole Smith Turned the whole theater green. It's OMFG Boring! WTF? 2 stars
3/20/05 Tyrantis Great MST3K fodder. 1 stars
3/19/05 Mark McLeod Not as good as the first one, not really the same type of movie either 2 stars
3/19/05 mott the drupal but it has a guy named kruger that wrote it?!?! 1 stars
3/19/05 PAMELA HANSEN once is enough please stop th maddness 2 stars
3/17/05 Steve K interesting story 4 stars
3/11/05 Uncle Phucker Saw a screener at the mall a month ago. Solid acting and very entertaining. 4 stars
2/06/05 Lynis Wing ok, not bad, enjoy, enjoy, enjoy 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Mar-2005 (R)
  DVD: 23-Aug-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  24-Mar-2005


Directed by
  Hideo Nakata

Written by
  Ehren Kruger

Cast
  Naomi Watts
  Simon Baker
  David Dorfman
  Emily VanCamp
  Sissy Spacek
  Ryan Merriman



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast